What's new

India’s Foreign Debt Grows 13% to $390 Billion

Cyberian

BANNED
Reaction score
Thursday June 27, 2013

MUMBAI, India: India’s external debt rose by nearly 13% to $390 billion in 2012-13, mainly due to rise in short-term trade credit and external commercial borrowings in the back of high current account deficit, the Reserve Bank said on Thursday.

“The high current account deficit witnessed during 2012-13 and it’s financing increasingly through debt flows particularly by trade credit resulted in significant rise in India’s external debt during 2012-13,” RBI said in a release.

The increase in the debt during 2012-13 was primarily on account of rise in short-term trade credit. There has been sizeable rise in ECBs and rupee-denominated NRI deposits as well, it said.

“However, magnitude of increase in external debt was offset to some extent due to valuation change (gain) resulting from appreciation of U.S. dollar against Indian rupee and other international currencies,” the RBI added.

NRI deposits increased by $12.2 billion to $70.8 billion as at end-March, primarily on account of increase in rupee-denominated NRI deposits reflecting the impact of deregulation of interest rates on these deposits in December 2011, RBI added.

The total external debt was about $345.5 billion at end-March 2012.

External debt growing to unmanageable proportions, putting pressure on rupee

Another new Trolling Subject... :blah::blah::blah:

Some people Hide there 100 mistake and blaming others not good.... Sorry to say that...

''Pakistan is the third largest debt-recipient country in the region. Its external debts have been reported to reach 33 per cent of the GDP as compared to India’s 13 per cent and China’s seven per cent.''

Pakistan: impact of foreign debts - DAWN.COM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Pakistan

nice logic, unless your country is doing better than x country should not ever talk about x country.

BNwfi5RCQAA5Xfh.jpg:large