Indian medical students to sign return bond if going to the US

Bro ..just MBBS students without their Residency i.e PG are good for nothing ......what Indian government need to do is increase Postgraduation seats why would anyone leave India then......In US they have 8000 surplus postgraduation seats( UG-16000 AND PG-24000 ).....MBBS doctors are no better than quacks ...unfortunately common people here often jump to conclusion without thinking......

I wouldn't think GOI is that stup1d if there's such obvious option.

If I get a job in the ISRO or some private aeronautical company, I am so coming back. The problem for me is after I get my degree I have to complete a four year bond with the company over here since they are paying for my residency. If India does do this then I think it should not be limited to medical students there are too many great minds that move to other countries. If government truly wants to keep these people then they should be doing more.

I wouldn't think GOI is that stup1d if there's such obvious option.

for creating additional PG course you need money which govt is not willing to spend ... even the current PG in my school havenot received their monthly stipend since last 4 months ....
and why is This only applied to Medical students ...why not all IIt IIM or engineering students ....short sighted policy of Indian govt..

only the people who are associated with medical profession can understand what it takes to become a good doctor .....by people I mean ...the people who are in general category ...there are very less number of post graduation seats available....huge chunk of that is taken by reserved quotas ...I wanna go for a superspecialisation in gastroenterology after my residency ....but you see there are only 2 seats available in general category in whole punjab for gastro.......so what do you want me do .......I am spending over 25-30 lakh for giving my usmle exams and doing electives and finishing up interviews .....put yourself in our shoes and see for yourself what we are going through.....

EDIT: there is only 1 Seat in gastro in punjab in general other one is for reserved quota

I think you may contact other perspective students to form an alliance, take some actions indeed. You can even write to the WHO or US embassy mentioning your concern.

Again sympathy to you. People have rights to protect his life, as well as future.

i hope this applies only to govt colleges.. because if i study as pvt college most probably paying a hefty caiptation fee, i would try to maximize my return on the amounts spent

Even private collage also takes subsidy for equipments and free land from government.

but they charge a hefty fee and make profit. as long as there is a profit motive they cannot hold the students. its like saying indian govt will not let infosys guys go abroad, because they have given them land at a discount.
you all know the amounts , amounting to crores in some good colleges. if you force such people and pin them in india, corruption will defeintely increase as these docs will cause more problems to patients by fleecing them

Hey ideot , your posts simple reek of jealousy. What the hell is your problem if he wants to stay in the US. I bet you were one of those who just wasn't good enough to get a seat in any good US university or was denied a visa for what could be a 1000 reasons , your fuckin gawar language for instance.

Another uneducated moron with a two digit IQ.

Why don't you go have a mutual jerk-off session with your turd-in-arms?

Awesome work the bond system should be applicable to all fields including phd,Btech,Mtech etc................

they should work for the betterment of their own mother land,but instead they choose to lick white man's A$$ and dont give me that opportunity bullshit era of 90's is over its 2012 plenty of opportunities in India.

It's not only about opportunity but facilities as well.Also money matters.There are so many Indians working for NASA including one of my cousins.Many of them would return to India if the government is willing to pay them more.My cousin(Mtech and Phd from IIT Karagpur) got into ISRO and was offered 20,000 rupees a month.The same person is earning around $100,000 per annum in US ,not the mention the far better facilities NASA provides to it's engineers and scientists.

But is it not truth that GoI spend lakhs subsidizing his education in IIT, in the hope that he will contribute to the progress of the nation. Then he goes to work for NASA and contribute to the progress of US eventhough US didn't spend a rupee on his education. I hope the bond system is also extended to IITs & NITs apart from Govt Medical Colleges.

100% agreed bro.

What most debating on the other side here (the non-abusive educated lot at least) do not factor in when they talk about paying a certain sum of money back as a "bond amount" is the opportunity cost for the nation - which is forever lost when an Indian professional goes off abroad and never comes back.

When it comes to critical areas like healthcare, lets face it boss, minus all the bullshit spewed here - our country and our people need DOCTORS - not the piddle fart 20-40-50 lacs each of you want to pay to get out.

When you study here, you take up a seat. A seat that could have gone to another Indian who would stay back and serve his people.

Don't PLEASE give us the crap that "oh we worked so hard" - everyone works hard - unless you're one of those whose baapus have paid lacs to buy you a seat.

The competition is so close that you will have a 100 rank numbers within a couple of percentage points. So please also don't spew the garbage of meritocracy here.

I and the rest of the country would MUCH rather an Indian seat go to an Indian with 98.73% who will stay back once he becomes a doctor many years and lacs of rupees and time and effort of a huge number of qualified Indian professionals later, rather than another Indian who got 98.75% but is always going to be heading to the US right from the day he starts his course.

So give your BS sob stories to someone who gives a rat's azz.

If you say you are a Doctor, first learn how to behave like one.