Failed states don't hold literature festivals: Anatol Lieven

Not 1.4 times ,its just 0.4 times comparing size of population and conditions of both countries Pakistan is on edge mate, Have a look again to your own source. Indian GDP 1476.6 US$ till 2010 and Pakistan is on 1006.95 US$ till 2010 Graph.:coffee:

so isnt 1476 approx = 1.4 times 1006.95??

:lol: we have 310 bn usd forex reserves...FDI in india is around 25-30 bn usd..for pakistan it is not even 1 bn USD..

As per the latest UN data, India's accumulated FDI stocks are $190 billion, whereas Pakistan's accumulated FDI stocks are at about $31 billion.

http://www.unctad.org/sections/dite_dir/docs/wir11_fs_pk_en.pdf

Our economic growth is 7 % for this year ..pakistan has 2.4 %..

Pakistan begs to almost all financial and western countries... Most of the trade is on Soft loan unlike India who pays hard cash.

---------- Post added at 05:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:05 PM ----------

Arre yaar koi jao ise or koi acche school mein daaloin.. madarsa schooling is spoiling u my friend.

India is the biggest recipient of both international grants & loans in the world.

Pakistan does a lot better than India in many things:

Pakistan also has a bigger Labor force (% of population) than India. Pakistan also has lower poverty levels, a bigger middle class, much better income distribution than India, as well as much lower unemployment rates than India.

Pakistan also has a better Life expectancy at birth (years) than India, less child malnutrition (% of children under 5), greater access to improved water source (% of population), less aids than India, more access to toilets than India, amongst many other things.

Pakistan's (public debt/GDP) ratio is lower than India's, Pakistan's current account balance is much better than India's. India is a net importer; & imports oil, natural gas, electricity in huge amounts; whereas Pakistan does not even import natural gas or electricity.

Dude get your maths straight before delving into coloured graphs and pie charts :rofl: :rofl:
Ow man! Do you have a comprehensive problem? I said catagory.. Between The difference B\w both nations decreased then it was in 2010 according to 2011 estimates.

Again. Check the math.

You have a faster Economy and a population with Decreasing growth rate(not the absolute rate which is still positive)

And Slower economy and Population growing at a relatively higher pace.

How can the gap decrease? It can only increase.

As per the latest UN data, India's accumulated FDI stocks are $105.5 billion, whereas Pakistan's accumulated FDI stocks are at about $25 billion.

http://www.unctad.org/sections/dite_dir/docs/wir11_fs_pk_en.pdf

India is the biggest recipient of both international grants & loans in the world.

Pakistan does a lot better than India in many things:

Dude...everyone would be laughing at you ..if you compare the FDI data of India and Pakistan..please google FDI to understand the meaning of FDI first.

India has more rich people than Whole europe.

India richer are 4 times the population of whole pakistan.

India gdp is 10 times the GDP of Pakistan.

India growth rate is 3-4 times higher then pakistan

India education and Pharma industry are world renowned

More than 5.5 mn tourists come to India every year

Pakistan per capita aids and loan is way higher than India

India provides 5 bn usd aids per year.. we also provided pakistan during floods.

We pay hard cash and don't depend on IMF and world bank to pay our interest.

so isnt 1476 approx = 1.4 times 1006.95??
Read post#40
No.. The per capita GDP (total GDP/Total Population) gap between India and Pakistan is increasing steadily since 2002

World Bank, World Development Indicators - Google Public Data Explorer
Yew Kid! Just look.... Indian GDP per capita 1476.6 US$ and Pakistan is on 1006.95 US$ in 2010
Indian GDP per capita 1527 US $ and Pakistan is on 1164 US $ in 2011 .. Now do some maths and check the difference

Dude...everyone would be laughing at you ..if you compare the FDI data of India and Pakistan..please google FDI to understand the meaning of FDI first.

India has more rich people than Whole europe.

India richer are 4 times the population of whole pakistan.

India gdp is 10 times the GDP of Pakistan.

India growth rate is 3-4 times higher then pakistan

India education and Pharma industry are world renowned

More than 5.5 mn tourists come to India every year

Pakistan per capita aids and loan is way higher than India

India provides 5 bn usd aids per year.. we also provided pakistan during floods.

