Learn to speak Farsi/ Persian on PDF!

Does this pronounce as amu .........:undecided:

nowu mean aamu or just amu??
actually the phonetics on first page are somehow similar excepy that a is in mid or at first place..plus there are no indication of breaks...
a - as in "alarm"
æ - as in "cat"

i think its amu..but will have to wait to know from some expert member!

Does this pronounce as amu .........:undecided:

I notice you are having trouble with "æ." It is a high toned "a" basically. So it is pronounced as "amu" but with the A sound being pitched high as in "chat."

Any person that can read Urdu would read Farsi with absolute fluency but with wrong pronunciation 95% or more at the same time hence the usage of these phonetics. There is no other way to explain it here as it is a text-based forum, which is why I don't use the Persian-Arabic script used in both Farsi and Urdu.

I notice you are having trouble with "æ." It is a high toned "a" basically. So it is pronounced as "amu" but with the A sound being pitched high as in "chat."

Any person that can read Urdu would read Farsi with absolute fluency but with wrong pronunciation 95% or more at the same time hence the usage of these phonetics. There is no other way to explain it here as it is a text-based forum, which is why I don't use the Persian-Arabic script used in both Farsi and Urdu.

Yes I am getting it now. Thank you>:)

Very impressive brother. Dutch language is very hard to adopt so far I know.

How do you get to learn Urdu??

Does Iranian understand a little Urdu???

Thank you.

No classroom can teach you any language well. It is only the environment that can. I have spent much time with native Urdu speakers and in Pakistan itself hence my knowledge of it. I speak Urdu fluently except my Urdu would appear as very literate or perhaps difficult to some native Urdu speakers due to the usage of Farsi vocabulary that is found in more scholarly Urdu texts. My pronunciation as a result may seem somewhat different to native speakers as well.

A Farsi speaker would have difficulty understanding an Urdu speaker because of grammatical and pronunciation differences. He might catch a few words to deduce the meaning of the sentence when hearing a Urdu speaker given the fact that Urdu sentence structure matches more closely with Hindi than with Farsi. Also, there is no male and female tenses as such as one would find in Urdu and French which affects roots attached to each word. For example, it would be "Acha Gah-nah" (male tense; "good song") but Bari Kashti (female tense; "big ship").

I think I what you mean. We pronounce Khoda hafez (Khodafez) as Khuda hafez.

My father always pronounce as Khodafez and I thought of him wrong....... :cry:

Continuing...

To become "shodæn," and to go or "ræftæn"

Now it is time to learn how to say "to become" and "to go," as these will become very important in the future. I should note, that in some instances with verbs shodæn and ræftæn are used instead of kærdæn. This may appear as confusing but I shall attempt to explain them more clearly.

shodæn
mæn mishævæm - I become
to mishævi - you become
shoma mishævid - you become (formal)
an mishævæd - that becomes
etc.

ræftæn
mæn mirævæm - I go
to mirævi - you go
shoma mirævid - you go (formal)
an mirævæd - that goes
etc.

Instances where Shodæn/ Ræftæn are used instead of Kærdæn:

rah ræftæn - to walk
mæn rah mirævæm - I walk
to rah mirævi - you walk
etc.

bidar shodæn - to awaken (lit. to become awake)
mæn bidar mishævæm - I wake up
to bidar mishævi - you wake up
etc.

Also, we can continue with "khastæn" (to want)

mæn mikhahæm - I want
to mikhahi - you want
shoma mikhahid - you want (formal)
an mikhahæd - that wants
ma mikhahim - we want
etc.

Continuing...

We shall rap up the verbs so the topic can be moved to more interesting aspects such as how to have basic conversations with a Persian speaker and more. I shall add other translations as well.

Other verbs:

-to be able to, "tævanestæn"
mæn mitævanæm - I can, am able to
to mitævani - you can, are able to
shoma mitævanid - you can, are able to (formal)
an mitævanæd - that can, is able to
etc.

-to take/get, "gereftæn"
mæn migiræm -I take, get
to migiri - you take
shoma migirid - you take (formal)
an migiræd - that finds
etc.

-to give, "dadæn"
mæn midehæm - I give
to midæhi - you give
shoma midæhid - you give (formal)
an midehæd - that gives
etc.

-to live, "zendegi kærdæn"
mæn zendegi mikonæm - I live
etc.
ex. mæn dær amrika zendegi mikonæm (I live in America)

-to know, "danestæn"
mæn midanæm - I know
to midani - you know
an midanæd - that knows
etc.

This is the end of the lesson for today. More soon to follow.

I wished to end the lesson for the day but I got a special PM request concerning the Pakistani national anthem. The anthem was originally written by Jagannath Azad (from Lahore) after being consulted personally by Muhammad Ali Jinnah. After less than 2 years in use it was substituted by the present one written by Abu-Al-Asar Jullundhri.

Most Pakistanis think their national anthem is in Persian which is incorrect, it is actually a very elevated standard of Urdu which is very close to Persian-- It uses Persian grammar but Urdu pronunciation. Also note that "ka" in Urdu (or "of") and in the anthem would be "wa" or "eh" in Persian.

Pāk sarzamīn shād bād
Blessing be upon the pure land

Kishwar-e-hasīn shād bād
and joy be within its bountiful domain,

Tū nishān-e-`azm-e-`ālīshān
For verily it is the symbol of a great resolve

Arz-e-Pākistān!
For this is the talk of Pakistan!

