Begging vs Charity

You should give who ever comes to u if you've money . Don waste yourself thinking and judging the begger .
If we look at ourself , to hum b to is sub k qabil nahi jo kuch Allah ne hum ko dia ha so y judge others .
U give only for Allah , don't u ? So let Allah reward u .. Stop judging this n that begger ,
Begging is bad but do u have such talent to look at people's life nd judge why they started begging .
Some people r really 'majboor ', no one likes begging .. who does ? No one like it . But think how tired and depressed they're that caused them to beg .

Yes majboor. In our mosque a woman came and asked for help. Namazis jointly approached her and asked to arrange respectable earning for her. Her reply was no and no.

Let's say we should give them unquestioned, how to make them functional and productive part of society.

There should be ban on begging gradually as economic opportunities increase with more growth rate.

Yes majboor. In our mosque a woman came and asked for help. Namazis jointly approached her and asked to arrange respectable earning for her. Her reply was no and no.

Let's say we should give them unquestioned, how to make them functional and productive part of society.

There should be ban on begging gradually as economic opportunities increase with more growth rate.

Is mulk me jahan degree wale jawaan dhakay khaa rhy hin idhar udahr , in un parh ghareebon ne kya kamaal kr dena ha economy k liye .
Not very one is like that woman , there r thousands of worthy people who sell only little things in hope for getting some beg .
Not to forget our transgender too who r screwed by the soceity norm this much that they've to beg .

Of course government should arrange some disciplined way where these begger get money for their survival ,

Is mulk me jahan degree wale jawaan dhakay khaa rhy hin idhar udahr , in un parh ghareebon ne kya kamaal kr dena ha economy k liye .
Not very one is like that woman , there r thousands of worthy people who sell only little things in hope for getting some beg .
Not to forget our transgender too who r screwed by the soceity norm this much that they've to beg .

Of course government should arrange some disciplined way where these begger get money for their survival ,

Baitul maal lol ishaq Dar need i say more

I will second @Signalian , All i understand that if someone (beggars) approaches us for money or any other thing than we shouldn't hesitate to help them as Allah swt gave us everything (wealth) whether we deserve it or than why we hesitate and think before giving something, that He or She might deserve that or not ?
This is a reason why Pakistan is considered a third world country.

People are being forced to beg and those who are the haves and have-nots of the society are debating who merits charity.

Ironical oxymoronic thread.

Khud kay paas kese araha ha kabhi socha nahi or jinke paas hai nahi uski roti cheen lo.

Why was the question not put like

" Why would a Pakistani beg while mega corruption scandals are in hundreds of billions of dollars "

Koi Sharam nahi hoti
Koi haya nahi hoti

Are sharam and haya mere phonetics?

ٰYou don't get it. It is more of a scholastic discussion... may I say not really your cup of tea sir. Go and sleep insomniac chacha jee.... return once you have a good night's sleep. May Allah guide you..

Beggars are a professional mafia in Pakistan. Try begging on one of their corners. 10 of them will come and break your legs. :lol:

Yeah I have that in mind all the time and my parents also engraved that on my mind that never decline a hungry person the food. But the question is whether the person is genuinely hungry? Because these gypsies travel thousands of km normally on Caravans (house-trucks) in which they live and travel. They are habitual beggars. But I have met some Gypsies who have left begging and started to settle.

If this was a world where people were honest and you saw such a person it seems natural to want to help them out.

However this is not such a world.

Unfortunately people like the person you met are preying on people like you because they know exactly the words that are going through your mind. They are taking advantage of the perception people have of an honest world.

If this person really was seeking charity he would never open up his mouth asking for more. He would say thank you with a bowed head.

I used to be like you and give money..but now I do not.

I don't mind you have every right to disagree with what I say, I share my thoughts for my own improvement and better understanding, and in some cases for others to think a little differently. :)
Yeah but here I agreed with most of your points. I like difference of opinion since it triggers brains to think different. By the way even a nice smile is a charity... people don't know that a nice smile can make a person's whole day happy..

If this was a world where people were honest and you saw such a person it seems natural to want to help them out.

However this is not such a world.

Unfortunately people like the person you met are preying on people like you because they know exactly the words that are going through your mind. They are taking advantage of the perception people have of an honest world.

If this person really was seeking charity he would never open up his mouth asking for more. He would say thank you with a bowed head.

