Land of the generals

This is the same, age old gripe of grapes being sour. The Army gets money for sure, however when you look at how much goes to it, most of it is either for maintenance or salaries. The plots are a thing of the past for most now.

The difference is simply one of Army getting some land and it using its own resources to develop it. Most of the lands given to the Army were closer to the border or in remote areas that nobody dared to invest in. The Army took this land and developed it for use by its own serving and retired officers. As the population grows, it tends to move outwards. The cantonments and DHAs that were in no-mans land are suddenly in the middle of the population and one difference is that whereas the civilian governments have failed to provide basics like sewage, proper planning, the Armed Forces housing developments are more organized and cleaner. This irks civilians and politicians alike.

I have watched the growth of cantonments for the past 4 decades. The DHAs that are constantly bad mouthed by certain quarters were considered useless pieces of land for the most part by most investors and civilians alike. Talk about Army giving plots to officers in Phase 6 of defence housing society in Karachi back in 1970s. At that point in time it was so far out that even phase 1 of defence had not been planned. People used to look at you funny if you mentioned that I have invested in a plot out in phase 6.

Lastly, the percentage of officers getting plot has been on a consistent decline. Yet the heartburn continues because what does exist in terms of DHAs is better run, maintained and valued than what the civilian government has been able to do for their buyers. One other thing, DHA does not get money from the government or provincial governments to run these housing authorities.

The defence welfare foundations and DHAs fund the upkeep themselves.

A good, balanced article.
The truth always hurts-no doubt that the PA is holding the country together. The question is, are the people of Pakistan satisfied with that?
So the only way to get power, REAL power in Pakistan would be to join the army......doesn't sound right.

Roach, truth is one thing. This is ill-informed, half truth which is repeated ad-nauseam and then detractors of the Pakistan Army join the bandwagon.

The easiest thing for the politicians to do is to deflect attention from themselves. So blame the ability of the Army to run its own affairs and the way it takes care of its own. Nobody can convince me that with the various Army welfare foundations owning $2-$5 billion in assets is causing a negative impact on the well-being of Pakistan.

Civilian and political graft in Pakistan (for that matter India also) costs the country in multiple billions. At least what the Army welfare organizations and these DHAs are doing stays inside of Pakistan.
I am for disallowing plots to be given to the Armed Forces personnel, however the government then needs to come up with a way of accommodating these personnel in the places of their choice after they spend 20-30 years of their lives being posted from one place to to other. I have experienced this and know about the disruptions in the lives of children, spouses and loved ones due to this calling. This is something that most civilians and politicians rarely care to understand. I spend 30 years of my prime years on a very rudimentary salary (and my family gets to stay in Army housing during this time). What happens when I retire? Where does my family live? The housing prices are so high that one would have to serve two tenures of 20 years to come up with the savings to afford a house like that. Every time one moves, the expenses go up. You have to worry about moving your family with you, however while you are waiting for them to join you, you have to contend with messing etc., which all becomes a substantial drain on personal finances. When you finally move your family with you, depending on the posting, the schools may not be able to address the educational requirements, so now the defence housing authorities are building colleges and schools for this reason alone but even this is misconstrued by civilians and politicians as being self-serving. Well yes it is self-serving because our useless government could care less about educating our youth. At least the Army cares about this and does a creditable job by opening these schools and colleges to civilians as well.

The Pakistani solution has been to develop remote areas for the armed forces personnel and sell them these plots at commuted prices. If the civilian government can address the relocation issues and rehabilitation of the armed forces families in a reasonable manner with an alternate solution, I am all up for it. The reality is that they have no solutions, only critique and that too ill-informed and motivated by certain quarters.

PA has played an important role in the nation of Pakista.To date it still weilds considerable power to determine the course of the nation and at times to take actions whic the political class cannot.How the PA remains in the civil fabric of the nation will be largely determined by the way the people accept the armys role and the amount of power the people are ready to share with them

Some generals give a bad name to the Army. There is not one Army in the world that can claim an exception to this. As such its not as if the entire officer corps is involved in some massive scheme to defraud the country.

The point about Army thinking it knows what's best for the country is an issue that has to be resolved by the politicians. When a politician, who is fighting to prove his credentials for a bachelor's degree for his own political survival, tries to lecture the Army about them not knowing what they are doing running the foreign policy for Pakistan, they should realize that most of the officers in command of the Army and at upper echelons have not 2 but 3 legitimate degrees (Masters and PhDs from a nationally recognized Universities) and also know a thing or two about the way the country is being run.

Maybe our politicians should think about raising their caliber as well so they can impress by leadership qualities. Most military personnel, exception exists of course, are methodical and logical folks. They are straightforward and patriotic. They want Pakistan to prosper but at the same time require some demonstrated sincerity and dedication towards the interests of the country by the politicians. Its very easy for Nawaz Sharif and party to take the Army to task with lectures in the national assembly, however how many civilians have a fleet of BMWs parked in their garages as does Mian sahib and his partymen (other politicians are no different)?

When these feudal/politicians lecture the Army about plots, I feel like smacking them across their shameless faces. They sit on the resources of this very country, not paying a dime in property or agricultural tax (which amounts to at least 8-15 billion USD if properly collected) while complaining about the Army taking care of its own.

Charity starts at home. This is something that the politicians need to understand. If they feel that the PA lives in too much comfort (this is their perception), then they should first set an example of austerity and then the Army would follow the precedence.

as far as i know Mr10% and shareef mario bros beat all the generals by huge margin except Musharraf .after comes the political parties leaders then comes bureaucrats and generals.then industrialist and government ppl.

^ Well said and welcome to PDF!

The feeling that something is not quite right is strongest on the east side of the Grand Trunk Road, the frenetic trans-Pakistani highway. On the east side, the wrong side, sweating shopkeepers languish in the heat of early summer, waiting for the electricity to come back on—a routine they’ve become accustomed to. Pakistan is suffering from its worst energy crisis in recent memory.

Most Pakistanis, meaning the poor, must make do with as little as four hours of precious power a day.

Across the GT Road, as it’s commonly called here, there’s the dull hum of generators. On the west side, the right side, is where the generals reside. Their power is absolute, irrevocable, and, unlike what the rest of Pakistani society experiences, uninterrupted. As here in Gujranwala, 70 km north of Lahore, the situation repeats itself all over Pakistan, wherever there is a military cantonment or a Defence Housing Authority—wherever, in short, the army has set itself up in its plush, gated communities. The contrast is remarkable: on one side of the sweeping gateways, palatial homes set amid neatly trimmed gardens along smooth streets; on the other, potholes and poverty.

This is one of Pakistan’s realities: since the founding of the country in 1947, its military brass has become synonymous with not only living well, but exerting its influence in every aspect of Pakistani society. And yet this most powerful of institutions is, today, under pressure as never before.

Criticism from the West over what is seen as a lacklustre response to Islamic extremism continues to mount, especially from the U.S., which since the attacks of 9/11 has given Pakistan US$18 billion in civilian and military aid. Claims that the military’s all-powerful spy service, the Inter-Services Intelligence Directorate (ISI), is continuing to help the Taliban insurgency in Afghanistan are further fuelling anger. Domestically, while the majority of Pakistanis struggle to survive, the military’s ostentation is fuelling discontent. As is its approach to Islamic extremists: why support some, and target others—ultimately with support from the hated U.S.—as the army did in the Swat Valley campaign in 2009? “There is a fundamental disconnect here,” says Aasim Sajjad, an assistant professor at the National Institute of Pakistan Studies in Islamabad. “The army claims to be the protectors of Islam in Pakistan but then they receive money from the U.S. to fight fellow Muslims.”

That it is providing aid to some Islamic extremists seems clear: in a damning report released by the London School of Economics (LSE) on June 13, the ISI is again accused of supporting the Afghan Taliban, something it has for years denied doing. Unlike past allegations, though, the LSE discussion paper, authored by Matt Waldman, an Afghanistan expert at Harvard University’s Carr Center for Human Rights Policy, specifically accuses the ISI of not only tacitly supporting the Taliban insurgency in Afghanistan, but of being a major player in its execution, including helping Taliban commanders with planning and logistics as well as funnelling them arms and ammunition. “The ISI orchestrates, sustains and strongly influences the [Afghan Taliban] movement,” the paper bluntly states.

That support is, in part, intended to counter the increasing influence of Pakistan’s arch-rival, India, on the government in Kabul. But at home, the Pakistani military continues to target some Islamic groups, including Pakistan’s homegrown version of the Taliban in the country’s Tribal Areas. “They’ve used the religious card when it’s been convenient for them,” Sajjad says. “Now, they’re trying to create the illusion that there are good jihadis and bad jihadis. But the basic problem is the generals’ dependence on jihad ideology as a tool of foreign policy. That hasn’t changed.”

That none of this does anything to alleviate Pakistan’s deep-rooted social problems is something the militants have learned to capitalize on, and indeed use as a powerful recruiting tool. In a recent video message released by the Pakistani Taliban, its spokesman, Tariq Azim, referred to the “unholy army” and its wilful betrayal of Pakistan’s poor. Militants regularly point to government and military corruption as a basic reason for their insurgency. “The militants have caught on,” says one foreign aid worker, requesting anonymity for fear of an army backlash. “Their arguments strike a chord with the poor and disenfranchised. To be honest, they sound like Che Guevara railing against the American-backed elites in Cuba. They’re revolutionary and it’s just too bad that they are the only ones speaking out against the injustices entrenched in the Pakistani system.”

