HAL Tejas | Updates, News & Discussions

Key boss, I am using the source from the book The LCA story from Air Marshal Rajkumar. According to that Dassault was supposed to be partner for FCS system development with 3 digital and 1 analog channel but they chose to have four digital channel and decided to make it alone with consultancy from test pilots of US testing the behaviour :). Dassault walked out of the deal due to this decision.

What year was this?

1987 is the year the walked of. They were taken in 1986 when they suggested that they will offer the tech used in Mirage that is 3 digital channel and 1 analog channel.

the pakis here are not anti-india and they are almost neutral....
i love this site

:pdf:

of course the LCA cannot be 100% indian. This is the first fighter jet developed by india and that too 4.5th generation. indian involvement cannot be more than 90%. Its taking a long time to develop.

Thanks to Dr. Shiv from BR

A very good video of LCA, but i think still lot of things are there to improve.
Like, there is no 360' roll , no high G turn ,which will be possible after new engine and further testing od air frame.

HAL Tejas Update: Eurojet to Offer EJ200 as Kaveri Engine Alternative
Eurojet is to propose a thrust-vectoring version of the Eurofighter Typhoon's EJ200 powerplant to meet India's requirement for up to 150 engines to equip the first squadrons of its indigenously developed Tejas light combat aircraft (LCA).

The Aeronautical Development Agency - which is leading development of the Tejas - is expected to issue a request for proposals in the next few weeks, pitching the EJ200 against General Electric's F414.
The Eurojet partner companies have been working on thrust vectoring nozzle technology for several years, lead by Spanish manufacturer ITP, which validated the concept during a series of bench tests. Eurofighter majority stakeholder EADS is equipping a cockpit simulator at its Manching facility to demonstrate the potential performance enhancements.Thrust vectoring nozzle technology is being offered to the Eurofighter customer nations on the basis that it could significantly lower lifecycle costs by reducing fuel burn by "3-4% on an average mission" and extending the life of hot section parts, says Eurojet technical director Matt Price.

This is achieved by optimising nozzle shape throughout the flight envelope, and by eliminating the need for drag-inducing control surface deflections to trim the aircraft, particularly at supersonic speeds, where the aerodynamic centre moves aft, causing the nose to pitch down.

In addition, the technology can enhance agility, which could be of particular benefit to the Tejas as it is a delta-winged design that lacks canards.

EADS is leading the Eurofighter bid to win India's 126-aircraft medium multirole combat aircraft contest with the twin-engined Typhoon, and a deal to also equip the country's single-engined LCAs with the EJ200 would make the economics of establishing an in-country engine assembly line considerably more attractive.

The latest iteration of the Typhoon's flight-control system software has been designed to incorporate thrust-vectoring, and flight tests of the ITP thrust vectoring nozzle could begin within the next two years.

The flight-control system can be configured to use the thrust vectoring nozzle as an additional "control surface", boosting damage tolerance and reducing the risk of loss-of-control at low speeds, says Wolfgang Sterr, Eurojet engineering director EJ200/LCA. Furthermore, take-off distance for an aircraft such as the LCA could be reduced by around 20%, even in "hot and high" conditions, he adds.

Eurojet envisages a two-phase thrust vectoring nozzle flight-test programme, firstly using a twin-engine aircraft equipped with a single non-FCS-integrated thrust vectoring nozzle, followed by trials of the fully integrated system on both powerplants.

HAL Tejas Update: Eurojet to Offer EJ200 as Kaveri Engine Alternative | India Defence

LCA-Tejas has completed 1052 Test Flights successfully. (19-Feb-09).

* LCA has completed 1052 Test Flights successfully
(TD1-233, TD2-304,PV1-185,PV2-112,PV3-125,LSP1-41,LSP2-52).

(19-Feb-09)Tejas-LCA

of course the LCA cannot be 100% indian. This is the first fighter jet developed by india and that too 4.5th generation. indian involvement cannot be more than 90%. Its taking a long time to develop.

It is the second jet Indians are developing. First was HF-24 Marut.

not to forget the HJT-16 Kiran my friend hence it is the third jet engine powered aircraft by INDIANS :enjoy:and HAL HJT-36 sitara comes fourth

:cheers:

Can anybody confirm me why IAF consider that lca is under power g limit only 6 with a2a 21 degree? But when we talking between Gripen fighters have a same engine it has no problem. JF-17 has a same dry thrust and afterburner with RD-93 (export version of RD-33 power by Mig-29) it can go to 17 dg. in a2a and g limit 8.5. ?
JF-17
engine RD-33
L 167.3
D 40.9
W 1055
D/T 50
FULL A/B 81/85
G-39/LCA
engine GE404
L 154
D 35
W 1036
D/T 55
FULL A/B 81/85

Can anybody confirm me why IAF consider that lca is under power g limit only 6 with a2a 21 degree? But when we talking between Gripen fighters have a same engine it has no problem. JF-17 has a same dry thrust and afterburner with RD-93 (export version of RD-33 power by Mig-29) it can go to 17 dg. in a2a and g limit 8.5. ?
JF-17
engine RD-33
L 167.3
D 40.9
W 1055
D/T 50
FULL A/B 81/85
G-39/LCA
engine GE404
L 154
D 35
W 1036
D/T 55
FULL A/B 81/85

gora videshi maal kise achha nahi lagta :woot:

why do indian men admire western stuff when indian stuff is equally good if not better compare hollywood and bollywood.........

sorry for being off topic but i dont have solid reasons :disagree:

gora videshi maal kise achha nahi lagta :woot:

why do indian men admire western stuff when indian stuff is equally good if not better compare hollywood and bollywood.........

sorry for being off topic but i dont have solid reasons :disagree:

Sir ji
Indian defense team is hardly being obsessed by gora stuff. we are developing our own technology- different story how successful we been till now, but We are at least trying.You should research on how many indigenous or joint ventures India is into.

Sir ji
Indian defense team is hardly being obsessed by gora stuff. we are developing our own technology- different story how successful we been till now, but We are at least trying.You should research on how many indigenous or joint ventures India is into.

dont take it seriously it was a joek:cheesy: