Indian Air Force News & Discussions

It seems russia might be coordinating with china to force india to buy their weapons so they earn huge money to boost economy,also it indicates that u.s has refused to provide military equipment to india for fighting with china
I'm not sure about Mig-29s but Su-30s were always in the add-on clause for license production at HAL. Until recently, HAL was asking MoD to order the 12 more MKI's or else they would have to close the production line or modify it to suit another fighter...this emergency purchase looks like additional purchase option has been executed

Bhai su30 300 hain inventory main ye 12 aajane se kya farq par Jana? :tongue:

Kaash rafale hota.

"Kafir hay to shamsheer pe karta hay bharosa". (Kafir will depend upon their weapons alone.)

Hey Indians, were present 280 SU-30 MKIs not enough? Must you have these additional 12 units to guard your skies? Visibly India doesn't need these units and visibly Government of India is giving excuses why they aren't ready to face China.

Reality is that India cannot face China or Pakistan individually let alone a two-front-mental-self-pleasure.

:pop:

bhai SU30 ki count bhi tu puri karni hai naa

by the way why not use the 8th gen LCA? why go for old shit like Mig-21?
Read the thread carefully before commenting.
It’s mig 29s and not mig 21s.
You misread the title.
:partay:

Doesn't look emergency. India wanted Soviet era Mig29s to be upgraded to Mig29 UPGs

The current inventory of MIG-29s were already upgraded. These are new MIG-29s that would be procured.

Also, I do not think this an emergency purchase. This has been in news for over an year and was confirmed back in March this year.

16 MAR, 17:43
India likely to buy additional batch of Russian MiG-29 fighter jets — official
India currently has more than 60 MiG-29 aircarft
1257725.jpg

MiG-29 fighter jet
© Alexander Ryumin/TASS
MOSCOW, March 16. /TASS/. India is very much likely to buy an extra batch of Russian MiG-29 fighter jets, chief of Russia’s Federal Service for Military Technical Cooperation Dmitry Shugayev said on Monday.

"There is a high probability that we will have an additional order for MiG-29 fighter jets," he said in an interview with the Rossiya-24 television channel.

India currently has more than 60 MiG-29 aircarft.

According to Shugayev, Russia has good chances to take part in India’s tender for the purchase of 110 fighter jets that is to be announced soon. It was reported earlier that the Russian side planned to take part in this tender with its MiG-35 fighter jets.

https://tass.com/defense/1130943