MQM - Political Desk

blog62-580x2652.jpg

17MondayMar 2014

Posted by Munir Janjua in Uncategorized

Leave a comment

March 18 marks the foundation of MQM. This year MQM completes 30 years of service to the nation. 30 long years of struggle that met resistance by belligerent forces and hostile intentions. Hailing from a background quite different from a conventional Karachiite, I find it amazing to note that many of my conclusions about MQM are similar to an MQM supporter. Mind you, I have never voted for MQM in my life!

While engrossed in a cup of tea, which is quite honestly feels a luxury for us all here in the US, I had some potentially thoughtful awakening regarding the MQM. What struck me the most was this question that floated into my mind abruptly, yet was not as swift in vacating my cognitive functions – it lingered and lingered and finally I found the answer.

The question is

“Why is that the leader of MQM, Altaf Hussain, decides to stay in UK”. Reframing the question obviously leads to the all too familiar Pakistani version of it “Why does Altaf Hussain not return to Pakistan?”

This question is also on the minds of the people of Pakistan as is evident by comments on a social media forum regarding a story about MQM.

Long ago I had heard this age old axiom in a Hindi movie

“Dhoondnae sae to bhagwaan bhee milta hai”

And, that is exactly how I had felt when I finally found the answer the question. Actually, the answer to the question lies in another statement that is often hurled at MQM as a form of abuse; which is “MQM was formed by the establishment to counter other groups of that time.” Hence, it, therefore becomes crucial to answer the following question

“Was MQM a product of the establishment?”

See, underhanded deals between politicians and the omnipotent establishment of Pakistan are old school stories now. Nothing is greater than the might of the establishment and everybody acknowledges it that all politicians have been benefactors of this establishment, or at the mercy of it at one point or another. Establishment, where Pakistani or anywhere else, is almost always, without any deviations, the most strong pillar of a country. Same goes for Pakistan.

However, were MQM and its leader to be establishment supported, why would Altaf Hussain find it hard to return to Pakistan? And, if not return, then just for a visit? And, the answer to the question lies in the question itself; that is,

Altaf Hussain would have returned if he were to strike a deal with the establishment – in other words, if Altaf Hussain was prepared to do the establishment’s bidding!

And, his self imposed exile is the biggest evidence of the leader’s genuine credentials – not to mention, evidence that MQM was not formed by the establishment.

There is just no way that Altaf Hussain could ever be a man of the establishment. There are massive rewards in being establishment aligned in Pakistan and if these rewards were the motivator for Altaf Hussain he would returned long time ago. He would have struck a deal much like any other. The sitting prime minister Nawaz Sharif struck a deal and so did Benazir Bhutto and all others whomsoever we have ever voted for in Pakistan. There is no exception but Altaf Hussain.

There is none other than Altaf Hussain, and this is worth repeating million times over till we can understand the significance of this – really understand with comprehension is what I mean here.

And, let us assume for a split second that MQM was the product of establishment. Nonetheless, it took stand against plenty of issues that went against the general consensus of the establishment (the recent one being its secular and anti-Taliban stand which makes MQM the most vocal anti-Taliban voice in Pakistan). For raising its voices, it suffered brutally like no other political party or leader ever has in the history of Pakistan. Surely, this says something about Altaf Hussain’s sincerity towards the causes of national importance. Why else would it have been hounded by the establishment, if not for standing up for the “right”?

All credit, of course, goes to the dynamic and resilient leadership of Mr. Altaf Hussain and scores of MQM workers who “held the fort”, despite facing the worst form of human rights violations by the apparatus of the state?

Within all that has now transformed from being sour to pure rotten in today’s Pakistan, I see the leadership of Altaf Hussain and MQM as people who have the potential to bring about positive change in the lifestyle of Pakistanis.

Genuine leadership is not a figment of charismatic personality as we have seen with the PTI in 2013 elections. Rather, true leadership is a function of withstanding hardship in the face of adversity and continuing on the path of truth with determination and dedication.

