Delhi’s Aurangzeb Road Renamed After Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

so why talk as if pakistani people are all versions of osama or the deobandis in lal masjid??

I didn't. I said, and this is factually true, that there is a library named after OBL in Pakistan's capital city. The rest is your unwarranted interpretation.

i must ask you what is your point in bringing historical rapes into this thread... what about near-eradication of buddhist structures and influence in much of india??

My point? It was in response to a Pakistani boasting about invaders killing and massacring Indians - when the whole truth is that those invaders also did the same atrocities to people in today's Pakistan.

Yes, agreed. All these names should be changed.
Its said that Babur destroyed Ram Temple at Ayodhya and built Babri Masjid. Let me see when they change the name of Babur Road. Please also change the name of the country from India to Bharat. We already have at helm the master of repackaging and rebranding old stuffs.

Yes, I agree with this too. The name of Babur should be expunged from all memorials except ones of (yet unbuilt) Hindu Holocaust etc. The name of the country IS Bharatya Ganarajya. The English name is India. You can say Bharat, it is not a repackaging of any kind. Just accepting who we are, have always been, will be in the foreseeable future.

History tip///; Babur did not actually build the masjid. It was built by a eunuch who wanted the king's favors.

Your Gangender Singh's muder

gajendra.

Hence, whatever :blah: which you claim is just a loathe of crap 'socialism' :lol:

you should go back to russia in mid-2017 and carry about banners that read "socialism is crap". :)

He was not an average Indian Farmer and neither representing them, but AAP's political BAIT. He had a good Business of Turban's. He presented them to likes of US PRESIDENT 'Bill Gates and others'. Do you believe an average farmer or Businessman can dream to meet someone like them? :cuckoo:

not being the average farmer doesn't meant that he cannot be troubled by his personal loss and the collective loss of his co-farmers, yes??

again, he and his co-farmers were denied compensation, so he found the aap rally a platform to vent his outrage.

yes, aap leaders did a huge mistake by not bringing him down from the tree in the beginning and letting him speak to the audience from the stage... that was their first mistake.

I ain't gonna provide any proof as the news channel would became Sanhi Channels.

leave me to decide. :)

besides, i took the trouble of finding a article to show the injustice of the rajasthan government... you can find a article or vid too. :)

farmer gajendra singh was/is among the millions let down by the indian establishment and general society over 68 years... how can any sensitive person not be moved by even the still image of that farmer raging-ranting from that tree in delhi?? my tears for that man supercede soumitra's false national pride a million times.

it is a matter of shame that soumitra absolutely ignored the fact of india being declared "suicide capital of the world" last year by the uno-who... this is the same uno which was celebrated by soumitra when "yoga day" was declared as a international day.

suicide is haraam for the reason that unless three 40-foot anaconda snakes have surrounded your house and you see no way out except killing yourself, there should be no reason to take your own life... if you do so, you are the victim and your society is to blame, for it has reactionary and regressive social/political/economic foundation.

you do not know this but there is a suicide mania among the farmers of karnataka presently... this is not acceptable to me as a socialist and sensitive and progressive human.

gajendra singh died because he was the citizen of a country whose establishment and a big population seems not to want progressive society... manoj and babli died for the same reason.

this is 2015 and not 500 bc where soumitra's argument will have generally gone unchallenged... no, even then buddha challenged soumitra.

i would dearly want the indian military to effect a coup d'etat and bring in a socialistic society... napoleon did it, lenin did it, gaddafi did it, the afghans did it and by the 40 heavens, it should happen here !!
Ooops!
I thought he was talking about Gajendra singh of Mahabharta who is now the director of Pune film institute, and against whom a protest was carried out by the students. :ashamed:

History Needs Informed Debate, Not the Erasure of Aurangzeb to Install Kalam
BYNARAYANI GUPTAON 29/08/20151 COMMENT

A man who should be commemorated with a museum of science for children has been fobbed off with a road-sign
A young Prince Aurangzeb facing Sudhakar the elephant. 1633 painting. Credit: Wikimedia Commons

So all those who live on Aurangzeb Road will now have to get new letterheads, and postmen will have to be taught where Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Road is. Given the significance invested in naming, it makes one pause to recall how often one has seen the former President being calledAbulKalam (the “Master of Conversation”) rather than the “Servant of the Word”—Abdul Kalam.

