Arjun MK-2 tanks facing Smokey driver chamber in latest tests

there is no point in an indigenous tank when almost everything that matters technologically is sourced from outside and assembled here.

this is a faulty mechanism.arjun has been running for a decade now(active program)

why dosen't govt give concessions to private industries to contribute??sure they don't see much profits and are unwilling but at least make them concessions so that they can at least consider it rather than asking drdo to import stuff and assemble a tank

now pls fanboys don't start posting details of whats indigenous in arjun and whats not,i know it well enough.

i am only punching holes in faulty planning.

on the topic though at least 500 should be inducted for the venture to turn profitable

The arjun was response to the needs felt by IA which realized realized the futility of its tanks mainly in desert conditions, during the 1971 war.

The would be procurement of M1 Abrams by Pakistan may have played its part too; but it never materialized.

The Russians had nothing comparable so India had to develop comparable tank on its own and considering we had no experience of developing tanks' it was difficult job.

I bet had Pakistan got some Abrams, Arjun would be in service much sooner.

In my opinion, we should have developed a simpler tank based on T-72/T-55 first; this would have given us experience of designing tanks. This could have been done once we realized that Pak wont get Abrams.

Story of MBT 80- Arjun

The arjun was response to would be procurement of M1 Abrams by Pakistan; but it never materialized.

The Russians had nothing comparable so India had to develop comparable tank on its own and considering we had no experience of developing tanks' it was difficult job.

I bet had Pakistan got some Abrams, Arjun would be in service much sooner.

In my opinion, we should have developed a simpler tank based on T-72/T-55 first; this would have given us experience of designing tanks. This could have been done once we realized that Pak wont get Abrams.

Story of MBT 80- Arjun
see its not about the best thing here
even if drdo makes somewhat inferior product initially army must accept it(not saying it be total dud)

my problem is that we are sourcing smallest of the components from outside.
even the tracks were initially german
local industry is non existent in india and that needs to change

It took 35 years to make India’s main battle tank Arjun. In 1974, DRDO’s Combat Vehicles Research and Development Establishment at Chennai started designing the tank expected to be ready for war in 10 years. The Arjun was to weigh 40 tonnes with a 105 mm main gun. By the time it was finished in 2000, the tank had grown in size to 58.5 tonnes with a 120 mm gun that can fire rockets.

In terms of cost overrun, the Arjun is the champion of delay and drift: it has cost 20 times the initial estimate to make an Indian tank with a German engine.

It is so big that ordinary Indian rail wagons, the ones that have been transporting our older Soviet- and British-origin tanks had to be redesigned to accommodate its bulk.

Military planners say bridges will collapse under Arjun’s weight.

The Army and DRDO have been at loggerheads over the Arjun.

Field tests have varied wildly: some have given the Arjun a junk rating, and others say it’s the best thing to have happened to the Armoured Corps.

The tank is a ‘jugaad’ queen. South African howitzers have been mated to its chassis to make a self-propelled field gun that DRDO calls Bhima.

The army will, at last, add to its ranks about 250-odd Arjuns, and 1,000 T-90s.

what a looser are man,really
focus on pakistan.have i posted a single thing on pakistan??
just focus on ur own country

The tank is far too heavy for the desert or mountains.
Too heavy for deserts? C'mon man, you can do better than that. The Arjun has a lower ground pressure than the lighter T-90, due to its design. And the Arjun is not meant to be deployed in mountains anyway!

Let's dwell on this a little. The Arjun exerts LESSER GROUND PRESSURE per sft than the tin cans called T-90. The larger track width of ARJUN distributes it's 67 ton weight more lightly in MARSHY or DESERT conditions. The pressure exerted by the T -72 and T - 90 tanks is 0.83 kg/cm2 and 0.87kg/cm2 respectively, whereas that of our Arjun Tank only 0.84 kg/cm2 compared to that of US Abrams tank which is 1.05 kg/cm2.

During exercises and trials, many areas previously marked as unsuitable for tank deployment were covered by the Arjun unlike the T-90s because of the latter's lesser track width resulting in greater ground pressure. Unlike the T-90s, Arjun is known as the 'Desert Ferrari' by the Israelis due its speed, accuracy, and mobility on most types of terrain. The Army wanted a third party to assess the tanks and called in experts from Israel. They subjected the tanks to more tests at the Mahajan Field Firing ranges and were so impressed that they called it a "Desert Ferrari”.

A little homework would suffice. :p:

Yes but still weight counts as lower ground pressure advantage wont come handy on bridges(bridges are not plain ground.)

Most bridges along with our western border and infrastructure are more suitable for 45 to 50 ton tanks.

Off coarse, Arjun performs well in desert.
Yup. But I think the army is already in the process of upgrading such infrastructure to accomodate the Arjun tanks. Moreover, bridges are usually built with substantial factor of safety(around 5-7). A 50% increase in weight is always tolerable on them. It's the railway carriages that need to be upgraded.

It took 35 years to make India’s main battle tank Arjun. In 1974, DRDO’s Combat Vehicles Research and Development Establishment at Chennai started designing the tank expected to be ready for war in 10 years. The Arjun was to weigh 40 tonnes with a 105 mm main gun. By the time it was finished in 2000, the tank had grown in size to 58.5 tonnes with a 120 mm gun that can fire rockets.

