Bofors reloaded: Defence ministry stung again [Biggest Joke, Must read]

You serious ? Why did you think m777 got into the back burner in the first place ? Just when the whole m777 deal was hot, somebody leaked the report on m777 losing the trials on many grounds. It was all over the news...Just go and google it...

Actually, the media report said that the gun fell short of certain requirements and minimum standards laid down by the IA. This howitzer has been used extensively in Afghanistan by the NATO and is a proven weapon. However the fact is that it was not designed for use in the mountains and there are a few issues of crest clearance etc.

But there is a yet unheard of twist to the Bofors scam, it now emerges. Sources said the blame for Army's stalled artillery modernization may lie closer home, with the government sitting on the transfer of technology that permits India to manufacture the Bofors gun in the country.

As the military top brass desperately look around for solutions to the crippling shortage of artillery guns, they stumbled upon the fact that India actually has the entire drawings of the Bofors guns, and had paid for the transfer of technology to manufacture the gun in India. But the Ordnance Factory Board sat on the drawings all these years, never attempting to make the gun in India.

A senior official, not very amused at the turn of events, told TOI that they have now asked OFB to manufacture six prototypes of the Bofors artillery guns within the next 18 months. "If we had indigenous capability, then all these years of effort to buy foreign guns and such crippling shortage in capabilities wouldn't have been there," he said.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Kung+fuuuuuuu+panda+3.JPG

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

Actually, the media report said that the gun fell short of certain requirements and minimum standards laid down by the IA. This howitzer has been used extensively in Afghanistan by the NATO and is a proven weapon. However the fact is that it was not designed for use in the mountains and there are a few issues of crest clearance etc.
Thanx for the info...also these guns are procured to be used in NE where we have mountains and so if you won't be able to use it where u wanna use it then why purchase it ? But i still think we should purchase it because of the lack of guns in IA.

Good point buddy. The problem is that no one in the world has ever designed a gun specifically for use in mountains. Howitzers by virtue of their high angle fire are intrinsically better suited to mountains. So when some one makes a light gun that can be dismantled and transported easily it is selected for use in mountains. You will recall that India used the 75/24 pack howitzers (US M116) in 1962 as these could be dismantled and carried on mules as well as ferried by helicopters. The M777 is very light due to extensive use of titanium. They are also smaller than their standard counterparts. Both these factors merit their use in mountains. The problems of crest clearance can be sorted out by modifications to the sights and tweaking the ammunition (propellant).

crestclearance.jpg

As you can see, the shells fired in this case miss the target which is on the reverse slope of the mountain or just behind the crest. This is a common problem in mountains and not very difficult to rectify. The gun has to fire at higher trajectory or modifications are done to the sights.

Now my fellow Indians, do you agree that this government is evil? That it has no dedication to the country? That it is a bigger threat to India than China and Pakistan combined? That it is no longer Indira in game but a ruthless mafia? We all Indians must work towards dethroning these scum.

But there is a yet unheard of twist to the Bofors scam, it now emerges. Sources said the blame for Army's stalled artillery modernization may lie closer home, with the government sitting on the transfer of technology that permits India to manufacture the Bofors gun in the country.

As the military top brass desperately look around for solutions to the crippling shortage of artillery guns, they stumbled upon the fact that India actually has the entire drawings of the Bofors guns, and had paid for the transfer of technology to manufacture the gun in India. But the Ordnance Factory Board sat on the drawings all these years, never attempting to make the gun in India.

A senior official, not very amused at the turn of events, told TOI that they have now asked OFB to manufacture six prototypes of the Bofors artillery guns within the next 18 months. "If we had indigenous capability, then all these years of effort to buy foreign guns and such crippling shortage in capabilities wouldn't have been there," he said.

These OFB officials should be arrested and thrown in jail. Costing the exchequer crores of rupees and more than that bringing danger to our armed forces :angry:

You serious ? Why did you think m777 got into the back burner in the first place ? Just when the whole m777 deal was hot, somebody leaked the report on m777 losing the trials on many grounds. It was all over the news...Just go and google it...
lets guess who did that ?

wow... countries yearn for these kinda hi-tech transfer & here we have our netas & babus sitting over this all this while. They know full well that they wont be able to make as much kick backs when you have these kind of products coming out from your own backyard. God almighty... their greed has no limit!!

Good point buddy. The problem is that no one in the world has ever designed a gun specifically for use in mountains.
I think IA has a huge requirement for artillery. I Think if BAE should team-up with Mahindra to provide a india suitable M777 with inputs from IA. This will be the wisest option for India instead of asking drdo or ofb to make something as it will take time and IA don't have time.

The M777s are an immediate requirement for the mountains sector. The DRDO could not make titanium based light weight howitzers in a hurry even if it wanted to. So, the artillery deficit against an attack in the mountains should be met with immediate imports. Regarding the requirement for medium guns for the rest of the artillery regiments, even though we have been needlessly delayed already, we should wait for the DRDO to get it right and produce them indigenously as the quantities involved and therefore the expenditures are huge.

Well,I don't think that the L39 and L45 callibre designes have got any utility left;atleatst for use on the plaines.Even PA uses large nos of L52 howitzers just like any other modern army today does.Instead of these outdated designes the Army should consentrate on the licensed Check L52 guns produced by BEML or send GSQR to ARDE to develop a 52 cal or even 55 cal 155mm medium guns.Actually many here may have no idea that our army once did get an opertunity to take a commandable lead in artillery front against our enemies when in the late 80's the ARDE developed a prototype 185mm L55 artillery gun but our beloved IA rejected even to get it in trial.What can we say!!When our army is so much biased how can they or we criticize the babus??

if thats true DRDO should use that drawings to produce indigenous gun

ARDE does not need those obsolet designes,they already have far better techs.Remember the 185mm artillery gun??It could beat any 155mm gun hands down.