Narendra Modi's government kicks into gear with defence, dam projects

Actually the developed nations want the developing countries to remain under-developed because to maintain their higher standard of living they rely on the cheap imports from the countries like India and China. Some NGOs are even involved in politics, Greenpeace gave money to AAP.
Now, Bush blames India for rising food prices - The Times of India
Now, Bush blames India for rising food prices
PTI | May 3, 2008, 10.36AM ISTWASHINGTON: Prosperity in countries like India is "good" but it triggers increased demand for "better nutrition" which in turn leads to higher food prices, US President George W Bush said. ( Watch )

The comments come close on the heels of US Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice's controversial statement that "apparent improvement" in the diets of people in India and China and consequent food export caps is among the causes of the current global food crisis.

At an interactive session on economy in Missouri, Bush argued that there are many factors for the present crisis, only one of which was investment on biofuels like ethanol.
"Worldwide there is increasing demand. There turns out to be prosperity in developing world, which is good. It's going to be good for you because you'll be selling products in the countries, you know, big countries perhaps, and it's hard to sell products into countries that aren't prosperous. In other words, the more prosperous the world is, the more opportunity there is," the US President said.

"It also, however, increases demand. So, for example, just as an interesting thought for you, there are 350 million people in India who are classified as middle class. That's bigger than America. Their middle class is larger than our entire population.

"And when you start getting wealth, you start demanding better nutrition and better food, and so demand is high, and that causes the price to go up," he said.

Bush also listed change in weather patterns and increase in basic costs like that of energy as factors contributing to higher food prices.

"No question that ethanol has had a part of it. But I simply do not subscribe to the notion that it is the main cost driver for your food going up," Bush said.

Several international experts have in recent days held biofuels, until recently cast as a miracle alternative to polluting fossil fuels, for being responsible for usurping arable land and distorting world food prices.

"Actually, the reason why food prices are high now is because, one, energy costs are high, and if you're a farmer, you're going to pass on your cost of energy in the products you sell, otherwise you'd go broke.

"And when you're paying more for your diesel, paying more for your fertiliser because it's got a lot of, you know, natural gas in it, in other words, when your basic costs are going up, so does the cost of food," Bush said.

He said there are two aspects of rising food prices -- its effect on US citizens and the fact that there is a food scarcity in the world.

"We don't have a scarcity issue in America...We got a price issue. Our shelves aren't going empty, it's just costing more money," Bush said.

"There is scarcity in the world, and I happen to believe when we find people who can't find food we ought to help them find it," he said adding, "America is by far the most generous nation when it comes to helping the hungry."

"We're an unbelievably compassionate nation," he said. "I think we ought to change our food policy in Africa and other developing countries...buying food directly from farmers as opposed to giving people food. I think we ought to be saying, 'Why don't we help you be able to deal with scarcity by encouraging your farmers to grow and be efficient growers? Otherwise, we're going to be in this cycle forever."

Exactly, they want us Underdeveloped so they can get cheap imports and enjoy their luxurious life.Greenpeace is one among many such Ngo's and Human rights organizations used by CIA for creating social unrest,stalling development and rebellions in other countries.

Actually the developed nations want the developing countries to remain under-developed because to maintain their higher standard of living they rely on the cheap imports from the countries like India and China. Some NGOs are even involved in politics, Greenpeace gave money to AAP.
IB report mentioned that there were 23 NGOs helping Kejriwal in Varanasi during elections. Don't know how much truth is in there.

AAP hasn't gone on dharna against the "corrupt IB", hence I guess there is definitely some truth in the IB report.
Wait for sometime, they might do it near Delhi assembly elections crying that BJP is playing politics through IB

Why u guyz fighting.....if they r culprit leave on government for action..and plz don't abuse anyone coz i am also pissed off at this Medha patkar like most guyz here..but anyway she had her stand we have ours.

This is in the form of an exchange of confidential emails between Ms. Patkar and by Mr. Patrick McCully, Ex. Director, International Rivers Network (IRN) based at Berkeley (United States). Now who is this Patrick McCully? He is a man who cavorts with enemies of India, particularly with Angana Chatterjee, on the board of IRN, a known India baiter, who was very close to Ghulab Nabi Fai, recently arrested by the FBI for being an ISI spy. Angana Chatterjee is married to Richard Shapiro, Director and Associate Professor of the Graduate Anthropology Program at CIIS. Now both Shapiro and Chatterjee were regular at the ISI sponsored junkets. She was charged of being propped up by the ISI to launch an anti-India campaign. Further, her partner Richard Shapiro was denied entry to India in 2010 for what was reported to be his anti-India propaganda.

Then, there is the question of how does Medha Patkar get her finances? Medha Patkar has the Right Livelihood Award, the Rev. MA Thomas National Human Rights Award, Amnesty International's Human Rights Defender's Award, and the BBC's Green Ribbon Award for Best International Political Campaigner. Her Narmada Bachao Andolan (NBA) is described as a "social movement". Presumably this social movement handles money, if only for its own expenses. But the Supreme Court has noted the NBA is not a registered entity. So, how does it bank its money? How does it account for its expenses? The NBA, which, as we have seen, has international connections, does not seem to have its own website. Foreign sources fund its support groups. But which foreign sources? Could the American Security agencies, which have no qualms about using a Richard Headley - and still shelter him from the Indian justice - covertly fund Medha Patkar? Finally, accused of faking medical certificates, fined more than once for dodging court hearings, Patkar is now accused by the Supreme Court itself of†filing a false affidavit before it.

did you read this or the attachment letter before commenting?

So you hate Medha patkar who has correspondence with Mccully who is close to some Angana Chattergee who in turn is very close to Ghulam nabi Fai ...am I correct ? Isn't is stretched bit far ?

Medha patkar is not even married ...what is she going to do with so much of foreign funds ?

do we have any proof that she is using this funds for personal benefits ...?

If so much information ( as you claim ) is in public domain what are authorities doing ?

If medha patkar was fined for dodging court hearing ..so it makes her a grand criminal ?

she was 'accused' of faking medical certificates and providing false affidavits ....does mere accusation is sufficient prove someone guilty ?

remember people medha patkar is fighting against are too powerful ..and don't you expect reprisals ?

Show me the single instance where medha patkar was actually found guilty of wrongdoing !

then I will accept your argument ...so far all you have produced is mere accusations and conjectures and hearsay.

as far as Narmada bachao andolan ...its funding and accounts and so on is concerned . do you think Gujarat and other governments with whom there were at loggerheads in such a protracted legal tussel would not have had targeted NBA on these issues ?

I refuse to see things in black and white ..and I believe things are but shades of grey ...

I am not saying that there may not have been vested interests locally or abroad who propped up NBA ....it's possible .

there are always wrong people in right spots and right people in wrong places ....

However I will desist from making sweeping comments based on mere conjecture .

So you hate Medha patkar who has correspondence with is close to some Angana Chattergee who in turn is very close to Ghulam nabi Fai ...am I correct ? Isn't is stretched bit far ?

Medha patkar is not even married ...what is she going to do with so much of foreign funds ?

do we have any proof that she is using this funds for personal benefits ...?

If so much information ( as you claim ) is in public domain what are authorities doing ?

If medha patkar was fined for dodging court hearing ..so it makes her a grand criminal ?

she was 'accused' of faking medical certificates and providing false affidavits ....does mere accusation is sufficient prove someone guilty ?

remember people medha patkar is fighting against are too powerful ..and don't you expect reprisals ?

Show me the single instance where medha patkar was actually found guilty of wrongdoing !

then I will accept your argument ...so far all you have produced is mere accusations and conjectures and hearsay.

what makes you believe that big movement like Narmad bachao andolan will last so long without virtual address....?
About us

as far as Narmada bachao andolan ...its funding and accounts and so on is concerned . do you think Gujarat and other governments with whom there were at loggerheads in such a protracted legal tussel would not have had targeted NBA on these issues ?

I refuse to see things in black and white ..and I believe things are but shades of grey ...

I am not saying that there may not have been vested interests locally or abroad who propped up NBA ....it's possible .

there are always wrong people in right spots and right people in wrong places ....

However I will desist from making sweeping comments based on mere conjecture .

Oooooo..... chidu is so old, madamji is a widow, etc - what are they going to do with so much money? You supporting her is your matter and right. I would love to read you on kafila after the dam is up.

I am not supporting Medha Patkar ...but I do support the cause she stood up for ....
I think there is big difference in there ...
I am just asking people who are talking against her to provide reasonable evidence to show that she in involved in anti-national activities as she is being blamed for !

I am not supporting Medha Patkar ...but I do support the cause she stood up for ....
I am just asking people who are talking against her to provide reasonable evidence to show that she in involved in anti-national activities as she is being blamed for !

