Gen Raheel Sharif meets PM David Cameron

Irfan Hanif

54b6b5cef1f08.jpg

Gen Raheel Sharif meeting with UK Prime Minister David Cameron at 10 Downing Street. -ISPR Twitter Photo
ISLAMABAD: Chief of Army Staff (COAS) Gen Raheel Sharif on Wednesday visited 10 Downing Street and met with British Prime Minister David Cameron.

In a series of tweets, ISPR spokesman Asim Bajwa said the COAS raised issue of action against proscribed organisations, anti-Pakistan elements operating from outside Pakistan and measures to choke terror financing.

The COAS also called on Secretary of Defence Michael Fallen and held extensive talks with Chief of the Defence Staff UK, Gen Sir Nicholas Houghton on regional security, stability in Afghanistan, mutual defence and security cooperation.

He also met Home Office Permanent Secretary Mark Sedwill and Director General of the Office for Security and Counter-Terrorism (OSCT) Charles Farr and discussed intelligence sharing and terrorism cooperation.

Sharif, who is on a three-day visit, also met with the National Security advisor Sir Kim Darroch.

He was presented full guard of honour and was as accompanied by Chief of the Defence Staff UK, Gen Sir Nicholas Houghton.

Pakistan's High Commissioner to UK Syed Ibne Abbas and senior British defence officials received the army chief upon his arrival.

The COAS was expected to brief British leaders on Pakistan's war against terror and the ongoing Operation Zarb-i-Azb.

Pakistan's military in mid-June had launched an all-out operation, named 'Zarb-i-Azb', against Taliban militants in the region which is still under way.

Moreover, months into Zarb-i-Azb, the army also launched Khyber 1, an operation to clear out militant strongholds in the tribal region of Khyber.

Gen. Raheel Shareef is running the country. Congratulations, finally there is somebody taking responsibility of country. Is Nawaz Shareef even needed at PM at this time?

You and your bee-radar are sadists. You love dunda, either dry or drenched with oil. You have had enough of the dry one and now craving for the other one. Give it some time, your craving will kick again.

Coming from a moron who likes to lick the heels of corrupt and illiterate feudal "politicians". Your motto: Keep your country backward and illiterate even if it comes at the cost of cosmetic "democracy". Shove your so-called "democracy" where the sun doesn't shine. I reject "democracy" that doesn't addresses the basic concerns of its citizens. I reject a "democracy" that keeps its inhabitants illiterate and the economy shackled to aid/loans. I know what the definition of your democracy is. It's nothing, but a sham democracy.

Gen. Raheel Shareef is running the country. Congratulations, finally there is somebody taking responsibility of country. Is Nawaz Shareef even needed at PM at this time?

He is too busy building his business empire.

You and your bee-radar are sadists. You love dunda, either dry or drenched with oil. You have had enough of the dry one and now craving for the other one. Give it some time, your craving will kick again.
seems like you know a lot about dundas weird...

Our people never get tired of getting fooled again and again and again. It is our culture to be fooled.

Are we Muslims as per the hadith that a Muslim is not bitten from the same hole twice?

-----------------------------------------------------------------

January 14, 2015

Zardari vows to fight militancy ‘till the end’
Assures people that government considering raising compensation for dead police officers’ families

Former Pakistan president Asif Ali Zardari on Wednesday vowed to fight extremism and militancy in the country till the last and said he would frustrate extremists’ designs to impose their rule on the country.

In his brief address to police officials and the families of slain policemen, Zardari said that the ongoing campaign against terrorism was ideological.

“They say that they would impose their ideology on us but we will fight with them till the last,” the former president said.

“This is our pledge, this is your pledge and this pledge of whole Pakistan,” Zardari said.

Earlier, he distributed the cheques of two million rupees to relatives of policemen who died. Some 178 families were compensated with cumulative 356 million rupees.

The former president, whose party rules southern Sindh province, assured the police officials that the government was considering to raise the compensation for the families of the police to 10 million rupees from existing two million rupees so that the families could get a decent financial support.

Besides, he said, the government was planning to provide insurance cover to the government employees including the police. With the insurance policy the families of the deceased officials could get immediate financial compensation instead of waiting for existing long cumbersome procedure.

Over 180 police officials were gunned down in 2014 in targeted killings in this mega city. The police killings have risen sharply in the recent days as the law enforcement agencies were speedily raiding and busting the terrorists’ dens.

In January alone about a dozen law enforcement personnel were killed in the targeted killings or during the encounters.

Zardari vows to fight militancy ‘till the end’ | GulfNews.com

PM Nawaz arrives in Saudi Arabia to meet ailing King Abdullah
Mateen Haider
Updated about an hour ago
54b75cb5663e8.jpg

This handout photo shows Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif (R) with Saudi Arabia's Crown Prince Salman bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud. — Press Information Department
ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif arrived in Riyadh on Thursday on a scheduled visit to inquire about the health of King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz of Saudi Arabia.

Prime Minister Nawaz was received by Riyadh’s governor Prince Turki bin Abdullah bin Abdulaziz, Ambassador of Pakistan to KSA Manzoor-ul-Haq and other senior officials.

The Saudi king has reportedly been in poor health.

Prime Minister Nawaz will convey good wishes and prayers for the king's early recuperation on behalf of the Government of Pakistan and its people.

The Foreign Office said that the premier will also hold talks with the Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia Salman bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud.

"Woh aye nahi, aur aa bhi gaye" - Our governments and political parties are non-democratic. They're busy in hiding their corruptions, cases and doing political stunts. On the other side Chief of Pakistan military took full responsibility and meet world powers, convincing them and getting full support in favor of Pakistan.

Pakistan COAS Gen. Raheel reviewed a military parade with gun salute - Guard of Honor presented by US military in Pentagon (2014) and from British Royal Forces in UK (2015). COAS meet top brass of US/UK military establishment and top government officials which includes Prime Minister (UK), JCOS, Army Chief, Centcom Chief, Secretary Defence on both visits.

LOLWA....Pakistan under Martial Law but the military chose not to announce it this time.
u just cant swallow the fact that how Pak is rising again as a regional power. Yr india and its propaganda machine has badly failed.

Wow, didn't know the guy was an Indian. There are just so many of them on this forum...

We all appreciate Gen Raheel Efforts and he seems to some one who wants to end this.But one has to understand that today Pakistan is majori;ly bcas of General prior to him .Political parties were and will never mature as they are no1 in competent ,fail to analyze larger pi (no think tanks) even for PTI all are 19/20 to each other .Those who think political solution to end this might understand that at the end of day American policies are made by Pentagon (Generals).

english problema senor, no comprende si...dunda is up neighbor si....neighbor impotent si...comprende....

Its not English thats the problem. its your fascination with neighbors Danda being erected and you getting excited.