Lalu Prasad convicted in fodder scam case, sentencing on October 3

Very good news. But he will go to higher court. We shall not see him in Jail soon.

Coming back to the verdict.... my faith in Indian judicial system has increased a notch!

Mine too. Atleast it would send a message that, sooner or later law is going to catch up.
We need more such convictions and severe punishments to instill the fear of Law and Judiciary in our otherwise rampant and Devil may care attitude corrupt neta log.

Very good news. But he will go to higher court. We shall not see him in Jail soon.

Well he is already taken into custody and till his bail hearing comes, Laloo can enjoy some Police Hospitality.
RANCHI: RJD president Lalu Prasad was taken to jail on Monday after being convicted by a special CBI court here in the fodder scam case.

65-year-old Lalu Prasad was taken to the Birsa Munda Central Jail here after the court verdict.

The court has fixed October 3 for pronouncement of sentence against Lalu Prasad, former Bihar chief minister Jagannath Mishra and others convicted in the case.

While coming out from the court, Lalu appeared calm and did not take any question as his car sped away to the jail located at Hotwar on the outskirts of Ranchi, adjacent to the National Games village.

Besides Lalu, the court of Pravas Kumar Singh convicted another 44 accused, including Mishra, six politicians and four IAS officers, for fraudulent withdrawal of Rs 37.7 crore from Chaibasa treasury.

Later, the court sentenced IAS officer K Armugam, former Bihar AHD and labour minister Vidya Sagar Nishad and former MLA Dhruv Bhagat and five fodder suppliers for up to three years.

Earlier, Prasad, who arrived in the court by a white Ambassador car, appeared relaxed and waved to his party supporters. He sat in the second row in the court room as the judge began reading out the judgment against him.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Lalu-Prasad-taken-to-jail-after-conviction-in-fodder-scam-case/articleshow/23298846.cms

He is not a spent force.. Not by a long margin... In last election his party got 20% votes... BJP-JD (U) together routed him out.

Good decision but too late. Although the decision from SC makes him ineligible for election.
well congress realli is a great party it knows how to use and then throw its allies and then paly with feelings and get its job done

With Lalu gone now i think it will train its guns on Mayawati , Mulayam and Mamta benerjee

The first thing that struck me when I saw the visuals of him being escorted from the court premises, was the posse of NSG commandoes guarding him. That is a travesty of our internal security, that an elite force raised at great expense is being misutilized like this. It is high time that state police forces took over that role, and the NSG returned to its intended mandate.

Ranchi-RJD-leader-and-former-Bihar-CM-Lalu-Prasad-Yadav-arrives-at-the-special--.jpg

Sadly this is what we taxpayers pay our taxes honestly for. :pissed:

I was looking to hear from you as you probably have the best view of mood of electorate in Bihar amongst us. That said what is your assesment of Nitish's chances and any anti-incumbency wave. Bihar is too important a state for any alliance looking to form government in next Lok Sabha & under the circumstances, Laloo's conviction will change the political equations significantly & therefore i believe Laloo may not be as dominant a force, as he has been over the years.

There is some resentment in Public about the arrogant ways of Nitish. He has alienated a chunk of government employees including teachers. Some of his MPs have started considering ditching him as they dont see themselves ever gaining prominence in JD-U . 2 seating MPs have already expressed their support for Modi and this seems to be gathering momentum.

Another intersting development is Upendra Kushwaha openly supporting Modi. He himself cant win elections but has support of his caste which accounts for 6-7 % of voters. Him joining BJP will be worrying for JD-U. He himself is from EBC and Modi is also from BC. The plan of BJP seems to use this EBC/OBC background of Modi in Bihar and this is one of the reasons JD-U is worried as traditionally BJP only had support of caste Hindus.

Coming back to Lalu. His traditional votebank is Yadav + Muslim. Yadavs are very loyal to him. Interestingly two MPs from his party are Rajput. This is one of the reasons he is seriously considering a Rajput or, a Muslim to lead his party when he is in Jail.
This creates an opportunity for BJP to get some Yadav votes. They have already made their intention clear by setting up a meeting between Sadhu Yadav ( Lalu's B-in-law ) and Modi.