As an aside, the most recent apprentice of the establishment is PTI and Imran Khan.

as i said, come to karachi don't rely on twitter, facebook

i can show you something, but than i don't need mudslinging to prove my point

Karachi elects PTI, look what PTI has done in karachi since election! dr arif alvi has done nothing to his constituency, and even check out his facebook page, most of the NA250 people curse him

thing is when MQM was responsible for NA250 problems of people were getting solved, now arif alvi is not solving the problems of his own constituency

reality is MQM MNAs and MPAs are all performing unlike PTI MNAs and MPAs

and if PTI loves karachi so much, ask PTI to start raising issues of karachi, where is PTI and its fans now, what i know is PTI is a decoration piece party, has no practical use about it and only shouts more when there is political benefit, but on ground PTI is absent

PTI has got 4 MPAs and one MNA btw, but i guess you don't even know that
MQM have given jobs to people in ksc and police in their tenure ..that is why the police is so politicize .. not only mqm but ppp have done that too ..that is why people have to go to political office instead of just going to police .. that is how mqm have made them dependednt .. now alvi job is to represent them in parliment .. not to fix nalka pani issue .. that is why like mqm PTi is also in favour of giving power to local bodies ..

u do jalsa every day almost .. do alot of strikes as well .. i never complained ... they are useless sa well .. most of the time ..atlaf hussian try singing songs , then u do it to warn britishers and ur leader talk shit about his own country UK.. then he kept playing urdu speaking card .. demanding for split of sindh .. what is usefl thing come out of ur jalsa ..
when we did protest .. we got re election in na 250 ..then we pressured british government to handle their nationals .. blocked nato supply ...

sorry for typing error ..i was saying PTI has 1 out of 20 national assembley seat in karachi ..then we have 4 out of 42 proviancal seats in karachi ... teachincally we have nothng ..

MQM have given jobs to people in ksc and police in their tenure ..that is why the police is so politicize .. not only mqm but ppp have done that too ..that is why people have to go to political office instead of just going to police .. that is how mqm have made them dependednt .. now alvi job is to represent them in parliment .. not to fix nalka pani issue .. that is why like mqm PTi is also in favour of giving power to local bodies ..

excuses more and more excuses, utter crap nothing else

On MQM's 30th anniversary, we look at how the party started and where it is today.

1896738_855291947821166_656503435_n.jpg

MQM Chief Altaf Hussain and other leaders of All Pakistan Muhajir Student Organisation (APMSO) posing with APMSO flag.

1970835_855292084487819_1717680984_n.jpg

Altaf Hussain Azam Tariq and other APMSO leaders on stage during a rally.

532246_855291934487834_974916176_n.jpg

Altaf Husaain with other MQM leaders(rauf siddiqui left)

1901860_855291957821165_951778742_n.jpg

MQM chief waving victory sign as he comes out of a police van.

1069922_855292167821144_64128257_n.jpg

Dr Farooq Sattar appearing in court during the days of his imprisonment.

1395416_855292177821143_777792219_n.jpg

Altaf Hussain (C) arriving at Karachi University to visit Dhanak Mela organised by APMSO on January 10, 1989.

1902865_855292681154426_782470925_n.jpg

MQM Chief Altaf hussain ending his hunger strike, while Fakhruddin G Ibrahim, Nawabzada Nasrullah Khan , Agha Murtaza Poya, Dr Imran Farooq are also present on April 1990.

1185226_855292181154476_2069834281_n.jpg

MQM Chief addressing a rally.

1904097_855291987821162_1425476359_n.jpg

Altaf Hussain and other MQM leaders welcoming Nawaz Sharif at MQM headquarters Nine Zero.

1506738_855292661154428_516488575_n.jpg

MQM Chief Altaf HUssain addressing a press conference at Karachi Press Club, while Dr Imran Farooq is also present.

1925220_855292134487814_1315525309_n.jpg

MQM Chief Altaf Hussain (C) on stage with Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and former Chief Minister Sindh Jam Sadiq Ali.

1526814_855292654487762_1519829771_n.jpg

Altaf Hussain along with senior ANP Leader Ajmal Khatak at Ninezero-90 in 1991

1911868_855292087821152_1196563440_n.jpg

Dr Imran Farooq and other MQM workers cleaning the streets during Hafta e Safhai campaign Septerber 9-16, 1988.

10003528_855292314487796_11591404_n.jpg

MQM Chief Altaf Hussain and Jamaat-e-Islami leader Professor Ghafoor Ahmed greeting each other.

1463970_855291991154495_935226803_n.jpg

PPP leader and former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto in a conversation with Altaf Hussain.

