MOHAN BHAGWAT IS RIGHT: India is a 'Hindu' Nation.

i guess animosity of most indians towards secularism is because it is not properly implemented in India. Secularism means keeping religion and state seperated. It leads to rational analysis and thin

I think by the time india got independance there was inability to go for a full secular system in the true sense of the word. Most of minority (according to my understanding) were backward societies. So they would be not that ready to accept such radical secular values....In future india will be able to practice secularism in the true sense.

I think society was not ready for it.

It actually was the right time.

I do not think so.. Polygamy was not uncommon in Hindu customs- whatever law means along with many others.

There was opposition when they were they were made illegal but were accepted.

The current Hindu civil code bans polygamy, and provides equal property right to females.

My point was that since Hindu, Christian and Zorastarian civil codes ( as of today ) are based on liberal principles ( not religious principles ) , there would be very little change in code of these communities vis-a-vis UCC. UCC would bring radical change only for Muslims ( whose law is based on Sharia ), hence the resistance.

The current Hindu civil code bans polygamy, and provides equal property right to females.

My point was that since Hindu, Christian and Zorastarian civil codes ( as of today ) are based on liberal principles ( not religious principles ) , there would be very little change in code of these communities vis-a-vis UCC. UCC would bring radical change only for Muslims ( whose law is based on Sharia ), hence the resistance.

What does the "liberal" Christian code say about abortion ?

i thought we are democratic country... why don't you rewrite, your version Indian constitution clauses. .. we are still using Ambedkar written...

What has being a Hindu country got to do with not being democratic? UK is a Christian country and a democracy. Were you always this stupid?

An Uniform Civil Code was long due.

if you have plans to promote Indian culture in Afghanistan,Syria, Iraq . . let me know. . i can bear your travelling expenses. ..

Bollywood does it for free, so I do not have to worry. I will worry about India. See if some church organization is going there. You can join them to spread Christian culture.

What does the "liberal" Christian code say about abortion ?

Point was not that whole code is Liberal. It is largely liberal because it was written by state ( even though nehruvian anglophilic bias lead to introduction of some bigotry in it).

Highly Offending Madamji :disagree:

Bipasha Basu is 100% Indian......I know that........ :cray:

Bhai Sahab ab bta bhi do............

I am not sure. If she is not a sickular, on case by case basis we can make an exception.

What has being a Hindu country got to do with not being democratic? UK is a Christian country and a democracy. Were you always this stupid?

Hey check it out, I got 9 Negative ratings in a single thread :D

Looks like the "seculars" are doing it the pakistani rangers way :cheesy: ........ they think bombing works to weaken resolve :P

As I said before polygamy in Hinduism was legal
Prior to 1955, polygamy was permitted for Indian Hindus. Marriage laws in India are dependent upon the religion of the parties in question.

Polygamy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Hindus accepted a law which made it illegal. There still are some Hindu Personal Laws but not very significant. Yes, UCC will bring radical changes for Muslims but this should have happened a long, long time before.

There are many who put fear in the minds of minorities that secularism is at stake in India but do not lend their voice to actual secularism, this I believe has alienated a lot of people in accepting that the scenario in India will ever change.

Point was not that whole code is secular. It is largely liberal because it was written by state ( even though nehruvian anglophilic bias lead to introduction of some bigotry in it).

It is liberal because it is inspired and sustained by Hinduism. Not because it was written by state.

Now check out the 'secular' constitution of christian nations. When did their women get to vote ? when were their slaves allowed to vote ? Why is abortion illegal ?