Myanmar Peace Prize laureate criminally silent on Muslims cleansing

Why on earth is the world's largest cesspool with the world's largest population of illiterates being discussed here? The thread is about the Western agent which the Western (Jewish controlled) media depicted as a beacon of "democracy" and "freedom" being eerily silent on the mass murder going on in her own country against a large minority population of the country.

603528_458614007497290_247287462_n.jpg

List of countries by literacy rate - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

137 137 India 75.6[6]
138 138 Comoros 74.2
139 139 Malawi 73.7
140 140 Uganda 73.3
141 141 Tanzania 72.9
142 142 Ghana 72.0* [l]
143 143 Zambia 70.9
144 144 Madagascar 70.7
145 144 Rwanda 70.7
146 146 Djibouti 70.3 [j]
147 147 Sudan 70.2 [aa]
148 148 Angola 70.0
149 149 Laos 68.7
150 150 Nepal 68.2
151 151 Cameroon 67.9
152 152 Democratic Republic of the Congo 66.8
153 153 Eritrea 66.6
154 153 Nigeria 66.6
155 153 Burundi 66.6
156 156 Egypt 66.4
157 157 Yemen 62.4 [l]
158 158 Haiti 62.1 [j]
159 159 Morocco 61.5 [7] [8]
160 160 Papua New Guinea 60.1
161 161 Pakistan 58.2
162 162 Mauritania 57.5
163 163 Bangladesh 55.9

Oh yeah...

94 93 Myanmar 92.0

I think you bingala can shut up about literacy now.

Inadequate budgetary allocations for education, poor planning and irregularities have left almost half the country's population illiterate although governments in the last 39 years talked about giving utmost priority to the sector.

As the country observed International Literacy Day yesterday, around 3.73 crore people between 11 and 45 years old are illiterate in Bangladesh, says non-formal education mapping report 2009.

The country marks this year's literacy day through events on the theme "Literacy and women's empowerment".

When Bangladesh became independent in 1971, the literacy rate was abysmal, 16.8 percent. Ever since, successive governments have allocated the highest budget to this sector but failed to bring any significant results.

As of 2009, the country's literacy rate has come up to 53 percent, says a Ministry of Primary and Mass Education report.

Against this backdrop, the government is launching two mega projects Basic Literacy and Continuing Education (BLCE) project-1 and 2 at a cost of around Tk 3,000 crore to fulfil its election pledge of eradicating illiteracy. The Bureau of Non-Formal Education (BNFE) under the primary and mass education ministry will implement the projects.

BNFE sources said the projects aim at providing basic and life-skills based education to the people who never enrolled in or dropped out from primary schools.

The BLCE-1 would be implemented in 61 districts with Tk 2,912 crore while the BLCE-2 in three hilly districts at a cost of Tk 50 crore.

Educationists, however, are quite sceptical about achieving the target by 2014 through these projects. They cited the example of failure of a previous similar project Total Literacy Movement (TLM).

The TLM was introduced in 1996 by the then Awami League government, but the BNP government cancelled in 2003 bringing allegations of irregularities and mismanagement.

State Minister for primary and mass education Motahar Hossain, however, said TLM was a success as it had pushed up literacy rate to 63 in 2002. As the BNP government had shut it down, the literacy rate fell.

He yesterday(September 7) said, "Lack of budgetary allocations and longstanding shortcomings in the education system are responsible for the low rate of literacy."

The sector has been receiving budgetary allocation of around 2.5 percent of the GDP whereas Nepal allocates around 16 percent in this sector, he said, adding that with this allocation it is tough to implement literacy programmes properly.

Despite such scepticism, the government believes that the two projects would be able to eradicate illiteracy if all the stakeholders cooperated.

Officials concerned said the projects would be implemented in three phases through some selected non-government organisations while the deputy district commissioners would monitor those.

Around 1.16 crore people between 15 to 25 years will be given basic literacy course while 1.45 lakh technical education, said the officials.

Rezaul Quader, director general of BNFE, said the projects would start from January next and the field level activities would begin from June 2011.

"The projects are now awaiting approval of the Executive Committee of the National Economic Council," he said, adding that the government would primarily fund the projects although it is looking for donors.

Rasheda K Choudhury, former education adviser to a caretaker government, said all the plans to improve literacy rate were not taken considering the socio-economic reality and whatever plans have been adopted only broadened the discrimination in the education system.

"The issue of literacy will have to be taken up as part of the mainstream education as it is not possible to remove the problem with project-based approach," said Rasheda, also the executive director of Campaign for Popular Education (CAMPE).

She observed that the government's activities regarding literacy became project based--which implies that the drive ends when the project life expires.

"The government needs to chalk out a long-term programme and implement it phase by phase," she said, adding that whatever steps the government takes have to be made public.

She said the central government would frame policy guideline, finance and monitor the programme but the local government bodies should deal with literacy.

Illiteracy grips almost half of Bangladesh

Looking at their illiteracy rate now I understand why there is always a senseless discussions when bangladeshis are involved..

List of countries by literacy rate - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Oh yeah...

I think you bingala can shut up about literacy now.

dear sire, could you please elaborate on this literacy rate, what is the standard used to measure, do you need to be a middle school grad, high school grad, college grad, etc... to be identified as literate

Bangladesh Literacy rate - 56%

India's Literacy rate - 75.6%

Illiteracy grips almost half of Bangladesh

Now blow up you Internet Jehadi..

with 75% literacy you still have female infanticide, human feces on the streets, very high rates of sexual harassment

so much for that...

with 75% literacy you still have female infanticide, human feces on the streets, very high rates of sexual harassment

so much for that...

With the literacy on rise other social issues are going away.. The numbers are fast decreasing..

But look at your self, you bangladeshis are turning Mullahs and Jehadis.. You must look at the plight of women in Bangladesh even before you talk about or compare yourself to India..

Want me to post how well women in treated in BD and the cases of infanticide at your place..

75% literacy rate in India ? these are probably cooked numbers like the Nasa engineers.

Literacy rate estimation is part of Indian Census, where the NASA engineers part was an internet hoax.

Of course, you are free to believe what you like.

India's way of finding literacy is by writing your name... While in pakistan and bd it's write whole alphabet.. thats why indian literacy is so high

Do you think India with 75% population illiterate would have 70% in poverty and 600 million not having toilets? If thats true India has more literate than its poor, and that is definently fake... Kuch garabar hai.. Seems like Indian lying as usual, same as they did for rupee to drag in investors

How is there is direct correlation between literacy and poverty? Is there a study proving that literate people are not poor?

If India is lying, our lies is being bought better than other liars out there :lol:

PS: people can say the same about Pakistan's many statistics.