Bangladesh now counts on cattle; large-scale meat export planned

Bangladesh per capita consumption of beef is shown in some sites as around 1 KG per year, which could be misleading information. Even India consumes 4 KG per capita, which of course is bad news for Hindutva folks.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/756875/bangladesh-meat-consumption-per-capita-by-type/

However it is well known we are largely a fish and vegetable consuming nation (being a regularly flooded deltaic country), though Muslim. Freshwater fish consumption is way north of 25 KG per capita per year nowadays, it was already 20 KG some ten years ago (fish is excellent source of protein with alpha-omega fatty acids, way better than beef cardio-health-wise), as is other kinds of meat like goat and chicken.

We like our beef on special occasions like Eid etc. but most families don't eat beef every day... we still like our varied diet. Plus beef until recently was expensive for a lot of families to afford (until per capita GDP had come up higher). A lot of Asian countries don't eat a lot of beef for this reason (easy availability of fish and vegetables as protein).

More discussion in this older thread,

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/bangladeshs-per-capita-protein-consumption-soars.525749/

Beef is grossly overpriced in Bangladesh, the fascination of their country for desi goru is equally responsible for the exorbitant rates. In contrast, in predominantly meat consuming regions in India like NE the meat of our choice(pork) is available at a throwaway price and a typical Upper Assam family consumes more pork in a day than these Bangladeshis go through their overpriced beef in a week.

The fish logic is also strange as both the regions love our fish but that doesn't let us from consuming meat.

220 dollar a pound is the most expensive beef in the world. The cow also cost around 30000 usd but looks ordinary cows!!

There are five breeds of wagyu that I know of, each come from a particular region in japan... wagyu literally means Japanese beef... the demand and hence the cost is mainly due to the selective breeding and the standards of upbringing of the cows.... the meat fibers are highly marbled with fats which increases its taste. These cows live a life of luxury.... nothing the Indians can compete with... they play around in high farmlands, listen to music, get massaged... the whole shebang.

It's encouraging news. Although I am inclined to agree with some of the commentators on here. Red meat consumption is generally quite low in Bangladesh just from what I've seen on my visits. Not sure if anyone has any reliable stats on this?

Not sure how reliable these stats are, apparently India consumes more Beef than Bangladesh...

World Beef Consumption Per Capita (Ranking of Countries)
Uruguay consumed the most beef per capita in the world in 2016 followed by Argentina and Hong Kong. All three countries consumed more than 100 pounds of beef per capita.
Rob Cook
| Published on: Aug 23, 2019
world_beef_consumption_per_capita_ranking_countries_1_636078320411296034.jpg

World Beef Consumption Per Capita (Ranking of Countries)

The world consumed 129.5 billion pounds of beef in 2016.

Uruguay consumed the most beef per capita in the world in 2016 followed by Argentina and Hong Kong. All three countries consumed more than 100 pounds of beef per capita.

The United States consumed the 4th most beef per capita in the world in 2016.

Ten (10) countries consumded more than 50 pounds of beef per capita: Uruguay, Argentina, Hong Kong, United States, Brazil, Paraguay, Australia, Canada, Kazakhstan & Chile.

View attachment 575775

View attachment 575776
The reason I do not believe this statistic is because in Kuwait you’ll rarely see beef being slaughtered and sold... usually only during eid and never by Kuwaitis.
Idk how much meat is being consumed by bd people but wherever I go, be it a wedding invite or just family gathering.... people puff their cheeks if there isn’t any beef on the menu.

Beef is grossly overpriced in Bangladesh, the fascination of their country for desi goru is equally responsible for the exorbitant rates. In contrast, in predominantly meat consuming regions in India like NE the meat of our choice(pork) is available at a throwaway price and a typical Upper Assam family consumes more pork in a day than these Bangladeshis go through their overpriced beef in a week.

The fish logic is also strange as both the regions love our fish but that doesn't let us from consuming meat.
“Desi goru” is actually the more affordable ones. Extortionate beefs are usually something exotic like American angus or Australian cows.., Indian cows were bought next to zero the past two eid... and desi cows can be had for as low as 45k

I have had wagyu in Japan.... got to be honest i do not see the big deal. Its super fatty, they have it in tiny quantity..... just like fruits in japan...small production, lots of marketing and hype but taste wise i could not say they were anything special....had melon that costs like £100.....it was just a melon...hilarious...

listen to music

Listen to music? :o::o::o:

Those two atom bombs really took their toll on Japanese brains, I am now sure.

“Desi goru” is actually the more affordable ones. Extortionate beefs are usually something exotic like American angus or Australian cows.., Indian cows were bought next to zero the past two eid... and desi cows can be had for as low as 45k

You are totally wrong. Desi goru is very expensive, desi murgi is very expensive.