And yet, Pakistan’s military remains largely unchecked, in a country where democracy remains weak, and where a dominant ethos persists that places the defence establishment, which has ruled the country for half of its 63-year-existence, above all other political and judicial institutions. According to Ayesha Siddiqa, author of the controversial book Military Inc., which digs into the Pakistan army’s burgeoning economic interests—a consequence of the years they have spent in power—Pakistan’s military leaders and others have internalized the perception that democracy can’t work in Pakistan, and the army is the only institution truly committed to ensuring the Pakistani interest.

“The generals genuinely believe they know better than anyone else what’s best for Pakistan,” Sajjad says. “They have become a social class unto themselves, the dominant social class in Pakistan, who possess an inordinate amount of power and money.” In Gujranwala, locals refer to the top generals, the corps commanders, as “crore” commanders—a reference to their accumulated wealth (one crore in the subcontinent is the equivalent of 10 million rupees, or $120,000). According to Siddiqa, a senior general’s net worth averages around $1.7 million.
Where is all the money coming from?

For years, Pakistan’s generals have been steadily infiltrating Pakistan’s economy. Much of their activities remain secretive, as their businesses are not subject to the same oversight as public- and private-sector enterprises. The few companies run by the military that are listed on the Karachi stock exchange—Pakistan International Airlines, for example—have performed dismally. According to Siddiqa’s research, other ventures in the steel and cement industries, sugar mills and fertilizer, to name only a few—have done equally poorly.

Still, the army has grown exceptionally fat, partly because of massive bailouts provided by the Pakistani government, at the cost of taxpayers. Siddiqa blames a lack of political will, a by-product of successive military coups, for the prevailing atmosphere of army rule in virtually every aspect of Pakistani life. Successive governments have pandered to the army’s financial appetite as a way of legitimizing their own rule. Without the army’s support, no political party can survive in Pakistan for long. “Politically, no one is willing to take on the army,” says Sajjad. “No one has the courage to confront them. But to fundamentally restructure the system, you have to confront the army.”

Ironically, it’s the war against extremism that has provided the chink in what had previously been the army’s seemingly impenetrable armour. Most Pakistanis understand the role the generals have played in stoking the fires of militancy in Pakistan, whether by creating resentment with their increasing ostentation or because of their support, past and present, for some extremist groups. Now, the increasing instability in the country and the army’s apparent difficulty in containing it is disrupting the “parent-guardian” image the military nurtured over the past few decades. To regain the people’s trust, Gen. Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, chief of army staff, admitted in a rare public apology on April 17 that an army operation in the country’s restive northwest had gone horribly wrong, resulting in “the loss of precious and innocent civilian lives.” He promised that measures would be taken to prevent any recurrence.

The thrust of the message emanating from Rawalpindi, the army’s home base near the capital Islamabad, is for people to have faith in the army. “Our troops are capable of defending every inch of the country,” Kayani was quoted as saying in April, during major military exercises—the largest in two decades—showing off the latest high-tech weaponry acquired from the U.S. as part of its reward for fighting the “war on terror.”

“I strongly believe the army is trying to regain its lost pride,” says Iqbal Zafar Jhagra, the secretary general of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, one of the country’s leading political parties. “There was a time when the people would salute the army.” That time appears to have passed, although it seems the generals themselves are having a hard time accepting it. In places like Gujranwala and elsewhere, they continue to dominate—and fuel even more resentment. Among other things, Siddiqa points out that while Pakistan “suffers from a deficit of 6.3 million houses,” forcing upwards of 20 per cent of the population to live in slums, the army continues to follow a colonial-era policy of land acquisition, doling out prime real estate to its senior officers at massively discounted rates.

Former president Pervez Musharraf, a career soldier now living in self-imposed exile in London, England, “converted US$690,000 of army-granted farmland in Islamabad into US$10.34 million of movable assets,” according to the 2008 Transparency International report on global corruption, before fleeing the country. Prime public land is often appropriated by the army for the construction of housing schemes and farming collectives that have elevated Pakistan’s officers to what can best be described as land barons.

For years, analysts have blamed the growing divide between the rich and the poor as one of the driving forces behind radicalization in Pakistan. Now, it seems, the rich are the men in khaki.

Macleans.ca Blog Archive Land of the generals

this is one of the article that i agree most of the parts..

Your agreement is fine as that is your prerogative, however the article is certainly missing out on some very factual points.

Pakistan is the Land of the generals and there is no doubt to that. You guys are living in denial if you think the army is not controlling Pakistan even today. From getting huge pieces of land to getting a huge number of subsidies, the Army men enjoy a life unparalled in the world. The Fauji foundation and many other private enterprises are run by the generals and do not require to report to any regulatory body. The Army today is more of a private enterprise than a public one with most high level general also holding profit making positions at proxy organizations. Half of the international student here in Canada have parents in the army and they come here and live a life a luxury I dont know how. As they say most countries have armies but in Pakistan the army has a country.

This article is not talking about politicians so bringing in that issue is diluting the thread. Talk about the army not about mr.10%. There are other threads for that.

Pakistan is the Land of the generals and there is no doubt to that. You guys are living in denial if you think the army is not controlling Pakistan even today. From getting huge pieces of land to getting a huge number of subsidies, the Army men enjoy a life unparalled in the world. The Fauji foundation and many other private enterprises are run by the generals and do not require to report to any regulatory body. The Army today is more of a private enterprise than a public one with most high level general also holding profit making positions at proxy organizations. Half of the international student here in Canada have parents in the army and they come here and live a life a luxury I dont know how. As they say most countries have armies but in Pakistan the army has a country.

That is your perception. Every single son of an Army man that I have known while visiting the US has worked part-time jobs to support himself through college. Exceptions will always exist. Some Army officers come from very wealthy families and they can well afford sending their children to foreign schools without any financial worries. However this is a small proportion. In graduate school, I remember undergraduate students who were children of Army officers working in the computer labs and holding other odd jobs. This was the community that I remember here and there. Certainly never saw the massive generalization that you are alluding to in your post about students in Canada.

The fact is that most outsiders like yourself have nothing but second hand information to go by, as such passing judgments on the Pakistan Army is hardly fair.

Where you have detractors of the Army, you will also find the supporters in overwhelming numbers. The fact really is that Pakistanis love their armed forces. The Army has its bad days with the image, but overall, us Pakistanis appreciate what the Army has done and continues to do for the country. If I was lying then the the two consecutive polls run by International entities would not show the Judiciary and the Army in the two top most popular spots.

In July of 09, the Army had an 89% approval rating. The highest of any institution in Pakistan. If one cares to look, see the International Republican Institution's poll here. See slide 30. This is the real Pakistan showing how much they like their Army!

My uncle is Major (R) and he has two sons both are right now in Canada ,and i know how is he managing all there expenses by selling his land and he is working day and night to pay there fees and ther stuff.

:lol: this bhartiya think that out of 16 cror Pakistanis only Generals are rich :cheesy: and BTW out of millions of troops how many are Generals ??? can he elaborate ??

Sharma ko sharam hee nahi ati jhoot boltya howay. Lugta ha inn ka qomi khail ha yeh

yeh jo rukh hai na aapka, wohi le dooba hai aap logon ko in 63 saalon mein.

Kisse chupana chahte hain aap? Kisse ?

Aur aapke kaum ka pehchaan kya hai? Dikh to raha hai , itne salon se? Aap logon ko sharm hai ke nahin? Kaun sa kaum hai aapka? Kal hi itne logon ki jaane gayi...

Unki fiqr kijiye, hamari kaum ke bre me zyaada mat sochiye....aap ke kaum ko jahaan me logon ke nazron me kaise wapas uthana hai uske baare me sochiye.

irrational, flaming and absolutely rubbish...

Pakistan is the Land of the generals and there is no doubt to that. You guys are living in denial if you think the army is not controlling Pakistan even today.

The idea that Pakistan is being controlled by Generals is really an exaggeration. While Army has it's say in Foreign Policy and security issues, it is not controlling the whole country as projected.

From getting huge pieces of land to getting a huge number of subsidies, the Army men enjoy a life unparalled in the world.

Unparalleled in the word? Wow.. tell this to the army men who cannot make both ends meet in their salaries. [/QUOTE]

The Fauji foundation and many other private enterprises are run by the generals and do not require to report to any regulatory body. The Army today is more of a private enterprise than a public one with most high level general also holding profit making positions at proxy organizations.

What proxy organization? Fauji Foundation employs thousands of civilians who make good living because these organizations do good buisness. And who told you that they do not report to any one?

Half of the international student here in Canada have parents in the army and they come here and live a life a luxury I dont know how. As they say most countries have armies but in Pakistan the army has a country.

Many of the Generals come from rich back grounds in Pakistan. So, to generalize that all generals sending their children abroad are corrupt, is really far-fetched.

My uncle is Major (R) and he has two sons both are right now in Canada ,and i know how is he managing all there expenses by selling his land and he is working day and night to pay there fees and ther stuff.

Rohail, the truth is that most serving officers cannot even dream of sending their children overseas for education. Once they retire and move into civilian jobs, then only can they afford to do so on their higher civilian salaries or by selling part of the land that they may have been fortunate enough to buy with installments.