Attack on PAF Base Minhas

now talk abut solutions i think every base should be equip with these made in pakistan Surveillance Systems

Night Observation Device (NOD)

Category : Observation System
Manufacturer :
Detail

nod3.jpg

GIDS/ATCOP Night Observation Device (NOD) is a Portable, Long Range Multi-Sensor System for Observation and Surveillance.It can also be utilized for target acquisition, border patrol and perimeter security. The NOD system also comprises of digital magnetic compass, GPS, Pan and tilt unit.

* Area Surveillance
* Forward

Observation

* Target Acquisition
* Perimeter Security
* Search and Rescue
* Border Patrol

Surveillance System

Manufacturer :
Detail

GIDS/ATCOP Surveillance System can be utilized during the day and night for forward observation, target acquisition and border monitoring. It has the capability to determine the range of required targets. Other functions can be made available on customers request. It can also be used to secure government and other vital facilities. The complete system comes with a remote control to precisely pan and tilt the view from a distance.

* Area Surveillance
* Forward Observation
* Border Patrol
* Target Acquisition
SurveillanceSystem.jpg

i post few month before a system made in Pakistan for secure sites . its buried underground and when human cross over it they can detect numbers and size ETC damn i missed it now can someone find it ?

chief human element is priceless. the electronics and computers have not reached the level of human inference and perception. yet. in the end it has to be a a mixed bag. we have all the sensors and gizmos at airport but its the old fashioned human frisking and strip search that does the job where sensors sometimes fail. I advocate a perfect mix of man and machinery.

I agree.

Moreover, to the point, we need to integrate these "electronic sensors" and open-soure-systems into one "integrated perimeter defense" system, by writing the source code ourselves. It can't be that tough?

If I can plan, code and execute such a system for my own residence on a smaller scale (OpenWrt (I/O) + RouterOS (Home Cooked) + Off the shelf sensors and cameras), then why not Pakistan as a country? I'm sure it has a huge pool of amazing talent and resources at it's disposal!

Yes I'm paranoid. :D

I agree.

Moreover, to the point, we need to integrate these "electronic sensors" and open-soure-systems into one "integrated perimeter defense" system, by writing the source code ourselves. It can't be that tough?

If I can plan, code and execute such a system for my own residence on a smaller scale (OpenWrt (I/O) + RouterOS (Home Cooked) + Off the shelf sensors and cameras), then why not Pakistan as a country? I'm sure it has a huge pool of amazing talent and resources at it's disposal!

The dare these terrorists have shown, especially in targeting you military (Without retribution), the Pakistani Forces need to be paranoid. :agree:

If I were in control, whole of Pakistan's population would have an additional column in their National Identity Cards (NIC's)

Additional Column: Tested on lie detector |YES| |NO| :D

I agree.

Probably because we're broke and you're not ! So unless your willing to donate a couple of year's income from those Hotels and Construction Companies...we're going to do it the old-fashioned way; however out-dated they maybe ! :P

If I were in control, whole of Pakistan's population would have an additional column in their National Identity Cards (NIC's)

Additional Column: Tested on lie detector |YES| |NO| :D

You can put another one, ****** yes/no (How does that sound :P)

Probably because we're broke and you're not ! So unless your willing to donate a couple of year's income from those Hotels and Construction Companies...we're going to do it the old-fashioned way; however out-dated they maybe ! :P

It's dirt cheap mate. The only thing it requires is coding and planning an impregnable system. I can even recommend certain Turkish companies that can do the job and secure 20SqKm area under USD5Million. Do you think that it is an excessive amount securing a compound with a billion dollar + worth of equipment? No it's not!

You're studying accounting, when you progress to finance and financial planning, you'll come across a very interesting concept called "cost of business"

So the cost of defending an airbase. What is it?

Looking at the Facts and figures there is 99% probability that the terrorists never made it to the second wall surrounding the AWACS hanger,and i too have heard all the Rumors of Hanger demolition/AWACS burnt to bits/RPG demolishing SAAB 2000,as it its a balloon which got punctured....Terrorists sunbathing on the roof of Hanger while SSG were running around like headless chicken..

But its superhuman to get unharmed through 4 check posts surrounding the hanger.....and that also when they were already on high alert
But

So now it has become 4 check posts from 3?

There is only the outer perimeter, and then a DSG sitting with his rifle and a charpayee, and when the CO or the Squadron leader or some officer comes for surprise visit at night, he does the usual drill, jumps up, shouts some cautions, officer say, stand ease.

You do know how many times the PAF spokesman has changed his statement?

That's i say, don't believe anything from them, or from any source. Everything is shrouded in secrecy.

BTW, you didn't answer my original query.

Leave this guy alone ,he is a big headache .He will keep repeating the same lines all day along but will not come onto any solid arguments. Check out his posts in this as well as other forums .He has kept on repeating same lines in a different way in all his posts . No one is saying him that what we say is 100% right but atleast you have enough substance to involve into an argument that has various prospects and angles but not like paf spokes person paf spokesperson and paf spokesperson , he is not willing to agree on the point that how many times the statements contradicted . Ok suppose you (nuclearpak) are wrong but the guy should have some arguments or logics to prove that why the spokes person contradicted initially etc
But all i am hearing is only one line .

Now that we have come to the debate of electronics, one thing has to be made sure, that these are not cheap home-grown, 502 Wkshp versions.

We want to get a fire-tender, for 1.5 crore a pot, the project manager says i will make it locally for 85 lakh, the Brig wants it 60 lakh, very well. It gets made for 60 lakh, and after 4 months, you get to know how much reliable that was, and it is on a visit to 502 Wkshp again.

We have to stop thinking that these workshops are manufacturing facilities, they are repair facilities, and should be treated as such. The Army/PAF should look to eiter doing this through a proper company, and then also be wiling to pay the cost, or then to some other solution, rather than using money and wasting it.

Leave this guy alone ,he is a big headache .He will keep repeating the same lines all day along but will not come onto any solid arguments. Check out his posts in this as well as other forums .He has kept on repeating same lines in a different way in all his posts . No one is saying him that what we say is 100% right but atleast you have enough substance to involve into an argument that has various prospects and angles but not like paf spokes person paf spokesperson and paf spokesperson , he is not willing to agree on the point that how many times the statements contradicted . Ok suppose you (nuclearpak) are wrong but the guy should have some arguments or logics to prove that why the spokes person contradicted initially etc
But all i am hearing is only one line .

I may be wrong, but atleast provide a logical counter-argument.

He still didn't say why there has to be fire to damage a airplane, in regard to it's airframe.

CHalo bhai, khair hai.

While the discussion on perimeter security is very interesting to read, the real solution lies some place else. Its not very creditable to be in this position in the first place.

now talk abut solutions i think every base should be equip with these made in pakistan Surveillance Systems

Night Observation Device (NOD)

Manufacturer :
Detail

nod3.jpg

GIDS/ATCOP Night Observation Device (NOD) is a Portable, Long Range Multi-Sensor System for Observation and Surveillance.It can also be utilized for target acquisition, border patrol and perimeter security. The NOD system also comprises of digital magnetic compass, GPS, Pan and tilt unit.

* Area Surveillance
* Forward

Observation

* Target Acquisition
* Perimeter Security
* Search and Rescue
* Border Patrol

Surveillance System

Manufacturer :
Detail

GIDS/ATCOP Surveillance System can be utilized during the day and night for forward observation, target acquisition and border monitoring. It has the capability to determine the range of required targets. Other functions can be made available on customers request. It can also be used to secure government and other vital facilities. The complete system comes with a remote control to precisely pan and tilt the view from a distance.

* Area Surveillance
* Forward Observation
* Border Patrol
* Target Acquisition
SurveillanceSystem.jpg

i post few month before a system made in Pakistan for secure sites . its buried underground and when human cross over it they can detect numbers and size ETC damn i missed it now can someone find it ?

This is NOT the right equipment for base security. This device is assembled by AWC and is basically used for Artillery Fire Control & Ranging. Pakistan Army tested it recently at Tillah Ranges and rejected it!

There was a C-130 Circling the base all night with a specialist Pod....

Walikum Hi Mastan Khan,

Sir, I am somewhat dismayed by your assumptions, calculations and conclusions. Albeit, other gentleman have answered your dilemma amicably, let me ask you bluntly, if a burglar was trying to break into your house in the wee hours, would you stand around until the police arrives, hope some neighbour will notice and come for your help or simply confront the culprit even if it means launching an attack with your walking stick. !!!
You are making it sound as if there were no pilots available hence the base commander had to fly the mission.
This was only a natural reaction from a man in charge of his establishment. Is there anything to suggest what the base commander was doing at that time on that special night, sleeping, praying, preparing for his fast. ???
All salutes to him for leading from the front and setting an example. Let's not assume what could have happened since most of us are not in a position to even imagine what procedures were in place and what actions were executed, however all in all it seems the operation was regular as clockwork.

If he reflexed under the 'natural reaction'---then that was an error in judgement----. He should have fallen back on his training---if he had received any in this regard. And that mean---to designate authority---. He is the CEO of the base---it is not his job to clean the 'dirty toilet'---or the clear the 'rat infestation'---or to clear 'encroachment' on his property---. He is not the peon---he is not the orderly---he is not a foot soldier---he should and must not act as one.

He is the 'GODFATHER" of the base----you know when a godfather picks up a weapon----when it is the last ditch effort---. There is security parameter around the godfather----it has to be breached at first for him to react on his own----.

So---your analogy about my house being burglarized is wrong------because in my house---other than my wife and kids, I am the only and one fisrt and last line of defence---so it is a bad example---the largest millitary base of pakistan under threat.

Young man---think think think----think without anger---think without prejudice---think to learn---snapping back at me ain't gonna do anything to me except to upset me more---that my kids don't have any learning capabilities----when they are taught new things or they are told about issues other than what they believe in---they start balking and show anger at why they are being told things different to what they have believed in for so long.