Coming home to war: Afghan refugees return reluctantly from Pakistan

Sometimes I really think to make video clips of Afghans living in Islamabad and share here on this forum, the two entirely different types of Afghans living in Pakistan. But sadly I don't get time for that and I don't have resources too I am an ignorant when it comes to latest gadgets and stuff.

Well the tragedy for me being a Pakistani is (I should not be sharing this but I don't have a choice then to raise my voice, I hope some sensible Afghan reads this), I buy bread from an Afghan Tandoor (Clay Oven or Gas oven shop for bread) and distribute it in poor Afghans sitting in line in front of that shop, it hurts me when I see their kids barefoot without shoes, I have never hesitated in sharing my children's stuff with them, but it boils my blood when I see their countrymen burn my country's flag, hurl abuses at us, it makes me hate the ones (Afghans) who are living in bungalows in Islamabad because they don't give a sh*t about their own poor countrymen living in kachi abadi, and burn flag of my country who on and off does feel for their poor. Tell me how long can anyone expect me (Pakistani) to be nice to them? Ya to may bilkul he baygairat ho jao to mumkin hai ya phir aik din may inhay dutkarna shuru kar do ga. Mayra (every Pakistani) kasoor kya hai bahi? Kya sirf Hum he reh gay hain galia kha kay bhi muskurany k liay?
are you sure the guys living in Islamabad are Afghans and npt ordinary Pakistani Pukhtoons...?

Uncle I am not that old. I can clearly identify a frasiban from a pukhtoon and a kabli from a kabaili. I have lived with them, increase in pukhtoons in Islamabad is a recent thing, whereas I have been seeing these farsibans and kabli since 1991.

The thing is that pakistan govt has slowly started to evict the refugees. Its one of the main reasons why Afghanistan despite its backstabing, is asking Pakistan to keep them for two more years. The thing is with the mass influx of anti Pakistan sentiment, the involvement of afghan refugees in crime and the growing pressure from pak people to remove the refugees the govt has started small time evictions. These will increase more and more as days go by especially if Pakistan refuse the two year extension. I hope we refuse. We cannot sacrifice our economic and social future for an ungrateful nation .

Uncle I am not that old. I can clearly identify a frasiban from a pukhtoon and a kabli from a kabaili. I have lived with them, increase in pukhtoons in Islamabad is a recent thing, whereas I have been seeing these farsibans and kabli since 1991.
who are you calling uncle.....?
if you can remember 1991 then younare years older then me....:cheers:

. . . . .
It is pretty obvious the Pashtun parts of Afghanistan will fall to Pakistan within 50 years. What we are witnessing now is the civil war to claim the other half.

Afghanistan govt can avoid this future by making peace with Taliban and creating a nation. But chances of this are slim as Northern Alliance warlords have committed in collecting their "bounty".

It is pretty obvious the Pashtun parts of Afghanistan will fall to Pakistan within 50 years. What we are witnessing now is the civil war to claim the other half.

Afghanistan govt can avoid this future by making peace with Taliban and creating a nation. But chances of this are slim as Northern Alliance warlords have committed in collecting their "bounty".

I think just as jest Pakistani intellectuals should bring up the option of a plebiscite -- let's hold it amongst all Pashtuns including the ones settled in Punjab, Kashmir, the Afghan refugees, etc. -- for a Nuclear state of 200 million people -- Pakistan sure acts timidly.

for a Nuclear state of 200 million people -- Pakistan sure acts timidly.

They sure do. I have never understood this. 9/11 caught them off guard and they have been recovering since. Pakistan use to be incredibly assertive in the 20th century. They need to wake up from their slumber.

Yes that is very true -- after 9/11 Pakistanis seem to have lost their mojo

For example I think after Ghani hit out at Pakistan -- a Pakistani leader should have thrown a public tantrum (like Nehru) did, introduced the term Ihsan Farmosh and labelled the Afghans collaborators with Indians -- Afghans would have thought 10 times before they did something like that again.

Yes that is very true -- after 9/11 Pakistanis seem to have lost their mojo

Foreign policy is very simple. Call a spade a spade and 3 strikes you are out. They have tightened up since Sartaj and Fatemi took over but still seem confused on their policy on Afghanistan.

Reconciliation efforts with Afg-Taliban are going in vain and for how long must you tolerate such obscenities coming from their govt officials and media.

For how long can Afg-Pak maintain ties till they break down again? This is a merry go round heading towards nowhere. Pakistan has to take charge. Kunar and Nuristan is full of TTP and Fazullah is stationed there. What are they waiting for. The killer of your children is living there and Afghanistan are doing nothing about it. This is ultimate slap on the face.

Foreign policy is very simple. Call a spade a spade and 3 strikes you are out. They have tightened up since Sartaj and Fatemi took over but still seem confused on their policy on Afghanistan.

Reconciliation efforts with Afg-Taliban are going in vain and for how long must you tolerate such obscenities coming from their govt officials and media.

For how long can Afg-Pak maintain ties till they break down again? This is a merry go round heading towards nowhere. Pakistan has to take charge. Kunar and Nuristan is full of TTP and Fazullah is stationed there. What are they waiting for. The killer of your children is living there and Afghanistan are doing nothing about it. This is ultimate slap on the face.

I think it is partly a matter of explaining to the Afghan people and the actually the Pakistani people too -- who the 800 pound gorilla is.

We should talk about the unnamed leader who butchered Muslims who the Afghans support -- what are we afraid off -- do the Jewish people fear of calling Hitler a murderer and dehumanizer of Jews -- why should we be afraid.

I think it is partly a matter of explaining to the Afghan people and the actually the Pakistani people too -- who the 800 pound gorilla is.

We should talk about the unnamed leader who butchered Muslims who the Afghans support -- what are we afraid off -- do the Jewish people fear of calling Hitler a murderer and dehumanizer of Jews -- why should we be afraid.

I remember before the beginning of the 1st Gulf war -- Hosni Mubarak when addressing the Egyptian assembly said: "Ihna Qaid haze-hel Ummah" -- we are leaders of this Nation (Arab/Muslim) -- why should Pakistanis be shy about claiming what is theirs.

Further an aggressive Muslim nationhood narrative puts the other Qaumi narratives on the backfoot.

So you are advocating an all out war between the neighbours that will have consequences for decades to come?
If you say the killers of your children are stationed in Afghanistan, the same can go to Pakistan where the Taliban have been having refuge for the last 14 years and killing afghans daily!

You have problems with Afghanistan and Afghanistan has problems with you, but we need to find a solution for it no matter what because you cant wish away Afghanistan nor can we wish away Pakistan its the reality and deal with it!

It is easy to point fingers and put all your ills on your neigbour but it takes real courage to advocate peace and prospering with each other while so many advocate war.