MOSSAD floats Islamist Political Party in Bangladesh - RAW aggrieved

AM, Adding your own imagination to news article just to add readers attention is not advisable. Motive is quite evident.

Questioning the same is logical.

And over that the thread starter himself is insisting on discussing about the subject.

A news article presents certain information - we tend to interpret that information in different ways, and find other articles that support our view, or negate the other sides.

Take the LoC violations for example. The ToI will post an article on an alleged ceasefire violation with a title that blares out Pakistan's guilt. "Gazillionth ceasefire violation by Pakistan in one day" or something of the sort.

On the other hand, one can do a search on the same ceasefire violation and find a far more neutral article about the events, that might even have some Indian defense experts suggesting that Pakistan has no motive for doing so and that it is probably militants (this actually was posted in the LoC violations thread).

An Indian posting the ToI story will probably go with the original headline, and argue in support of it. Munshi sahib has done nothing else, he took an article, interpreted it a particular way based on the information and experience he had, and presented his conclusions. You can argue why those conclusions are incorrect, but criticizing him on his selection of thread title deviates from the thread topic.

:woot: it was formed by RAW???

Bomberange :enjoy:

Sir kindly post more information on HuJi formation by RAW. yum yum

In the Spotlight: Harkat ul-Jihad-I-Islami (HuJI)

In Brief
• Established: c. 1980

• Founders: JuI, TiJ

• Area of Operation: Initially Afghanistan, later southern Kashmir, training camps in Kapran on slopes of Pir Panjal mountain range

• Goal: to seek secession of the state from Indian control, primarily through targeted violence

• Funding: primarily through the ISI, also Pakistani Punjabi business community

• Affiliated Groups: JuI, HuM, TiJ, SIMI, JuM, HeI-K, HuJI-B, HuA

The Harkat ul-Jihad-I-Islami (HuJI), or Movement for an Islamic Holy War, is one of many Pakistani terrorist groups active in Indian-occupied Kashmir. Unlike most Kashmiri terrorist groups, the HuJI originated outside the immediate area (in this case Afghanistan), later moving its operations to Indian territory. The HuJI was launched in 1980 as part of a network of Pakistan-backed mujahideen groups fighting the Soviets in Afghanistan. Over the last two decades, the group spread its activities to Jammu & Kashmir (J&K), parts of India, as well as Bangladesh, allegedly with support from Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI). The group has been responsible for regular attacks on Indian troops as well as government officials in J&K. HuJI was suspected of being involved in the attack on the Kolkata office of the United States Information Service on Jan. 22, 2002. The group was designated a “Foreign Terrorist Organization” by the U.S. State Department in “Other Terrorist Groups” category on April 29, 2004.

At the outset of the Afghan resistance in 1980, two Pakistan-based religious groups called the Jamaat ul-Ulema-e-Islami (JuI) and the Tabligh-I-Jamaat (TiJ) established the HuJI. The aim was to run relief camps for the Afghan mujahideen, under the leadership of Maulvi Irshad Ahmed. The affluent Pakistani Punjabi business community enjoyed traditional links with TiJ and JuI, and heavily funded the HuJI missions. The objectives of the group soon evolved to include the defeat of the Soviet military in Afghanistan and to establish Islamic rule in the country. Over time, the HuJI developed links with Pakistan’s ISI and was subcontracted to recruit and train mujahideen. During the Afghan war, the HuJI developed extensive links with Afghan groups such as the Hizb-e-Islami-Yunus Khalis faction (HeI-K), and later splintered into the Harkat ul-Mujahideen (HuM) and the Jamait-ul-Mujahideen (JuM). Once the Afghan war came to an end, the group quickly moved its operations from Afghanistan to Indian J&K.

