How did Jammu and Kashmir become a part of India? 9 facts on Accession Day

Assuming if India had followed through with a plebicite I think it would most likely have won. But I think the Indian's decided they had got the lion share of Kashmir and they would not gamble that for all of it. Why risk all when you have most?

The reason is Pakistan would have had to pull out PA from AJK. Leaving only irregular AJK forces sans logistics and heavy support [artillery etc] and leaving all of Kashmir to a "minimum Indian army force" which of course would be open ended and be based on troop assessments based on Indian Army analysis. The plebicite would have had few UN observers but most of the 'policing' would fall on the Indian army which of course would mean a very strong pro India bias creeping into the plebicite. It would be like having PML-N cadres in charge of the last election in Pakistan? What chance would it be fair?

Who were the people who convinced Jinnah to come back to the subcontinent from Britain and lead the movement?
The decisive person was Sir Allama Iqbal.

The accession document doesn't mean $hit, the Indian army invaded Hyderabad under the pretence of a majority Hindu population shouldn't go to Pakistan, so it's null.
Kashmir is unfinished partition business, the state should have gone to Pakistan.
Pakistan should have invaded the moment that filth Hari Singh put forward his standstill agreement.

Can't agree more. Afterall everything is fair in war and love, right ?? So how is stopping Pakistan from trying and taking back Kashmir ???? :-):-):-)

#NoMoreTalksWithPakistan

Can't agree more. Afterall everything is fair in war and love, right ?? So how is stopping Pakistan from trying and taking back Kashmir ???? :-):-):-)

#NoMoreTalksWithPakistan

What? o_O

Pakistan was scared of backclash from much bigger enemy, that's why they sent tribals and soldiers in shalwar kamez to IoK in 1948. Pakistan did same in 1965 and 1999. India tried to invade in 1965 anyway.
And still your army gave up 40% of Kashmir to salwar kamiz fighters and Nehru ran to UN asking for a truce and resolution which declared Kashmir to be a dispute and not atot ang of India ;)

You should read up yourself, yes Hyderabad was accused by your government of violating the standstill e.g. by having a private army, meddling with traffic from India etc, but then you also imposed an economic blockade, so violating the agreement yourself.
Operation Polo also happened before Kashmir, so you set the standard....
In which alternate universe did Kashmir predate Operation Polo? Kashmir happened in 1947, Polo in 1948.

Yeh gade murde ukhad kar kya faida? Jo ab hai aur dikhai deta hai, so hai? Ab kya karoge? And frankly speaking....World doesn't care, Except two of us. No body will shed an inch. What is the way out? War?

But keep a force sufficient enough not be overwhelmed quickly.

It wasn't subjective at the time, and numbers would have amounted to what local police and civil services had.

But anyway, we can agree that Pakistan royally messed up back then.
She has been royally messing up since then...it has not stopped. There is something systemic up with this....

And still your army gave up 40% of Kashmir to salwar kamiz fighters and Nehru ran to UN asking for a truce and resolution which declared Kashmir to be a dispute and not atot ang of India ;)

Ok, agreed and you won. Now be happy with what you got and lean to live with it. We agree you defeated us in 1947. ;)

That's my mistake I mixed it with Junagadh.

Pakistan can't as it is weaker.

Best solution is to make the LOC a permanent international border. Be happy with what you have and let us keep what we manage right now. Forget the past, open the borders for the Kashmiri's on either sides, renegotiate IWT (if required) and the problem will be solved. :)

But I bet politicians and establishment on either sides won't let this happen, at-least not anytime soon. :(:(:(

That's my mistake I mixed it with Junagadh.

Pakistan can't as it is weaker.
In Junagadh - I believe Pakistan has a sound legal case - According to terms of Independence and after signing of Treaty of Accession. Why didn't Pak pursue the matter legally?

Best solution is to make the LOC a permanent international border. Be happy with what you have and let us keep what we manage right now. Forget the past, open the borders for the Kashmiri's on either sides, renegotiate IWT (if required) and the problem will be solved. :)

But I bet politicians and establishment on either sides won't let this happen, at-least not anytime soon. :(:(:(

That's what probably will happen. I've came to the conclusion years back that nothing much will change now.

In Junagadh - I believe Pakistan has a sound legal case - According to terms of Independence and after signing of Treaty of Accession. Why didn't Pak pursue the matter legally?

Might is right dude, the ruler had fled the state itself and the IA was firmly parked up there. Also with partition much of the Muslim population had gone.

Well I think the same reason why India rejected the offer of Oman to buy Gadwar port. :)

Might is right dude, the ruler had fled the state itself and the IA was firmly parked up there. Also with partition much of the Muslim population had gone.

Moreover I guess it was never practical, neither Junagadh or Hydrabad. In an any unforeseen event of conflict with India (which actually did) it would be almost impossible to defend these territories. :-)

The accession document doesn't mean $hit, the Indian army invaded Hyderabad under the pretence of a majority Hindu population shouldn't go to Pakistan, so it's null.
Kashmir is unfinished partition business, the state should have gone to Pakistan.
Pakistan should have invaded the moment that filth Hari Singh put forward his standstill agreement.

There is a saying in Hindi, jiski lathi uski bhains.

Yes, India pulled the "majority Hindu" card in Hyderabad and Junagadh and annexed these two princely states with precision. Pakistan too tried it in Kashmir and failed, don't blame us for that. That was the only window Pakistan had.

Pakistan has nothing to offer to India in lieu of which India would let go of Kashmir now and Pakistan is no position to take Kashmir by force, nor will it ever be in the foreseeable future.

There is saying in Hindi, jiski lathi uski bhains.

Yes, India pulled the majority Hindu card in Hyderabad and Junagadh and annexed these two princely states with precision. Pakistan too tried it in Kashmir and failed, don't blame us for that. That was the only window Pakistan had.

Pakistan has nothing to offer to India in lieu of which India would ever let go of Kashmir now and Pakistan is no position to take Kashmir by force, nor will it ever be in the foreseeable future.

I have wrote the same thing you wrote several times in this thread.