JD-U insiders are complaining of a secret understanding between BJP and Lalu to keep Nitish in check. This was evident in recent byelection in Maharajganj where RJD wone by more than a lakh votes. I cant confirm this as of now. Though with Lalu in jail, the possibility of such understanding is high.

Another outside factor might be Baba Ramdev . He has significant following in Bihar cutting across castes. I had the opportunity to interact with few RJD leaders who are ardent follower of Baba Ramdev. Their tone has totally changed. They have started calling Modi- " Narendar bhai "...

I think it is evident whats going to happen in next months. Chips are falling in place for BJP. They will gain some seats if they dont screw it themselves.

Great news!! Dil khush ho gaya!! :D

Can anybody guide me about how to post photos here from harddisk?

The years taken for the investigation and verdict is too much.. We need fast track courts for politicians also.. Dont want to waste their precious time..

There is some resentment in Public about the arrogant ways of Nitish. He has alienated a chunk of government employees including teachers. Some of his MPs have started considering ditching him as they dont see themselves ever gaining prominence in JD-U . 2 seating MPs have already expressed their support for Modi and this seems to be gathering momentum.

Another intersting development is Upendra Kushwaha openly supporting Modi. He himself cant win elections but has support of his caste which accounts for 6-7 % of voters. Him joining BJP will be worrying for JD-U. He himself is from EBC and Modi is also from BC. The plan of BJP seems to use this EBC/OBC background of Modi in Bihar and this is one of the reasons JD-U is worried as traditionally BJP only had support of caste Hindus.

Coming back to Lalu. His traditional votebank is Yadav + Muslim. Yadavs are very loyal to him. Interestingly two MPs from his party are Rajput. This is one of the reasons he is seriously considering a Rajput or, a Muslim to lead his party when he is in Jail.
This creates an opportunity for BJP to get some Yadav votes. They have already made their intention clear by setting up a meeting between Sadhu Yadav ( Lalu's B-in-law ) and Modi.

JD-U insiders are complaining of a secret understanding between BJP and Lalu to keep Nitish in check. This was evident in recent byelection in Maharajganj where RJD wone by more than a lakh votes. I cant confirm this as of now. Though with Lalu in jail, the possibility of such understanding is high.

Another outside factor might be Baba Ramdev . He has significant following in Bihar cutting across castes. I had the opportunity to interact with few RJD leaders who are ardent follower of Baba Ramdev. Their tone has totally changed. They have started calling Modi- " Narendar bhai "...

I think it is evident whats going to happen in next months. Chips are falling in place for BJP. They will gain some seats if they dont screw it themselves.

thats an important point you make. I'm a firm believer that if BJP ( & not NDA) has to do well, it will have to break into some on seemingly new bastions commanded by regional Satraps. States like UP, Bihar that contribute significantly to Lok Sabha have been under the stronghold of regional parties and neither Congress nor BJP have been able to challenge them. Not to mention this invariably contributes to some kind of uneasy allianaces forming the government leading to further complications in governance later.
In this context, BJP needs to win Bihar and UP and do reasonably well if not convincingly. There have been talks of Modi fighting LS elections from UP and if true, this should mark BJP's revival in the state.

Atleast this verdict will make him lame duck in active politics. That is a positive which came out due to that verdict by SC on People's representation act, which wasn't the case in past convictions of Neta log. There is no doubt Lalu will get a bail from higher court once he appeals against the verdict. Then again.. he will be known as a convicted neta! That's much more damaging..

In your face Congress as Lalu was ally with UPA. Where is Bergs and Guynextdoor hiding? Come out of the closet of shame... we forgive you :D (not)

Framed' Lalu Prasad Yadav will prove innocence in fodder scam case: Digvijay Singh

'Framed' Lalu Prasad Yadav will prove innocence in fodder scam case: Digvijay Singh - India - DNA

fukcing idiot ..:hitwall:

:lol: Either this guy is a real joker or a clever politician. On one hand they stage managed all this ordinance drama.... & on the other, offer of sympathy for Lalu. It's time for Lalu to realize that he is just a spent force as far as Congress is concerned! He was used, his sell by date is up. New product is Nitish Kumar & his JDU!