India-China parallel rise in contemporary era is ‘unique happening in human history’: S Jaishankar

I have to say you are rational Indian. Most Indians are just proud of their democracy and diversity, especially in religion part. Besides these, there are too many other problems in India social structure and ideology. Unless an Indian version Mao comes out and leads India Cultrure Revolution, there is no way for India to defeat China in almost any field.
Don't have a problem with diversity personally but it's never been a strength. How can it be a unifying thing if you have all these factions, some of them with serious conflicts (the Hindu-Muslim bs most obviously) ? I am a fan of some aspects of an authoritarian regime, they get stuff done and are unencumbered by the democratic process. Need to clear a temple or mosque, church etc for a highway project ?,, nope, can't do it, some politician will start making a fuss and a national story, other vested interests jump in with their narratives.. it's bullshite. If I was emperor I would jail such a politician, violently crush any protest, and make a highway for the country.

The BJP/Modi is slightly authoritarian but still has to work within the democratic framework. We can only hope they win elections in every corner of India and push their agenda through, and no it does not include killing millions of muslims.

What does that mean ? So all those hundreds of thousands of Indian farmers and students who committed suicide, all those lovers who were honor killed, all those peasants who were killed by feudals, all those lower castes who were oppressed, all those who were killed in religious riots and political violences, all those who died or live through medical sufferings because they don't have money, all those living in slums or on the streets... etc etc... they were all content ?

Yaar, once again I tell you that that "Tibetan government in exile" is a CIA and RAW puppet. I have told you before of the feudal conditions in Tibet before the 1959 takeover by Mao's soldiers. Why are you insistent on proving right something that is wrong ?
That's your opinion and you are free to deviate from facts as much as you like.

How am I deviating ?

I had even quoted to you an article from a neutral source ( as neutral as a mainstream British media agency can be ).

The similarities are superficial. Too many differences. China can't match India in technology or innovation. It is one thing to build your economy on forced labor, internment camps and sweatshops - another to actually build an economy in a more sensible manner.

23px-Flag_of_the_People%27s_Republic_of_China.svg.png
China
23px-Flag_of_India.svg.png

Patents per 1 million:

16px-Flag_of_Switzerland.svg.png
Switzerland
China
23px-Flag_of_Canada_%28Pantone%29.svg.png
Canada

If India were on there, it'd be 30.

Fun facts: India population = China population. India is food exporter, China is food importer. Indians eat 20% less calories than Chinese. Are Indians superhuman and simply need 20% less calories? Why is India exporting food when they get less calories than African countries?

23px-Flag_of_the_Netherlands.svg.png
Netherlands
China

18px-Flag_of_Niger.svg.png
Niger

China

Patents per 1 million:

16px-Flag_of_Switzerland.svg.png
Switzerland
China
23px-Flag_of_Canada_%28Pantone%29.svg.png
Canada

If India were on there, it'd be 30.

Fun facts: India population = China population. India is food exporter, China is food importer. Indians eat 20% less calories than Chinese. Are Indians superhuman and simply need 20% less calories? Why is India exporting food when they get less calories than African countries?

23px-Flag_of_the_Netherlands.svg.png
Netherlands
China

18px-Flag_of_Niger.svg.png
Niger
Depends what those patents are for.

30% Indian don't eat meat. Another fun fact : What Indians eat doesn't cause a pandemic.

For the starter, China and India are two very different countries, though both boasting thousands years history, but China has been a single unified country since 200 BC while India as an unified nation is the modern creation of British legacy. Therefore, the identity has never been an issue for Chinese. The same cannot be said about Indians, thus, the slogan of "unity in diversity".
I like to say we are a civilizational state. The colonial legacy is what it is, the British empire ruled India, and lots of other parts of the world, including, quite famously, the USA, right ?

China is a civilizational state too. It is also almost an ethnostate of the Han people, the land of the Han. Not a lot of diversity, not a lot of religion, these two together make for unity, not the other way around. "unity is diversity" is about the most retarded thing one can believe in, sounds nice, doesn't work in reality.

In thousands of years, Chinese have almost always under a central government led by an Emperor, a Son of Heaven. So its current authoritarian govornance system is just the continuation of Chinese tradition and culture.