We pay hard cash and don't depend on IMF and world bank to pay our interest.

Some other facts for you:

1. India has more malnourished children than anywhere else in the world (42% of the world children population). Despite substantial improvement in health since independence and a growth rate of 8 percent in recent years, under-nutrition remains a silent emergency in India, with almost 50 percent of Indian children underweight and more than 70 percent of the women and children with serious nutritional deficiencies as anemia.

2. India has more poor people in eight of its states than 26 countries of sub-Saharan Africa put together.

3. 638 million Indians practice open defecation as well. Indians make up 58% of the world population which still practices open defection:

http://www.unicef.org/media/files/JMP-2010Final.pdf

4. In India, hunger remains the No.1 cause of death. Aids, Cancer etc. follow.

5. 1/3rd of the world’s hungry live in India.

6. 836 million Indians survive on less than Rs. 20 (less than half-a-dollar) a day.

7. Over 200 million Indians will sleep hungry tonight.

8. 10 million people die every year of chronic hunger and hunger-related diseases. Only eight percent are the victims of hunger caused by high-profile earthquakes, floods, droughts and wars.

9. India has 212 million undernourished people – only marginally below the 215 million estimated for 1990–92.

10. 99% of the 1000 Adivasi households from 40 villages in the two states, who comprised the total sample, experienced chronic hunger (unable to get two square meals, or at least one square meal and one poor/partial meal, on even one day in the week prior to the survey). Almost as many (24.1 per cent) had lived in conditions of semi-starvation during the previous month.

11. Over 7000 Indians die of hunger every day. Over 25 lakh Indians die of hunger every year.

12. During 2006 – 2007, malnutrition contributed to seven million Indian children dying, nearly two million before the age of one. 30% of newborn are of low birth weight, 56% of married women are anaemic and 79% of children age 6-35 months areanaemic.

13. The number of hungry people in India is always more than the number of people below official poverty line (while around 37% of rural households were below the poverty line in 1993-94, 80% of households suffered under nutrition).

Read post#40

Yew Kid! Just look.... Indian GDP per capita 1476.6 US$ and Pakistan is on 1006.95 US$ in 2010
Indian GDP per capita 1527 US $ and Pakistan is on 1164 US $ in 2011 .. Now do some maths and check the difference

Some of the statistics between India and Pakistan are comparable, but there is difference. India is on an upward slope, while Pakistan is on a downward slope.

The difference will be sharp in near future. According to Goldman Sachs, by 2050 India's per capita GDP will be $ 21000 while Pakistan's $ 7000.

One more vs thread about economy and will degenerate into malnutrition, poverty and toilets. this is getting a tab bit boring. :hitwall:

that's what happens when a failed state thread is started. people across the border suddenly jump on India's issues rather than focusing why its a failed state. and then Indians will get some infractions!

There is a critical need to bring enthusiasm for book reading in Pakistan. I remember, when was a college student in my home town 'Okara' (population ~200,000), the boys college library was buying only two monthly magazines: both cricket related.

There used to be a 'Science Digest' and another popular science monthly during those days but readership was so low that even those wouldn't print on regular basis (50 issues in 10 years for Science Digest).

It was only after I left Pakistan that I knew that there is a whole range of Popular Science books that is written for layperson. With the advent of WWW, I hope the situation has improved for a lot of people who are genuinely curious but did not have access to reading materials. That is why I rank 'Telecommunications', the best invention of our times; it has/will revolutionize the way world interacts.

Read post#40

Dont be an nincompoop mate.. Where did you get these figures?? For Pakistan numbers to move from 1006 to 1164, Pakistan's GDP needed to grow by 17.5 percent in 2011. We all know it grew by something like 2.5 % only..

that's what happens when a failed state thread is started. people across the border suddenly jump on India's issues rather than focusing why its a failed state. and then Indians will get some infractions!

Pakistan's economy will have problems in 2012, it is worrisome. It is not a failed state.

Pakistan economy weakening: Moody

Whereas India's is on the recovery path after the brief upset, though still a bit sluggish.

Moody's upgrade India's ratings, Sensex soars - Yahoo! India Finance