Why was Aurangzeb there in the first place? And how do place names relate to history and our imagination of our cities? Delhi has a millennium of history, and many place names go back a long way. New Delhi has many points of difference with Delhi, and one is in place names. Shahjahanabad hasgalisnamed for individuals who had havelis there, whilemohallas were often named for the dominant trade or occupation of the neighbourhood. Even these were not necessary when giving directions. The writer Intezar Husain, now in Pakistan, told me where his home in Delhi had been, “Woh gali jahaan aam ka ped hai” (‘the lane where there is a mango tree’).

New Delhi was designed by British architects and engineers, and each street had bungalows of a standard design and size, was lined by a particular species of tree, and as in Britain, was thought to need a name.

Historic highways—Qutab Road and Mathura Road—were not renamed, but the New Delhi that lay between them became a record of rulers of the subcontinent. “Many of the streets have been given the names of historical characters in the history of India,” wrote Percival Spear, one of the first teachers of history in Delhi University, inDelhi: Its Monuments and History,which he wrote for children in 1943. “Look at the names of the streets” he urged, “and see if you know anything about the names given”. He himself had been asked to suggest names of figures in Indian history for these streets. A fun way of learning these might have been to take schoolchildren on walks in New Delhi in the winter sunshine, to tick off Prithviraj or Wellesley or Shahjahan in their books.

In the late 19th century, children in Britain and in India learned history as political history. The monotony was relieved by the adjectives—Ivan was ‘the Terrible’, Peter was ‘the Great’. So in Indian history we had Ashoka and Akbar as ‘Great’. No one was ‘the Terrible’, but Aurangzeb and Curzon were described in terms so unfavourable as to be just as damning. My hunch is that it was because both of them became unpopularin their own court—in Curzon’s case with his Commander-in-Chief Kitchener—just as Mohammed Tughlaq had a bad press because of the hostility of some members of the court.

Of them all, Aurangzeb has received the most attention. Any mishap could be blamed on him—even a swarm of bees in a well in a Bihar village was confidently attributed by a little girl to Aurangzeb. He is like thekuttichathuof Malayalis—responsible for anything that went wrong. So our New Delhi Municipal Councillors have, in their wisdom, decided to exorcise him from the streets of the Capital. In doing so, they have treated Abdul Kalam Sahib shabbily—a man who should be commemorated with a museum of science for children has been fobbed off with a road-sign!

“There were requests from certain sections of the society for changing the name of the road as a tribute to the former President,” PTI quoted NDMC vice-chairman Karan Singh Tanwar as saying on Friday. “The matter was placed before the council today, which unanimously gave a go ahead for the same.”

Informed debate should be the material of history, neither hero stones nor erasure. History teachers may think street names do not matter. Maybe they do not look at the sky or see the straws in the wind.

Narayani Gupta is an author and historian of Delhi

========

The idea is to erase Muslims from memory/ history of India.

Ooops!
I thought he was talking about Gajendra singh of Mahabharta who is now the director of Pune film institute, and against whom a protest was carried out by the students. :ashamed:

that one is gajendra chauhan... you must be watching too many films these last days. :D

Thankfully ....Next 10 years all the correction will happen.....best part is Arvind Kejriwal tweeted and pushed for this ...who people THINK is secular.

Why the correction was not done in the lats 60 years is a disease called CONGRESS I that had plagued India.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: ... yesterday our street name changed.... should i post it in defence forum... you people (fellow pak members those who are crying on this... and asad) don't have any other work .. apart this nonsense discussion. .. we name it. .. whatever we want... stop crying over us...

