Kidney Transplant

Salam guys,

My friend from UK contacted me and his neighbourS brother who lives
in Faisalabad needs a kidney transplant. The brother will be the donor.

I need recommendations of good doctors in private hospitals in FSD/Lahore with reasonable expense - not too costly

Thanks
this has become a bit complicated recently because of the new law passed to prevent kidney trade but before we go on that route please first find out if cross matching (HLA) has been done for both the donor and the recipient. Being a brother does not make you a suitable donor by default so have the cross matching done. If the brother turns out to be the right donor then he would be interviewed by a team / committee of doctors who will ascertain if he is doing so for money or under duress. mind you as per the new law only a blood relative can donate a kidney but the members of the committee will ask so many questions and from so many angles that majority of people run away from donating the organ or get jittery with their resolve.
Anyways the best institutes are SIUT Karachi and Shifa islamabad. Other than these omar hospital, jail road Lahore, Adil hospital, DHA Lahore and many doctors in Rawalpindi like Dr Shahid and Dr Zahid etc were previously active in these operations but they have closed down after the law was passed.

Now if the brother does not turn out to be a suitable donor then you are looking at the black market (if i may say so). Qualified surgeons will arrange a suitable kidney/donor for you and will perform this operation as well but since its illegal (due to the new draconian law) hence all will be done in secrecy and in a small set up. Who are the doctors doing this is something i cant say and it is something that you will have to find out. All are very careful with their approach and do not offer it to all patients due to the law enforcing agencies.

Bro the hidden meaning is useless now... Previously it was relevant but not now

SIUT Karachi.

Too far bro...the guys health is not so good

FSD/Lahore / Islamabad are better options

this has become a bit complicated recently because of the new law passed to prevent kidney trade but before we go on that route please first find out if cross matching (HLA) has been done for both the donor and the recipient. Being a brother does not make you a suitable donor by default so have the cross matching done. If the brother turns out to be the right donor then he would be interviewed by a team / committee of doctors who will ascertain if he is doing so for money or under duress. mind you as per the new law only a blood relative can donate a kidney but the members of the committee will ask so many questions and from so many angles that majority of people run away from donating the organ or get jittery with their resolve.
Anyways the best institutes are SIUT Karachi and Shifa islamabad. Other than these omar hospital, jail road Lahore, Adil hospital, DHA Lahore and many doctors in Rawalpindi like Dr Shahid and Dr Zahid etc were previously active in these operations but they have closed down after the law was passed.

Now if the brother does not turn out to be a suitable donor then you are looking at the black market (if i may say so). Qualified surgeons will arrange a suitable kidney/donor for you and will perform this operation as well but since its illegal (due to the new draconian law) hence all will be done in secrecy and in a small set up. Who are the doctors doing this is something i cant say and it is something that you will have to find out. All are very careful with their approach and do not offer it to all patients due to the law enforcing agencies.

جزاك اللهُ خيرًا Ijaz bhai

Do you know how much it costs in Shifa Islamabad?

Their budget is around 10-15lac, anything around that price ?

cost varies from dr to dr. So you will have to visit and discuss this.
A friend's father recently went under the knife for an operation where everything including donor was arranged by the doctor. cost him 4 million plus 0.75 to a million in travel, medicine and post care facilities etc.

cost varies from dr to dr. So you will have to visit and discuss this.
A friend's father recently went under the knife for an operation where everything including donor was arranged by the doctor. cost him 4 million plus 0.75 to a million in travel, medicine and post care facilities etc.

Where? Was it good?
You can message me if you like

Sorry mate. Cant.
As i said earlier the new draconian law will imprison the surgeon and this will kill a few dozens if not hundreds.
Hope you get my point here

In where? Private hospitals? In private hospitals like Fortis and Apollo it costs around 12-13 lakh rupees in Kolkata. Top notch medical professionals with top quality treatment and surgery.
Apollo Mysore it's 3 lakhs 2 years ago.
A lot of international patients too.

Apollo Mysore it's 3 lakhs 2 years ago.
A lot of international patients too.

No way, you are probably just talking about the surgery cost itself, that alone costs about 3 lakhs.

Last year in Kolkata Fortis, they charged about 8 Lakh rupees for the whole transplant surgery, stay in the hospital for 7/8 days etc. There are also pre-transplant tests for the donor and the recipient which altogether costs around 2.5 lakhs. There are also other costs for the magistrate court affidavit, government health department authorization. And don't forget the cost of staying in India for about 1.5 months. All up it would cost around 15/16 lakhs rupees.

Salam guys,

My friend from UK contacted me and his neighbourS brother who lives
in Faisalabad needs a kidney transplant. The brother will be the donor.

I need recommendations of good doctors in private hospitals in FSD/Lahore with reasonable expense - not too costly

Thanks

PKLI Lahore
Dr. Qureshi

No way, you are probably just talking about the surgery cost itself, that alone costs about 3 lakhs.

Last year in Kolkata Fortis, they charged about 8 Lakh rupees for the whole transplant surgery, stay in the hospital for 7/8 days etc. There are also pre-transplant tests for the donor and the recipient which altogether costs around 2.5 lakhs. There are also other costs for the magistrate court affidavit, government health department authorization. And don't forget the cost of staying in India for about 1.5 months. All up it would cost around 15/16 lakhs rupees.
I post graduated in that hospital....
Donor is patients problem. Hospital won't get involved because of stringent conditions. But donors are always available at a price
I am not very sure about visa related issues

Donor is patients problem. Hospital won't get involved because of stringent conditions. But donors are always available at a price

I am not talking about donor or how much the patient must pay the donor. I am only talking about the cost of the surgery, the pre and post surgery stay in hospital for both donor and recipient, all cross match tests before surgery and staying cost in India either in hotel or a rented apartment. All up it's about 15/16 lakh rupees. I know this because only last year I was there in Kolkata and saw relative going through the process.

DNB Nephrology in Apollo? 15 L for renal transplantation is way too much, must be special package for international patients.. Should not cost more than 5-6 l

Dnb surgery....

I am not talking about donor or how much the patient must pay the donor. I am only talking about the cost of the surgery, the pre and post surgery stay in hospital for both donor and recipient, all cross match tests before surgery and staying cost in India either in hotel or a rented apartment. All up it's about 15/16 lakh rupees. I know this because only last year I was there in Kolkata and saw relative going through the process.
Package includes
Preop investigation for both donor and recipient
Pre anaesthetic checkups
Ot charges
5 days stay for donor
Fixed days for recipient in ICU and ward(not sure)
This is till 2014
Mysore is a small City. So obviously rates are less