Katju for pardoning Sanjay Dutt for acting in Munnabhai among other things

@arp2041

He should thank his lucky stars i was not there in the debate, would have made him nude in front of the whole crowd.

Valid point by Katju - he has been a model citizen since this one indiscretion for which he has served 18 months in jail - which is no joke mind you most of you can't do one day in jail, that too Indian jail.

But the minimum sentence for possessing Illegal arms under Arms Act is 5 years.

You may have become a SAINT after committing a murder, but that doesn't change the fact that you have committed a MURDER.

1993 Bombay blasts: Press Council chief Justice Markandey Katju asks Maharashtra Governor to pardon Sanjay Dutt | NDTV.com

New Delhi: Press Council of India chief Justice Markandey Katju has appealed to Maharashtra Governor K Sankarnarayanan to pardon actor Sanjay Dutt, who was today sentenced by the Supreme Court to five years in jail in an arms case related to the 1993 Bombay blasts.

Mr Katju sought pardon for Mr Dutt under Article 161 of the Constitution, saying the actor had not been found guilty of playing a role in the 1993 blasts and had suffered a lot. (Read: Justice Katju's letter to Maharashtra Governor)

He said the Supreme Court found that Sanjay Dutt had in his possession a prohibited weapon without a licence and awarded him the minimum imprisonment prescribed under law.

1993 Mumbai blasts: Supreme Court's verdict on Sanjay Dutt today
Mr Katju said the power of pardon under Article 161 of the Constitution is different from judicial power as the Governor or the President can grant pardon or reduce the sentence of the court even if a minimum punishment is prescribed.

"There is no doubt that the Governor can grant pardon or reduce the sentence. In the case of Commander Nanavati, who was held guilty of murder, the Governor gave him pardon although the minimum sentence for murder is life term," he said in a statement.

"Surely, this is a lesser offence than murder. When the Governor of Maharashtra granted pardon to Nanavati, surely he can grant pardon to Sanjay Dutt," Justice Katju said.

He said that although Mr Dutt had committed an offence, there are extenuating circumstances, such as that the event happened 20 years ago.

"During this period, Sanjay suffered a lot and had a cloud hovering over his head throughout. He had to undergo various tribulations and indignities during this period. He had to go to court often, he had to take the permission of the court for foreign shootings, he could not get bank loans, etc," Justice Katju said.

The PCI chairperson said Mr Dutt had already spent 18 months in jail, had married and has two children.

"He has not been held to be a terrorist and had no hand in the bomb blasts. His parents Sunil Dutt and Nargis worked for the good of society and the nation. Sunil Dutt and Nargis often went to border areas to give moral support to our brave jawans and did other social work for the society," Justice Katju said.

He added that Mr Dutt, in the period of 20 years since the blasts, has through his films revived the memory of Mahatma Gandhi and his message, an apparent reference to 'Gandhigiri' in the film Lage Raho Munna Bhai.

"In these circumstances, I respectfully appeal to your Excellency to pardon Sanjay Dutt and set him free," Justice Katju said in his letter, referring to the speech of Portia in Shakespeare's Merchant of Venice that justice should be tempered with mercy.

whoahhhhh..Katju never fails to disappoint..:enjoy:

MediaCrooks: Separate Laws For Celebs Please

MUST READ:

Anybody wanna bet? Sanjay will be pardoned by Maharashtra Congressi governor by bribing him 2 crores.

No one should be above Law. Period.

His first release was sactioned by Bala-Saheb takre. His fans wrote this in all the media explaining his "POWER" in Maharastra and in Bollywood at the time of his death. Now same takre lovers come in reverse when his frend is being released by congi.

I have to admit cleverlyness of you guys....Take credit both the times.....

You guys cry when congress try to release him and tell every where that look congress is anti-national.
You guys say look....what takre can do in mumbai...

I apriciate....

1993 Bombay blasts: Press Council chief Justice Markandey Katju asks Maharashtra Governor to pardon Sanjay Dutt | NDTV.com

New Delhi: Press Council of India chief Justice Markandey Katju has appealed to Maharashtra Governor K Sankarnarayanan to pardon actor Sanjay Dutt, who was today sentenced by the Supreme Court to five years in jail in an arms case related to the 1993 Bombay blasts.

Mr Katju sought pardon for Mr Dutt under Article 161 of the Constitution, saying the actor had not been found guilty of playing a role in the 1993 blasts and had suffered a lot. (Read: Justice Katju's letter to Maharashtra Governor)

He said the Supreme Court found that Sanjay Dutt had in his possession a prohibited weapon without a licence and awarded him the minimum imprisonment prescribed under law.

Mr Katju said the power of pardon under Article 161 of the Constitution is different from judicial power as the Governor or the President can grant pardon or reduce the sentence of the court even if a minimum punishment is prescribed.