What she did was right?But like I said 'No Pain No Gain'.If the peoples in North India uses their wisdom for good life long time ago Govt might restrain from such forcing method.So if you want good development ,you must sacrifice your assets.But if you are already developed there is no need for such development measures.
North India needs development .So GoI dont have any choice.Medha Patkar cant
propose an alternative method when she oppose development projects.
Instead of opposing developemnt projects she must fight for rehabilitation of people displaced when a project implemented .That is right way.

What she did was right?But like I said 'No Pain No Gain'.If the peoples in North India uses their wisdom for good life long time ago Govt might restrain from such forcing method.So if you want good development ,you must sacrifice your assets.But if you are already developed there is no need for such development measures.
North India needs development .So GoI dont have any choice.Medha Patkar cant
propose an alternative method when she oppose development projects.
Instead of opposing developemnt projects she must fight for rehabilitation of people displaced when a project implemented .That is right way.

The blind mindless development has turned our great rivers like Ganga and Yamuna into mere sewage canals ...

This is what happens when activism from likes of Medha Patkar and so on is lacking ...and environment is destroyed in the process .

who is responsible for national shame of turning sacred rivers like Ganga and Yamuna into gutters ???

and who said that medha patkar has not fought for rehabilitation and is only opposing developmental projects for sake of opposing ?

and why at all Medha patkar and so on needs to fight for rehabilitation ..is n't it supposed to be Government's responsibility ?

Slightly incorrect. Medha Patkar is not anti national. She is a dedicated Internationalist and a Marxist. So national or anti national allegations are not appropriate.

True to her convictions, she has turned her entire attention to opposing Modi now(perceived to be anti socialist even fascist). I like her (in a negative way). On the other hand the brain dead articles on Kafila, or the kind that is spawned by Medha's supporters kinda invigorates me with new energy, only in a way they did not intend. :D

My only problem with her is that her movement is largely political. There are plenty of environmentalists who have done more for the environment by raising much less ruckus. But then what's the point if the dispute goes away, the raison d'ettre for her relevance.

As for the development is concerned, I sometimes am reminded by the ascetic ideas of our Father of the Nation (@levina :D). He wanted India to remain an agrarian state, by being all farmers, all living in trees or forests or villages, making salt on monthly expeditions to sea shores, making our own cloth with the charkha at home, defend our borders with the Indian equivalent of the Salvation Army or Satyaghrahi Army(yes, they will be unarmed) and of course live without evil 'Western' electricity. That would be nice indeed. Nature will take its own course and millions will die out of starvation but then starving Hindus and Muslims will tie rakhis on each others hands and starve to death in bliss, while Gandhiji's loyalists like Medha ji would perhaps visit or sponsor a camp for 500 people(leaving maybe a few millions to watch) and hold out the glorious and time tested begging Indian hand to the enlightened England or Europe in general. A few poets will perhaps write about the wretchedness of Indian existence and consider the independence a burden, sigh and go over to the next day of a life we wouldn't want to live.

The blind mindless development has turned our great rivers like Ganga and Yamuna into mere sewage canals ...

This is what happens when activism from likes of Medha Patkar and so on is lacking ...and environment is destroyed in the process .

who is responsible for national shame of turning sacred rivers like Ganga and Yamuna into gutters ???

and who said that medha patkar has not fought for rehabilitation and is only opposing developmental projects for sake of opposing ?

and why at all Medha patkar and so on needs to fight for rehabilitation ..is n't it supposed to be Government's responsibility ?
Keeping rivers clean is a different issue actually. We just need to look at Germany and see the environment is very well protected, thought it is highly industrialized. Development is not what we should attack (as Medha ji does), but the nature of it. Forget industries, you know how many spit or otherwise soil the roads we walk on. It is our behavior. We need to fix ourselves instead of putting the blame on industrialists alone. Say - what did the Environment Clearance Department do in the Ganga. And what did they do on the Oder(Germany). The difference is the answer. And the answer is not Medha.

Slightly incorrect. Medha Patkar is not anti national. She is a dedicated Internationalist and a Marxist. So national or anti national allegations are not appropriate.

True to her convictions, she has turned her entire attention to opposing Modi now(perceived to be anti socialist even fascist). I like her (in a negative way). On the other hand the brain dead articles on Kafila, or the kind that is spawned by Medha's supporters kinda invigorates me with new energy, only in a way they did not intend. :D

My only problem with her is that her movement is largely political. There are plenty of environmentalists who have done more for the environment by raising much less ruckus. But then what's the point if the dispute goes away, the raison d'ettre for her relevance.

