Islamic Golden Age - Series

What is your problem with men having beard and women wearing burqa you Islamophobe?

Do the real Progressive leaders among Muslims have that kind of beard ?? And obviously I am not talking about the Fawad Khan type of beard.

As for that ugly burqa it is a non-Islamic and pre-Islamic import. I will copy-paste here my post from another thread :

--

The full burqa with the niqab ( face cover ) is not Islami but comes from a Jewish sect. An Egyptian member of parliament, Amna Nosseir, has researched on this and she has called for a ban on the burqa :
An Egyptian lawmaker has said members of parliament are drafting a law that would ban women from wearing the burqa in government institutions after alleging the Islamic full-face veil was a "Jewish tradition".

Amna Nosseir said on Sunday that the proposed ban would be in the best interest of Egyptian society and that she has been battling against the burqa over the past 40 years.
Nosseir, who wears the hijab, said on Wednesday that the burqa - known in Arabic as the niqab - had its origins in Jewish religious law.

"In the Old Testament, you find in chapter 38 that the Jewish religious authorities tell you that if Jewish women leave the house without covering the face and head then they are breaking Jewish religious law," the lawmaker said during an interview with local media.
"I have gathered around 20 texts by Jewish religious authorities that completely forbid women from showing their faces and heads," Nosseir said while discussing also banning female university students from wearing "ripped jeans" in lectures.

She added that this part of Jewish law became entrenched in pre-Islamic Arab tribes of the Arabian Peninsula and then spread throughout the Middle East with the Muslim conquests.
The verse the lawmaker could be referring to is Genesis 38, where a biblical figure encounters his daughter-in-law in the street and mistakes her for a prostitute because she had covered her face with a veil.

Why is it that in every Progressive Muslim-majority society the burqa is discouraged by the government and why is it those particular "Muslims" in these societies who want to bring back or introduce the burqa, these people are encouraged and supported by NATO ?? Does this mean that if I am the Islamophobe as per you then these NATO leaders, like Obomba or Bliar or Sarkozy, are true Muslims ?? Your logic is nonsense.

Watch this vid about Nasser recounting in a speech his encounter with the chief of the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood who wanted Nasser's government to enforce the niqab. Watch the reaction of the audience.

Again an accusation based on your islamophobic mindset

Research on how Indian Muslims looked 15 years ago and how they look now.

Rubbish !! USA is the co-creator of the Taliban who were birthed by USA and ISI during the end years of the socialist government in Afghanistan war and many of its fighters had fought against the socialist, Progressive Afghan government earlier. From this Wikipedia page :
Ahmed Rashid states that the US indirectly supported the Taliban through its ally in Pakistan between 1994 and 1996 because Washington viewed the Taliban as anti-Iranian, anti-Shia and pro-Western. For example, it made no comment when the Taliban captured Herat in 1995, and expelled thousands of girls from schools.

At this early stage, the then Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs, Robin Raphel, strongly supported efforts to engage with the Taliban. She also supported a Unocal-led, Taliban-supported pipeline project on trips to Afghanistan and Pakistan in April and August 1996. She was one of the first senior American officials to meet personally with Taliban, including its leader, Mohammed Omar. She called on the international community to "engage the Taliban." Raphel was instrumental in coordinating the State Department's establishment of diplomatic relations with the Taliban shortly after its takeover of Kabul. She welcomed their taking of Kabul in September 1996 as a "positive step". Her consistent support for the Taliban from its earliest days earned her the sobriquet "Lady Taliban" and "Godmother to the Taliban" in some circles

At present, NATO is fighting a half-hearted war in Afghanistan. NATO's scale of operations there is hugely less than what they did in Iraq, Libya and Syria. And the Afghan Taliban even has an embassy in Qatar which is one of NATO's allies. The Afghan Taliban is mostly an ultra-nationalist, Regressive tribal force that simply wants the Christian forces out of Afghanistan. It doesn't have some Progressive vision for Afghanistan for the next five years or ten years. And many of the Afghan Taliban's current fighters are simply unemployed people or poor farmers forced into fighting with them.

All in all the Taliban is not some romantic freedom fighter revolutionary movement that you imagine.

CIA or not CIA. Islam is Islam and is clear. It isn't ambiguous like whatever you follow. It isn't full of confusion like whatever you follow. A person can be ISI agent or CIA agent or whatever. That has nothing to do with him being muslim or non muslim

A person becomes a muslim or non muslim based on his beliefs and not on his political idelogy

The Al Qaeda terrorist group was created by the CIA agent Osama bin Laden. What were his beliefs and those of his fighters ?? Did their "religious" beliefs and "political" beliefs intersect at some point ??

I don't care what someone say to that mass murderer

How nice that our Israeli Zionist member @500, the entire neo-Crusader NATO and yourself have that view about Assad.

Pity that many Syrians have stuck along with Assad all these nine years.

Fiqh can get very complicated, once you get into the nitty gritty.

A sensible understanding had been reached in Progressive countries such as Egypt, Libya, Algeria etc.

Tableegh have simplified it to make it more universal.

Can you give an example ??

They also avoid scholar debates on fiqh.

1. Who decides who the scholars are ??

2. Gaddafi was a scholar of the Quran too. Would the TJ have refused to debate with him ??

Ritual in general is an important part of Islam, Namaz being most important. Actually Namaz is the dividing line between Muslim and NonMuslim.

Prayer, ritual ( like fasting ) and dress-code ( in South Asia ) are not the only things that define Islam. Please do a forum search for my posts about the Islamic laws for wedding. I posted that just to say that there is an entire socio-economic side to Islam without which Islam would become just like say Brahmin beliefs.

Not true for Pakistan. I told you this before, the most authoritative voices of Islam in Pakistan, like Mufti Taqi Usmani, are Deobandi.

I wish to point here that the TJ movement originally was a branch of the Deobandi movement.

Maulana Tariq Jameel is Tableeghi, but that is not all he is.

I just don't understand the respect that many ( it seems ) Pakistanis have for him, even after he made that recent comment about women and immorality being the cause of diseases and what not.

I could possibly defeat him in a general debate.

Maulana Tariq Jameel is Tableeghi, but that is not all he is.

Can you explain the underlined part ??

Taliban and Tableegh are two totally different groups. Taliban is a government and movement in Afghanistan, Tableegh cut across all ideological lines. I have even seen Shias sitting with them. Few months ago, I met one Farsiwan from Afghanistan sitting with them, I asked him alot of questions and learned alot.

For the Afghan Taliban please read my above reply to Areesh about that movement.

For TJ, it originated in India and is now a transnational movement who members come from Philippines to Africa to Central Asia to Europe to possibly North America. In some countries ( I know of Kazakhstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan ) it is banned because the TJ for many its members becomes a stepping stone to join or set up terrorist movements. From the Wikipedia page about the TJ :
According to Alex Alexiev, "perhaps 80% percent of the Islamist extremists have come from Tablighi ranks, prompting French intelligence officers to call Tablighi Jamaat the 'antechamber of fundamentalism.'"

Tablighi members who have been charged with terrorism include: Zacarias Moussaoui (charged in the United States in the 11 September attacks), Hervé Djamel Loiseau (French citizen found in Afghanistan), and Djamel Beghal (Algerian-born French citizen and Al Qaeda member who was convicted of plotting to blow up the U.S. Embassy in Paris), Syed Rizwan Farook. In a foiled January 2008 bombing plot in Barcelona, Spain, "some media reports" stated that a Muslim leader in the city stated that the fourteen suspects arrested by police in a series of raids (where bomb-making materials were seized) were members of the Tablighi Jamaat.Other terrorist plots and attacks on civilians that members of Tablighi Jamaat have been connected with include the Portland Seven, the Lackawanna Six, the 2006 transatlantic aircraft plot, the 7/7 London bombings, the 2007 London car bombs, and 2007 Glasgow International Airport attack

That is the power of Islam, not Tableegh. They don't do anything special. Give talks, do zikr, and read Quran, nothing extraordinary from other groups.

It is when the people's heart change to be receptive to deen, they don beard and niqab.

Sorry but that is not the power of Islam. :)

As I said the TJ creates an oppressive, stifling social atmosphere with their "talks" as you said, which forces the women to begin wearing the burqa. But yes, there are a few brainwashed women who go out on the streets, carrying banners that say "The hijab [ burqa ] is not my compulsion, it is my pride". But for the majority, they are forced to wear it.

Beard is sunnah of the prophet saws, and niqab is the naafil of his wives, the mothers of believers.

Every Muslim aspires to those examples.

Please read my above reply to Areesh and especially watch that Nasser's vid.

Most of the so called Islamic scientists were considered heretics by Muslims and today they claim their achievements as Islamic?!:lol:

Dont you even saw the video ? One of the best scholar like Ibnu Qaldun studied Islam as well beside other subject and has remembered whole Quran (Hafiz). Muslim scholars are in majority pious Muslim. There is surely free thinking environment at that time.

It is your Christianity that is unlogic and the reason of why Westerners get enlightenment and reach renaissance is when they put down their Church authority. So you can see the correlation between advancement in science and technology in the Western World with its declining on religious obedient (Christian)

@jamahir Bro, dont focus on Tabligh group to see Islam. They are a very minority group in Muslim world. You can check on this Muslim group in Indonesia with combining Islam and Modernism. Our second largest Muslim Group in Indonesia.

Muhammadiyah (Arabic: محمدية‎, followers of Muhammad. full name: Persyarikatan Muhammadiyah) is a major Islamic non-governmental organization in Indonesia.[1] The organization was founded in 1912 by Ahmad Dahlan in the city of Yogyakarta as a reformist socioreligious movement, advocating ijtihad - individual interpretation of Qur'an and sunnah, as opposed to taqlid - the acceptance of the traditional interpretations propounded by the ulama.[2]

Since its establishment, Muhammadiyah has adopted a reformist platform mixing religious and secular education,[3] primarily as a way to promote the upward mobility of Muslims toward a 'modern' community and to purify Indonesian Islam of local syncretic practices.[3] It continues to support local culture and promote religious tolerance in Indonesia, while a few of its higher education institutions are attended mostly by non-Muslims, especially in East Nusa Tenggara and Papua provinces. The group also runs a large chain of charity hospitals,[1] and operated 128 universities as of the late 1990s.[4]

At the moment, Muhammadiyah is the second largest Islamic organization in Indonesia with 29 million members.[2] Although Muhammadiyah leaders and members are often actively involved in shaping the politics in Indonesia, Muhammadiyah is not a political party. It has devoted itself to social and educational activities.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muhammadiyah

Thanks. Your text is a change from what Areesh has been believing. From the text the Muhammadiyah seems to be something I can be possibly comfortable with.

And please read this post of mine till the end. I think it will be to your liking.

That is not a very islamic thing to do I believe.

I am just returning him the favor. :D

Leaders of the most of the Muslim countries don't have beard.

Yes and that should be highlighted, especially to those desi Muslims who look at Maulana Tariq Jameel and adopt a mustache-less beard or those who look at say Mufti Menk and adopt a foot-long beard.

Fawad khan ki beard main Kya special ha?

Well, it suits him. I mean only a few men can carry off a beard well.

Thanks. Your text is a change from what Areesh has been believing. From the text the Muhammadiyah seems to be something I can be possibly comfortable with.

And please read this post of mine till the end. I think it will be to your liking.

Actually I have witness the education of Muhammadiyah system. When I was still at third year in my Junior High school, the Quran teacher ask the student to make their own tafsir (interpretation) of Quran verses.

So instead of following some Muslim group who always limit their thinking within old interpretation of Quran from very old generation of few respected Ulama. We are taught to have free thinking and improve our analysis skills by interpreting Quran verses by ourselves.

@jamahir

I like how you jump the hoop.

With further training you can jump a hoop on fire while balancing a beach ball on your nose.

That is progression i want to personally see you grow more in

Actually I have witness the education of Muhammadiyah system. When I was still at third year in my Junior school, the Quran teacher ask the student to make their own tafsir (interpretation) of Quran verses.

So instead of following some Muslim group who always limit their thinking within old interpretation of Quran from very old generation of few respected Ulama. We are taught to have free thinking and improve our analysis skills by interpreting Quran verses by ourselves.

That is very nice really. :tup:

I also don't like mustache less beard.

Good to know. :tup:

And fawad don't have beard when I don't shave for few days my beard becomes longer than his

You are right actually. At least in the Hindi film Khoobsurat what he has is a little more hair than a stubble :

93a7f4ee18a3996d0dcbc21d4eed9cb8.jpg

This is him with a fuller beard which doesn't suit him :

e5b88a8ec94b43055fdfa4ff7c5de48b.jpg

Dont you even saw the video ? One of the best scholar like Ibnu Qaldun studied Islam as well beside other subject and has remembered Quran. Muslim scholars are in majority pious Muslim. There is surely free thinking environment at that time.

It is your Christianity that is unlogic and the reason of why Westerners get enlightenment and reach renaissance is when they put down their Church authority. So you can see the correlation between advancement in science and technology in the Western World with its declining on religious obedient (Christian)
I am not Christian so your argument doesn’t matter to me lol.

Do the real Progressive leaders among Muslims have that kind of beard ?? And obviously I am not talking about the Fawad Khan type of beard.

And why should I care whether those leaders had beard or not. Who cares about those leaders or Fawad khan?

Those leaders are dead right now and have became fertilizer

We are supposed to follow Quran and Sunnah that is to remain here till the end of times\

Research on how Indian Muslims looked 15 years ago and how they look now.

Indian muslims can look and wear whatever they want to. You have no right telling them what they should wear and look like

As for that ugly burqa it is a non-Islamic and pre-Islamic import. I will copy-paste here my post from another thread :

First of all it isn't ugly. Control the islamophobe in you

The full burqa with the niqab ( face cover ) is not Islami but comes from a Jewish sect.

Islam asks women to cover themselves and that can be done with anything including Burqa

An Egyptian member of parliament, Amna Nosseir, has researched on this and she has called for a ban on the burqa

This lady is nobody first of all. Not a religoous authority in any manner

Secondly there are various things in Islam that have their roots in previsions semantic religions

Why the focus on burqa and why to ban it only?

Islamophobia. That is the answer

You are ashamed of this since west doesn't approve of it

Why is it that in every Progressive Muslim-majority society

Those "progressive" societies can go f*ck themselves

Talk to me from Quran and Hadees when you are talking about Islam

these people are encouraged and supported by NATO ??

Those who want to ban burqa share the same perception about burqa as NATO countries. Both want to ban burqa

So what should I say about that?

Does this mean that if I am the Islamophobe

You are. You hate muslims for what they wear and look

That is classic Islamophobia

these NATO leaders, like Obomba or Bliar or Sarkozy, are true Muslims ??

All the names you mentioned dislike Burqa and beard like you

Well that tells us you are an Islamophobe

Your logic is nonsense.

Nope. my logic is from Quran and Sunnah which should be the case for any muslim

Your logic is from nobodies in Islam

Watch this vid about Nasser recounting in a speech his encounter with the chief of the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood who wanted Nasser's government to enforce the niqab. Watch the reaction of the audience.

So a despotic ruler giving speech to his supporters is somehow a proof for me about something that is related to Islam

Are you crazy or what man? How many times I have to tell you?

These Nassers and Qaddafis are nobody. They are dead.

They are no Hujjah upon me when it comes to Islam and its related issues

Progressive Afghan government earlier.

" Progressive Afghan government" that used to torture its people and commit mass human rights violations?

.There are thousand of Afghans whose loved ones are missing even today after getting abducted by your beloved "progressive Afghan governments"

KHAAD that used to massacre and torture its own people is still a taboo in Afghan society. People hate it for its crimes

Don't you have any shame supporting such criminals?

All in all the Taliban is not some romantic freedom fighter revolutionary movement that you imagine.

They have defeated the USA and NATO forces. You can add all the ifs and buts to that but the bottom line is that they are victorious

The Al Qaeda terrorist group was created by the CIA agent Osama bin Laden. What were his beliefs and those of his fighters ?? Did their "religious" beliefs and "political" beliefs intersect at some point ??

There are millions today who follow Quran and Sunnah and don't have anything to do with Al Qaida or ISIS

But whenever someone names Quran and Sunnah you think of Al Qaida and ISIS

And still think you are not an islamophobe?

How nice that our Israeli Zionist member @500, the entire neo-Crusader NATO and yourself have that view about Assad.

I don't care what someone thinks about Bashar. He is a mass murderer who has blood of hundreds of thousands of innocent muslims on his hands

I pray he die a painful death

Pity that many Syrians have stuck along with Assad all these nine years.

Half of the syrian population is displaced and the whole country is destroyed and you think Syrians stick with that scumbag murderer

Zionists and Iranians agree that the world is round, so their is a conspiracy between them?

On slightly different note, Hafez and Bashar were both genocidal dictators, you may argue that Bashar is lesser evil but that's that - he's no angel, the HDI of pre-war Syria was one the lowest in the region, he actively excluded the Sunnis from representation and most importantly he's a hypocrite - his grandfather Ali Sulayman al-Assad demanded a separate state from "Muslims" then his son start ruling over those Muslims.

The only argument that can work for him is that he's the "lesser evil".

Nope. my logic is from Quran and Sunnah which should be the case for any muslim
What do you think about Ijtihad and Taqlid?

I follow that too if they are not against Quran and Sunnah
Taqlid refers to conformity to the previous scholar(s), like if a case comes to Jurist's attention then he tries to find if similar case has appeared to any of the past scholars (of the same school of thought); if it had appeared, he applies the same ruling on the present case.

Ijtihad refers to the rational thinking with the aid of Quran and hadith(s) i.e. a Jurist apply his mental faculty consulting the Quran to arrive at a solution to the case at hand.

The problem between them is that most traditional scholars believe that the Ijtihad has become obsolete because most of the rulings were already decided by one scholar or another, so most cases can be solved with Taqlid only.

Now, the question arises - How much should we trust the past scholars? Should we consider political pressures and cultural influences while studying the Taqlid? Is Taqlid infallible? Most of the "progressives" believe that both political pressures and cultural influence were at play when most of the judgments became a part of the Taqlid and abandoning them is the best option. I myself partially subscribe to the view and think Ijtihad should preside over Taqlid. What do you think?

Taqlid refers to conformity to the previous scholar(s), like if a case comes to Jurist's attention then he tries to find if similar case has appeared to any of the past scholars (of the same school of thought); if it had appeared, he applies the same ruling on the present case.

Ijtihad refers to the rational thinking with the aid of Quran and hadith(s) i.e. a Jurist apply his mental faculty consulting the Quran to arrive at a solution to the case at hand.

The problem between them is that most traditional scholars believe that the Ijtihad has become obsolete because most of the rulings were already decided by one scholar or another, so most cases can be solved with Taqlid only.

Now, the question arises - How much should we trust the past scholars? Should we consider political pressures and cultural influences while studying the Taqlid? Is Taqlid infallible? Most of the "progressives" believe that both political pressures and cultural influence were at play when most of the judgments became a part of the Taqlid and abandoning them is the best option. I myself partially subscribe to the view and think Ijtihad should preside over Taqlid. What do you think?

Unless I have a clear proof that those scholars "ijtehad" and "Taqlid" Or "Ijma" was based on political whims and not on Quran and Hadees then I follow those scholars

The problem here is that these "modern muslims" try to change and alter Islam as per the liking of the west

I would disagree with you here. There are many nations that are living the "golden age" in many ways whilst not following the Islamic philosopy.

Not really brother.
Every thing that is good for the mankind has been derived from Islam. Everything that is evil is shetan's doing.
Islam is NOT 1400 years old.
Islam is as old as the humans.

The nations that are going through their golden age right now has adopted some Islamic philosophies. Albeit only economic, social or political. The ones designed to provide a better life in this world.

Throughout the history, it has always been true, that whoever has adopted a Islamic ideas and philosophies has prospered and grown. That includes all the empires that we know about.
From Babylonia, to Persian Empire, to Caliphate of Khulfa-e-Rashideen to Roman Empire to Ottoman Caliphate to British, To America to China.

If you look closely at the source of their rise and progress, you will find Islam.

And empires ONLY FALL when they DIVERGE AWAY from Islam.

This rise and fall happens slowly over a span of many many years.

And the problems that you find in these countries or other muslim countries, if you look closely, you will find that they are caused because they are not following Islamic philosophy or model for those specific set of issues.

Islam is complete guidance and is so much more than Ibadat and Ikhlaq, albeit those are just as important.

The cream of approved "Muslim" intelligentsia in India and Pakistan
Can you please explain what you mean by "approved muslim".

now seems to be the "intellectuals" of the Tableeghi Jamaat.

I am from Tablighi jamaat. I am not sure how you reached that conclusion, but Tableeghi jamat is full of Doctors, Engineers, Scientists, Software Engineers and other educated class.
Idon't know what they discuss in their gatherings ( Ijtemas ) and don't want to know

To sum it up: "ALLAH aik Hai, aur Mohammed S.A.W us k Rasool Hain, unhi k raste per chal ker hamari dunya aur akhirat ki kamyabi hai, aur un k raste per na chalne se hamari dunya aur akhirat ki nakami hai"

but I know for certain that had the TJ movement been present in The Golden Age they would have described these philosophers, engineers and medicine men as non-Muslim because of not adhering to the TJ's view of Islam

Tablighi Jamat is as old has humankind... so no. The modern Tableegi jamat, hailing from India, from the hardwork of Molana Ilyas R.A. deems Prophet S.A.W and His Sahab R.A as our ideal.

In the first sehroza that we spend in the tableeghi jamat (or the first few days of a chilla), we learn that all muslims are our brothers and we are restricted and warned from calling anyone kafir. As our elders taught:
"If you find a reason to call someone a kafir, try to find 99 reasons to not call him a kafir and if you can find 1, then he is not a kafir".
being a strict adherence to only prayer, ritual and dress-code and nothing else.

Only prayer? no.
Do we focus on prayer? yes.
Why? Q k ham chahte hain k ap jannat main jain. Allah ne apko aqalmand insan banaya hai, aur bht ilm aur qabiliat ata keri hai. Is se apko dunya main kamyabi milegi, InshaALLAH. Ap hamare bhai hain, ham chahte hn apki akhirat b achi ho. Aur namaz us ka bunyadi rasta hai, sabse pehle namaz k barey me sawal hoga. Ktna acha hoga ALLAH apko yahan b izzat de aur akhirat main b.

First of all TJ don't do takfeer of anyone.
Correct. We are strictly forbidden.

Third if someone has heretic beliefs then he is a heretic. Islam is clear about it. I say again. Not the taliban. Not Tableeghi jamat. It is Islam itself that calls out heretics for being heretics. You might not like it but that is how it is....
In Islam there is no grey area. Either you belief in what Islam says and you are a Muslim and you are not if you don't

Islam is not confused if you are

Just to expand on it, if you two do not mind. Islam wants the good of all mankind. It desires success of people in this world and hereafter. ALLAH has given every person the free will to choose what he desires and he has made the rules and boundaries clear. So that people can make the choice.

Ager apko yeh bataya nhn jaega k kufar kia hai aur deen kia hai to ap choose kese kerenge.

which a half mild atheist like you can't even dream about....... If your beliefs about existence of God are same that i read about in another thread then yes you are not a muslim...

bura nhn maniega, lekin muje jamahir bhai main bht kher nazar arahi hai. in k views alag hain, lekin yeh Musalmano ka bhala hi chahte hn. In ko na burqe se taklif hai, na darhi se, inko dukh yeh hai k Islam ki dominance nhn hai, jis ki waja woh Musalmano ki personal choice ko samaj rahe hn. Inki khuwahish yeh hai k ham yeh sab chor ker science aur technology wagera per apna dhiyan laga den. Inko lagta hai k ager west wala model apna lenge to ham b successful hojainge.

Bat to sahi nhn hai, lekin inki niyat nek hai, inko kafir nhn kahen yeh hamare bhai hain. ALLAH ne inko aqal aur samaj ata keri hai, zara sochen yeh is tarhan Islam k haq main bolna shuru kerden to ktna acha hga...

Kahan se le atey hain ap log yeh baten. Ijtehad ko koi b obsolete nhn samajta.

Q k fatwa usoolon aur Quran aur ahadees ko samne rakh ker dia jata hai is lie Taqleed keri jati hai. Jab b koi Taqleedi fesla dia jata hai to usko dekha jata hai k yeh sahi usoolon per bana hai ya nhn. Usool timeless hotey hain. is lie yeh pata lagana asan hojata hai k fesla political pressure/culture influence ki waja se dia tha ya nhn. Aur koi b taqleedi fesla us wqt tak qubool hi nhn hota jab tak ulema ki aksariat unko sahi na qarar dede.

It is a very rigorous process. Most of the Taqleedi decisions that are still followed to this date even after hundreds of years have simply stood the test of the time.

Unless I have a clear proof that those scholars "ijtehad" and "Taqlid" Or "Ijma" was based on political whims and not on Quran and Hadees
I may write on this in detail in future.
The problem here is that these "modern muslims" try to change and alter Islam as per the liking of the west
Not to endorse the west, but do we have to reject every western idea to be Muslims? Being anti-west==Being Muslim?

Most of the Taqleedi decisions that are still followed to this date even after hundreds of years have simply stood the test of the time.
This part is debatable, consider Imrana case; the initial fatwa from Deoband was later refuted by Yusuf al-Qaradawi on the grounds of Ijtehad.