"There is no doubt that the Governor can grant pardon or reduce the sentence. In the case of Commander Nanavati, who was held guilty of murder, the Governor gave him pardon although the minimum sentence for murder is life term," he said in a statement.

"Surely, this is a lesser offence than murder. When the Governor of Maharashtra granted pardon to Nanavati, surely he can grant pardon to Sanjay Dutt," Justice Katju said.

He said that although Mr Dutt had committed an offence, there are extenuating circumstances, such as that the event happened 20 years ago.

"During this period, Sanjay suffered a lot and had a cloud hovering over his head throughout. He had to undergo various tribulations and indignities during this period. He had to go to court often, he had to take the permission of the court for foreign shootings, he could not get bank loans, etc," Justice Katju said.

The PCI chairperson said Mr Dutt had already spent 18 months in jail, had married and has two children.

"He has not been held to be a terrorist and had no hand in the bomb blasts. His parents Sunil Dutt and Nargis worked for the good of society and the nation. Sunil Dutt and Nargis often went to border areas to give moral support to our brave jawans and did other social work for the society," Justice Katju said.

He added that Mr Dutt, in the period of 20 years since the blasts, has through his films revived the memory of Mahatma Gandhi and his message, an apparent reference to 'Gandhigiri' in the film Lage Raho Munna Bhai.

"In these circumstances, I respectfully appeal to your Excellency to pardon Sanjay Dutt and set him free," Justice Katju said in his letter, referring to the speech of Portia in Shakespeare's Merchant of Venice that justice should be tempered with mercy.

MUST READ:

Anybody wanna bet? Sanjay will be pardoned by Maharashtra Congressi governor by bribing him 2 crores.

His first release was sactioned by Bala-Saheb takre. His fans wrote this in all the media explaining his "POWER" in Maharastra and in Bollywood at the time of his death. Now same takre lovers come in reverse when his frend is being released by congi.

I have to admit cleverlyness of you guys....Take credit both the times.....

You guys cry when congress try to release him and tell every where that look congress is anti-national.
You guys say look....what takre can do in mumbai...

I apriciate....

MUST READ:

But the minimum sentence for possessing Illegal arms under Arms Act is 5 years.

You may have become a SAINT after committing a murder, but that doesn't change the fact that you have committed a MURDER.

Exactly...I remember this point :-)

Sanjay Dutt was kid thats why he had one AK-56, had he been grown up, he would have had 3 BOFORs gun in his compound.

How will the Indian government explain itself to other persons convicted of illegal possession of firearms if they do pardon him? In fact, if he is pardoned then this would create a precedent in Indian law. All one has to do is appeal after being convicted of being in possession of illegal firearms, then become model citizens, then rely on the fact that they served a few months awaiting trial, do some charity work here and there and Bob's your uncle...rely on the Sanjay Dutt case as a precedent for not serving anymore time. Give or take a few years and most states of India would end up like the Taliban ruled state of Pakistan. People would be walking around with AK47s first picking off the police and thereafter picking off the soldiers who are sent in to stablise the situation. Send him to jail and send a clear message to the Indian population...the law will be merciless on you if you commit a crime.

I still cannot understand how he became the CJ of SC and the idea that he was once , bring me fears as to the sanity of the judgements he issued.

Bandra Taluka Youth Congress Gen Secy Rahul Kanal, putting up posters in Mumbai and running a campaign to save S.DUTT

BGNxiObCEAEPi_5.jpg:large

Once katju said that 90% Indians are idiot. Not sure about the % but can somebody tell him that he is an idiot, who has lost his sense.
Sanjay dutt caught with ak-56 and some others arms. He was meeting dawd etc criminals. He was aware of the attack. and people are asking to forgive him. I'm surprise why court gave 5 year punishment. Hundreds of people were killed in blasts. We should give death penalty.

He (SD) is a liar. He told the judge he got the arms for self defense and for protection of a family. WTF, do you use AK-56 assault rifle, which fires 600 rounds per minute for self defense or for WAR?
His family was never known to be under attack because his father was a Congressman with enough protection.
He was involved with ABU SALEM, Chota shakeel and others, tapes of which are available to Mumbai police.
And during these 20 years, he has made 90 films, making more than 80 crores. Drinking choicest whiskey every day, marrying a woman of his choice, procreating two kids, he was living a best of life.
To say that he went through the hell all these years is just BUNKUM.
Peoples lies must have some limits.

Oye yaar ate me namak mila - namak me ata nahi jo tum kar rahe ho.

How about col. Prohit and his arms suppliers?

he has not got a bail so far like Sanjay Dutt.

This Katju guy is so self righteous that that he deserves a good @ss spanking!!The law is same for all.Just because he is no more a threat to society doesn't mean that he should not be punished for his past misdeeds!!