IAF to trial American F-16, Swedish Gripen for 120-jet Make in India project to replace MiGs

This is probably the easiest way of recognizing calling dead end for Teja`s ,40 years of work in ruin . Interesting choices Gripen will have American Engine and whereas F16 production line will remain in US . It appears Indian planners are in between a rock and a hard place

Grippen will never get selected IAF already made up its mind for ex USAF MLU'd F16s with LMs help with new gen landing gear , Turbofan engine and GaN radar and avionics package and waepons package that will cost some 55-60millon dollars per piece and 150 million after life time costs are added
@GURU DUTT Guru bhai. How are you? Long time. No See!

It appears Indian planners are in between a rock and a hard place
Seems so. Yes.
But we'll get LM to manufacture F16's in India.

indians evaluated the F-16 for many years in the past . do they still need more evaluation? probably just pressure tactics to milk france and russia more

Only limited trials to validated new tech that was not evaluated in the earlier trails as part of MMRCA.

we will now hold trials of only those capabilities which they were found to be lacking in these aircraft in those days,” an IAF officer told Mail Today. Sources said during the M-MRCA trials, the F-16 was not selected as it was found that there was no potential for developing the aircraft further while the Saab Gripen did not have advanced radar called AESA (Active Electronically Scanned Array), which was mandatory requirement in that project. TESTING NEW CAPABILITIES IAF sources said both the firms have informed the air force that they would be fully compliant to the requirements now as the American firm has come up with a latest version of the F-16 known as Block 70 while the Swedish firm has also acquired the advanced AESA radar. “To test the new capabilities, there would a limited trial only and we are hoping to select and finalise the foreign partner within the next one year,”

It will be interesting to know Made in Modi or Made in Trump wins
Yes.
I have a distinct feeling corp america's business interest will trump (no pun intended) Trump. F-16's if selected will have to be made in India or No Deal (no pun intended again).

I also feel bluster aside POTUS is a very pragmatic business man. He'll do what's most profitable.

Again same IAF drama,just stick with rafale..20 billion on non-5th gen planes at this juncture is not worth it and it would further create logistics nightmare.IAF never learns,they did this in 1980s with mi-23,mig-29,jaguar and mirage-2000 all together and here we go again.:tdown:

Yes.
I have a distinct feeling corp america's business interest will trump (no pun intended) Trump. F-16's if selected will have to be made in India or No Deal (no pun intended again).

I also feel bluster aside POTUS is a very pragmatic business man. He'll do what's most profitable.
????????? what?? Since when are we hearing about this F-16 production line in India?? Let's keep trump/obama out of this....We did reject F-16 in MMRCA and went in for French...If we go for F-16 now...it would have nothing to do with Obama/Trump/any tom dick harry.....simple..

Now production line of F-16 in India under Make in India is not a bad deal from business perspective....and those who believe Tejas program is over...then lol on you guys...Tejas has seen far more grim situations than this....the kick of a desi fighter plane protecting our sky is too lucrative to let it go...

For the cost they are going to buy 120 fighters, buy even if possible 60-70 Rafales.....
Navy should also go to Rafales.. Our Rafales, Mig 29K and N-LCA should rule Indian Ocean... N-LCA can be made as a shore based fighter...

Lockheed making f16s in India is like that thread that dude opened saying Saudi will go for the yf23 with tot.

Not anymore. TATAs will be their prime partner.

This is probably the easiest way of recognizing calling dead end for Teja`s ,40 years of work in ruin . Interesting choices Gripen will have American Engine and whereas F16 production line will remain in US . It appears Indian planners are in between a rock and a hard place

It's not a dead end to Tejas. The platform is still being matured as we speak. For the F16 to be considered, the production will be in India with a private firm like TATAs.

Even TAI only gets the licence for assembly.

Right, it'll pretty much be assembling work. I am sure TAI and the Koreans fabricate a considerable amount of the frame, however. They also get to add their own avionics. But some sort of assembly line win have to produced in India to will the contract. Lockheed Martin knows this.

i have a question from indian members why not another assembly line for tejas instead of f16
down the line after 20 years we will still float another tender if we dont go indigenous way
duniya ke saare plane ka theka le rakha hai hamne siwaaai apne