Kashmir | News & Discussions.

So, is new media only reinforcing old stereotypes?

• Total voters
There will always be a state of cold war with the continuous preaching of hatred among the mind of people for 62 years.... And each one would be threatened with the ambitious plans of one another

There is a local saying in my hometown that, "why need a nose that can not hold on to ur face while sneezing." It mean, if u can keep losing friendship on minor issues then its better not having that friendship. It would be like saying, "hey i can be ur best friend ONLY if u give 1000 dollars else u r my enemy.", guess how loyal that friend could be???

to give u a frank answer, "Noone can not demand friendship over something"

First friendship, then wether or not to give u 1000 dollars.

Wrong argument Mr Xebex!

this is not friendship for a price or demand, as you put it. BUT

The topic means to imply that

"Remove the precipitating cause that always starts a war between us"

"Remove the cause, remove the war"

Wrong argument Mr Xebex!

this is not friendship for a price or demand, as you put it. BUT

The topic means to imply that

"Remove the precipitating cause that always starts a war between us"

"Remove the cause, remove the war"

On the ligheter side sir ji ....Stop laying claims on Kashmir... Cause removed problem solved.... and we can celebrate next Eid in together at your place and diwali at my place..... :agree::D

Jab dekho Khane ki pdi rahti hai isse...:P

On the ligheter side sir ji ....Stop laying claims on Kashmir... Cause removed problem solved.... and we can celebrate next Eid in together at your place and diwali at my place.....

:lol::lol:

Then Bhai! what was the Jhagra all about? :rolleyes: :lol:

Since you are a bigger country, your "dil should also be Bara"!!

You have such a huge country!!! why do you hold on to that small part called Kashmir, please give it to us since we are so small :lol: "Aap ka kya Jaaigaa"

Then we wont have a war! EVER

:lol::lol:

Then Bhai! what was the Jhagra all about? :rolleyes: :lol:

Since you are a bigger country, your "dil should also be Bara"!!

You have such a huge country!!! why do you hold on to that small part called Kashmir, please give it to us since we are so small :lol: "Aap ka kya Jaaigaa"

Then we wont have a war! EVER

Kisi ne theek hi kaha hai saare fasad ki jad 3 cheez hoti hain Jar, joru, zameen..... Ache ache bhaiyo ko lada deti hain....

bade hain to kya hua kitne kamzor hain... aap hi to kehte ho.... ki humare paas ye nahi hai woh nahi hai..... fir bhi hum se ye bhi cheen na chahte ho aap.... pehle hi hamare paas na missile hai, na bombs hain, na paisa hai aur ab aap ye bhi maang rahe ho....:D:lol:

And the Indians say Pakistanis are brain washed. Pakistani mostly are saying yes there will be a smooth sailing while it is Indian who are of the view that no their won't be. It is actually u who want bad relationship with us not we :)

Nopes just for the sake of saying yes we cant say that. India Pakistan relationship has become many sided coin you cannot ignore the other faces. There are many issues which are to be resolved

Well lets be honest......Pakistan has ambitions in the South Asian politics and policies.....

There's no such thing as South Asian Politics and policies.

Each South Asian country has its own political system and its own policies. Neither Pakistan or India can ever change that.

After India, Pakistan holds the most clout in the region.....

Sorry to burst your bubble, but no country in South Asia listens to either India or Pakistan, they do their own thing.

Even if the Kashmir issue is solved, does not mean that India and Pak will be friends all of a sudden...
There will be issues like, India's dominance/bullying in the region.

How many times have India bullied another country and got the response that she was looking for? India is no U.S.

Theres no dominance in South Asia, as I said each South Asian country does its own thing, no country asks India before making a decision.

Pakistan's co-operation with China and allowing Gwadar.

How will that affect India? Gwadar and Pakistan's cooperation with China has nothing to do with India.

Trade routes, Octroi/transit fees to Central Asia......

That's Pakistan's decision if to allow India transit route to Central Asia via Pakistan.

Pakistan has agreed to let a close friend like China in a transit route through Pakistan.

Water sharing....

We already have the Indus Water Treaty. If both Pakistan and India follow the rules and regulations of the Indus Water Treaty, then there is no problem.

Remember, our politicians benefit from war and war-mongering....unless we can get them out of the picture and make politics in South Asia clean....never can we expect peaceful co-exisitence.....

India, being the world's largest "democracy" should make politics of what the people want not politicians. You chose your own politicians.

The world's largest "democracy" should ask what the people of the disputed region want for their land like they asked the people of Junagadh, which was also a disputed region between Pakistan and India and the ruler of Junagadh signed Junagadh to Pakistan but then the people, who were mostly Hindu, were given a plebiscite and chose India hence Junagadh became part of India and today Pakistan doesn't even mention Junagadh.

the thing is India never accepted Pakistan as a country before 1998. They just used to neglect Pakistan just like China doesn't take serious Taiwan..... after the Nuclear bomb attacks when Vajpayee came to Lahore that was the first moment when he accepted Pakistan.... i am not saying it was not recognised at international level but somewhere deep inside Indian leaders were never willing to accept as a Country, still today they somehow want to emerge Pakistan again with India and rule over Pakistan too.

Now after Pakistan was declared as a Nuclear Power that dream is almost no longer exists and Indians know that already but i am afraid after Kashmir issue there will be some other issue not saying about the borderline but some other sort of problems will keep them away for example westerns wouldn't want Paksitan and India to improve their relationships and prosper. They would want both countries to buy weapons and spend less on its public so these two countries never prosper and somehow they will be successful since we both countries will be running after WESTERN countries for latest technology and ammunitions for those reasons we will have to obey them so no chance of friendship with India anytime soon.

If Kashmir issue is resolved today it will take at least 15-50 years to bring peace between both nations and once that is established we can think about bright future of both respective countries. But that day aren't coming anytime soon as we already know that

Good question.

India and Pakistan have conflicting interests in a number of areas. It is unfortunate and its not personal. But it is a reality that one cannot escape. I agree with Reddy in post #6. There are many issues that need to be resolved. Water and energy security are huge concerns that will require some visionary leaders with courage and big hearts on both sides if they are to be resolved. Also, both countries have global (not just regional) ambitions.

India aspires to be a global economic and military power rivaling China. And Pakistan, owing to its very philosophy is part of a larger community of Muslim nations. At present Pakistan is preoccupied with its own problems. But if there is some degree of stability, Pakistan will certainly be called upon to help other Muslim countries. We have seen it in the past during the Six Day war of 1967 and to some extent in its support of the Bosnians in 1990s. Unfortunately, both countries believe (and there is some truth to it) that they cannot achieve there ambitions without undermining the other.

...still today they somehow want to emerge Pakistan again with India and rule over Pakistan too.

India would be glad to take Pakistan's territory, but they certainly don't want 170 million Muslims. Since one cannot be separated from the other, India is not interested in taking over Pakistan. They have two parallel options that they have been working on since 1947.

(1) To make sure that Pakistan remains weak so that it is unable to challenge India's interests.

(2) More preferably, to break up the country such that most of the population is forced into a small territory, leaving the remaining area for India to control directly or through newly formed client states.