1977175_855292031154491_1865616468_n.jpg

MQM chief Altaf Hussain and Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif sitting together

1925108_855292081154486_468266099_n.jpg

People arriving for MQM Women Convention in Karachi on February 20, 2012.
1925002_855292574487770_1345631934_n.jpg

A view of MQM Women Convention in Karachi February 20, 2012.Karachi

1097969_855292647821096_696128472_n.jpg

MQM leadership on stage during a rally on January 3, 2014.Hyderabad

1962755_855292324487795_1333878517_n.jpg

A view of MQM election rally in Mirpurkhas on May 8, 2013

1459678_855291907821170_1834433879_n.jpg

Posted on March 17, 2014by Hasan Tasleem
30 Years of MQM:
A reality, the sooner you accept it, better you’ll be

He started off towards the destination alone, but then people kept coming along and soon there was a caravan; (Wo Akela Hi Chala Tha Janib-E-Manzil Magar Log Saath Aatey Gaye Aur Karawaan Banta Gaya). This infamous verse comes short of defining Altaf Hussain’s untraditional revolutionary path; nobody had ever imagined that fearsome group of handful youth will leave everlasting impact, which will change the dynamics of Pakistani Politics for ever.

From its formation to its rise; everything was unconventional. It wasn’t formed by establishment, nor was it headed by any infamous business tycoon. It was not a brainchild of any major or general either. Interestingly, it had no influence of an star-studded personality. In fact, it was an average 30 year old student leader, belonging from lower working/middle-class family that rode around in a Honda 50, instead of luxury cars who formed the phenomenon that is known as MQM today.

Alike its leader, its workers and sympathizers belonged from much of similar social class, compromising of 98% of eccentric population, also known as common man (Aam Aadmi); that dreamt big, but had very little resources to make it possible. Instead of chasing their dreams, there priorities and focus were upon emplacing food on the dining table for the family and to provide them with a safe and stable future. When Altaf Hussain, who was a part of their social class, rose to national attention, challenged the status quo and demanded their rights from 2% elite, it gave them a sense of belonging and they took the movement further.

However, the 2% Elite and the establishments that controlled the elite & the politicians on string weren’t going to take the new entrants lightly. Attempts were made to bribe MQM’s founder and office bearers, splinter groups were implanted and empowered, violence was incited, baseless allegations were levied upon and State-run electronic media was utilized to tarnish MQM’s image. Initially these tactics may have tasted success, as 15,000-plus workers of MQM were extra-judicially murdered and many went missing (who are still missing till today) and forced much of its leadership into an exile. But, they couldn’t break its vote bank, MQM’s connection with its voters was extended to a grass-root level, especially in Urban Sindh. MQM only came back to make their presence feel and sweep the elections time-to-time and over again; till this day every election MQM has contested, it has gone on to gain more votes, more seats than it had ever achieved. Despite being low in numbers in provincial & national assembly, MQM has surely made its presence felt. Consistently, it’s always been the playmaker and the decisive force in matters of national significance, from the formation of the government to becoming the decisive factor behind Kala-Bagh Damn & LFC Awards.

History has witnessed, whenever MQM got the opportunity its councilors, mayors, MPAs and MNAs went on to deliver over and beyond the realm of their bounds, attained more than what they were capable of and went on achieving wonders and were acclaimed internationally. After the 2005 local bodies elections, Pakistan’s largest metropolitan city, Karachi, had a telephone-operator as its mayor ,but that telephone operator went on to be named among the top two of the world’s best mayors. MQM’s ideology and Syed Mustafa Kamal’s brilliance and hard work had paid off. The dream a common man can make a difference, was now a reality.

The key to MQM’s success was that it had simply achieved what every ideal political party is yet to. To follow the constitution, rules & regulations and your citizen’s interest first; nothing out of the ordinary. But what really made the difference was the fact, that it was the first to honestly and sincerely fulfill its duties & responsibilities, in an environment filled with greed and corruption.

Thirty years have passed since MQM, entered the political arena. A lot has changed but its connection and its network on the grass-root level along with its dedication has remained the same. MQM is a reality, the sooner you accept it, better you’ll be.

MQM's is now 30 years old and still a strong force to blow a knuckle In the Face of Feudal Lords! Whether you support it or not you are somehow a beneficiary of the fruit that came out as a result of MQM's struggle.
1: A Knuckle In the Face of Feudal Lords!
The feudal lords and those who share their mindset have no sense of justice and tolerance for other people beneath their self defined line of cast. Pakistan as a nation and Pakistanis as individuals keep facing this wrath in one form or the other. MQM's core philosophy for years has relied over the elimination of this medieval system from the society and everyone to be given equal empowerment. Although the struggle is still not completed but where MQM holds strong grounds these feudal posses no power. Karachi in general and even those areas with in Karachi, which are MQM's constituency vs. which aren't, are clear indicators of this.

Another national level example of this is when, Gen. Ayub Khan was declared winner of the most controversial elections in the history of Pakistan, his son Ayub Gohar killed 150 Karachites himself by firing over them through his car's sun roof, while he was celebrating the success of his father; and later easily due to the influence he had in the ruling government, removed the charge sheet of his name from the report also.

IPa9zJh.png

Above would be a little hard to achieve in today's Karachi.

2: The flag bearer of sectarian harmony and minority rights
The founder of this Country, Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah wanted a state where Muslims along with all other religions can live in peace and harmony, and everyone has the right to practice his faith independently. Sadly, this is the hardest thing to do in today's Pakistan. Every religious or significant day to minority communities passes under the dark clouds of fear and terror. And if there is one party that has not only spoken against such injustice or oppression, but has always remained involved to keep all entities together, is MQM.

zWWiFnq.jpg

From organizing interfaith harmony conferences before Muharram to ensuring security of churches before Christmas, it is MQM that stands tall between the people of Karachi and those who wish to destroy this hub of peace and brotherhood.

3: An end to heredity in politics
As a common Pakistani, if you do not belong to a notable family of a financially powerful background and if you wish to take part in Pakistani politics, which party would you join? Take any name except MQM and I guarantee given 10-15 years you will never be able to climb its hierarchy, up to a certain level. Even after years you may hardly get lucky if you get a ticket provided there is no other influential choice from your area.

Rph1SCB.jpg

Parties which contested in the recent elections in the name of youth gave away their top positions after winning elections to the big guns that were not even a part of the party during their struggle days. Youth and common men were just there to arrange seats in their commemorations. It is MQM, which has only sent middle class common people to the Parliament and top positions in the government. No one can put forward names in MQM who is there because of any influential background or a family link with its leader, because this party has always played its role in ending the rule of generations in politics.

4: The only genuine-progressive liberal voice of the day
Pakistan has lost 50,000 men and women in the fight of terror. More than 15,000 soldiers have also been martyred in the way of fighting terrorism, country's life line is on stake in this war, our women are picked up lashed, abused and killed; our soldiers and men are slaughtered and their dead bodies are humiliated, our children's schools are attacked, girls are kept away from education.

But still all major political parties justify all these actions, while some do this openly; others follow a more indirect approach. Some say that all these soldiers martyred in this war are not martyrs, someone say that these extremists are our brother and hence we should not fight them but talk to them. Some publically give speeches against them but on ground they themselves are in alliance with these extremists.

MQM is the only party that had a clear stance against this, from day one publically and internally. MQM always stood with the nation and the army opposing this barbaric invasion whether it was time for Lal Masjid operation or expressing solidarity with armed forces when others were trying their best to keep their moral down. It was MQM who always came forward, faced all the dangers; such that they were not even allowed to hold one public rally during 2013 elections but they stood their ground firm.

OjTMjoZ.jpg

5: Freeing Karachi from religious extremism
Before MQM, turnout in Karachi's elections used to be low and those who were voting were voting for religious parties, mainly Jamat-e-Islami even though Karachi consisted of people with liberal mindset. This had two main reasons; firstly their anguish against Zulfikar Ali Bhutto's policies based over ethnic biased including the renowned quota system and Sindhi language bill which Karachi and Urban Sindh saw as an attempt to sideline them from the main stream politics and bureaucracy. Secondly Jamat-e-Islami's assurance of standing by the rights of Urdu speaking population of Sindh was their claim to fame, however time to time those assurances just proved to be a vote gaining tactic.

SNNTfrs.jpg

The political vacuum of Urban Sindh was filled when APMSO was formed and later transformed into MQM. A party which had developed its roots in Mahajirs of urban Sindh, hence, genuinely interested in their rights, as well as consisted of middle class men with liberal mindset. MQM came out like a full moon in the dark night, hence, the political weight of Urban Sindh totally shifted paradigms within one election only which of course was neither acceptable to Jamat-e-Islami nor PPP.

