Budget LIVE: Defence allocation is Rs 2,46,727 crores, says Jaitley

Don't feed a troll.... Cleaned!
thank u sirji andthanks baaji from my side forher latest LL but i guess rules should be same for all of us im thank full u came at least

ghulam ko ma badulat ki faraq dilli se ye hi umeed thi :)

Some fellow said that we should build toilets instead of investing in defence . Why is he so concerned? Does he/she want to come and clean the toilets here ?

people in india dying of hunger or being killed by dogs or idiotic parents or by the exalted tag of "india - suicide capital of the world"... but by all means buy more weaponary.
:cheers:
GoI should make a separate budget for the treatments of schlimazels like you !

can't understand this visa on arrival thing for more than 150 countries... wouldn't that undermine national security interest?

Thats with promotion of tourism in mind.
thought so.. however that's like 75% of countries in the world. I don't think there are that money countries in the world who would make meaningful contribution towards tourism in India. It makes sense to give visa on arrival to those countries who have enough number of people going out on holidays or tourism purpose to India.. like the ones from Europe, North America & Australasia. You won't find that many people from South American or African countries making it to India for that purpose.
Visa on arrival may provide enough loopholes to those who's purpose of visiting India may not be that noble at all. Govt of India needs to be more careful in that respect.

thought so.. however that's like 75% of countries in the world. I don't think there are that money countries in the world who would make meaningful contribution towards tourism in India. It makes sense to give visa on arrival to those countries who have enough number of people going out on holidays or tourism purpose to India.. like the ones from Europe, North America & Australasia. You won't find that many people from South American or African countries making it to India for that purpose.
Visa on arrival may provide enough loopholes to those who's purpose of visiting India may not be that noble at all. Govt of India needs to be more careful in that respect.
I'm sure there will be some precautionary measure built into the scheme.

Is it enough???? Especially with the kind of projects cleared by GoI
That's the question, with the list of projects that were not fixed last year, I have some doubts but that's depends on how much of that is actually for procurements.

If we assume 40% of that goes to Capex (although the MoD has stated they would like to get the capex:opex budget ratio around 50:50 if not 60:40 in the capex's favour in the long run but I don't expect much has changed for this year so let's assume 40% of the budget for capex)

So that is $16 BN (40% of around $40 billion), now let's look at the deals to be signed this finical year:

(rounded to the nearest billion)

AH-64E ($1 billion )
CH-47F ($1 billion)
S-70B ($1 billion)
A330 MRTT ($1 billion)
P-8I follow-on, possibly to be signed this year but no rush ($1 billion)
Rafale ($15-16 billion)

A grand total of $20-21 billion in deals waiting to be signed this year (please tell me if there are some I have left out). Considering that for most, if not all, of these deals the MoD will only be paying 10-20% of the total costs up front I would say there was adequate funds in this defence budget to get all these species of kit, what is lacking and has always been lacking is the rapid processing of deals that lead to early signings. The fact is pretty much all of these deals have dragged on 1-2 (if not more) years longer than they needed to. IF the MoD can get a more efficient procurement system in place then such backlogs won't occur and year on year India can be purchasing a hell of a lot more equipment.

people in india dying of hunger or being killed by dogs or idiotic parents or by the exalted tag of "india - suicide capital of the world"... but by all means buy more weaponary.
:cheers:
Hey genius, this is around 1.7% of GDP, show me how many other (major) countries spend such a low proportion of their GDP on defence. The amount India is spending on education, infrastructure, healthcare and poverty alleviation is FAR more.

6630 surrendered?

This is bloody criminal and this is what I mean by the funds are there but it is the mismanagement of the budget and procurements that is the issue. If the MoD/DM succeed in improving the efficiency of tender to signing then the situation will improve many fold.

India needs a 60 billion dollar defence budget and that is a minimum. India spends 2 percent of GDP on defense when the number should be at least 3.5%.

The Chinese have a 100+ billion budget. They have bases all along the Indian ocean, their infrastructure in Tibet outclasses India by a generation. Not a single 155mm artillery gun has been purchased since 1980s. Infantry lacks standard armor vest and NVG, infantry needs modern rifles to replace the junk called INSAS. Tanks and other equipment need upgrades, Radars need upgrades. Army needs to replace its entire air defense units. The needs of Indian armed forces are immense.

If budget constraints restrict spending to 2 percent then India should cut down its million strong army. Better to have 500,000 strong army trained and equipped to NATO standard instead of having 1.2 million army trained just better than pakistanis.
In the current stage of India's growth it is very good that the GoI is keeping defence spending as a proportion of GDP low. Simply put there are better things to spend the money on- the economy, infrastructure, healthcare, education etc which in the long run will all improve India and contribute positively to India's GDP growth which in turn will see the defence budget grow as a byproduct.

As I have been saying, it is clearly not a lack of funding that is crippling the Indian military and capping procurements BUT blatant mismanagement. Even with a $60 billion defence budget the way things stand today many billions of that would be returned to the Fin Min as unspent. The MoD needs to reform the entire procurement process and make the best use of every last ruppee/cent of the defence budget.

Not sure how correct that is.
Signing the agreement doesn't mean immediate allocation of funding IN THIS FY.
Small tranche of money 600-700 million USD (that might be paid upright to Dassault) could be adjusted in this budget itself or as a special provision to be allotted later. There is no point in allotting budget unless a final decision is made (the reports that suggest PMO will take final call).[/QUOTE]

Afaik 15% is the usual immediate payment...

MMRCA $15 to 20 billion = $2.2 to 3 billion

AFAIK it is 10%, this is what NDTV quoted last year when Arun Jaitley was briefed on the Rafale deal so for $15-20 billion $1.5-2 billion and at this rate the funds are there for the Rafale this year, just got to get the deal signed!

Grafic+Rev+Cap+ratio.png
And one asks why the IA is lagging badly behind the IN and IAF in modernising itself.....

82% of their budget goes on Opex and they are STILL EXPANDING THEMSELVES!!!! :hitwall:

@Bornobus the CAPFs come under the MHA so yes, they have a separate budget. The MoD's defence budget goes on the IA, IN,IAF, DRDO, OFB and a few other support elements as you can see from the graphs above.

Do we have separate spendings on our CAPFs...also why some sources mentioned Indian defense budget as high as $48 billion?
Answered above buddy and those who say India's defence spending is $48-52 billion are including how much India spends on the CAPFs and thus combining the MHA and MoD budgets for whatever reason. I have seen this done by many international media outlets and IIRC Sipri do so too but it is obviously inaccurate.

can't understand this visa on arrival thing for more than 150 countries... wouldn't that undermine national security interest?

I was confused also, but it turns out that you need to fill out visa application online. You will then get letter of acceptance or denial, if accepted, u will get ur visa on arrival. Pretty smart.

Yes, it does. But it also generates 1000% more revenue coming from Tourism.
How much percentage of our defence budget will be used for enhancing intel security is not known. So i will say, if the threat is increased so is the security too.

The threat of smuglers and narcotics has increased. But so is the security parameter.

ab bhai saab 'religion of peace' se bachne k liye defence bhi zaroori hai :partay: But you shouldn't worry about India and its defence budget. You should worry about the Muslims of the world and ensure that they have enough bullets to fire from AK47 :D

They require your services :woot:

huzoor, "religion of peace" se bachne ke liye irbm rockets ki kya zaroorat hai... kya syria ya algeria ko attack karna hai??

waise, main hoon peace-loving... mere services hazir hain har kisi ke liye, muslim ho ya catholic, south india ho ya south america.

laal salaam. :enjoy:

Indian defence spending is modest considering the % if GDP also we live in a hostile neighbourhood

the hostile neighborhood will be comradely if socialism is established in india... or rather, once india joins the eastern-bloc/global-south.

Absolute no.of suicide is more in India but its quite normal for a population of 1.25 billion

even one suicide because of economic or cultural reasons is a failure of the indian state... it implies that the system is capitalist and backward, and does not consider human life to be sacred... it implies that the system weaponizes itself heavily from external opponents while internally there is no care given to the welfare of its citizens.

i should tell you that islam ( my born religion ) declares suicide to be haraam and i have lived a hard life yet never considered that path... those who did so did not have the courage to fight against the system that brought them the miseries, they did not have the courage to declare, like che guevara said, "another world is possible".

Sir, presently the defence allocation is less than 2% of GDP.

a four-year-old girl died of breathing troubles in a jalandhar government hospital in 2012 because her father could not pay some thousand rupees demanded by the hospital authorities... while in the same year 2012, the indian military purchased 800 crores worth of rockets from israel... fair??

GoI should make a separate budget for the treatments of schlimazels like you !

like i have long said, even if prophets jesus and mohammad were to preach to those like you, you would have chased them through the streets, throwing stones and setting your dogs upon them.

2017 will have the 100th anniversary of the russian revolution... i suggest you tell modi to reserve a big portion of the budget for the express purpose of "treating" every socialist in the world.

Hey genius, this is around 1.7% of GDP, show me how many other (major) countries spend such a low proportion of their GDP on defence. The amount India is spending on education, infrastructure, healthcare and poverty alleviation is FAR more.

impressive list... and yet those 69 hunger dead in the tea estates of darjeeling from some months ago... yet the "educated" allowing "doctors" to feed aborted female foetuses to dogs... yet the "educated" sitting in front of astrologers and buying "yantras" and visiting "spiritual healers" and allowing murder of anti-superstition activists like narendra dhabolkar... yet malaria spread across india and people having stunted limbs because of fluoride mixing with ground water... yet even middle class people having only enough money to travel to the next month with the ocassional purchase of some useless consumer device but not enough money to truly remove themselves from poverty through starting a business... yet no technological contribution to humanity despite having the highest number of colleges especially in the computer field ( my present field )... yet having the highest number of road mishaps per year... wonderful.

no, sir... you are the real genius here because what i wrote above is total nonsense.