Good decision, Pakistan should name their next missile Aurangzeb

We will Inshallah and hope you guys will not forget him, after all he was your King and your ruler.:cheers:

LOLLL , those guys even claim Tipu Sultan as theirs, overlooking that he was a Mysorean South Indian.... :rofl:

Every muslim history is our from east to west all are our brothers. Do you have any problem?

History Needs Informed Debate, Not the Erasure of Aurangzeb to Install Kalam
BYNARAYANI GUPTAON 29/08/20151 COMMENT

A man who should be commemorated with a museum of science for children has been fobbed off with a road-sign
A young Prince Aurangzeb facing Sudhakar the elephant. 1633 painting. Credit: Wikimedia Commons

So all those who live on Aurangzeb Road will now have to get new letterheads, and postmen will have to be taught where Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Road is. Given the significance invested in naming, it makes one pause to recall how often one has seen the former President being calledAbulKalam (the “Master of Conversation”) rather than the “Servant of the Word”—Abdul Kalam.

Why was Aurangzeb there in the first place? And how do place names relate to history and our imagination of our cities? Delhi has a millennium of history, and many place names go back a long way. New Delhi has many points of difference with Delhi, and one is in place names. Shahjahanabad hasgalisnamed for individuals who had havelis there, whilemohallas were often named for the dominant trade or occupation of the neighbourhood. Even these were not necessary when giving directions. The writer Intezar Husain, now in Pakistan, told me where his home in Delhi had been, “Woh gali jahaan aam ka ped hai” (‘the lane where there is a mango tree’).

New Delhi was designed by British architects and engineers, and each street had bungalows of a standard design and size, was lined by a particular species of tree, and as in Britain, was thought to need a name.

Historic highways—Qutab Road and Mathura Road—were not renamed, but the New Delhi that lay between them became a record of rulers of the subcontinent. “Many of the streets have been given the names of historical characters in the history of India,” wrote Percival Spear, one of the first teachers of history in Delhi University, inDelhi: Its Monuments and History,which he wrote for children in 1943. “Look at the names of the streets” he urged, “and see if you know anything about the names given”. He himself had been asked to suggest names of figures in Indian history for these streets. A fun way of learning these might have been to take schoolchildren on walks in New Delhi in the winter sunshine, to tick off Prithviraj or Wellesley or Shahjahan in their books.

In the late 19th century, children in Britain and in India learned history as political history. The monotony was relieved by the adjectives—Ivan was ‘the Terrible’, Peter was ‘the Great’. So in Indian history we had Ashoka and Akbar as ‘Great’. No one was ‘the Terrible’, but Aurangzeb and Curzon were described in terms so unfavourable as to be just as damning. My hunch is that it was because both of them became unpopularin their own court—in Curzon’s case with his Commander-in-Chief Kitchener—just as Mohammed Tughlaq had a bad press because of the hostility of some members of the court.

Of them all, Aurangzeb has received the most attention. Any mishap could be blamed on him—even a swarm of bees in a well in a Bihar village was confidently attributed by a little girl to Aurangzeb. He is like thekuttichathuof Malayalis—responsible for anything that went wrong. So our New Delhi Municipal Councillors have, in their wisdom, decided to exorcise him from the streets of the Capital. In doing so, they have treated Abdul Kalam Sahib shabbily—a man who should be commemorated with a museum of science for children has been fobbed off with a road-sign!

“There were requests from certain sections of the society for changing the name of the road as a tribute to the former President,” PTI quoted NDMC vice-chairman Karan Singh Tanwar as saying on Friday. “The matter was placed before the council today, which unanimously gave a go ahead for the same.”

Informed debate should be the material of history, neither hero stones nor erasure. History teachers may think street names do not matter. Maybe they do not look at the sky or see the straws in the wind.

Narayani Gupta is an author and historian of Delhi

========

The idea is to erase Muslims from memory/ history of India.
The author is free to go to APJ Kalam road and cry the change of name. :) Bangladesh is free to rename roads to Aurangzeb etc. :tup:

name every road after the Indian patriots no mughal invaders names