Modernized by Turkey, Pakistan's Agosta 90B submarine to launch soon

Lot of new systems coming to Agusta. This is bad news for Indian aircraft carrier as desiel electric are the best stealth subs. This is a nightmare for India. With all these systems it is no more Agusta 90b. It is a totally new beast.

I was wondering about this

With this refit, does this become a different or new sub or is it a upgrade

11 new subs for our smallish coastline isn't a bad defence

Agosta 90b was a very capable sub of it time but with the arrival of new tech these subs were lagging behind. The package was offered by turkey and France to upgrade the sub. Pakistan chose the Turkish package at cost of $350 million. Now this price tag is a little short of new sub price this means a lot have been replaced in this sub. If you look at few details mentioned in the op they are doing software upgrade. Now most info which would have been of secret nature is not included in this article but can you install windows 10 on pentium 4 computer? No you cannot so it means all electronic systems have been modernized. It is a totally different submarine

With 11 Subs and other acquisitions in such a short timeframe, to me, it looks like Pakistan navy is preparing itself for offence. A proper defensive offence strategy, rather than a purely defensive one.

In a very short space of time, Pakistan will have a decent above and below surface capability, and all new stuff, not second-hand obsolete junk as previously. Plus, a credible shore-based missile offensive capability, soon to be backed up by heavier and much-improved air capability.

There is definitely something big happening during the 2030s, I do not think the navy will sit twiddling their thumbs after 2028, which is the last date for the Hangor class timeframe.

Remember the timeline for PN : 2020 - 2028

PN will be a different water force by the year 2028 with new modern/upgraded frigates and subs.

2028 is too far in my opinion by 2021 few assets of modernization will join in and change the look PN to great extent.

By 2028 the Pakistani ship building industry will be totally morphed.

2028 is too far in my opinion by 2021 few assets of modernization will join in and change the look PN to great extent.

By 2028 the Pakistani ship building industry will be totally morphed.

We will start receiving new stuff from this year so it will take a bit of time for these new toys to get fully integrated and operational within our forces. Every new or upgraded sub will add a punch especially now when we have SLCM tech.

Wo bhi China ne CPEC ki waja se danda diya hoga. Warna wohi used junk aur afsar syndrome.
With 11 Subs and other acquisitions in such a short timeframe, to me, it looks like Pakistan navy is preparing itself for offence. A proper defensive offence strategy, rather than a purely defensive one.

In a very short space of time, Pakistan will have a decent above and below surface capability, and all new stuff, not second-hand obsolete junk as previously. Plus, a credible shore-based missile offensive capability, soon to be backed up by heavier and much-improved air capability.

There is definitely something big happening during the 2030s, I do not think the navy will sit twiddling their thumbs after 2028, which is the last date for the Hangor class timeframe.

Lot of new systems coming to Agusta. This is bad news for Indian aircraft carrier as desiel electric are the best stealth subs. This is a nightmare for India. With all these systems it is no more Agusta 90b. It is a totally new beast.

A new generation anti-ship Chinese missile, which Pakistan Navy is going to induct in 2021, will serve as a “deterrent” but simultaneously aggravate an already escalating arms race between the nuclear-armed neighbors, Pakistan and India, analysts said.

The CM-302 -- capable of flying at three times the speed of sound -- is supposed to be a primary weapon onboard the four new generation Type 054 frigates -- which Beijing is building for Pakistan Navy.

Happy aircraft carrier huntin'

We will start receiving new stuff from this year so it will take a bit of time for these new toys to get fully integrated and operational within our forces. Every new or upgraded sub will add a punch especially now when we have SLCM tech.
I'm hoping that by the time all these new toys get inducted and operational...the supersonic missile that is under development for PN would be ready :yahoo:

Considering PNS Saad operated undetected deep inside Indian waters during Feb crisis this upgrade basically means the Agosta will be a completely new machine and even more lethal

deep inside Indian waters during Feb crisis
No. It was closed to our shores

I hope our 8 Hangor Class have the capability to launch SLBMs. Wish we could get Destroyers with HHQ 9s and replace our old P3Cs with new capable LRMPAs

A new generation anti-ship Chinese missile, which Pakistan Navy is going to induct in 2021, will serve as a “deterrent” but simultaneously aggravate an already escalating arms race between the nuclear-armed neighbors, Pakistan and India, analysts said.

The CM-302 -- capable of flying at three times the speed of sound -- is supposed to be a primary weapon onboard the four new generation Type 054 frigates -- which Beijing is building for Pakistan Navy.

Happy aircraft carrier huntin'
Well the defense book told about indegenious development of Super Sonic Cruise Missile

Wo bhi China ne CPEC ki waja se danda diya hoga. Warna wohi used junk aur afsar syndrome.

Yaar please, we need to get out of the habit of talking down about everything.

Pakistans alliance with China goes back decades, right now China has a technological quality that is acceptable to Pakistan on a wider number of items. Please also remember, not everything is available to us in the west, whereas China gives us without technological limits.

Plus, even when the USA was the most powerful country in the world, it still needed allies to keep itself strong, e.g, NATO in Europe, Japan/Korea in East Asia, Australia, and few other examples. China has no permanent friends in this world except Pakistan, why wouldn't China want to see a strong Pakistan, it is in China's interest to help Pakistan as much as it can.

Also, remember Pakistan has a population of 226 million, the fifth-largest country in the world, likely to have over 400 million by the time it stops expanding, Pakistan will also be the largest Muslim country in the world by 2030, any major player in the world would want Pakistan on their side.