I used to be like you and give money..but now I do not.
But isn't it being judgemental mate? I mean in general what you are saying is true but how can I say that person is honest or not, right on the spot?

Allah Almighty will judge you on your intentions, and actions. Not how you were swindled. Don't dwell on it, keep doing good, expect the best from your Lord, and move on.

Thanks to Webmaster and Slav defence I know where to donate money. EDHI and EDHI only
I encourage other members here to do the same.
Edhi is good, but so is Shaukat Khanam Cancer Hospital.

In Sweden, we normally don't have beggars but a group of people called Gypsies, mainly from Romania and other parts of Europe travel to richer western countries like Sweden and beg. I actually bumped into one a few days ago near the city centre (central station).

A healthy tall young guy in his late 20's or early 30's with beard and wiry face, ..approached me and asked me if I could speak English, then he asked me to help him as he hadn't eaten and he couldn't get a job because he was from Greece and stuck in Sweden and his wallet and documents got stolen (highly unlikely in Sweden but still possible) and I was about to step into a Sushi bar for lunch and in Sweden.

We don't carry cash often because everything is paid by credit/debit cards and Apple pay etc. But he knew this fact so he asked me to get some cash from the ATM ..which wasn't far.. any how I had some (~7000 PKRs) left from my recent visit to Pakistan which I just keep in case I need to buy anything on Pakistani airport or have to hire taxi in case none can come to receive me in a timely manner. So he saw those note when I looked for some Kronas and started insisting that I give him all of it. I gave him only Rs 2000 and left. But later I kept thinking if I did wrong.. I could have gone to the ATM and helped him etc etc.. I'm feeling this guilt now, so I opened this discussion.

You should have taken him to a decent restaurant, (read NOT sushi) and bought him a meal. What you did is good, but we all learn.

You should give who ever comes to u if you've money . Don waste yourself thinking and judging the begger .
If we look at ourself , to hum b to is sub k qabil nahi jo kuch Allah ne hum ko dia ha so y judge others .
U give only for Allah , don't u ? So let Allah reward u .. Stop judging this n that begger ,
Begging is bad but do u have such talent to look at people's life nd judge why they started begging .
Some people r really 'majboor ', no one likes begging .. who does ? No one like it . But think how tired and depressed they're that caused them to beg .

Agreed. Just give if one has, it's the niyat that counts.

Allah Almighty will judge you on your intentions, and actions. Not how you were swindled. Don't dwell on it, keep doing good, expect the best from your Lord, and move on.

Edhi is good, but so is Shaukat Khanam Cancer Hospital.

You should have taken him to a decent restaurant, (read NOT sushi) and bought him a meal. What you did is good, but we all learn.
I didn't know about them. Thanks for letting me know

Although not a fan of Imran Khan, this venture no doubt has been a blessing for the common man. I personally have spoken to a pediatric oncologist who worked there, and it is a reputable institution, that actually does what it claims.

its difficult to decide in India because many of them are genuine and there is no social security net. I dont give if it is normal scam(couple with a young child do not have enough money to return to their village so they need bus fare, or people begging for money near hospital because somebody is ill or anybody who begs in train)..

here in UK, I sometimes give a quid to the buskers who are singing or playing some musical instrument on highstreets(usually eastern european or gypsies) or train stations.. very rarely to homeless people... but I do buy 'big issue' from time to time when I see somebody selling it...

Although not a fan of Imran Khan, this venture no doubt has been a blessing for the common man. I personally have spoken to a pediatric oncologist who worked there, and it is a reputable institution, that actually does what it claims.
I like IK but i don't think he is cut out for politics.

in un parh ghareebon ne kya kamaal kr dena ha economy k liye .

I come across three very old men in my area on regular basis ........ one carries a bag full of stuff searched and picked from garbage, the second one carries a big dish (thaali type) full of coconuts or sweets and walks miles to sell those, the third is near blind with that motay motay sheeshay wali ainak and sells small books ...... all three of them are old, poor and walk miles with load just to earn and not beg ......... it is not really necessary for me to pay the price these people ask for whatever they are selling, I can always add to it ......... believe me the surprised look on their faces and that smile of relief ..... will give you loads of satisfaction .... nothing better. Similarly it is not necessary for me to pay the mochi little money for his work ..... I can always gross it up with extra thank you money (if you wouldn't have taken this job most of us mediocre would suffer). All such people are genuinely unparh but they are not baygairat and are contributing to economy no matter how little but their absence would matter.

Military Forum Latest Posts