Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

What its has to do with graft in aircraft deal?

Last fortnight CPI(M) MP Amal Datta suddenly dropped what appeared to be a bombshell in Parliament. He alleged that Rajiv Gandhi had stashed away a mind-boggling Rs.4,600 crore in Swiss banks. Despite the hullabaloo this raised, Datta's claim was suspect.

His source was an Imelda Marcos expose in the November 11 issue of a popular Swiss weekly, Schweizer Illustrierte (Swiss Illustrated). It also ran pictures of some Third World dictators and said they had fat Swiss bank accounts. Among them was Rajiv.

However, Datta himself later played it down by avoiding queries. Even the BJP and the Janata Dal have not pursued the issue so far. The reason: the magazine has a reputation for exaggerating and embroidering its stories.

The one on Imelda keeping money in Switzerland was based on the evidence revealed during an official Swiss probe. But the sums secreted away by others is not. Under the Swiss banking laws, unless there is an official investigation, one cannot find out the exact amount in any bank account.

Reliable sources at the Swiss Federal Banking Commission, the Federal Police and the Justice Ministry divulged that there was no official evidence of funds hidden by the Nehru-Gandhi family in Switzerland. The Swiss weekly's editor-in-chief and the story's author were not available for clarifications.

Datta's charge appears to be baseless.

Read more at: CPI(M) MP Amal Datta's Rajiv Gandhi's Swiss banks accounts allegation falls flat : INDIASCOPE - India Today

I never said anything about 'graft'. COnsultants and 'middlemen' with connections have always been around. In many parts of the world it's considered legitimate business and the commission a decent income. Considering his connections, Rajiv may have wanted to start somthing on those lines. But apparently that was not to be. 

Besides that even the wiki leaks cables described Modi as the"incorruptible"

Modi will probably never take money for himself. But he is definitely able to overlook the corruption of others if he needs their political support. How is this different from MMS then? MMS never took money for his own purposes, but he did overlook the 2G corruption by DMK because he needed their support.

Good point. I have never understood how Modi's fans reconcile their wish to see Yeddiyurappa back in the BJP with their supposed distaste for corruption. Or may it's only the UPA's corruption that is distasteful........

I never said anything about 'graft'. COnsultants and 'middlemen' with connections have always been around. In many parts of the world it's considered legitimate business and the commission a decent income. Considering his connections, Rajiv may have wanted to start somthing on those lines. But apparently that was not to be. 

"In many parts of the world it's considered legitimate business and the commission a decent income. Considering his connections, Rajiv may have wanted to start somthing on those lines. But apparently that was not to be" - You mean getting a cut from taxpayer's money is decent income - right? :azn: Yeah, I get it.

About Modi - time will tell. His records speak anyway.

MMS was not just overlooking everybodies corruption in his government amounting to lakhs of crores but he was also blindly signing all files directly belonging to his ministry and directly under the purview his responsibility without even reading them(going by what he says).And this irresponsible and careless and foolish act of him has cost our exchequer a staggering loss of 20,00,00,00,00,000 rupees which belongs to the people of India and not the Congress party.
I cant imagine any PM of any party let alone Modi capable of being irresponsible,blind,stupid,foolish or careless to this extend.And we all know that MMS is just a puppet in the hands of some people.Even the biggest critics of Modi would hesitate in calling Modi a puppet.

king everybodies corruption in his government but he was also blindly signing all files directly belonging to his ministry and directly under the purview his responsiblility without even reading them(going by what he says).And this irresponsible and careless and foolish act of him has cost our exchequer a staggering loss of 20,00,00,00,00,000 rupees which belongs to the people of India and not the Congress party.
I cant imagine any PM of any part

Oh yeah...says who? MMS can be called well intentioned but incompetent at handling corruption. You don't have to 'imagine' anything- Modi's INTENTION is to leverage corrupt politicians to his advantage if needed. BSY coming back in BJP, Nitin Gadakari, coming back in BJP. Many of his ministers are corrupt. He has also stunted the appointment of lokayukta for 8 years to prevent corrupt officials being brought to book. Rest of your stuff is pure fantasy. He will shield and protect ALL corruption to keep his power. 
"In many parts of the world it's considered legitimate business and the commission a decent income. Considering his connections, Rajiv may have wanted to start somthing on those lines. But apparently that was not to be" - You mean getting a cut from taxpayer's money is decent income - right? :azn: Yeah, I get it.

About Modi - time will tell. His records speak anyway.

