India’s ‘Ghost Towns’ Saddle Middle Class With Debt—and Broken Dreams

Why Hindu middle class ? People from all backgrounds sometimes get stuck with builders going broke etc. The courts have been quite pro active in taking them to task by ensuring they complete the projects and hand over the houses, or to pay full compensation, and even jailing top CEOs of big construction firms.

Economic slowdowns and booms are cyclical. Modi's policies are not to blame, the economy will pick up again.

Why Hindu middle class ? People from all backgrounds sometimes get stuck with builders going broke etc. The courts have been quite pro active in taking them to task by ensuring they complete the projects and hand over the houses, or to pay full compensation, and even jailing top CEOs of big construction firms.

Economic slowdowns and booms are cyclical. Modi's policies are not to blame, the economy will pick up again.

The wordings are menacing. Wall street is saying that property boom has come to and end. Full stop. Modi regime has been in power for number of years now, not like he was given power months ago. If the situation is as bad as the article suggest, bucks stop at Modi and Modi alone.

There's a global slowdown happening. China has suffered in the trade war with Trump. Rest of Asia isn't doing too great either.

New tax regime and demonitization in particular could have been rolled out better, they have made mistakes, the BJP. In his first term, despite those 2 shaky policies, he did a lot of good for the economy with massive deregulation and inviting foreign investments. Trump, with his America first economic nationalism has also affected some sectors here pretty hard, call centres and outsourced back office chores as well as the animation and digital art outsourcing (a lot of that goes on too).

Watched his speech at Davos yesterday ? all about economic nationalism, which I agree with. Let's see what trade deal they'll announce when he comes next month, been in the works for a while. Maybe we can work out a mutually beneficial or "reciprocal", as DJT likes to call them, trade deal will be announced.

This tweeter is obviously extremely biased, just went through his feed..

"The Hindu middle class that supported modi for his role in 2002 is in financial trouble..."

wow

obviously an angry leftist/communist provocateur from Kerala or something, these peoples' hatred for India and the Hindus knows no bounds. The rattle of the empty can, this lot is finished politically at the national level and they know it too.

They'll be made to suffer under our collective Brahmin boots for the next half a century at least.. watch 8-)

There's a global slowdown happening. China has suffered in the trade war with Trump. Rest of Asia isn't doing too great either.

New tax regime and demonitization in particular could have been rolled out better, they have made mistakes, the BJP. In his first term, despite those 2 shaky policies, he did a lot of good for the economy with massive deregulation and inviting foreign investments. Trump, with his America first economic nationalism has also affected some sectors here pretty hard, call centres and outsourced back office chores as well as the animation and digital art outsourcing (a lot of that goes on too).

Watched his speech at Davos yesterday ? all about economic nationalism, which I agree with. Let's see what trade deal they'll announce when he comes next month, been in the works for a while. Maybe we can work out a mutually beneficial or "reciprocal", as DJT likes to call them, trade deal will be announced.

This tweeter is obviously extremely biased, just went through his feed..

"The Hindu middle class that supported modi for his role in 2002 is in financial trouble..."

wow

obviously an angry leftist/communist provocateur from Kerala or something, these peoples' hatred for India and the Hindus knows no bounds. The rattle of the empty can, this lot is finished politically at the national level and they know it too.

They'll be made to suffer under our collective Brahmin boots for the next half a century at least.. watch 8-)

I am not interested in tweeter account because how things can be narrated to suite one agenda but the original article was published in wall street journal. Its not talking about global economic situation but Indian property sector. And truth be told, it is this sector which is the barometer on how the country's economy is doing. Your love for hindu nationalism is not going to paper over the stark realities India is facing. I know this Indian guy in UK who had two properties, and during the demonitization fiasco by Modi regime, he has to sell one just to support his struggling parents back home.

This has naught to do with Hindu Nationalism or anything.

I was stuck in a scary situation with one of these big builders who filed for bankruptcy etc and my money was stuck, pretty harrowing experience as you can imagine, but thankfully I was able to get out. The courts forced them to finish the apartment and I subsequently sold for a marginal profit. I keep up with this news.

Yes, the economy is not doing great, many sectors affected and I know people caught up in it. Mujhe bata ra bc India me kya chal raha ? :big_boss:

It is not Modi's or the BJP's fault. Sab down hai, hum bhi down hai but it is definitely not all doom and gloom.

Wonderful !! Some people are talking about settling on Mars and you are talking about maintaining the evil caste system.

This has naught to do with Hindu Nationalism or anything.

I was stuck in a scary situation with one of these big builders who filed for bankruptcy etc and my money was stuck, pretty harrowing experience as you can imagine, but thankfully I was able to get out. The courts forced them to finish the apartment and I subsequently sold for a marginal profit. I keep up with this news.

Yes, the economy is not doing great, many sectors affected and I know people caught up in it. Mujhe bata ra bc India me kya chal raha ? :big_boss:

It is not Modi's or the BJP's fault. Sab down hai, hum bhi down hai but it is definitely not all doom and gloom.

Its the second tenure of Modi regime for crying out loud! And in this current mess what are their priorities? Buck stops at the top, familiar with this phrase?

Wonderful !! Some people are talking about settling on Mars and you are talking about maintaining the evil caste system.
Go through his tweets, he's a lefty provocateur, and hence the tone of my reply.

Its the second tenure of Modi regime for crying out loud! And in this current mess what are their priorities? Buck stops at the top, familiar with this phrase?
In his/their second term, which only just commenced some months ago, the focus does seem to be on Hindutva policies with stuff like CAA and NRC. He was handed this huge mandate on a pretty 'hard nationalist' platform too, and the mandate is huge and historic, they have the numbers and the constitutional authority to pass any legislation they want. They're pretty smart by pushing the contentious ones up first, people will forget it soon and the protests will peter out and die off.

They should ram through the UCC and Population Regulation thing soon too in their first 12 months.

The economy will bounce back soon enough.

Maybe he is the Twitter account of @AfrazulMandal . Look at Afraz's signature. And Afraz is certainly not a Leftie.
good catch, says "@brumbyoz" right in his info, haha.

ok, Islamist then, not an out and out commie.

An "intersectional" Islamist, according Murrican' lefty lingo.

Iske to rone abhi shuru hi karvaein hai, we bhakts are bringing a heavy monsoon season and tsunami soon.

5136bL4Gk8L._AC_SX425_.jpg

cheers ! :cheers:

good catch, says "@brumbyoz" right in his info, haha.

ok, Islamist then, not an out and out commie.

An "intersectional" Islamist, according Murrican' lefty lingo.

"Islamist" is not the proper word to describe him. Perhaps "Tableeghi" would be better. "Islamist" is an attempt by Western, mainly Anglo governments, to attach Islam ( which actually is an older Socialist movement ) with Regressive ideas.

Faiz, Nasser and Gaddafi are not the same as Maudoodi and bin Laden.

Iske to rone abhi shuru hi karvaein hai, we bhakts are bringing a heavy monsoon season and tsunami soon.

5136bL4Gk8L._AC_SX425_.jpg

cheers ! :cheers:

Are you an Adarsh Bhakt ?? :D

The economy will bounce back soon enough.

How ? Plenty of indicators that another global recession is around the corner and India Pak can go hot anytime and big time, considering the rhetoric coming from Indian side.