The modern China (PRC) largely eliminated the social ills and superstisions that plaqued China for thousands of years from the get-go, though through rather brutal revolution, while India still has to carried its historic and cultural burdens on the way to modernization. Case in point, your still live and well caste system (even among IT professionals in silicone valley) and your lack of land reform. So China is more or less redrawing its bluepint in a sheet of clean paper, but India has to do it on an used canvas.
India would do well as a country if we can establish the Hindu rashtra. The caste system is mostly on it's way out, it's illegal to discriminate based on caste and getting rid of it is one of the stated goals of the RSS (of which I'm not a member). The caste system is most prevalent when it comes to arranging marriages, which I'm fine with.. it's really stupid but that is in the personal realm of people's lives. Let them do as they wish with their family affairs. Don't put much stock in the stories out of silicon valley, there is often a hidden agenda behind them.

In conclusion, not denying the existence of the caste system but it is a bit overblown, spl when it comes to bashing India on forums like this.

The original "caste system" or varna as described in the texts is that work determines caste, not birth. Somewhere along the way it became rotten. I've cited this example here recently on a few occasions about how all artist and painters/sculptors, or brick laying labour.. all are shudra, who work with the hands. So some millionaire famous musician or painter is the same cast as some poor labour guy fixing the road, because their hands do the working.

If you reading the old spiritual texts and teaching people.. Brahman.. I'd include padres, molvis, all holymen from any religion, as well as all teachers and professors as the Brahman caste.

All businessmen, traders, shopkeeprs.. some big CEO or some guy selling vegetables on a small cart are vaishyas.

All "warriors" from some special forces commando, to a fat policeman, to a security guard.. all are Kshatriya.

It's not how it's practiced, sadly. Hopefully the Hindu rashtra will fix it.

As you mentioned, Chinese are more industrial minded, and I would add, more rational and materialistic as most Chinese believe in YOLO and want to make the best out of this life. In the other hand, Indians are more merchant minded and "spiritual" as many of you believe in Karma which gives them a reason to sit this life through.
East Asians in general, Koreans, Japs etc are generally a more industrious lot than south Asians.

You're completely wrong here though with saying "Indians are more merchant minded and "spiritual" as many of you believe in Karma which gives them a reason to sit this life through."

Karma means action, Dharma means duty. To sit this life through, or to commit acts of terror in the name of god because here is nothing and the afterlife is everything is not a native Indian belief and not the Hindu way.

Both countries have abundant talents, while Chinese talents shine in China and India's talents shine in foreign lands, as you said, more visible on world stage. Many of your brightest are making living overseas their live goal. So we have a difference in available talent pools for nation building.

The difference goes on. Let's save it for the next time.
Brain drain, the best among us leaving for greener pastures in the west is a thing but lately there is also a phenomenon of 'Brain gain' .. where people are returning from the west to set up and start businesses here. A lot of people who get a good education still aspire to settle and live in the west but it's not like the 90s. There's infra and growth and a big ever growing market for goods and services here. Things are changing, slowly.

Countries like korea,taiwan etc totally outstripped india in growth trajectory starting from way behind, even much of south east asia has shown much greater growth trajectory. Even some african nations has better growth trajectory,what India has is 1.3 billion people driving up GDP figures.
Numbers, man. They actually do matter. A country with a growing aspirational middle class with increasing disposable income.. in their hundreds of millions. This is what investors look for.

The south Sudan economy for example might grow 25% year on year.. still not an attractive investment destination.

Now ,India is held back by democracy? next India is held back by aliens? What about the dozens of other democratic countries that developed?There are literally just 4 nations under communism,and with the exception of China ,the rest aren't actually economic powerhouses.
The democratic process does throw a spanner in the works many times. Even Trump was held back by courts blocking his executive orders, Biden is having to deal with the same now. Yeah, India is indeed held back by democracy in many ways.

China is a hybrid model, not exactly full on communists.

Religion is an inherent byproduct of Indian genetic makeup and their culture ,China didn't deliver religion, it the result of this south asian sect for being in existence.
wut ?

It's true India has diversity,but it's not an excuse for the shitty state,most nations has huge diversity,many of which has far more diversity than India ,singapore is as diverse as it gets yet in comparison to India it's in different league.
Singapore is a city state.