If defence contracts are paid for from tax-payers money then yes, the commision also has to be from there. Point is that he explored it and gave it up. You can't fault him for that. 
Good point. I have never understood how Modi's fans reconcile their wish to see Yeddiyurappa back in the BJP with their supposed distaste for corruption. Or may it's only the UPA's corruption that is distasteful........

They start by genuinely being disgusted with congress corruption, then they listen to modi propoganda and start fantasizing that he is the messiah and then when information to the contrary comes up, they rationalize it.

Oh yeah...says who?
says the congress version on this matter.
MMS can be called well intentioned but incompetent at handling corruption.
Yes ,you have used the right word here.Not many people would attribute the word incompetent to Modi.
You don't have to 'imagine' anything-Modi's INTENTION is to leverage corrupt politicians to his advantage if needed. BSY coming back in BJP, Nitin Gadakari, coming back in BJP. Many of his ministers are corrupt. He has also stunted the appointment of lokayukta for 8 years to prevent corrupt officials being brought to book.
I have not imagined anything .In fact you have imagined the hypothetical scenario that Modi is going to be corrupt if he becomes PM.
Rest of your stuff is pure fantasy. He will shield and protect ALL corruption to keep his power. 
None of my stuff is fantasy..In fact you are fantsising that" Modi will shield and protect ALL corruption to keep his power"

says the congress version on this matter.
Yes ,you have used the right word here.Not many people would attribute the word incompetent to Modi.

I have not imagined anything .In fact you have imagined the hypothetical scenario that Modi is going to be corrupt if he becomes PM.

None of my stuff is fantasy..In fact you are fantsising that" Modi will shield and protect ALL corruption to keep his power"

I'm not imagining ANYTHING...he has brought BSY in, brought Nitin Gadari in, his cabinet is full of corrupt ministers and he has shielded them by preventing the appointment of a Lokayukta...you are wiffully ignoring it to keep the fantasy of Modi's incorruptable nature alive. Modi will competently make sure that corruption never gets discussed in public for sure.

I'm not imagining ANYTHING...he has brought BSY in, brought Nitin Gadari in, his cabinet is full of corrupt ministers and he has shielded them by preventing the appointment of a Lokayukta...you are wiffully ignoring it to keep the fantasy of Modi's incorruptible nature alive. Modi will competently make sure that corruption never gets discussed in public for sure.
NO completely corrupt government can rule a state continuously for the third time .Especially without a coalition and with consistent two third majority.1 time OK ,2 time may be but the 3rd time is almost impossible.
If you see all the B J P state governments who are in their second and third third term like Gujarat M.P and Chattisgarh the people are repeatedly electing them time after the other because of good governance and minimal corruption.Among them Gujarat has maintained maximum number of seats ,consistently among them.

People of India simply do not tolerate corruption or dishonesty.Best example is Rajiv Gandhi's defeat due to Bofors scam
Even in Bihar where cast rules the electoral Math Lalu Yadav was finally defeated in 2005.

Even in BJP ruled states where there was rampant corruption they were mercilessly thrown out of power by the people after their first chance-Eg Karnataka, Uttarkhand and Himachal Pradesh.
BJP has nobody else to blame but themselves and their corrupt and malgovernance for their pathetic defeat in these states.
Even the incorrupt and honest non BJP governments like Manik Sarkar(4th term) in Tripura and Navin Patnaik in Orissa(2nd term) have been rewarded suitably by the people due to their good governance and largely in-corrupt image.
So your argument that the Modi government of Gujarat is totally corrupt and Modi is overlooking this fact and shielding them is not true.

NO completely corrupt government can rule a state continuously for the third time .Especially without a coalition and with consistent two third majority.1 time OK ,2 time may be but the 3rd time is almost impossible.
If you see all the B J P state governments who are in their second and third third term like Gujarat M.P and Chattisgarh the people are repeatedly electing them time after the other because of good governance and minimal corruption.Among them Gujarat has maintained maximum number of seats ,consistently among them.

People of India simply do not tolerate corruption or dishonesty.Best example is Rajiv Gandhi's defeat due to Bofors scam
Even in Bihar where cast rules the electoral Math Lalu Yadav was finally defeated in 2005.

Even in BJP ruled states where there was rampant corruption they were mercilessly thrown out of power by the people after their first chance-Eg Karnataka, Uttarkhand and Himachal Pradesh.
BJP has nobody else to blame but themselves and their corrupt and malgovernance for their pathetic defeat in these states.
Even the incorrupt and honest non BJP governments like Manik Sarkar(4th term) in Tripura and Navin Patnaik in Orissa(2nd term) have been rewarded suitably by the people due to their good governance and largely in-corrupt image.
So your argument that the Modi government of Gujarat is totally corrupt and Modi is overlooking this fact and shielding them is not true.

