Naswar Corner

CISA will be defiantly a plus as i told you it has relevance in both auditing profession and as well in management. and by the way you have pass only one internet base exam and you can prepare for it in your free time. At the moment you are used to study so you can do it easily, once you are in professional life than it's difficult like i am planing since 5 years to do it

Certified Information Systems Auditor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Thanks Lovey Bhai, I'd look into this & ask others along the way about it ! Yaaraa waiseee tell me about these things :
- what one does in Info System Audits ?
- does a CISA work for audit firms or something else ?
- what sort of scope & competition can I expect to see in this in the context of Pakistan ?
- what are its growth prospects in Pakistan ?

The reason I ask the last one is because the only reason I didn't go for finance or still am not going for it is because of our woefully immature capital markets & hence a dearth of scope especially in Lahore when Karachi is Pakistan's financial hub !

Thanks Lovey Bhai, I'd look into this & ask others along the way about it ! Yaaraa waiseee tell me about these things :
- what one does in Info System Audits ?
- does a CISA work for audit firms or something else ?
- what sort of scope & competition can I expect to see in this in the context of Pakistan ?

Yaar in plain words, You check document's their authenticity and and signature in your audits to make sure that transaction is genuine. Now - organizations are moving to paperless environment with electronic approvals and things are getting automated. So, its becoming mandatory to ensure that transactions & approvals are being done with authorized IDs, only intended people have access to systems. Data is secure from manipulation, systems generated transactions have correct financial impact etc.

In my last organization (MNC), IS Audit was part of annual financial audit and it's becoming routine in at-least Public listed companies but they have limited scope at the moment but it's expanding. And if you are a CFO of the organization than management expect you to ensure Information Security and infect in most of organizations in Pak IT department is reporting to CFO's - so it's expected from you that you know how to ensure compliance in IS like other business processes

Frankly - I don't know ground realities of Pak market but as far as i know most of CISA holders are from IT background, so it will not bother you as they can't apply for jobs which you will be applying. I don't know what will be the situation 2 years later as you know hamare qom jis chiz kay pichay par jaay os ko crash kar kay he chorti hai, but still CISA is investment which will surely helps you in your professional

@ Lovey Bhai : Thanks for all the recommendations...I appreciate it ! :kiss3:

I think I'll ask around more whilst keeping your recommendations in mind & try to make a decision on this ! Take Care...its 15 minutes to 3 a.m here...I bet it might not be that much off from it in Iran so nightie night !

So guys which professional qualification better suit to MBA holder

CIMA or ACCA ? I think you get exemption of some papers if you hold recognised MBA degree

Is Management accounting common in Pakistan? :unsure:

no, i am living in house and i miss my home sweet home

That sort of depends on where you're operating from - Britain, the Middle East, Singapore or Pakistan ?

I have completed my MBA degree here in UK and i want to settle in Pakistan. I have no idea about job market in Pakistan. I had BSC when i left Pakistan and never had any work experience there

I know people get job easily in middle east if they are certified management accountant but i am not sure about pakistan

I have completed my MBA degree here in UK and i want to settle in Pakistan. I have no idea about job market in Pakistan. I had BSC when i left Pakistan and never had any work experience there

I know people get job easily in middle east if they are certified management accountant but i am not sure about pakistan

In Pakistan only a CA rules & because our industries are next to non-existent management accounting hasn't much scope & the ones that have usually employ CAs as the Financial Controllers with B.COMs/MBAs or ACCA/ICMAPs (Pakistan's management accountancy qualification) in the role of management accountants but even there the work isn't that rewarding either financially or in terms of growth.

I'd suggest an MBA coupled with some relevant work experience to be a better bet than accumulating degrees but of course an ACCA or a CIMA is worthless without the 3 year mandatory work experience so do work there in the UK, if you can, or the Middle East because having a foreign thuppaaa (stamp) on your resume has both a psychological & professional (in terms of the exposure you got) effect on your would-be employer.

Have thought about the CFA designation ?

In Pakistan only a CA rules & because our industries are next to non-existent management accounting hasn't much scope & the ones that have usually employ CAs as the Financial Controllers with B.COMs/MBAs or ACCA/ICMAPs (Pakistan's management accountancy qualification) in the role of management accountants but even there the work isn't that rewarding either financially or in terms of growth.

I'd suggest an MBA coupled with some relevant work experience to be a better bet than accumulating degrees but of course an ACCA or a CIMA is worthless without the 3 year mandatory work experience so do work there in the UK, if you can, or the Middle East because having a foreign thuppaaa (stamp) on your resume has both a psychological & professional (in terms of the exposure you got) effect on your would-be employer.

Have thought about the CFA designation ?

Do you get any exemptions for CA if you have got degree of MBA from UK ?

Secondly which professional exam take it longer to complete for MBA holder. CIMA, CA, ACCA or CFA? I mean length of study as well as experience needed to complete the professional degree.

I had general MBA not specialist MBA which cover all aspects of management but you dont get in-depth knowledge about a particular field like HR, finance, Marketing etc. I like accounting and finance because i had my BSC in mathematics and physics. Its very hard to get senior management position in UK if you don't hold British nationality or was not born in UK but you can get accounting and finance related jobs easily if you are professionally qualified in these fields. All decent jobs in middle east also demand plenty of experience at senior level as well as professional qualification beside MBA or any other academic degree

Do you get any exemptions for CA if you have got degree of MBA from UK ?

Secondly which professional exam take it longer to complete for MBA holder. CIMA, CA, ACCA or CFA? I mean length of study as well as experience needed to complete the professional degree.

I had general MBA not specialist MBA which cover all aspects of management but you dont get in-depth knowledge about a particular field like HR, finance, Marketing etc. I like accounting and finance because i had my BSC in mathematics and physics. Its very hard to get senior management position in UK if you don't hold British nationality or was not born in UK but you can get accounting and finance related jobs easily if you are professionally qualified in these fields. All decent jobs in middle east also demand plenty of experience at senior level as well as professional qualification beside MBA or any other academic degree

All of the information about them is available on their respective websites ! As far as I know the exemptions for both ACCA & CA are quite minimal for MBA holders (6-9 of the 14 papers exempt in case of ACCAs & much..much less in case of CA) but I dunno whats the case for ICAEW or CIMA & no exemptions for CFA. All of them require 3 years mandatory work experience in the relevant field. I'd suggest going for one of ICAEW or ACCA because getting either opens up a lot of opportunities to acquire more qualifications; for example I, as an ACCA student, now can get exempted from as many as 10 of 15 papers of ICAEW whereas once I'm done with it, I'd be exempted from 13 of 15. In case of a CIMA, I'd be required to sit for a case study & another paper & based on my ACCA get that qualification too. There are similar arrangements with the Scottish CA, the Irish CA, the Canadian CA, the Australian CPA etc.

So I'd recommend going for ACCA but only if you're not in Pakistan because here ACCAs are having a really...really hard time !

P.S All of these accounting qualifications (ACCA/ICAEW/CIMA) can be obtained by getting just one of them & then claiming exemptions based on it however what makes or breaks a professional accountant isn't the degree so much as it is the relevant work experience. An E&Y or PWC audit trainee armed with an ICAEW is going to bang the best relevant jobs out there...then come the others from other firms or institutions.

21213_362164357209982_811197856_n.jpg