These cows live a life of luxury.... nothing the Indians can compete with... they play around in high farmlands, listen to music, get massaged... the whole shebang.
You are correct but you have made a gross omission. The cows are fed with Sharbat (read BEER) while dancing.

There are five breeds of wagyu that I know of, each come from a particular region in japan... wagyu literally means Japanese beef... the demand and hence the cost is mainly due to the selective breeding and the standards of upbringing of the cows.... the meat fibers are highly marbled with fats which increases its taste. These cows live a life of luxury.... nothing the Indians can compete with... they play around in high farmlands, listen to music, get massaged... the whole shebang.

The reason I do not believe this statistic is because in Kuwait you’ll rarely see beef being slaughtered and sold... usually only during eid and never by Kuwaitis.
Idk how much meat is being consumed by bd people but wherever I go, be it a wedding invite or just family gathering.... people puff their cheeks if there isn’t any beef on the menu.

Kobe beef is from cattle in Kobe area where they are fed beer to increase their appetite in summer months.

Desi goru” is actually the more affordable ones. Extortionate beefs are usually something exotic like American angus or Australian cows.., Indian cows were bought next to zero the past two eid... and desi cows can be had for as low as 45k
What!!! Your Bangladeshis pay a lot for a decent sized piece of desi goru in your restaurants, for the price of which our brothers in Nagaland, Meghalaya or Arunachal will enjoy half a kilo of flavourful beef. Kobe/Wagyu aren't meant for our countries as they are meant to be cooked for a very short time, we like the meaty flavour of beef by braising them for long periods, difference being you Bongals destroy the flavour by dousing the meat in tons of masalas, anyway that's a different topic. A full grown desi goru sells for somewhere between a lakh and three BDT during eid.

You peeps often tomtom that you spend more on everything, have you even given a thought that such high prices are actually imposed on you through artificial means.

Listen to music? :o::o::o:

Those two atom bombs really took their toll on Japanese brains, I am now sure.

You are totally wrong. Desi goru is very expensive, desi murgi is very expensive.
Bhai choto goru bole Kinsey Amar nana 45k Diye... desi goru
Ami 100% Indian na.

You are correct but you have made a gross omission. The cows are fed with Sharbat (read BEER) while dancing.
Oh yes. Forgot about that. Guys these cows are too good for water xD

Exactly, special occaisions only!! It rarely features on the daily menu as it does in other places. Red Meat and Dairy just aren't consumed in the quantities they should be in BD. Again this comes down to affodability for the "Average Person". By the way Kuwaitis are some of the fattest and greediest people on earth, adding beef to their menu would probs kill them off.. :lol:

http://worldpopulationreview.com/countries/most-obese-countries/

Behind Nauru, Cook Islands and Palau are the second and third most obese nations, with obese people making up 55.9% and 55.3%, respectively. The top 25 most obese nations are as follows:

1. Nauru (Average BMI: 32.5)
  2. Tonga (Average BMI: 31.9)
  3. Samoa (Average BMI: 31.7)
  4. Kuwait (Average BMI: 30)
  5. Saint Kitts and Nevis (Average BMI: 29.7)
  6. Saint Lucia (Average BMI: 29.6)
  7. Kiribati (Average BMI: 29.6)
  8. Palau (Average BMI: 29.4)
  9. Micronesia (Average BMI: 29.4)
  10. Tuvalu (Average BMI: 29.3)
  11. Qatar (Average BMI: 29.2)
  12. Marshall Islands (Average BMI: 29.2)
  13. Egypt (Average BMI: 29.2)
  14. Jordan (Average BMI: 28.9)
  15. Belize (Average BMI: 28.9)
  16. United States of America (Average BMI: 28.8)
  17. United Arab Emirates (Average BMI: 28.7)
  18. Trinidad and Tobago (Average BMI: 28.7)
  19. Barbados (Average BMI: 28.6)
  20. Saudi Arabia (Average BMI: 28.5)
  21. Bahamas (Average BMI: 28.4)
  22. Bahrain (Average BMI: 28.2)
  23. Mexico (Average BMI: 28.1)
  24. Antigua and Barbuda (Average BMI: 28.1)
  25. Syria (Average BMI: 28.1)
Obese? Yes. Greedy? Well na. But they do have the problem of gluttony

What!!! Your Bangladeshis pay a lot for a decent sized piece of desi goru in your restaurants, for the price of which our brothers in Nagaland, Meghalaya or Arunachal will enjoy half a kilo of flavourful beef. Kobe/Wagyu aren't meant for our countries as they are meant to be cooked for a very short time, we like the meaty flavour of beef by braising them for long periods, difference being you Bongals destroy the flavour by dousing the meat in tons of masalas, anyway that's a different topic. A full grown desi goru sells for somewhere between a lakh and three BDT during eid.