Oh now you're cooking up more fantasies and trying to confuse the issue. The extremely corrupt Jayalalitha was also elected several times so your nonsensical logic that corrupt govts. dont' get elected does not work. Other BJP govts are not Modi's so don't bring them in. Forget everything else. 'Incorruptible' modi is relaunching BSY's career (who was mercilessly thrown out) and Nitin Gadakri (who had to give up BJP Presedency because of corruption). More than enough proof that the only thing he wants from people is political clout no matter how many billions they have taken in corruption.

Oh now you're cooking up more fantasies and trying to confuse the issue.
None of the things I have mentioned in my post is a fantasy.Everything is based on facts and figures.Merely repeating the word fantasy time and again and hence trying to overlook the facts is of absolutely no use to any one.
The extremely corrupt Jayalalitha was also elected several times so your nonsensical logic that corrupt govts. dont' get elected does not work.
Please get your facts right.
Jayalalitha was never ever been elected twice consecutively let alone three times on a row with consistent 2/3 majority like Modi.People of Tamil Nadu have always thoroughly punished the incumbent corrupt government by throwing them out in the very next elections.
But due to their lack of any clean alternative choice and their obsession with dravidian parties,they have not been able to give their mandate for any party twice consecutively since 1984 when MGR was re-elected for the second time.
And when the fight is just between Jayalalitha & Karunanidhi then how can you accuse them of selecting one of them over the other.
Other BJP govts are not Modi's so don't bring them in.
Other B J P govts not being Modi's doesn't rule out the fact that every where people have thrown out the corrupt sooner or later and rewarded good governance time and again just like Modi has been selected three consecutive times with consistent 2/3 majority
Forget everything else. 'Incorruptible' modi is relaunching BSY's career (who was mercilessly thrown out) and Nitin Gadakri (who had to give up BJP Presedency because of corruption). More than enough proof that the only thing he wants from people is political clout no matter how many billions they have taken in corruption.

Please dont jump the gun.Yedurappas career has not been relaunched in any case uptill now .His request letter to Advani to join NDA has not been approved by Advani who is in charge of this decision.
B J P is not a one man party under Modi or a dynasty rule.So why are you blaming Modi for something which is not his decision alone and something that has never happened.

If some governmental decision under the Modi government then only Modi is responsible.
But not for party decisions that too in a party like BJP.The best example for this is the BJP party decision to suspend Ram jeth milani,which Modi was against but his decision was overruled by the colllective decision of other senior leaders.

But this is totally upto NDA to desicion and everybody in BJP top leadership including Arun Jaitly ,Sushma Swaraj,Advani,Shivraj Sing Chauhan,Ramn Singh,Muralimanohar Joshi,Ravishankar Prasad,Rajnath Singh,Manohar Parikar,Venkaiya Naidu,Ananth Kumar and many more NDA allies Including Prakash Sing Badal, Badal Junior,Bal thakrey and so on have equal say and responcibility in this matter just as much as Modi

Even if Raman Singh whom you support as BJP PM candidate would have been in the same situation and cot have taken a unanimous decision.So why only Modi ???

And regarding Gadkari ,Can you please explain how has Modi revived his carrer???
He was elected as president by the BJP executive body which consists of about so many leaders ranging from celibrity leaders such as Hema Manlini and Shatrughnan Sinha to Senior Most leader like Advani.
And when the corruption charge came he was asked to resign and sidelined?How is this reviving his career and that too solely by Modi???
If Modi is responcible the Raman Singh whom you support is also equally responsible.
So please end this double standard on Modi.

None of the things I have mentioned in my post is a fantasy.Everything is based on facts and figures.Merely repeating the word fantasy time and again and hence trying to overlook the facts is of absolutely no use to any one.

Please get your facts right.
Jayalalitha was never ever been elected twice consecutively let alone three times on a row with consistent 2/3 majority like Modi.People of Tamil Nadu have always thoroughly punished the incumbent corrupt government by throwing them out in the very next elections.
But due to their lack of any clean alternative choice and their obsession with dravidian parties,they have not been able to give their mandate for any party twice consecutively since 1984 when MGR was re-elected for the second time.
And when the fight is just between Jayalalitha & Karunanidhi then how can you accuse them of selecting one of them over the other.
Other B J P govts not being Modi's doesn't rule out the fact that every where people have thrown out the corrupt sooner or later and rewarded good governance time and again just like Modi has been selected three consecutive times with consistent 2/3 majority

Please dont jump the gun.Yedurappas career has not been relaunched in any case uptill now .His request letter to Advani to join NDA has not been approved by Advani who is in charge of this decision.
B J P is not a one man party under Modi or a dynasty rule.So why are you blaming Modi for something which is not his decision alone and something that has never happened.

