HAL pegs price of Tejas fighter at Rs 162 crore

so the thing is each LCA with current specs costs 26Million $$s per aircraft that is 1/4th the rate of a Rafale

i dont get it why shount we go for MK2 with 414 and ASEA which will increase cost by 10 million and if we add lifetime support & wepons its almost 10 million more = 26+10+10=46 still the half of Rafale

wonder what IAF and MOD are thinkin

The production cost is 15 million USD, so they have to pay 15 millions. Basic financial calculation, what's your problem? I think it might cheaper produced in Pakistan.

What China concern is Pakistan could produce JF17 at the lowest cost in Pakistan.

I was given to understand by a lot of Pakistani members that over 50% of the plane is now produced locally in Pakistan..

Earlier the Problem was "Its not ready" ... now the problem is "Its Expensive than JF 17".... Compassion ke naam pe kuch bhi...

As if in a War Tejas will come across JF 17 , and JF 17 will say ...Main pehle Bana tha....main sasta hoon...is liye main jeet gaya...

so the thing is each LCA with current specs costs 26Million $$s per aircraft that is 1/4th the rate of a Rafale

i dont get it why shount we go for MK2 with 414 and ASEA which will increase cost by 10 million and if we add lifetime support & wepons its almost 10 million more = 26+10+10=46 still the half of Rafale

With Mig-21's retiring, IAF will need both Mk2s and Rafales.
There's simply no stop gap measure for the Migs other than the Rafales.

Earlier the Problem was "Its not ready" ... now the problem is "Its Expensive than JF 17".... Compassion ke naam pe kuch bhi...

As if in a War Tejas will come across JF 17 , and JF 17 will say ...Main pehle Bana tha....main sasta hoon...is liye main jeet gaya...
wo kya hai na bhai

Haters+Gonna+Hate_0dd058_3113024.jpg

haters-gonna-hate-batman.jpg

Sure you do... Doing a simple google search of "China+rape" yields a multitude of results (from non-chinese sources)

Not saying India's any better, but at least their media reports rapes and their country is vocalizing it and trying to make their country better.... Unlike the Chinese media which won't even air stories about rapes (you know since it's negative and we can't have negative news about China now can we?)
Who tells you China media doesn't report rape cases? Rapists in India is far rampant than China, hundreds times more. No one in China will rape a girl and throw the victim out the window or just burn her in public. That is called savage. I can't believe when I hear the news. Most of the Rapists in India experience no punishment from the government, those women got raped are deemed as untouchable by Indian society.

We pay more respect to women in China society than India. I just wanna laugh every time an Indian try to talk human rights with me.

Democracy is not easy in a caste system society.

sancho, if we factor out the cost of the engine and radar what would you think the cost of the lca/jft structure be ? any speculations?

Not sure where the basic cost might be, but the use of more costly materials and coatings alone should make LCA costlier, even if we don't consider the radar and engine, or the fact that the useless N-LCA increased overall costs of the project too. But when you see all this and compare it to the $25 to 30 millions that is estimated for the MK1, it looks more than cost-effective!

Because even LCA MK2 will be less capable than the Rafale too, they only will be in the same technical generation (4.5th gen), but that doesn't make the performance equal too. The main limitation of LCA is the low number of hardpoints / wet stations and unless the MK2 will add more than 1200Kg fuel, they won't be able to replace the wing fuel tanks in strike roles. So for every LCA in A2G config, you need at least 1 x more in escort role, while a single Rafale can carry more load, to longer distances and remain to be less detectable.
So it's not that you can buy 2 x LCAs for 1 x Rafale, but that you HAVE to buy 2 or more x LCAs to offer the same capability, or do the same roles as a single Rafale/M-MRCA!

HAL need to hurry up.
IAF ordered 20 mk1 planes in IOC configuration and 20 in foc configuration.hal initial production rate will be 8 per annum and later will be ramped up to 12-16 per annum.so IOC configuration planes will be delivered by next year.and foc in the next 1.5 years..in these 4 years mk2 will be developed with much better capabilities and they will ramp up the production for mk2 as the number of order are more.hal can not simply spend huge money and keep the production line vacant for 2 years with a capacity of 20 aircraft per annum ..just economics.

JF-17 is the world's first fighter jet equipped with DSI, having achieved IOC when its first squadron was raised in early 2010. Technologically wise, it is currently the most advanced in its class, equipped with DSI and MAWS, which the other two in its class, Gripen and Tejas lack, and only the former is operational.

Superboy

No JF17 is actually the least advanced

it has the worst flight control system with old fashioned stable axis
zero compsites
And relys on russian engines which are very maintenance high and have a short shelf life
only used to date chineasse weapons and missles.
JF17 has no Helmet mounted system for the pilot

in contrast

both Gripen/lca use composite airframe builds which is far stronger and gives lower rcs
both lca/gripen use GE engines of USA origin dare i say more on quality
both LCA/GRIPEN will be using western missles like israeli python 5 derby amraam & asraam.
Lca uses a dash 5 HMS too

The western fusion of technology gives both tejas and gripen the edge defo

Are you a retard or just trying too hard?

Why would a nation like China...with the doctrine like that of Chinese Air Force...would induct an multirole light combat aircraft ? Even when they have J-11s, J-10s, and now J-16s at their hand? :lol:

Here's something: U.S did not induct the F-16 Block 60 to USAF..and they will not!...can you make an argument "If it is such a good plane, then why USAF didn't induct it?" ...lol...

JF-17 is a brilliant plane for our needs and fits perfectly into our war-doctrine in context of the threats we face. It is the best plane in the world available for that price tag...It doesn't however means that it fit into the needs of Chinese or Russians or Americans too...

These air forces don't need multi-role light combat fighters....it doesn't fit into their war doctrine.

LOL, am I retarded? No- It's you who is retarded and trying to sell an average as something good. They did not induct it because it is a poor man's aircraft , even if you try to sell it as anything but a second rate aircraft. and not inducting a block version of an aircraft( your US example) is not similar to inducting the aircraft period.

Why is India only purchasing 200 Tejas? Why not the whole fleet? why Buy MKIs or Rafales? Give me an educated answer to that and not a jingoistic one.

huh, they can't purchase something that is not yet available to purchase and yet to be inducted. They india can't sit and wait for something and be without any aircrafts. at least they will purchase and use 200, chinese are stayed away from J17- period.

Superboy

No JF17 is actually the least advanced

it has the worst flight control system with old fashioned stable axis
zero compsites
And relys on russian engines which are very maintenance high and have a short shelf life
only used to date chineasse weapons and missles.
JF17 has no Helmet mounted system for the pilot

in contrast

both Gripen/lca use composite airframe builds which is far stronger and gives lower rcs
both lca/gripen use GE engines of USA origin dare i say more on quality
both LCA/GRIPEN will be using western missles like israeli python 5 derby amraam & asraam.
Lca uses a dash 5 HMS too

The western fusion of technology gives both tejas and gripen the edge defo

Why is Gripen quite a bit heavier than JF-17 despite being a tad smaller? DSI is a factor but methinks JF-17 also uses composites. JF-17 has full digital FBW with hydraulics for backup. Of the F-15 family, only the latest F-15SA for Saudi Arabia has digital FBW.

huh, they can't purchase something that is not yet available to purchase and yet to be inducted. They india can't sit and wait for something and be without any aircrafts. at least they will purchase and use 200, chinese are stayed away from J17- period.

J-10 replaces China's J-7 and J-8. JF-17 replaces Pakistan's F-7 and Mirages. JF-17 Block 2 has AESA and IRST and wide angle holographic HUD derived from those of J-10B.