The goal of HuJI, like other terrorist groups in J&K, is to seek secession of the state from Indian control, primarily through targeted violence. Often, the group is also blamed for violence in other parts of India as well as in Bangladesh. The first terrorist attacks by HuJI members were reported in early 1992. Then deputy chief commander, Nasarullah Mansur Langaryal, focused his efforts on southern Kashmir where there was a thinner deployment of Indian forces. A training camp was established near Kapran on the slopes of Pir Panjal mountain range. Langaryal later took over leadership of HuM but was arrested in November 1993. HuJI chief Gulzar Ahmed Tantrey and his deputy Abdul Rashid Dangar were killed in an encounter at Chanjlu in Doda district on Dec. 12, 2001. Since then, there have been no reports of a successor leadership.

A Bangladeshi unit of the group was established in 1992 with financial aid from Osama bin Laden, and under the leadership of Shawkat Osman, alias Sheikh Farid, and Imtiaz Quddus as general secretary. This unit has been active since 2000, and is responsible for aiding terrorists in India’s northeast, as well as recruiting Bangladeshi and Indian Muslims to fight in J&K. This group, HuJI-B, also aims to establish Islamic government in Bangladesh by killing progressive intellectuals. The HuJI-B has an estimated strength of 1,500 members.

In 1991, the religious ulemas of Karachi, Pakistan, asked the three splinter factions – HuJI, JuM, and HuM – to reunite in order to increase the effectiveness of their participation in the Kashmir insurgency. This reunited version was named the Harkat-ul-Ansar (HuA). While the HuA was formally formed in Pakistan, the merger of the three factions’ units in J&K was to be achieved by the HuA General Secretary Maulana Masood Azhar. On Feb. 10, 1994, 19 leaders of the HuJI, HuM and the JuM met at Matigund, Anantnag, district of J&K, to discuss the merger. While returning from the meeting, Masood Azhar and the HuA’s military chief, Sajjad Afghani, were arrested in Srinagar. With these arrests, the move to reunite the three HuJI factions into the HuA remained unsuccessful. However, stray incidents of terrorist violence perpetrated by the HuJI in J&K continue to be reported.

The HuJI continues to be supported by the religious elite in Pakistan, primarily through the JuI and TiJ. It also received financial support from the ISI, while receiving operational support from the Students Islamic Movement of India (SIMI). The HuJI has extensive links with HuM, JuM, and the HeI-K.

Sources:

“Harkat ul-Jihad-I-Islami,” South Asia Terrorism Portal, Aug. 11, 2004,

Harkat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami (HuJI)

“Harkat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami,” South Asia Terrorism Portal, Aug. 11, 2004,

Harkat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami (HuJI), Extremist Group, Bangladesh, South Asia Terrorism Portal

Author(s): Ali Chaudhry

In the Spotlight: Harkat ul-Jihad-I-Islami (HuJI)

Harkat-ul-Jihad-al Islami Bangladesh (HuJI-B)
Terrorist Group, Bangladesh

Formation

The Harkat-ul-Jihad-al Islami Bangladesh (HuJI-B) was established in 1992, reportedly with assistance from Osama bin Laden’s International Islamic Front (IIF). On April 30, 1992, several of the HuJI-B leaders addressed a press conference at the Jatiya Press Club in capital Dhaka and demanded that Bangladesh be converted into an Islamic State.

The outfit’s activities, however, were noticed in June 1996 after the Awami League (AL) came to power.

The HuJI-B was proscribed by the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)-led coalition Government on October 17, 2005.

Leadership

The HuJI-B is led by Shawkat Osman alias Sheikh Farid. Imtiaz Quddus is the general secretary of the outfit. The outfit's operations commander, Mufti Abdul Hannan was arrested in Dhaka on October 1, 2005.

Objectives and Ideology

HuJI-B aims to establish Islamic Hukumat (rule) in Bangladesh by waging war and killing progressive intellectuals. It draws inspiration from bin Laden and the erstwhile Taliban regime of Afghanistan. At one point of time, the groups issued a slogan, Amra Sobai Hobo Taliban, Bangla Hobe Afghanistan (We will all become Taliban and we will turn Bangladesh into Afghanistan). HuJI-B recruits are indoctrinated in the mould of radical Islam.