6: The knight in the shining armor behind the developed Karachi
Karachi is not only a mega city and the biggest economic hub of Pakistan just because of its population but also the progress that has happened here did not occur anywhere in the country. It is the hub of industrial and economic activity from all over Pakistan, consisting of Pakistan's biggest seaport, while people from all over Pakistan come here to receive education and earn bread.

pD4mwF1.jpg

MQM banking every opportunity it got, mainly two mayor ship terms of Karachi putting day and night into work, developed this city to where it stands today. Infrastructure production to community development, Karachi stands ahead of all others.

7: Giving the common man, the right to LIVE!
Karachi, which is the host to the most diverse set of population from all over Pakistan, attracting people from all over the country to travel here and make their dreams a reality, did not grant the common man the right to live. One of the main reasons behind this attraction is that Karachi's life remains to be open and free as compared to other areas of Pakistan, hubs of art and platforms to put your skills into practice.

5KPGayk.jpg

This was made possible because of the main liberal political force of Karachi, MQM. Had Karachi be still in the hands of those religious organization then arts would have been a sin for you, unless you live in a posh area; students would be getting beaten by sticks just because they were sitting in mixed group of girls and boys and if you think I am giving this example from some tribal area? No, it happens in the biggest University of Lahore the Punjab University and others government institution where student organizations like Jamiat exists. Caution: Two extra sticks for wearing tight jeans and walking with a girl.

8: Granting Mahajir rights
Those belonging to Mahajir families born in this age do not know much of the story that has passed before them. The struggle to establish this new land was continuing when the great test to stand by Muhatarma Fatima Jinnah arose and their forefather stood up for 10 years against the oppression of Ayub Khan, then faced the bigotry politics during Bhutto's era that included nationalization of resources belonging to Mahajir business tycoons who individually had more wealth than the wealth of all these feudal combined.

After breaking the financial backbone then came the black law of quota system which was open and written law declaring that heredity surpasses merit. Today quota system still exists, but MQM has succeeded far enough in gaining a reasonable support in assemblies gaining a bit more influence over bureaucratic affairs.

KDsxezq.jpg

The word Mahajir, through decades of propaganda was made to look like an abuse, so that the new generations are reluctant of using this word. Mahajir was never an identification to be linked to India but a message that we left that country for this land, it was not a burden but a badge to be wore high on the chest, loud and proud. Today quota system still exists, but MQM has succeeded far enough in gaining a reasonable support in assemblies gaining a bit more influence over bureaucratic affairs.

MGyzUB6.jpg

This generation may ask what threat the Mahajirs possess in this land. Mahajir is just a buzz word that MQM uses to air to its politics but what they do not know is that if education institutions in Karachi are open for them today it is because of MQM. Before 1986 even institutions like Karachi University had worst quotas based over birth domiciles, they might not realize that going to civil bureaucracy is not a first choice ideally for any Mahajir family today, not because it is not worth it but because their way was blocked with the induction of quota system that declared a graduate of Urban Sindh equal to matric pass from any other area.

oobI7m1.jpg

So the next time when you sit in the garden of your university or in a café around Zamzama and take a sip of your favorite margarita discussing Pakistani politics and explaining to your friends that MQM's violent politics is outdated and is of no one's use, make sure you remember in your heart that this liberty and privilege is brought to you by MQM.

i
PPP again invites MQM to join Sindh government - DAWN.COM

PPP invites MQM to rejoin Sindh govt | Pakistan Today

PPP to invite MQM to join Sindh government - thenews.com.pk

‘Not the President of one party, but of all Pakistanis’, vows Mamnoon Hussain – The Express Tribune

and yeah PPP does need MQM in the sind govt because PPP doesn't need opposition and MQM are people who are something for the performance, in MQM PPP can save some face for the next elections and keeps getting elected, if PPP faces opposition all these five years, its politics from Sind will wind up
ok any source on MQM has decided to join sir?
my friend join kerna hota tau pehley ker chuke hote, join kerain ge tau governor bhi faarigh ho jaye ga, aur abhi Sind govt is in a difficult situation, MQM has not joined the Sind govt in better times, then why would they join now?

stop believing in media rumors, officially no PPP has even admitted that they have invited MQM to join the govt

aur bhai aap jaise kaye log bhugat chuka hn who claims they have inside info on the matters..

inside info khali top tier ke leadership ko hoti he, you and me forget that, even MPAs and MNAs don't know that inside info, only ishrat and others like him know the real info as its a closed meeting
seems like mqm is joining government again ... bhie koi tu deen imaan hona chia ...