Markaz-e-yaqīn shād bād
Blessing unto you O' center of belief/faith
-------------------------

Pāk sarzamīn kā nizām
The order of this pure land is..

Qūwat-e-ukhūwat-e-`awām
Is the strength of it's people

Qaum, mulk, saltanat
O' people, O' country, O' nationhood

Pā-inda tābinda bād!
May your glorious light be ever-present!

Shād bād manzil-e-murād
Blessings be upon our goal and ambition
--------------------------

Parcham-e-sitāra-o-hilāl
O' you flag of the crescent and star,

Rahbar-e-tarraqqī-o-kamāl
You lead us to progress and greatness/ perfection

Tarjumān-e-māzī, shān-e-hāl
For you translate our past and our present glory,

Jān-e-istiqbāl!
And inspire our future!

Sāyah-e-Khudā-e-Zū-l-Jalāl
Under the shadow of the Lord, the very Owner of Greatness

Farsi half nemizonam. I hope that's right :rofl:

Farsi is such a beautiful language, along with French the most pleasing to the ears, inshallah one day i'll be able to speak fluently in Farsi.

Farsi, Spanish and French are on my to-do list as far as learning languages are concerned

Great job Bro.Pasban hopefully in the summer i can start to learn some Farsi from this thread, please keep the lessons coming.

Hello everyone. I had made a similar post on another forum so I thought to make one here as well. I hope other Farsi speaking members on this forum contribute as well. I'd be happy to answer queries.
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Phonetics

a - as in "alarm"
æ - as in "cat"
b - as in "book"
d - as in "dog"
ch - as in "chair"
e - as in "net"
f - as in "fine"
g - as in "gum"
q/gh - a hard "g" from throat
h - as in "hat
i/ee - as in "need"
j - as in "jump"
jh/zh - like french "j," as in "je" or chinese "zhou", or "s" in "measure"
k - as in "keg"
kh/x - throat sound, as in german "tochter" or scottish "loch"
l- as in "letter"
m - as in "mother"
n - as in "night"
o - as in "note"
p - as in "poke"
r- as in "root" (have a accent on the "r," like a regular spanish "r" in "naranja")
s - as in "sigh"
sh - as in "shoe"
t - as in "type"
u/oo - as in spanish "luna"
v/w - as in "van" ("v" in Irani dialect, "w" in Afghan Dari & Tajiki dialects)
y - as in "yawn"
z - as in "zoo"

Some Clarification of Roots

(Ar.) - means word is of Arabic decent
(Tk.) - means word is of Turkic decent
(Fr.) - means of French decent
(Foreign) - means that the word is not originally Iranic

---------- Post added at 12:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:53 AM ----------

Firstly, some basic introductions and other phrases

sælam = hello (Ar.)

dorud = hello [traditional]

dorud bær shoma = hello/blessings upon you [formal]

Khoda hafez (Khodafez) = goodbye {may God remember you} (hafez = protector (Ar.))

bedorud = goodbye [traditional]

hal e shoma chetor æst? = how are you? {how is your health?} [formal]

hal e tun chetor æst? = how are you? {how is your health}

chetóri? = wassup?

khosh amædi = welcome {you come with happiness}

sobh bekheir; bamdad khosh = good morning

ruz bekheir/ ruz khosh = good day (kheir = good (Ar.))

shæb bekheir/ shæb khosh = goodnight/evening

mersi = thanks (Fr.)

Motshæker/ Tæshækor = thank you (Ar.)

sepas = Thank you [traditional]

sepas gozar hæstæm = I am thankful [formal]

khosh bashi = may you be well/happy

zende bashi = may you stay alive

nam e shoma che æst? = what is your name [formal]

esm e tun chist? = what is your name? (esm = name (Ar.))

to ki hæsti? = who are you?

shoma ki hæstid? = who are you? [formal]

mobaræk = congratulations (Ar.)

Khoda be hæmra e tun bashæd = may God be with you

ruz e khubi dasht e bashin = may you have a good day

nam e mæn ..... æst = my name is .....

are = yes

bæle = yes [formal]

næ, ne = no

khub, nik, beh = good

bæd = bad

khub æst = it is good

bæd æst= it is bad

beh'tær = better

bæd'tær = worse

U doing a gr8 job !!!:tup:

even i got a chance to learn.....

ruz e khubi dasht e bashin :)

R G.

Farsi half nemizonam. I hope that's right :rofl:

This is side-tracking from the lesson though but allow me to help...

man fârsi harf mizanam ( من فارسي حرف مي زنم) - "I speak Persian"

Bale, Ye Kam ( بله، يه کم) - "Yes but a little only though"

Also, the English word "half" is "nasf" in Persian. It is used in Urdu at more scholarly levels.

For example, the Urdu translation of the Ahadis goes, "Safaii nasf emaan hai" (Cleaniness is half of faith)

mo'afagh bashed! ( موفق باشيد, good luck!)

@Pasban, kheli mutashakkiram baraaii iin thread. aarzuumandam keh ba khat e farsi/urdu ham taHriir kunid. Sad tashakkur.

Sorry my Farsi is a bit tentative since I belong to a generation that has slowly lost touch with both their mother tongues one after the other. However, don't laugh on the difference in transliteration, our Farsi is quite different from yours.

PS: This is only a placeholder post so I could find the thread later, but thanks were in order.