Anyway, what's your deal, you fly the Indian flags in your avatar. You a leftist/communist Bengali, a Christian missionary, an Islamist, Tamil nationalist, Kashmiri separatist.. Naga separatist, or just trolling with Indian flags but are not really an Indian ?

Kya story hai ? so much hate for India. :D
An authoritarian system works with people who enjoy being ruled and can't think too much for themselves.
It has it's positives too.

LOL, don't lose it, your spiritual world is actually delusional world, but it's good for us ,you'll never develop significantly.
yes u will overtake & surpass all without wanting to be anything. what is the "overtake report" of today? please update daily.

China's GDP per capita overtook Russia, it doesn't sound like a big deal but we are talking about per capita of 1.4 billion people.

Given the huge number of engineers and scientists of various kinds who pass out of Indian colleges every year, given the big industrial base, India should have had a base on Mars by now.
That's just a ridiculous thing to say. Not even going to waste time refuting your absurd claim.

Though I don't think China is presently a Communist country at least it sent its first human to space about 17 years ago. The private, SpaceX, with lot less human and other resources when compared to India's ISRO, sent four humans to space ( to the ISS ) last year. SpaceX is planning to send humans to Mars ( maybe do a flyby of Mars orbit ) in 2024 or 2026. ISRO is yet to send Indians to space, plans it to do it in 2022.

However, there are three new private space launch companies - Bellatrix Aerospace, Agnikul Aerospace and Skyroot Aerospace - who are developing launch vehicles and engines that can take small sized satellite to LEO. Maybe these companies can develop human transport and descent to Mars by the mid 2030s.
Yeah, they're not exactly communist, it's a hybrid economic model. China may be ahead, the west and Russia are definitely much ahead with their space programs but I'm reasonably pleased with how the Indian space program is going. Good to see them involve the much more efficient corporate model, it'll speed things up. In Space and defence both.

Technically, India is not a true democracy. It is a "Representative Democracy" where the citizens don't get to decide things in the country. Things big or small. Things at neighborhood level or country level. It is career politicians and the party system that decides. A true democracy would be a "Direct Democracy" system that is guided by progressive political thought. Such a system existed in Libya until 2011 and exists in Venezuela now. You can read that system in theory on this page and compare it to India's complicated system. Even Elon Musk speaks for Direct Democracy on near-future Mars settlements.
Switzerland is the only direct democracy in the world as far as I know. A small and extremely prosperous state located in probably the geopolitically safest region on earth.

Please don't start with your Libya thing. Venezuela, Cuba, Libya good... :crazy:

India much forge her own way just as China and the west have. Our system of governance democracy has to be uniquely Indian. Always room for improvement, but it has to work for us in India, no point looking outside, there's too many variables to factor in when comparing.

The caste system is mostly on it's way out, it's illegal to discriminate based on caste and getting rid of it is one of the stated goals of the RSS

Here is a RSS-connected woman, Sadhvi Pragya, saying in a speech why the lower caste Shudra people should not complain when they are oppressed by the higher castes. Also in the speech is her's ( and the Hindutvadi ) suffocating views on how a woman must lead her life.

The original "caste system" or varna as described in the texts is that work determines caste, not birth.

The ghosts of Rohith Vemula and Payal Salim Tadvi do not agree with you, nor do the mother and brother of Rohith for they converted to Buddhism from their low caste birth in Hinduism.

Here is a RSS-connected woman, Sadhvi Pragya, saying in a speech why the lower caste Shudra people should not complain when they are oppressed by the higher higher castes. Also in the speech is hers ( and the Hindutvadi ) suffocating views on how a woman must lead her life.

The ghosts of Rohith Vemula and Payal Salim Tadvi do not agree with you, nor do the mother and brother of Rohith for they converted to Buddhism from their low caste birth in Hinduism.
That's the trouble of arguing with you people. You people as in most people on the forum, not you because you're a communist or muslim or anything.

What is up with this utter inability of most people to completely ignore the big picture and get stuck in the minutia of thing. Payal (who, btw ?) and this Rohith guy, and maybe you can come up with 7 more examples.. We're talking about a country of a billion plus people.

Casteism is on it's way out, it might never completely go away but it is not enforced by the state and increasingly, spl in well to do urban areas, people are shunning those ideas and it's mostly seen only on occasions such a marriages and funerals. Facts.