You peeps often tomtom that you spend more on everything, have you even given a thought that such high prices are actually imposed on you through artificial means.
Lmao, Indian beef taste like dog food, and here you’re critiquing our method of preparation? We cook our meat like the Mughals did, Mezhbani style, one who knows how to buy desi stuff in bd and from where is certainly saving a lot... I just need to go next year and learn from my relatives for the future

Nah Bhai, Deshi Goru, Deshi Piyaj, Deshi morich, Deshi murgi etc are more expensive! Because they're better...
Khuchra bazar theka kinen ken Bhai?

Lmao, Indian beef taste like dog food, and here you’re critiquing our method of preparation? We cook our meat like the Mughals did, Mezhbani style, one who knows how to buy desi stuff in bd
Perhaps you are speaking from personal experience as i am yet to taste dog kibble. Lol at your Mezbani style, that is a gross way to prepare meat, adding tons of masalas to your beef completely obfuscates the delicate beef flavour, and worse you don't get the taste of the individual spices. Then on the top of it you add litres of strongly flavoured mustard oil and garlic, and keep on frying (bhuna) till you completely massacre the dish.

The Sylhetis cook the meat best in your country as they are influenced by the cuisine of our NE. Your mezbani, kala vuna, and others are an utter crap compared to the flavorful hatkora. I would rather eat boiled/steamed beef that those abominations.

Perhaps you are speaking from personal experience as i am yet to taste dog kibble. Lol at your Mezbani style, that is a gross way to prepare meat, adding tons of masalas to your beef completely obfuscates the delicate beef flavour, and worse you don't get the taste of the individual spices. Then on the top of it you add litres of strongly flavoured mustard oil and garlic, and keep on frying (bhuna) till you completely massacre the dish.

The Sylhetis cook the meat best in your country as they are influenced by the cuisine of our NE. Your mezbani, kala vuna, and others are an utter crap compared to the flavorful hatkora. I would rather eat boiled/steamed beef that those abominations.
yes personal experience of eating indian beef that is.... no body goes over the top with spicing... atleast not in my family or any relatives that i know of... why would you coook beef in mustard oil? that's fucked up... garlic is necessary while cooking organs.... you don't keep on frying the meat... slow cook that
idk whose house you've eaten in... but whoever it was didn;t know how to cook

yes personal experience of eating indian beef that is.... no body goes over the top with spicing... atleast not in my family or any relatives that i know of... why would you coook beef in mustard oil? that's fucked up... garlic is necessary while cooking organs.... you don't keep on frying the meat... slow cook that
idk whose house you've eaten in... but whoever it was didn;t know how to cook
Don't you kid us, i know there is a cultural gap between you Bongals and the tribals and perhaps you enjoy the oil and spices more than the actual flavour of the meat. For example take a look at this ethnic Naga recipe and compare to your unpalatable Mezbani.

Just have a look at the amount of spices you people use. And, to correct your false notion, everyone in NE as well as Bangladesh use mustard oil in our meat and fish recipes, just that we don't go overboard with it.

Oh btw, the red chili pepper in the first video is the Bhut Jolokia/Naga morich, so our recipes are more piquant with only select spices which helps us appreciate the real flavour of the meat.

Don't you kid us, i know there is a cultural gap between you Bongals and the tribals and perhaps you enjoy the oil and spices more than the actual flavour of the meat. For example take a look at this ethnic Naga recipe and compare to your unpalatable Mezbani.

Just have a look at the amount of spices you people use. And, to correct your false notion, everyone in NE as well as Bangladesh use mustard oil in our meat and fish recipes, just that we don't go overboard with it.

Oh btw, the red chili pepper in the first video is the Bhut Jolokia/Naga morich, so our recipes are more piquant with only select spices which helps us appreciate the real flavour of the meat.
I reckon you’re from NE, judging by your extensive NE experience in that case I should say to you, don’t knock it until you’ve tried it kiddo... India is the whole world to you but for me I’ve seen much more.
Anyways.... first off you should use lard or ghee and not mustard oil to cook beef. Mustard oil is for things like fish
Know the basics then come to bark back

first off you should use lard or ghee and not mustard oil to cook beef.
Load of crap, we in NE and BD to my knowledge use lard(pork and beef) and mustard oil to cook our choice of meat unless the recipe itself calls for a neutral flavoured oil. I gather that you have been out of BD for a while, so let other BD members refute me.

Heck, even your local variation of pulaos like Tehari are cooked in mustard oil. I am probably double your age kiddo(you are just learning the trade of medicine) and have a keen interest in cusine for decades, so you need to learn more.