Indian medical students to sign return bond if going to the US

Actually in my place a experienced medical professional is paid better in Pvt Hospitals than in Govt Hospitals.

Medical education and medical practice in Punjab may be a basket case (I am basing my opinion exclusively on your comment) , but this is not the case in other states and also in central level like AIMS. In my state doing MBBS in Govt college is dirt cheap (just 50,000 per year) when compared to pvt medical colleges. So in my place atleast Govt has the right to ask the students to serve in their country after their graduation.

so we are justified to go out.

on other note.......if we work abroad we r eventually going to send money back home...........help the indian economy

Then in that case the medical students should not take any subsidies for their education and pay for the course entirely from their pocket.

Is the Govt and txpayers fools to heavily subisidize the medical college students and they saying goodbye to all and settling abroad ?

Rather a choice must be given to the students at the start of the course - 1) Want to go abroad ? Pay entirely from your own money or daddy's money 2) Want subsidized education ? Serve the country after education.

The same should be for all IIT,NIT students.

We already work for 1 year as interns in government hospitals after MBBS ..
That too our postings are done in villages and not in cities ..

This is how we repay the subsidized money .. Plus we also treat patients for free during our 4 and half year course

This bond is **** coz students preparing for USMLE spend lakhs in books and coaching ..
Government has no right for what we do in US

I kinda agree, there should be an option to repay the subsidized amount back to the government if someone wants to stay back in the US. Make it 40-50 Lakhs, not a big amount for a Doctor practicing in the US.

Government can use that money to make more Medical Colleges and more PG courses, so more Doctors for India. Problem solved.

There is already an option
If we break a bond then pay 10 lakhs

on other note.......if we work abroad we r eventually going to send money back home...........help the indian economy
And is government stopping from you going abroad..?All the govt is demanding from you is 1 year of rural service,after that you are free to go wherever you want.If you cannot see that as a repayment of the govt money spent for your education,see it as a service to your motherland.Trust me you wont ever repent that later in your life.
Btw are you studying in a private medical college?If so aren't you exempted from this whole damn bonded 1 year service..?

I have a question, what if I marry someone from america and get green card?

do i still have to come back

And is government stopping from you going abroad..?All the govt is demanding from you is 1 year of rural service,after that you are free to go wherever you want.If you cannot see that as a repayment of the govt money spent for your education,see it as a service to your motherland.Trust me you wont ever repent that later in your life.
Btw are you studying in a private medical college?If so aren't you exempted from this whole damn bonded 1 year service..?

really?

thank goodness

Doctors serving in rural areas? That's just a joke, first let the government improve infrastructure in this places and then ask the doctors to go serve the people there, most of the places lack basic medication even in towns and cities.

Doctors are forced to serve in rural areas for 1 year after their MBBS course

That we does not include doctors from states like Kerala.

Doctors are forced to serve in rural areas for 1 year after their MBBS course

Thats a small price to pay for the heavily subsidized education that Govt provides you.

I wouldn't think GOI is that stup1d if there's such obvious option.

You know what there are just 350 PG seats for Open category in Maharashtra ..
And Maharashtra has the maximum amount of Medical colleges ..

In states like Rajasthan there are just 10 seats ..
While in US there are 1000 surplus seats

That's the condition of India

but certainly of punjab.

another thing related to rural posting.........arre bhai, sirf doctor rakhne se kuch nahi hoga........patient still have to go to city for medicine and lab investigatins

Thats a small price to pay for the heavily subsidized education that Govt provides you.

I am not denying it ..
I just wanted to let you people know that we repay ..

Plus it is damn difficult for an open category student to get in a government college ..
Mine rank was 995 and I just got in a government college

but certainly of punjab.

another thing related to rural posting.........arre bhai, sirf doctor rakhne se kuch nahi hoga........patient still have to go to city for medicine and lab investigatins

Dude Kerala is one big city so to speak. There is no particular rural areas to speak of. Even then GoK is finding hard to find doctors for these rural health centers.

You know what there are just 350 PG seats for Open category in Maharashtra ..
And Maharashtra has the maximum amount of Medical colleges ..

In states like Rajasthan there are just 10 seats ..
While in US there are 1000 surplus seats

That's the condition of India

my sugestion , marry a chick from amerika or bribe someone ,get a SC certificate or rob a bank , get a paid seat in radio

Just 10 lakhs.

Students in private colleges pay 15-18 lakhs in their whole MBBS course
We pay around 3 lakhs plus we have to serve for 1 year in rural areas

Students from private colleges have an option to work anywhere

I have a question, what if I marry someone from america and get green card?

do i still have to come back

really?

thank goodness

nope brotha ..its for everyone ..not just private ....and it is for entire life not just one year of rural training ....

my sugestion , marry a chick from amerika or bribe someone ,get a SC certificate or rob a bank , get a paid seat in radio

I wish I was born as a SC/ST ..
I would now be in GSMC , Mumbai :P

My dad already has a hospital ..
I won't be staying in US
But there are many of my friends who will suffer coz of this retarded rule