Defence & Diplomacy Airchief Interview 25.5.2016

Plz explain this portion .......
How PAF mind set lags behind 20 years compared to rest of World?
What I understand is he is talking about F-35's entering service with Air forces that have traditionally been along side PAF.

When they operated Star Fighters PAF was also right up with them, when F-16 replaced those PAF also operated F-16. So if they are getting F-35 PAF should also not lag behind.

Finally, someone in PAF has realized the real reason why "they" are the sellers and "we" are the buyers always. Difference is knowledge which is produced in universities and intensive R&D. I liked the aviation city idea as it will provide the focused research on things we need to build next gen fighter instead of giving projects to students just for the sake of degree issuing. only thing need is Political Will... and soon you guys would realize it was a better investment than procuring high -tech things from abroad. One more thing I want to emphasize, have you guys noticed a sudden increase in electronic upgrade frequency. Just look at cell phone, GPUs, CPUs, etc. we find a new model every six month... with more processing speed it is only going to increase. Same is true for military equipment. Companies which used to make a high tech avionic or radar years are now making their new models every year or so. So, how can we can maintain our AF equipped with this latest tech .... only plausible way is to have this tech development in your own country and according to your own requirement. If today, PAF ask any high-tech firm to make a PAF specific AESA it is going to cost insane amount of money but what if we have that capability in house. I know this is a longer route with less prospect of success, but we must remember that precedent is already there and with right amount of consistent efforts and resources we can get there IA.

Many students are picking projects regarding aviation at Masters and PHD level. And if rumors are true and 3D printing technology is coming to Pakistan then I am very much hopeful that we will be able to win this gamble. China & Turkey will always be there for assistance and both have their own 5ThG projects .......
Being part of a feasibility study carried out by an institute I can confirm that 3D printing technology is already in Pakistan.

All forward looking statements. Don't quit your day job, the defence arms dealers and their mafias will prevail and ensure "indigenous" development remains to be "ToT.

On lighter side, he is competing with Raheel Sharif for TV time. I love the GIBS videos vein carefully edited to make it look like he flies the falcon....For people that know Sohail for a long time, we have a lot of quips to share..

All forward looking statements. Don't quit your day job, the defence arms dealers and their mafias will prevail and ensure "indigenous" development remains to be "ToT.
In time, those mafias will deal with more hopers and dreamers.

I think , on 6th september air chief said ..we are looking for next generation fighter options in both east and west.. Nw he says..we will go for indigenous option, with help from friendly countries???

In another interview earlier, the air chief disclosed that PAF is working on it.

But i think...on defence day last year...he said tht pak is looking options for next generation fighter aircraft in both east and west ..

https://defence.pk/threads/paf-is-l...in-both-east-and-west-acm-sohail-aman.396791/

and now he says tht we are looking for an indigenous option?

i really don't know - laugh or cry on our POOR Nation. and ACM.

Guys pls think logically, you guys always crying money money, world is moving so fast and you still crying for F16
and can't even get it. (it was only 8 fighter jets that you couldn't get it with your own money).
and your Home made aircraft JF17. you do not have enough funds to make it powerful as Gripen NG. look at SAAB they have launched GRIPEN E. which is close to Rafael - if i am not mistaken,

and here MR. SOHAIL AMAN PAF CHIEF saying something which is totally unbelievable that he is working on Next generation fighter :o:.

Yaro zara aqal se kaam lo bs suna or shuru ho gaye. 4.5 generation lene ki Himmat nahi na Dum hai na paisa baaten kerwa lo bas awam ko pagal bnany k liye :hitwall:.

Sorry for using urdu roman.
==
this is really embarrassing and totally bullsh*t.

I think , on 6th september air chief said ..we are looking for next generation fighter options in both east and west.. Nw he says..we will go for indigenous option, with help from friendly countries???

But i think...on defence day last year...he said tht pak is looking options for next generation fighter aircraft in both east and west ..to which people speculated tht maybe we are looking for su 35 or f 35..and now he says tht we are looking for an indigenous option?

He said alot but doing nothing men. Did you find any progress whatever he said in his past interviews?
just give me any one example that yes he really did something. he brought some options on table as F16 is not coming.

Actions speaks louder my friend than words. so better he should do something instead giving interviews every after few months.

ALLAH HI HAFIZ HAI BS HUMARY PAKISTAN KA.

But i think...on defence day last year...he said tht pak is looking options for next generation fighter aircraft in both east and west ..

https://defence.pk/threads/paf-is-l...in-both-east-and-west-acm-sohail-aman.396791/

and now he says tht we are looking for an indigenous option?
I think what he meant is we are working on a JV.

Shouldnt we go for a proven platform for the next generation fighter rather than a joint venture? like we know tht PAF still loves and trusts f16s much more than jf 17... India will probably go for most advanced / proven next generation aircraft maybe f-35...and we go for an unproven joint venture? JV looks good for morale and local industry but to match with indias acquisition..not much good idea

Proven platforms are exactly not next gen, and how did you conclude that F-35 is a proven platform. :-)... besides how many options do we have for a JV. In any case any case for any such product we are probably a decade away.

Dont take him seriousely PAF doesnt have that kind of money to manufacture a fifth or six gen (which ACM has designed in his dreams) aircraft guys do you know how much was spend on f35 ,pak fa ,and other fighter more the 10 billion atleast he is giving you guys false hopes as the mods say money talks bullshit walks.he is gonna walf out of paf with nothing but drawing pappers your best bet is used f16 or j31 in far future just get on with Italy

Rather than wasting this money on so called aviation city aka new corruption saga try to manufacture some parts of jf17 other than airframe

Finally, someone in PAF has realized the real reason why "they" are the sellers and "we" are the buyers always. Difference is knowledge which is produced in universities and intensive R&D. I liked the aviation city idea as it will provide the focused research on things we need to build next gen fighter instead of giving projects to students just for the sake of degree issuing. only thing need is Political Will... and soon you guys would realize it was a better investment than procuring high -tech things from abroad. One more thing I want to emphasize, have you guys noticed a sudden increase in electronic upgrade frequency. Just look at cell phone, GPUs, CPUs, etc. we find a new model every six month... with more processing speed it is only going to increase. Same is true for military equipment. Companies which used to make a high tech avionic or radar years are now making their new models every year or so. So, how can we can maintain our AF equipped with this latest tech .... only plausible way is to have this tech development in your own country and according to your own requirement. If today, PAF ask any high-tech firm to make a PAF specific AESA it is going to cost insane amount of money but what if we have that capability in house. I know this is a longer route with less prospect of success, but we must remember that precedent is already there and with right amount of consistent efforts and resources we can get there IA.

What precedence is there---please share it.

"Imagination is more important than knowledge" Albert Einstein

Better fail trying than failing to try. That's how Turkish defense companies and universities have been cooperating on hundreds of joint projects. Fruits are there to be seen. Great initiative from the Pak side...