'Are wedding halls and cinemas for defence?' CJP grills govt official over military land's commerical use

Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Gulzar Ahmed on Friday grilled the defence secretary over commercial use of military land, asking whether structures like cinemas and wedding halls were built for defence purposes.
A three-judge bench headed by the chief justice and comprising Justice Qazi Mohammad Amin Ahmed and Justice Ijazul Ahsan was hearing the issue of military lands being used for commercial purposes at the Supreme Court's Karachi registry.

The CJP questioned Defence Secretary retired Lt Gen Mian Mohammad Hilal Hussain about the activities being conducted on military lands. "This land was given to you for strategic and defence [purposes and yet] you have started commercial activities on it," he said. "Were wedding halls, cinemas and housing societies built for defence purposes?" CJP Ahmed asked.

He remarked that all Askari housing projects had been built on cantonment lands. "We have decided that this will not happen again," the defence secretary said, adding that the construction of housing societies and commercial use of military land would be checked and stopped. At this, Justice Amin asked Hussain how that would be made possible and where the process would start. The judge asked him to provide a written explanation.

The chief justice commented that colonels and majors were acting like kings. "What the colonels and majors desire, happens," he said. "Go and tell all the chiefs [of the armed forces] that the land meant for defence purposes will not be used for commercial objectives. Go to all the military cantonments and tell them the land will be used only for strategic purposes," CJP Ahmed ordered the defence secretary.

He also said that commercial activities were underway at Masroor Base and Faisal Base and tall buildings had been erected when orders were given to remove signboards. The bench asked Hussain whether he had a written report regarding the matter, at which the secretary requested more time to submit the same. The court adjourned the hearing until November 30, saying it would take place in Islamabad and also ordered that a written report be submitted.

While hearing the case on Wednesday, the chief justice had stated that the conversion of cantonment land into private land seemed to be in direct contravention of the Cantonment Act, 1924, Cantonment Land Rules, 1937, and various constitutional provisions and the issue needed to be heard and decided by the court. The bench had expressed resentment over director cantonment and military land, Karachi region, Adil Rafi Siddiqui, over such activities within the jurisdiction of cantonment boards and also sought a report from him about a wall being built on the premises of a park in Defence Housing Authority Phase-I.

Hearing on Nasla Tower, Tejori Heights
While conducting hearings on other cases, the chief justice asked Karachi Commissioner Muhammad Iqbal Memon till when the demolition of Karachi's Nasla Tower would be completed. Memon replied that no timeframe could be provided and that 200 labourers were working on the project. The CJP told him to double the labour force and ordered the tower to be demolished within a week and a report to be submitted.

Updates were also provided to the bench about progress in the demolition of the Tejori Heights tower, with a legal representative saying that 60 to 65 per cent of the building had been demolished. He also told the court that files had been recovered from the building's offices and work was underway on providing compensation to the affectees.

The cost of this commercialization and increasing commercial interests of Military Inc. is the professionalism of the armed forces and blunting of their fighting prowess. Recently a thread was done on an interview with Gen. Tariq Khan where he mentioned that lessons (vis-a-vis COIN operations) had still not been learned BY ALL. Just earlier this year, we saw a botched IBO in the erstwhile FATA district where multiple PA REGULARS were KIA. TTP before the ceasefire was able to hit trgts at will in the tribal districts. Where did all the institutional memory of years passed go? Politicization and commercialization of the institutions of the armed forces is the worst thing we can do to our sharp swords that have to protect our freedom in the time of need against a 4 times larger belligerent foe.

This idiot SC CJ ordered demolishing Nasla Tower. The judgement did not consider where will the residents go.

The Tower was built on illegally possessed land. But then it was Sind government and Sind Build Control Authority, KDA which provided NOC, approval of design. Why are these officials brought to the dick? Instead, the residents who bought these apartments out of their money are put in the dock!

These high sounding observations should be thrown back at the face of these judges.

Is there any town planning authority in Pakistan? As you mentioned, definitely, these 12 Askari Housing Complex and 9 Phases of DHA did not grow overnight. Could you provide the dates of the initial starting of such societies and who was the ruling party? What are the institutes authorizing such societies in Pakistan? Did the 'honourable judge' question those authorities? Even judges have multiple plots on reduced rates, so how it could be?
Have some law in Pakistan, then such conditions will not be there. You are expecting discipline in a lawless country of different political herds with their own vested interests, where the PM their relatives are looters and thieves and are absconders on the basis of fake medical reports. Watch soon there will be some more audios/videos from 'LONDON AUDIO/VISUAL STUDIO'; whose number is next.

