PDF THINK TANK: CONSULTANT
Opinion Khadim-e-Ala

Dr Farrukh Saleem

Sunday, March 17, 2013

Capital suggestion

Intention, capacity and delivery. He wanted to give 300,000 really deserving, low-income passengers a more respectable, a more efficient and a cheaper way to commute between Gajju Matta and Shahdara. He gave them the Lahore Metro Bus; 27 kilometres in one hour, 29 bus stations, an Intelligent Transportation System and e-ticketing. Yes, the Khadim-e-Ala should have been able to utilise the $1 billion soft loan from the ADB and built something more elaborate, more efficient and completely underground. He did not – and that is a capacity issue. His intention was to serve the needy. He delivered.

Intention, capacity and delivery. His intention was to encourage Pakistani talent; the Khadim-e-Ala’s Rs4 billion free laptops scheme distributing 110,000 laptops to the brightest of the bright at Quaid-e-Azam Medical College, Bahawalpur, DG Khan Medical College, 106 position holders of the Bahawalpur Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education plus a hundred thousand other Pakistanis. Yes, at the current rate of progress, it will take the government of Punjab another 28 years to provide all children with their constitutional right to education (that means by the year 2041). Yes, the government of Punjab will miserably fail to meet the MDGs. Yes, there could have been a hundred more useful uses of Rs4 billion – and that is a capacity issue. The fact remains that Rs4 billion was spent in Pakistan on Pakistanis. His intention was to encourage Pakistani talent. He delivered.

Intention, capacity and delivery. His intention was to empower the poorest of the poor; the Khadim-e-Ala’s Rs5 billion Daanish Schools. Here are the four districts of Punjab with the highest incidence of poverty: Rajanpur, Muzaffargarh, DG Khan and Bahawalpur. There’s a school up and running in Hasilpur (District Bahawalpur), Chistian (District Bahawalpur) and Rahim Yar Khan. There shall soon be schools up and running in Harnoli, Jand, DG Khan and Fazilpur (District Rajanpur). It is true that 21,045 of our public schools have no building or one in a dangerous condition. Yes, he could have spent Rs5 billion in giving schools with no building a building. It is true that 61 percent of our schools have no electricity, 38 percent have no drinking water and 35 percent have no toilet facility.

Yes, there could have been more efficient uses of the Rs5 billion spent on Daanish Schools – and that indeed is a capacity issue. The fact remains that Rs5 billion was not wired off to some offshore bank. It was spent in Pakistan on Pakistanis. His intention was to empower the poorest of the poor through education. He intended well and delivered.

Intention, capacity and delivery. The Khadim-e-Ala wanted to enhance tenure security and improve service delivery – the Punjab government’s $51 million Land Records Management and Information System (IDA commitment $45 million, Punjab $6 million). Imagine; 205,345 square kilometres online and an electronic Register Haqdaran-e-Zameen and Fard-e-Malkiat. The ground reality here is that the Khadim-e-Ala underestimated the power of the patwari – the patwari is not going to let the system run (remember, even Osama had to pay up). There indeed is a capacity issue but the Khadim-e-Ala’s intention is beyond doubt.

Intention essentially is “an aim that guides action”. Capacity is both organisational and individual. The bottom line is that the Khadim-e-Ala has given, not taken. Delivery surely is something new on the ground; working and benefiting communities, for all of us to see and experience.

The writer is a columnist based in Islamabad. Email: farrukh15@hotmail.com; Tweets @Saleemfarrukh

Saving throne, here comes darbari farrukh saleem..

by the way his intentions to deliver came to realization only after PTI factor got popularity... shahbaz sharif is a visionless contractor aka thekedar, who I believer wants to deliver but doesnot have the brain or leadership qualities to know what the nation wants from its leader...

P.S. and for heaven's sake, public money being used to develop is not delivering, its "our money at work". ahsan nahi kiya ham per

by the way his intentions to deliver came to realization only after PTI factor got popularity... shahbaz sharif is a visionless contractor aka thekedar, who I believer wants to deliver but doesnot have the brain or leadership qualities to know what the nation wants from its leader...

P.S. and for heaven's sake, public money being used to develop is not delivering, its "our money at work". ahsan nahi kiya ham Lahore walo per Punjab ka paisa laga ker...

It is actually SAD that an American who can't even vote in the Pakistan is having to respond to a thread to tell the Pakistani people that it's time you got away from your personal bias towards tribes, races and cultures inside of Pakistan and did something together as a nation.

The fact remains the same, the government of Punjab (done and completed successful internal and external international audits) is the SOLE government in the entire Pakistan who did something for the people. The US and the world accepts it but Pakistanis get bogged down in their family, cultural and personal biased. That's why you guys are behind. Because you guys are not nationalistic, instead you are Punjabi, Sindhi, Baluchi, PTI, MQM, PPP, etc.
When will you leave a better future for your generations to come? It will ONLY happen when you vote for who does the work. Not gossip or personal bias.

I know a Pakistani infrastructure company very closely who works with the Punjab government's projects, the Metro, the underpass, the Motorway, etc. From what they say, the chief minister is VERY focus at work. He shows up at 4 AM in the morning, walks through the construction sites and asks for the status (the guy's a cancer patient on top of that). He remembers the last status he's got and wants to know the improvement since then. That then results in contractors actually doing something versus just sitting on their as*. His projects have passed numerous international audits and have succeeded in being the only 'clean' bribe free projects. Look at the assets he's built his nation: the Motorway, the underpasses, the Danish school systems, the right for kids to get educated, laptops, lamps, the Metro that over 120 thousand people use a day for a very small price......you see how many lives he's touching that are average Pakistanis???

From what i know through this Pakistani friend who is a partner in a large infrastructure company....the chief minister could be dead tomorrow as he's got cancer. So really, why is he doing the 'clean' projects when every other politician is just making money and making it rain in their offshore accounts?
Pakistanis need to fix the biggest problem that they have. You guys discredit good work and on any problems, you guys blame it on the US. The guy on the street may have a heart attack due to cholesterol and his eating habits....but somehow people would suspect the CIA to be involved. You guys have a country, you need to run it properly and move forward as a nation. When people spend time in finding escape goats (like blaming the US for everything) for what is and what isn't......you'll fail and crazy people like Taliban will take over or you'll just fail as a nation. So please do yourself a favor, support who is actually working and appreciate the national assets. Vote for who's done work and kick out who doesn't work. That's how you'll proceed to the 21st century as a nation

It is actually SAD that an American who can't even vote in the Pakistan is having to respond to a thread to tell the Pakistani people that it's time you got away from your personal bias towards tribes, races and cultures inside of Pakistan and did something together as a nation.

The fact remains the same, the government of Punjab (done and completed successful internal and external international audits) is the SOLE government in the entire Pakistan who did something for the people. The US and the world accepts it but Pakistanis get bogged down in their family, cultural and personal biased. That's why you guys are behind. Because you guys are not nationalistic, instead you are Punjabi, Sindhi, Baluchi, PTI, MQM, PPP, etc.
When will you leave a better future for your generations to come? It will ONLY happen when you vote for who does the work. Not gossip or personal bias.

I know a Pakistani infrastructure company very closely who works with the Punjab government's projects, the Metro, the underpass, the Motorway, etc. From what they say, the chief minister is VERY focus at work. He shows up at 4 AM in the morning, walks through the construction sites and asks for the status (the guy's a cancer patient on top of that). He remembers the last status he's got and wants to know the improvement since then. That then results in contractors actually doing something versus just sitting on their as*. His projects have passed numerous international audits and have succeeded in being the only 'clean' bribe free projects. Look at the assets he's built his nation: the Motorway, the underpasses, the Danish school systems, the right for kids to get educated, laptops, lamps, the Metro that over 120 thousand people use a day for a very small price......you see how many lives he's touching that are average Pakistanis???

From what i know through this Pakistani friend who is a partner in a large infrastructure company....the chief minister could be dead tomorrow as he's got cancer. So really, why is he doing the 'clean' projects when every other politician is just making money and making it rain in their offshore accounts?
Pakistanis need to fix the biggest problem that they have. You guys discredit good work and on any problems, you guys blame it on the US. The guy on the street may have a heart attack due to cholesterol and his eating habits....but somehow people would suspect the CIA to be involved. You guys have a country, you need to run it properly and move forward as a nation. When people spend time in finding escape goats (like blaming the US for everything) for what is and what isn't......you'll fail and crazy people like Taliban will take over or you'll just fail as a nation. So please do yourself a favor, support who is actually working and appreciate the national assets. Vote for who's done work and kick out who doesn't work. That's how you'll proceed to the 21st century as a nation

10 million school going kids are out of schools in Punjab, and not a single ffucck was given !!

this darbari post of your is waste of my time and energy, try someone else... I am sick of this darbri lectures...

PML-N is a corrupt, incompetent & bad a** terrorist political party, filled with liars & traitors.

P.S. and for heaven's sake, public money being used to develop is not delivering, its "our money at work". ahsan nahi kiya ham Lahore walo per Punjab ka paisa laga ker...

Shoukat Khanum and Namal were built by the Donation, and Donations means OUR (People's) Money. IK ny koi Ahsaan nahi kiya Puray Pakistan se Donations lay kar Lahore and Mianwali mai 1-1 Institute bana dia.
and
You mean to say that IF PTI make KPK govt. IK will do Development projects from his OWN pocket... :angel:

Its very unfortunate that during last five years we had two prime ministers and one chief minister from Punjab but unfortunately they proved to be Prime Ministers of Multan and Gujar Khan and CM of Lahore. My point is that these projects must have passed audit but have we been able to provide basic transport, education or food security to all cities of Punjab? The answer is big No. The projects must be made for the welfare of people instead of glorifying oneself with these useless projects. I wish the would have invested in power sector which could have benifited whole Punjab.

Shoukat Khanum and Namal were built by the Donation, and Donations means OUR (People's) Money. IK ny koi Ahsaan nahi kiya Puray Pakistan se Donations lay kar Lahore and Mianwali mai 1-1 Institute bana dia.
and
You mean to say that IF PTI make KPK govt. IK will do Development projects from his OWN pocket... :angel:

Social work is a Ahsan, you can dump Edhi as well to zero.......however, on the other hand government do not do ahsan on us when they use our tax money on us.

yes PTI when form federal and provincial governments in Pakistan after winning 2013 elections, tou ham per ahsan nahi kare gi apni policies ko implement ker kay, will be doing its duty..

Social work is a Ahsan, you can dump Edhi as well to zero.......however, on the other hand government do not do ahsan on us when they use our tax money on us.

yes PTI when form federal and provincial governments in Pakistan after winning 2013 elections, tou ham per ahsan nahi kare gi apni policies ko implement ker kay, will be doing its duty..

Some times I really hate, how politics works. If it is done by PTI then it is major milstone but if its done by someone else then it is also pushed by PTI or the corruption happened in the project since IK said so.

Same like PPP jiyalas, PTI Jiyalas has no mind no accepting the truth. PPP made jiyalas for this today we are still having PPP on our head, and who knows they come again for next time. PML-N voters majority accepts PML-Ns faults and never defend PML-N when they are wrong. But same is not the case for PPP or PTI Followers. They always blinded by the truth which is in front of them.

NS didn't started anything today, his most of the achievements like computerizing education system, board system, waste management projects, major highways inside Punjab were way before Oct 2011. Who can forget his strickness for decipline when NS was going to public offices just to check whether everyone is on time or not. What about same thing late night in punjab hospitals. No doubt this Metro and Laptop schemes were most famous one but what about housing schemes for poors and public officers? He did alot (could be 100 times better), but still as compare to other governments in past he did alot, which you PTI followers are unable to accept

and

Chalo yehi donations pura pakistan tumhe deta hai lets built such institutes my dear fellow ... tumhe kisi nai 100 rupee b day diye tou mera name badal dena lol Imran khan k name par Donations atay hain Billions of rupees ky People trust him they will surely trust him in future too when he will form a government and people will give taxes too cz they know khan will surely do something for this nation and kindly stop this Bull Sh*t against him you key board warriors .

I cannot do anything if one stooge to lying publicly..

We need to learn how to give credit where its due, IK did a good thing by making a cancer hospital & a university..Cm Punjab also did good things... we wont move forward if we will continue to ignore the good work done my diff political parties/personalities..we need to stop criticizing each other or the sake of getting some thing beneficial outta it for our own good...in my case i have great deal of respect for both of them for doing good for Gen Public...

PML-N did a lot of good work and more needs to be done. PML-N is the only party who take development and economy seriously.
Don't go on leadership they have the best professionals people with tons of experience.
The economic team of PML-N performed really well under sanctions after Nuclear Blasts, they completed Motorways, said good bye to IMF. Dollar exchange rate was also stable without any foreign aid.

The biggest underpass of country in Lahore completed in less then 100 days and here we have PTI fans lol your party failed to complete party elections in 100 days.:yahoo:

In future i expect PML-N to take a look into Islamabad Lahore Bullet train project.

PML-N did a lot of good work and more needs to be done. PML-N is the only party who take development and economy seriously.
Don't go on leadership they have the best professionals people with tons of experience.
The economic team of PML-N performed really well under sanctions after Nuclear Blasts, they completed Motorways, said good bye to IMF. Dollar exchange rate was also stable without any foreign aid.

The biggest underpass of country in Lahore completed in less then 100 days and here we have PTI fans lol your party failed to complete party elections in 100 days.:yahoo:

In future i expect PML-N to take a look into Islamabad Lahore Bullet train project.

My dear fellow stop dreaming high first take out pakistan railway from the mess and then think about the Bullet Trains lol brainless supporters of Patwaris ... and secondly which party did such election in their party except PTI ??? can you participate in Party election of PML N ?? they Dnt will give u even a FU*K....

What development you talking about how many dams these morons created in their entire political life ??? completed motorways come on dude you gona vote and support these corrupt elite on the names of roads ?? dont you have brain ?? these industrialists are sucking poor people's blood .... Sharif family own poultary business in pakistan many of their MNA's and Sharif family Own Sugar mills and flour mills and all the shortage happend in past was done by these Mor0ns and you brainless people are still supporting them

Leave “Janab Edhi” aside. He never claimed these social works as “Ahsaan” he is doing these social works for afterlife and never ever asked anything political from us. Stop hiding your CRUELTY behind Janab Edhi’s good deeds.

>Sharif Medical city was built by Sharif Family from their OWN pocket and providing medical facilities to the deserving people of Pakistan and Sharif Family never ask anything political against this Social work.

>So IK did Ahsaan on us by making Hospital with OUR money and now he is asking votes against his “AHSAAN”.
Feel the Difference!!!