Government to speed up road construction to 30 km a day: Nitin Gadkari

To clarify,we don't want to be a part of you.We are happy to maintain our identity and be Indians,but don't ask us to lose our unique identity.We don't have any emotional connection with India.The only reason we entered the union because we liked the idea of India and a promise of a better future along with safeguards for our identity.
Okay LOL now I know who you are. @Tshering22 is it like what @Ridd is saying?

To clarify,we don't want to be a part of you.We are happy to maintain our identity and be Indians,but don't ask us to lose our unique identity.We don't have any emotional connection with India.The only reason we entered the union because we liked the idea of India and a promise of a better future along with safeguards for our identity.

Yai kya haame pata nai hai?North east me to khao or khilao hi chalta hai.System hi aisa hai india ka.
Toh phir ye kyon kaha ki north India samaj rakha hai?
Arre Bhai konse rajya se ho?

Check your population growth rate...its highest in India I think...around 25-30% growth rate in population of northeast
It's still a very low population density.The immigration also leads the north easterners to produce more kids so that they don't get too small to lose power.

This is the need of the hour. Build more and talk less. But I would still say 30km/day is almost impossible to achieve. We failed at 20km/hour.

It's still a very low population density.The immigration also leads the north easterners to produce more kids so that they don't get too small to lose power.
Those are hilly states...obviously population density cannot be higher than in the plains...itna toh samaj jana chahiye aapko

Hilly and low lying,just right for our people.Plains quite disinterest a lot of the people here.People who have been to mainland India especially the older generation would always complain about the overcrowding,plain areas stretching almost forever and dirtiness.Though they were always amazed by the culture of mainland India.

This is annoying boys, with my past experience with building roads, unless and untill local corporators, engineers and MLA's are whacked for corruption, a road contractor is helpless

Hilly and low lying,just right for our people.Plains quite disinterest a lot of the people here.People who have been to mainland India especially the older generation would always complain about the overcrowding,plain areas stretching almost forever and dirtiness.Though they were always amazed by the culture of mainland India.
Won't argue with overcrowding and dirty...but our culture is good

First you say there is hardly any immigration then you say immigration leads to you people producing more kids.Can't stay at one point?

That's what we expect boy :yahoo:..now move your bum bum and work.
NEW DELHI:
In a bid to fast track highway construction, the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways has approved over Rs 40,000 crore worth of projects and set an ambitious target of building 30 kms of roads per day.

This announcement was made by the Union Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Jairam Gadkari today.
Gadkari reviewed over 250 road projects worth about Rs 60,000 crore.

He said these projects were mainly stuck due to reasons such as land acquisition and environment and forest clearance issues.

These stalled projects would be up and running in the next three months. The ministry is trying to get faster clearances, said Gadkari, who also holds additional charge of ministries of shipping, rural development, panchayati raj and drinking water and sanitation.

"Right now the total road construction has gone down, it is 3 km per day. Road projects worth about Rs 60,000 crore are stuck mainly due to reasons such as land acquisition and environment and forest clearances," he said.

The Road Ministry also approved projects worth over Rs 40,000 crore to be constructed across the country in the next two-three years.

These include Rs 20,000 crore value highway projects in Jammu & Kashmir, Rs 15,000 crore road building projects in the Northeastern region, Rs 6,000 crore road network in Uttarakhand and realigning roads in Himachal Pradesh.

"We have approved projects worth Rs 20,000 crore for Jammu & Kashmir. They include 2-laning and 4-laning of National Highways in the state some roads projects in Leh and Ladakh," the Minister told reporters here.

He said these projects will be complete in the coming two-and-a-half years and will boost tourism in the state.

The Road Ministry has announced it will build projects worth Rs 15,000 crore in the country's north-eastern region comprising Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Tripura.

In Uttarakhand, which faced massive floods last year, the government has announced it will build a brand new road network.

"We will set up a new highway network in the state and will invest Rs 6,000 crore for that," he said.

The government proposes to construct one-way roads in the hilly state of Himachal Pradesh.

The Road Ministry has announced it will build projects worth Rs 15,000 crore in the country's north-eastern region comprising Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, ..

Government to speed up road construction to 30 km a day: Nitin Gadkari - Economic Times

NDA regime constructed 50% of national highways laid in last 30 years: Centre - The Times of India

1907663_428637523942568_828111753471663709_n.jpg

Nitin Gadkari to speed up stalled road projects - Economic Times

I hope he repeats the performance he showed while building Mumbai Pune Expressway.

This guy is probably a little corrupt but knows his job very well and is also known for getting the work done satisfactorily. I'd choose a guy like him over incorrupt and honest yet useless and lazy ones like kejirival.
--
him over incorrupt and honest yet useless and lazy ones like kejirival.
:woot::crazy_pilot::p:

North east ko bhi kuch de do.Itna sootela treatment kyu:(

These include Rs 20,000 crore value highway projects in Jammu & Kashmir, Rs 15,000 crore road building projects in the Northeastern region, Rs 6,000 crore road network in Uttarakhand and realigning roads in Himachal Pradesh.

even if he can achieve 80%, it will be 24 Km/Day, almost 800% increase. This is huge change. And I have confident he can do it..

Most of us don't know It was Gadkari who gave Indian first express-way (Mumbai-Pune) in record time.. He is a good administartor.

He had done many reforms in Maharsatra road. This person has calibure and this guy will do something..

I do.........................

First you say there is hardly any immigration then you say immigration leads to you people producing more kids.Can't stay at one point?
Now when did I say immigration does not happen?It does happen albeit at a reduced pace than it will be if ILP systems were done away with.As I said,people do come here and make their fortune,and those who make it big enough stay here although they do use their ever expanding wealth back in their homes in mainland India too.Now when the unskilled mass migrants come,it threatens their culture and identity,so the locals start producing more kids.
Something like this can be observed in Assam's history.Mind you Assam is the largest in gdp terms and used to be even more prosperous back in the days when compared to her other sister states of north east.It is like the heart of north east,all trade and administration is carried out through it.So vital is Assam's position in north east that,a blockage in Assam means the other sister states being cut off almost completely from the out side world.
It did not have an ILP system and this lead to migrants of all calibres migrating to it.From mainland and other north east states as well.But as the population and population density increased,the competition for resources increased,leading to friction between different groups.One can see it very well in the rise of ULFA and various other groups in the past century which had an anti-indian stand and grew popular due to its opposition and attack on immigrants.
The natives also increased their numbers in response to migrants,This led to the population burgeoning to the extent that Assam began encroaching on other states' area,especially on the erstwhile NEFA now Arunachal Pradesh.
Being overpopulated its economy stagnated and its people grew poorer,the bangladeshi immigation then further weighed it down and now Assam is at a state where it has the one of the lowest GDP per capita of north east states.
Incidentally,other states which have followed a more isolationist policy are reaping rewards with the gdp per capita now higher than the average nationwide.These states mainly had skilled traders and entrepreneurs come in with controlled number of low skilled labour because the locals were not willing to work at the rates offered.

Quite interestingly,the most isolated state from the Indian union,the Arunachal Pradesh,neglected by everyone and with an ILP system in place is the most peaceful and patriotic state with no home-grown insurgency.The people in AP are least interested in secession,unlike their counterparts in the other sister states.What do you think makes it so?

The answer is the natives didn't feel threatened by migration.They felt confident that their culture and identity not to forget economic future faced no danger from the mainland.In a strange way,quite contrary to what a mainlander nationalist may think,giving the state and its people separation from the mainland actually help cement the bond with the union.That is a significant phenomena,when one considers that AP never was a part of India anytime in history and astonishingly is separate from the rest of north east.