Areas of Activity and Influence

The coastal area stretching from the port city of Chittagong south through Cox's Bazaar to the Myanmarese border, notorious for piracy, smuggling and arms running, is the principal area of activity of the HuJI-B.

The group reportedly maintains six camps in the hilly areas of Chittagong, where its cadres are trained in the use of weapons. Unconfirmed reports also indicate that it maintains six training camps near Cox's Bazaar.

The HuJI-B cadres allegedly also infiltrate frequently into the eastern corridor of India to maintain contacts with terrorist and subversive outfits of the region. HuJI-B has been found to be responsible for a number of terorist attacks orchatrsted in Indian urban centres in recent years.

Cadres

Although there is no authoritative information on the actual cadre strength, most reports mention it to be around 15,000. Several of these recruits were trained in the Kormi and Kasia areas of Bangladesh. Further, many hundred recruits were reportedly trained at various training camps in Afghanistan, primarily during the reign of the Taliban.

Both local residents and foreigners are recruited into the HuJI-B. Besides, refugees from Myanmar are a significant source of cadres for the outfit. They include stateless Rohingyas, whose families have fled Myanmar over the years allegedly due to religious persecution. Cadres of the HuJIB are primarily recruited from various Madrassas (seminaries). The Madrassas essentially impart religious training and most of them are financed by Arab charities. Reports also indicate that many HuJI-B recruits have seen ‘action’ in the Indian State of Jammu and Kashmir, Chechnya and Afghanistan.

Linkages

The HuJI-B had reportedly been formed drawing inspiration from Osama bin Laden and continues to maintain active links with the Al Qaeda network and remnants of the Taliban militia.

A large number of volunteers had gone to Afghanistan to fight alongside the Mujahideen in the war against the former Soviet Union. A large number of these Mujahideen returned to Bangladesh during the BNP regime of Begum Khaleda Zia (1991-96) and are now spearheading the fundamentalist movement in the country.

The HuJI-B is also believed to be having links with Pakistan. For instance, the outfit’s ‘operations commander’ and a key suspect in the plot to assassinate the then Prime Minister, Sheikh Hasina, in July 2000, Mufti Abdul Hannan, after his arrest in October 2005 admitted to have passed out of the Gouhardanga Madrassa in Pakistan. Police records in Gopalganj district also says that Hannan was trained in the Pakistani city of Peshawar and then sent to Afghanistan to fight the erstwhile Soviet Army. The HuJI-B’s Pakistani link was further established with the recovery of a diary from Hannan’s brother Matiur Rehman, who was also arrested in connection with the assassination plot. Entries in the diary revealed that he was in touch with Pakistan’s diplomatic mission in Bangladesh.

Reports indicate that agents of the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), Pakistan’s external intelligence agency, under the guise of HuJI-B cadres impart military training for three months to youths of both Bangladesh and India from bases in the Kurigram and Rangpur areas of Bangladesh, near the Coochbihar border. Similar training camps reportedly also exist in Rangmari, Sundermari, Masaldanga and in other villages, where training is imparted in the use of sophisticated arms and setting off blasts. After training, the youth infiltrate into India and spread to various locations in West Bengal and States in the Northeast region, including Assam.

HuJI-B also maintain links with terrorist groups operating in India’s Northeast, including with the United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA). The HuJI-B reportedly managed some of ULFA’s camps situated in the Chittagong Hill Tracts in Bangladesh along the border with the Indian State of Tripura.

The HuJI-B is also linked to another Islamist extremist outfit, the Asif Reza Commando Force (ARCF) that had claimed responsibility for the January 22, 2002-attack on the American Center in Kolkata, the capital of West Bengal. The arrest of Aftab Ansari alias Aftab Ahmed alias Farhan Malik, the prime accused in the attack, led to further information on the linkages between the Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT) and the HuJI based in Pakistan and Bangladesh. Ansari is reportedly linked to the ISI and to JeM terrorist Omar Shiekh, convicted for the abduction and murder of American journalist Daniel Pearl, in Pakistan. Ansari was reportedly asked in August 2001 in Islamabad by Omar Sheikh to provide cover and logistics support for terrorist operations from Bangladesh.

There have also been reports that a 25-member team of Taliban operatives reached Bangladesh in June 2001 to train HuJI-B cadres.

In Bangladesh, the HuJI-B is also known to have enjoyed the patronage of mainstream political parties such as the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and the Jamaat-e-Islami. HuJI-B ‘operations commander’ Mufti Hannan, subsequent to his arrest on October 1, 2005 was reported to have confessed that the country’s former home and the then commerce minister, Altaf Hossain Choudhury, had assured him of protection and guaranteed his freedom following his involvement in the assassination attempt of former Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in July 2000. The Jamaat-e-Islami, however, denies any links with the HuJI and dismisses such reports as propaganda.

Finance

The HuJI-B reportedly receives financial assistance from Pakistan, Saudi Arabia and Afghanistan through Muslim Non-Governmental Organisations in Bangladesh, including the Adarsa Kutir, Al Faruk Islamic Foundation and Hataddin. It is also suspected to be generously financed by the ISI of Pakistan.
Harkat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami (HuJI), Extremist Group, Bangladesh, South Asia Terrorism Portal

A news article presents certain information - we tend to interpret that information in different ways, and find other articles that support our view, or negate the other sides.

Take the LoC violations for example. The ToI will post an article on an alleged ceasefire violation with a title that blares out Pakistan's guilt. "Gazillionth ceasefire violation by Pakistan in one day" or something of the sort.

On the other hand, one can do a search on the same ceasefire violation and find a far more neutral article about the events, that might even have some Indian defense experts suggesting that Pakistan has no motive for doing so and that it is probably militants (this actually was posted in the LoC violations thread).

AM Sahib, Discussion was about the subject "MOSSAD and RAW" which was added to subject line, As per Munshi's admission he added them to attract readers attention, and then later he tried to Justify about RAW. The path of thread was chosen by Munshi himself. Subject line can always be questioned.

Other than that the subject was creation of IDP by Huji with Bangladeshi gov nod, And they want Sharia to be implemented. It has only to do with Internal politics of Bangladesh.

I will not comment about the qualifications boated by the Author to support his views in other threads as he certainly does not know the Qualification of others.

An Indian posting the ToI story will probably go with the original headline, and argue in support of it. Munshi sahib has done nothing else, he took an article, interpreted it a particular way based on the information and experience he had, and presented his conclusions. You can argue why those conclusions are incorrect, but criticizing him on his selection of thread title deviates from the thread topic.

AM, Now you are diverting "Daily star" is a Bangladeshi news site Please don't drag TOI just to side or justify Munshi. He did that just attract other poster's attention for attract India bashing. Moreover he could not Justify about them with substance other than just statements.

I have chosen the title. If you don't like it - tough!

I have chosen to emphasize a particular aspect of the story. If you don't like that - tough!

If it makes you nervous to read about RAW in the headline that is also your headache. In Bangladesh it is not illegal to discuss RAW. Apparently it is not illegal to discuss RAW on this forum either. If you don't like it leave the thread.

But I will stick to my title and my interpretation of the story. The readers have a right to know an alternative version of the story where the agencies of RAW and MOSSAD are at play. I am far more qualified than you to discuss the role of these agencies in Bangladesh.

By the way SATP is also a RAW site.

I have chosen to emphasize a particular aspect of the story. If you don't like that - tough!

If it makes you nervous to read about RAW in the headline that is also your headache. In Bangladesh it is not illegal to discuss RAW. Apparently it is not illegal to discuss RAW on this forum either. If you don't like it leave the thread.

But I will stick to my title and my interpretation of the story. The readers have a right to know an alternative version of the story where the agencies of RAW and MOSSAD are at play. I am far more qualified than you to discuss the role of these agencies in Bangladesh.

Mr. Munshi,

Can you give some link that i can look up that RAW and MOSSAD are at play, since you know more about this subject and you consider SATP a RAW site.