If some governmental decision under the Modi government then only Modi is responsible.
But not for party decisions that too in a party like BJP.The best example for this is the BJP party decision to suspend Ram jeth milani,which Modi was against but his decision was overruled by the colllective decision of other senior leaders.

But this is totally upto NDA to desicion and everybody in BJP top leadership including Arun Jaitly ,Sushma Swaraj,Advani,Shivraj Sing Chauhan,Ramn Singh,Muralimanohar Joshi,Ravishankar Prasad,Rajnath Singh,Manohar Parikar,Venkaiya Naidu,Ananth Kumar and many more NDA allies Including Prakash Sing Badal, Badal Junior,Bal thakrey and so on have equal say and responcibility in this matter just as much as Modi

Even if Raman Singh whom you support as BJP PM candidate would have been in the same situation and cot have taken a unanimous decision.So why only Modi ???

And regarding Gadkari ,Can you please explain how has Modi revived his carrer???
He was elected as president by the BJP executive body which consists of about so many leaders ranging from celibrity leaders such as Hema Manlini and Shatrughnan Sinha to Senior Most leader like Advani.
And when the corruption charge came he was asked to resign and sidelined?How is this reviving his career and that too solely by Modi???
If Modi is responcible the Raman Singh whom you support is also equally responsible.
So please end this double standard on Modi.

Oh so now it's 'two elections consecutively' now. I'm not going to waste my time expalaining how Modi is forging his alliance with BSY and Gadakari. Check the news and the new responsiblities this ousted president has been given by modi. Raman Singh support from my end is 'in principle'. Let BJP declare his candidacy and then we will see what he does. 
'GLORIOUS LEADER' who opposes corruption

And Who gives a flying f@uk what they think ?

Narendra Modi Ji will become PM in 2014. No matter what Corrupt congressi morons and eMnrega @sshole workers rant on this forum.

Oh so now it's 'two elections consecutively' now.
Not just now ,it has always been so.
You may not have noticed the word continuously.
I'm not going to waste my time expalaining how Modi is forging his alliance with BSY and Gadakari.
Yes because there is nothing to explain in this regard because Modi is not in charge for forging any alliance with anyone neither he single handedly has the power.
Check the news and the new responsiblities this ousted president has been given by modi.
Again Modi unanimously has not given anyone any responcibility nor he has that power inside a non dynastic party like BJP
Raman Singh support from my end is 'in principle'. Let BJP declare his candidacy and then we will see what he does. 
Why did he vote for corrupt Gadkari in the BJP president election?Why is he waiting for him to be declared the PM candidate to fight the so called corruption if he is such a 'principle' man against corruption.Why cant he strongly and publicly react now??
'GLORIOUS LEADER' who opposes corruption
Yes just like Raman Singh,Shivraj singh Chauhan , Manohar parikar,and others but probably a much better administrator than all of them.

Not just now ,it has always been so.
You may not have noticed the word continuously.
Yes because there is nothing to explain in this regard because Modi is not in charge for forging any alliance with anyone neither he single handedly has the power.

Again Modi unanimously has not given anyone any responcibility nor he has that power inside a non dynastic party like BJP
Why did he vote for corrupt Gadkari in the BJP president election?Why is he waiting for him to be declared the PM candidate to fight the so called corruption if he is such a 'principle' man against corruption.Why cant he strongly and publicly react now??

Yes just like Raman Singh,Shivraj singh Chauhan , Manohar parikar,and others but probably a much better administrator than all of them.

a) Crack lots of pot
b) Don't read papers
c) Cook up lots of stories to rationalize your story.

JJ is serving her 3rd term after an enormous corruption expose. And you're still insisting it doesn't prove that corrupt people can survive becuase the terms are not 'consecutive'? Hell Laloo survived several consecutive terms, what about that then? ANd if you're saying modi hasn't led the way for Nitin Gadakari that's an ignorant rant. He is back in the very core of BJP work.

Team Modi for 2014 has 20 committees, power balanced between big hitters | NDTV.com

And I'm not wedded to BJP unlike you, so if your other glorious leaders turn out to be like Modi I'd have no hesiation in screwing them.