As for the development is concerned, I sometimes am reminded by the ascetic ideas of our Father of the Nation (@levina :D). He wanted India to remain an agrarian state, by being all farmers, all living in trees or forests or villages, making salt on monthly expeditions to sea shores, making our own cloth with the charkha at home, defend our borders with the Indian equivalent of the Salvation Army or Satyaghrahi Army(yes, they will be unarmed) and of course live without evil 'Western' electricity. That would be nice indeed. Nature will take its own course and millions will die out of starvation but then starving Hindus and Muslims will tie rakhis on each others hands and starve to death in bliss, while Gandhiji's loyalists like Medha ji would perhaps visit or sponsor a camp for 500 people(leaving maybe a few millions to watch) and hold out the glorious and time tested begging Indian hand to the enlightened England or Europe in general. A few poets will perhaps write about the wretchedness of Indian existence and consider the independence a burden, sigh and go over to the next day of a life we wouldn't want to live.

Your sarcasm is praiseworthy .
you could be a good journalist ...

what is wrong in being internationalist ? all humanists are internationalists !
I think so is socialists .

but then what is with the label ?

as long as she is fighting for poor and oppressed in legal way ...it doesn't matter to me ...

why are you blaming Medha patkar for what her supports may have spawned ...will you blame modi for what his so called supports spwan ?

Do you read Medha Patkar's mind to know whether she has changed her full attention to modi or not ?

Medha patkar remained apolitical till anna hazare launched anti corruption movement and she was drawn into AAP led politics because many people saw hope there ....

so do you think politics should be bastion for born stupid , spoon fed like Rahul Gandhi or self obsessed leaders and goondas and activits like medha patkar should not be welcomed ?

I will always welcome Medha Patkar. I don't like her views - but that does not mean I will exclude her from the national scene. :)

Only in matters of environment, I will not count her advise very seriously. :D That's all.

@Indo-guy - let's admit Gandhi had strains of everything in him. Same with our esteemed lady here. :P

Your father or grand father's thoughts 50 years back will sound equally stupid to you today ..and after 50 years your grandchildren will also find your thoughts equally whimsical and idiotic.

Very few people are visionary enough to look into future ...

Gandhiji had his own limitations . well we are not exactly living by all of Gandhiji's teaching right ?

so mfrom internationalist and Marxist now Medha patkar becomes Gandhian .right ?

Medha patkar or others are not anti developemental..they just oppose the unplanned development which has potential to wreck more havocs than good they may do us .

Had it not been for the NBA millions displaced by project would have been deprived of their due .

You can't deny this fact .
then why quote him selectively .

Keeping rivers clean is a different issue actually. We just need to look at Germany and see the environment is very well protected, thought it is highly industrialized. Development is not what we should attach (as Medha ji does), but the nature of it. Forget industries, you know how many spit or otherwise soil the roads we walk on. It is our behavior. We need to fix ourselves instead of putting the blame on industrialists alone. Say - what did the Environment Clearance Department do in the Ganga. And what did they do on the Oder(Germany). The difference is the answer. And the answer is not Medha.

Majority of river pollutions stems from industrial sources ....
I do not deny our lack of civic sense , cleanliness and sense of environmentalism has contributed to this mess .

and yet you can't simply deny that unplanned , unchecked industrial projects have polluted our rivers .

I did not say that Medha patkar is answer . I do not believe in worshipping of individuals ...because everybody is fallible ...

I just said that medha patkar like activism is required but malice is so deep that it seems nobody including Modi can save mother Ganga ...and similar other rivers ....

It is a great shame !

I will always welcome Medha Patkar. I don't like her views - but that does not mean I will exclude her from the national scene. :)

Only in matters of environment, I will not count her advise very seriously. :D That's all.

@Indo-guy - let's admit Gandhi had strains of everything in him. Same with our esteemed lady here. :P

That's why he is called as " Conscience of our Nation " right ...
I will not discredit Gandhi's legacy for some of his shortcomings ...He was a great human being ..great and yet human being after all ...and so was fallible !

You seem to have rather deep revulsion towards Gandhi and Gandhians ....

People like Medha Patkar are self made ....their public stature comes from their life long personal sacrifices directed towards a cause they stand for ...You and me are nobody to include or exclude them from national scene !

The highest tribunal of this country gave patient hearing to Medha Patkar and her colleagues ...and that is how NBA has played crucial role in securing interests of millions displaced by project .

You mat not count her advise very seriously ...but courts and governments had to listen to her seriously ( directly or indirectly )