I doubt RAW advertises its objectives on the internet. I made the following comment on a earlier posting -

"Salah Uddin Shoaib Choudhury & Dr Richard L Benkin are contributors to the Intelligence Summit which is Israeli financed. Salah Uddin Shoaib Choudhury was charged several years ago for sedition and working for a foreign intelligence agency (MOSSAD). Sunita Paul who I mentioned earlier also belongs to this grouping. RAW uses an entirely different set of people guided through the Indian High Commission by Station Chief Suvastav."

If I know the activities of the RAW station chief in Dhaka then you can bet I know a hell of a lot more about what other RAW operatives are doing in Bangladesh. I could go on and on but it would simply create more embarrassment for RAW. Better you Indians leave the issue where it is.

You modified the title just start anti India issue with no substance, Is it tough to substantiate with links? I was discussing about the subject as per your own wish if you did not like - tough :azn:

Who feels nervous ? You and discuss about anything and everything in a forum as long as Admins permits.
Forums are for discussions you started on the wrong foot you decide whether to proceed or not.

OK I will stick to my demand that modification should be done with substance,
Then whats your problem ? Arent we sticking to subject ?:undecided:

Do you know my Qualifications ? Anyway that is not subject of discussion. :devil:

This news article is in several news sources, I do not know about SATP please substantiate with links. :argh:

I doubt RAW advertises its objectives on the internet. I made the following comment on a earlier posting -

"Salah Uddin Shoaib Choudhury & Dr Richard L Benkin are contributors to the Intelligence Summit which is Israeli financed. Salah Uddin Shoaib Choudhury was charged several years ago for sedition and working for a foreign intelligence agency (MOSSAD). Sunita Paul who I mentioned earlier also belongs to this grouping. RAW uses an entirely different set of people guided through the Indian High Commission by Station Chief Suvastav."

If I know the activities of the RAW station chief in Dhaka then you can bet I know a hell of a lot more about what other RAW operatives are doing in Bangladesh. I could go on and on but it would simply create more embarrassment for RAW. Better you Indians leave the issue where it is.

Substantiate with sources even if its from Bangla media otherwise its just a Bluff.

Munshi is obviously trying to indicate that he holds exclusive information which will not be available to the public. He is apparently privy to the inner workings and dealings of several intelligence agencies, which as he says, are obviously not to be found openly on the internet.

He himself is the source, so by definition, his claims are unverifiable.

You guys have no option but to read his posts for what they are, which for some reason he wants to publicize on an open forum to "embarrass" RAW, whatever that means.

If you feel like getting "even", maybe you can distract him by posting frivolous articles about his own country, and perhaps return the accusations with some juicy counter-accusations.

Munshi is obviously trying to indicate that he holds exclusive information which will not be available to the public. He is apparently privy to the inner workings and dealings of several intelligence agencies, which as he says, are obviously not to be found openly on the internet.

He himself is the source, so by definition, his claims are unverifiable.

You guys have no option but to read his posts for what they are, which for some reason he wants to publicize on an open forum to "embarrass" RAW, whatever that means.

If you feel like getting "even", maybe you can distract him by posting frivolous articles about his own country, and perhaps return the accusations with some juicy counter-accusations.

Is this what we are here for ?

In any case You can't argue with a fool, he'll beat you with his experience.

The Indians always talk about the ISI and DGFI doing this and that and we have to accept the credibility of their pronouncements. When the tables are turned they don't like it any more and cry foul like a bunch of sissies.

Indians in general are not interested in what happens in Bangladesh !! Get over it ! Most of our states have a bigger economy than your country. So even in RAW supports some fringe parties in Bangladesh, it does not concern us. I also doubt if Mossad or Israelis in general care about your nation.
Even Pakistanis really dont care about Bangladesh . So you are on your own . Just another failed state in league with Somalia and Angola !:woot:

For a nation that does not care about Bangladesh you guys have spent a whole lots of time complaining and whining on this thread. :bounce: :cheers: :yahoo: :cheesy: