Defeat of Sikhs by Dilasa Khan Bannuchi

Decannis are very diverse not just religiously but culturally and linguistically. Its hard to see them as a singular group of people

That is true.

Sikh history was glorified and exaggerated by the Baniya leadership in India post 1947.
Indians knew that they didn't have much good history and we're always subjugated one way or another so they needed heroes and created Sikhs and Rajputs who were basically nothing infront of Mughals and Pathans

Far from the truth.

Sikh history was glorified and exaggerated by the Baniya leadership in India post 1947.
Indians knew that they didn't have much good history and we're always subjugated one way or another so they needed heroes and created Sikhs and Rajputs who were basically nothing infront of Mughals and Pathans
I don't know about north but here in south hardly anyone knows about sikh history.Even our history books don't mention their history.Our history books talk about mauryas,guptas,vijayanagara kingdom,Delhi sultamate,mughals,Marathas and Britishers.No book even says that so and so king defeated Muslims.we don't bring religion in text books.we only know ashoka,shivaji and shri Krishna devaraya

Sikhs and Rajputs are such a small part of Indian history. And yes, very overrated.

These for example are Deccan models after Ashoka's empire around 2nd century BC.

2df0290f198e4aa2ee9564518f0015e3.jpg

102ac227036c129c331df4d20efb7d4b.jpg

d4daea80d7db78da0004346d45d5efde.jpg

80f0034ed8c55afa79542a916cdc37c1.jpg

9e5bdb332882f668dc77d166d1c11d61.jpg

a8949be27e78dda14aebcf05208a88d3.jpg

6307a6beddb66f505c0efdd27ee946f2.jpg

0a1bafb7ab3dc7a8276d02434da9c262.jpg

01090ce83c84cb2403545907f9cf8963.jpg

7bda0b6ad7df7a0dfd0022a3520d052c.jpg

Who broke lose from Maurya hands and defended themselves from Central Asian nomads and created a very successful empire. But no one even really know of the Andras.

If anyone needs props from the Mughal times, other than the Mughals themselves, it's the Marathas.

They actually took in the full might of the Mughal empire, arguably one of the strongest force to ever rule India, along with the Mauryas, British, Gupta, etc, etc. and actually eventually won! And left them with their backs broken in Delhi. Sikhs and Rajputs cant say that. The reason the Rajputs and Sikhs had the opportunity to carve out their land, is because of the Maratha and later Durrani disruption.

Ironically, they're another Deccan empire like the Andras 2000+ years before them.

Mughal–Maratha Wars - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Sikhs history is over glorified especially in India. Bollwood is partly to be blamed too.

Everyone how easily those Khalistanis were crushed.
Jogeshwari
abe u r all bloody darpok mulsim always cry for help remember how we killed u in Muzafarnagar and Gujarat riots and u guys started crying for help actually its because of army and police u coward poor muslims in India r safe or else u would have been killed like rats....show me how many muslims have been in the Indian boxing, wrestling, weightlifting,kabadi team all muslims r coward and weak to play such powerful body contact games.....u coward muslims can only bark but when time comes to fight u guys run to hide behind the pall of pseudo seculars who save u from us.....poor and coward indian musilms.

If anyone needs props from the Mughal times, other than the Mughals themselves, it's the Marathas.

They actually took in the full might of the Mughal empire, arguably one of the strongest force to ever rule India, along with the Mauryas, British, Gupta, etc, etc. and actually eventually won! And left them with their backs broken in Delhi. Sikhs and Rajputs cant say that. The reason the Rajputs and Sikhs had the opportunity to carve out their land, is because of the Maratha and later Durrani disruption.

Ironically, they're another Deccan empire like the Andras 2000+ years before them.

Its true, maratha was the biggest threat, capable of conquering pakhtunkhwa much easily and effortlessly than sikhs, luckily we pashtuns had Ahmad shah abdali whose military genius was unmatched at that time, thanks to his long service in nadir shah's army. Sikhs under ranjeet singh were not fighting Ahmad shah abdali, the rulers of kabul themeselves were busy in civil war and were quite incapable. What sikhs mostly faced was efforts of ill-equipped local pashtun tribes to put up the fight. I mean they didnt have even any artillary and sikh's heavy artillary was blowing lashkars of small tribes into pieces in pitched battle. When some tribes used surprise factor on unprepared sikh, they secured a victory. For example mashwanis and saidkhanis ambushed hari singh nalwa's army at Nara in haripur (hazara), 500 of sikhs got killed, hari singh himself got wounded and they ran away from the field. Later brave mashwanis withstood siege at srikot fort by sikh army under nalwa for 6 months....but in the mean time other tribes in the neighbour did nothing, as if they are waiting for their own turn of fighting.

Yes thats true
Some of the most powerful Empires in South Asian History were established in the Deccan
like the Satavahana Dynasty, Vakataka Dynasty, Chalukya Dynasty, Rashtrakuta Empire, Western Chalukya Empire
Vijayanagar Empire and the Maratha Empire.
The Rajputs and Sikhs are overrated as they were never able to establish a great Dynasty or Empire.

yeah other than Sikhs all are brave warriors.. Sikh history is overglorified. banda singh bahadur, hari singh nalwa, bhagat singh udham singh were all pussies.. real warriors were Gandhi ji types whose motto was if someone slap you show you your second cheek to slap.. that is how warriors respond.. Sikhs are overglorified as couple of pages mention them in history books. Sikh regiment is one of the most decorated indian regiment is also false.. it should be Pakistani muslim warriors and Indians other than Sikhs who are real warriors...ch ch ch...

you mention Sikhs everyones asses burns.. no we were real wrriors we are plzz plzz plzz ... we don't ask anyone to glorify us neither does anybody does..

yeah other than Sikhs all are brave warriors.. Sikh history is overglorified. banda singh bahadur, hari singh nalwa, bhagat singh udham singh were all pussies.. real warriors were Gandhi ji types whose motto was if someone slap you show you your second cheek to slap.. that is how warriors respond.. Sikhs are overglorified as couple of pages mention them in history books. Sikh regiment is one of the most decorated indian regiment is also false.. it should be Pakistani muslim warriors and Indians other than Sikhs who are real warriors...ch ch ch...

People like water car engineer are an example of ignorance that is so rampant in our country. I was thinking of writing a rebuttal to his ignorance but then I thought this guy is probably not even a Maratha himself, yet is trolling on this thread.

Rajput history is full of defeats and excuses for it. O we fought valiantly but boo hooo hooo we had to marry our daughter to them. Maratha too would say u know we fought but we lost by much smaller army yet we are brave.

:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

you mention Sikhs everyones asses burns.. no we were real wrriors we are plzz plzz plzz ... we don't ask anyone to glorify us neither does anybody does..

Bhai jaan agar tum na hotey baki to saare indians ABC hai.Kasam se kab k zinda kha gye hotey

:D indians should worship you guys :P

Yes thats true
Some of the most powerful Empires in South Asian History were established in the Deccan
like the Satavahana Dynasty, Vakataka Dynasty, Chalukya Dynasty, Rashtrakuta Empire, Western Chalukya Empire
Vijayanagar Empire and the Maratha Empire.
The Rajputs and Sikhs are overrated as they were never able to establish a great Dynasty or Empire.

I only respect sikhs because they gave blody nose to pashtuns in their own ilaqa, others like rajputs or marathas etc were only able to defend some times in non-pashtun ilaqas. Ranjeet Singh was genius. Same pashtuns created empires, jagirs etc all over central/south India. There should be more respect towards sikhs because they are the only warrior race left in India.