My father joined LCCHS (now DHA in 1982) after retirement from Pakistan Army, he planned and demarcated first two phases till 1984 and a third one till 1987. Who was ruling at that time??

Are you afraid to mention his name, you know who was ruling; the father of 'thief of Pakistan'; 'Zilat-e-Pakistan' the absconder Nawaz Sharif.
The one group of political corrupts was licking the boots and aiding Zia in all wrongdoing to hang the other political corrupt group's head. These politico groups fight each other like street dogs. Read the allegations of both groups at each other in history and then come to me to explain these sick politicos behaviors.
The London group even did not spare the wife and daughter of hanged one, even distributed the edited vulgar picture of both women, gave the name of 'Peeli Taxi' to BB; now their own daughter is running the audio/video campaign of baseless allegations and 'immoral video' of an ex-governor/her spokesman in media; becoming a 'Naika' of Pakistan's politics.

When civilians specially pakistanis in general are useless incompetent and pethatic like u then army should not be under civilian rule or else they too will become useless like u.
you are the only one who is useless here. sitting outside the country with no contribution whatsoever. you dont get a say in pakistan's matter since you ran away.

LOL..

That is for funding defence projects and taking care of veterans. Most of the people employed in these military sponsored projects are veterans and their families.

Gulzar saab is high on power addiction....

Visit Karachi...just see one Rangers Head Quarter in North Nazimabad ...how it has been converted in to full shopping mall and multi stories apartments ...are these for vets and their families? this is just one example ....move towards Johar and surroundings ...there is an empire of real estate ...untouchable.

The cost of this commercialization and increasing commercial interests of Military Inc. is the professionalism of the armed forces and blunting of their fighting prowess. Recently a thread was done on an interview with Gen. Tariq Khan where he mentioned that lessons (vis-a-vis COIN operations) had still not been learned BY ALL. Just earlier this year, we saw a botched IBO in the erstwhile FATA district where multiple PA REGULARS were KIA. TTP before the ceasefire was able to hit trgts at will in the tribal districts. Where did all the institutional memory of years passed go? Politicization and commercialization of the institutions of the armed forces is the worst thing we can do to our sharp swords that have to protect our freedom in the time of need against a 4 times larger belligerent foe.
add to that the suppression of competition and private industry in favor of fauji foundation businesses. they get the better quota of imports, better access to raw materials, better access to good land, faster permit processing and preferential treatment that others can only dream of. people will conveniently ignore all of this and then someone will come over and start shouting about bloody civilians not doing enough.
LOL..

That is for funding defence projects and taking care of veterans. Most of the people employed in these military sponsored projects are veterans and their families.

Gulzar saab is high on power addiction....
they get pensions for their service. either eliminate pensions, or stop re-employing them.

you are the only one who is useless here. sitting outside the country with no contribution whatsoever. you dont get a say in pakistan's matter since you ran away.

My farts are more productive then khota meat seller awam like u.

really? prove it. come back to pakistan and prove it. maybe you are defending such businesses because some chacha mama of yours benefited from them?

اسٹامپ فروشوں کے بار ےمیں جج گلزار نے کچھ کہا جو 5 روپے والا اسٹامپ 200 میں فروخت کر رہے ہیں عدالتوں کے اندر اور سامنے

who cares? judge sahab ko bhi hissa jata hoga. he didnt talk about thousands of pending cases either. he didnt talk about LHC's recent tender of UHD samsung screen, latest iphone and macbook for judge sahab in LHC either.
The Tower was built on illegally possessed land.
the illegal land is hardly 77 sqyards, nearly 3 marla. while he conveniently ignores dha karachi's phase 8 built on malir river's mouth, by encroaching upon its bed, or by destroying mangroves.

really? prove it. come back to pakistan and prove it. maybe you are defending such businesses because some chacha mama of yours benefited from them?

Why u so mad? Did a Fauji take ur girl away? U should be happy that she is in safe hands other wise she would be forced to marry her half brother (cousin) YOU and eat khota meat since thats ur daily diet.
Is ur lazy bum on fire? Well good. Haha

Why u so mad? Did a Fauji take ur girl away? U should be happy that she is in safe hands other wise she would be forced to marry her half brother (cousin) YOU and eat khota meat since thats ur daily diet.
Is ur lazy bum on fire? Well good. Haha
or civilian ran away with your mother...and now she is unsafe hands lol!