In terms of cost overrun, the Arjun is the champion of delay and drift: it has cost 20 times the initial estimate to make an Indian tank with a German engine.

It is so big that ordinary Indian rail wagons, the ones that have been transporting our older Soviet- and British-origin tanks had to be redesigned to accommodate its bulk.

Military planners say bridges will collapse under Arjun’s weight.

The Army and DRDO have been at loggerheads over the Arjun.

Field tests have varied wildly: some have given the Arjun a junk rating, and others say it’s the best thing to have happened to the Armoured Corps.

The tank is a ‘jugaad’ queen. South African howitzers have been mated to its chassis to make a self-propelled field gun that DRDO calls Bhima.

The army will, at last, add to its ranks about 250-odd Arjuns, and 1,000 T-90s.

Till now only 119 arjuns are in service... and (no 1000 t-90s .. i think they are on order or something)... while the South African company was black listed... in short yaar.. chor "sanu ki"..

Too heavy for deserts? C'mon man, you can do better than that. The Arjun has a lower ground pressure than the lighter T-90, due to its design. And the Arjun is not meant to be deployed in mountains anyway!

Let's dwell on this a little. The Arjun exerts LESSER GROUND PRESSURE per sft than the tin cans called T-90. The larger track width of ARJUN distributes it's 67 ton weight more lightly in MARSHY or DESERT conditions. The pressure exerted by the T -72 and T - 90 tanks is 0.83 kg/cm2 and 0.87kg/cm2 respectively, whereas that of our Arjun Tank only 0.84 kg/cm2 compared to that of US Abrams tank which is 1.05 kg/cm2.

During exercises and trials, many areas previously marked as unsuitable for tank deployment were covered by the Arjun unlike the T-90s because of the latter's lesser track width resulting in greater ground pressure. Unlike the T-90s, Arjun is known as the 'Desert Ferrari' by the Israelis due its speed, accuracy, and mobility on most types of terrain. The Army wanted a third party to assess the tanks and called in experts from Israel. They subjected the tanks to more tests at the Mahajan Field Firing ranges and were so impressed that they called it a "Desert Ferrari”.

A little homework would suffice. :p:

Cant use bridges... needs special railway cariages... only 119 in service... serious issues .. obsolete tank gun,low penetrating ammo etc...

Anyways good for u guys!

of course its good for us
unfortunately not for u guys.

btw its good to sometimes compare the tanks before commenting and i would suggest u first look at pakistan's own manufacturing before commenting on india's

if we can make 100 things,pakistan can't even make 10

if u have to progress then u need to look at the empty glass rather than half full glass

Progress is a never-ending process!! So that means, you will never be satisfied!!

Give it some time bro, India is a sleeping giant, It just woke up.Lets give it some time to warm-up, im sure it will run.

Dnt be so harsh brother.

Till now only 119 arjuns are in service... and (no 1000 t-90s .. i think they are on order or something)... while the South African company was black listed... in short yaar.. chor "sanu ki"..

Cant use bridges... needs special railway cariages... only 119 in service... serious issues .. obsolete tank gun,low penetrating ammo etc...

Anyways good for u guys!
But that's not good for us! :sad: It's good for you!! :D

minor issue army must except this tank and order more 500 tank with other modification

At 800 million USD a piece?

You do think India,an 1.8 trillion USD economy with 1.2 billion mouths to feed,can afford such extravagance?

What do you expect from Indian "quality"? It's a miracle that it didn't blow up in flame, only smoke flooding the chamber. But they can easily pass the test, just pay off the inspectors.

You do think India,an 1.8 trillion USD economy with 1.2 billion mouths to feed,can afford such extravagance?

plz clear ur facts

Arjun (tank) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

TypeMain battle tank
Place of origin
23px-Flag_of_India.svg.png
Production history
DesignerCVRDE, DRDO
DesignedMarch 1974–present
ManufacturerHeavy Vehicles Factory, Avadi
Unit cost17.2 crore (US$2.6 million)[1]
Produced2004–present
Number built124 (124 Mk-I and 124 Mk-II ordered)[2][3][4][5][6]
VariantsTank EX
Specifications
Weight58.5 tonnes (57.6 long tons; 64.5 short tons)
Length10.638 metres (34 ft 10.8 in)
Width3.864 metres (12 ft 8.1 in)
Height2.32 metres (7 ft 7 in)
Crew4 (commander, gunner, loader and driver)
Armorsteel/composite Kanchan armour.
Main
armament120 mm rifled tank gun
LAHAT anti-tank missile
HEAT, APFSDS, HESH Rounds[7]
Secondary
armamentNSV 12.7mm AA MG
Mag 7.62 mm Tk715 coaxial MG[7]
EngineMTU 838 Ka 501 diesel
1,400 hp (1,040 kW)
Power/weight23.9hp/tonne,[8]
TransmissionRenk epicyclic train gearbox, 4 fwd + 2 rev gears
Suspensionhydropneumatic
Ground clearance0.45 metres (1 ft 6 in)
Fuel capacity1,610 litres (350 imp gal; 430 US gal)
Operational
range450 kilometres (280 mi)[7]
Speed
72 km/h (45 mph) Road[7]

40 km/h (25 mph) Cross country[

obviously it can afford...its not the biggest importer for nothing

What the?
It is $2.6 million a piece & if it gets mass produced prices will go down further
Damn man 800 million USD is more costly than the F-22
It is afghan that you are smoking :big_boss: