What's new

Interview with a former SSG Colonel.

Kompromat

ADMINISTRATOR
Reaction score
Country
Pakistan
Interview with a former SSG Colonel.

This is the interview of a retired SSG Officer known as Colonel (R) Safdar Hussain Abid who has served in SSG from 1966 till 1990. Took part in 1965 war with India and also the infamous Soviet-Afghan War, It was a rare chance for me to Interview him and ask him questions about SSG, War with India, Soviet-Afghan War, IBO’s (Intelligence based operations) during Soviet-Afghan War & the role of ISI.

Faisal Aijaz: When did you join Pakistan Army?

Col (R) Abid: I entered PMA in 1961. After I graduated, I was selected for Infantry Division under I Corps in Kharian.

Faisal Aijaz: How was your relationship with General (R) Musharraf ? And what is your opinion about him ?

Col (R) Abid: He was a great friend and a fearless soldier and also my course mate. At first when I went to Infantry Div, Gen (R) Musharraf was moved to Artillery Reg. I remember just few days before the 1965 war, I was having dinner with General (R) Musharraf and he quietly said ‘Since we two really don’t care about death, so why don’t we opt for Special Services Group (SS)? To which then I replied ‘We’ll fight together, We’ll live together and We’ll die together.’

Faisal Aijaz: What was it like to be on the battlefield during 1965 War with India?

Col (R) Abid: Our plan to join SSG was dropped off due to the war which eventually started right after few days. General Musharraf and his team established their Artillery battery near Khem Karan sector while I was in an area of Rann of Kutch along with Major Shabbir’s 6th Frontier Force regiment. We knew the fact that the Indian Army’s strength was quite obvious numerically but we gave them a serious blow.

Faisal Aijaz: When did you join SSG? How tough was the training?