Achievements of India in various Fields

I we need to achieve a lot in other fields . happy Republic day to all Indians:cheers:

9. India is one of the only 6-8 nations which can build their own aircraft carrier.

918px-World_Navy_Aircraft_carries_chart.svg.png

Redirect Notice
but india didn't make INS vikramaditya.though we are making INS vikrant but it is not completed yet

Proud to be Indian. :cool::tup:

But, its a shame that cheap politicians like Modi says India have achieved nothing in last 66 years.
you are more wiser and well informed than me..you are a senior member and i respect you a lot but this time sir you got it wrong about modi..i hope his future government will clear your all doubts against him

In 1947, we got independence. Many predicted that this nation will not survive. But we did. We fought wars, won glorious victories- let it be against enemies or poverty.(up to lesser extent.)
So where do we stand now?
Here are our achievements-

Sahi jaa rahey ho. Awesome post. Carry on the good work mate :)

second in production of rice,wheat,vegetables and largest producer of bananas,mangoes,lime,millets,spices,butter and several other products..

india is also largest producer of films in the world

@Bhai Zakir @Abingdonboy

Abi, I'm disappointed. If you think that after 66 years of independence, what India has achieved is commendable, then you're dead off the mark.

We are the second highest population in the world as well as second highest in terms of fertile land. By simple virtue of that fact, India is at/near the top of many agricultural metrics.

In 66 years, Japan, China, SoKo, Brazil, Indonesia, Singapore, Taiwan, etc have rushed headforward into developed status.

While India is still languishing amongst the ranks of poverty stricken African countries and Pakistan.

The day we start over emphasizing our few successes we start to glorify incompetence. The achievments of the last decade or so in India has been for one reason and one reason only, reforms brought in by the NDA government.

Name me the important set of reforms that have been done under UPA 1 or UPA 2. Absolutely none. Congress's game plan is to muddle along until there's a national crises like in 1992 and 2013 (India almost needed bailing out in both years) and then bring in a few reforms and keep muddling along until the next crisis.

Why are Indians happy with being the 5th or 6th in international metrics. WE SHOULD BE AT THE TOP. We have been at the top for so much of history and yet today, we see that we're 4th in the cement production list (at 10% of China) and feel like we've achieved something.

WE HAVEN'T.

The next NDA government will have a short window of a few months to bring in important but unpopular reforms. Otherwise India will be downgraded in it's credit rating to BBB. Making credit even more expensive.

The sole reason why China has been able to industrialise and develop it's infrastructure is the availability of cheap credit.

Also Modi has never said that India has not achieved anything in 66 years.

Then why the heck are we importing cement from Pakistan?????? :woot: Probably because it's cheaper than Indian cement. Am I correct? :what:
Manufacturing cement needs alot of water.We would rather use it for drinking :D

Seriously? I hoped to see some actual achievements?

Seriously no. 1 milk producer? Like seriously! India has always been a traditionally agricultural country! Even tiny country like Argentina (less than 2% of India's population) is in top ten!

Even today at least 300 million (6 times the total population of United Kingdom) are in absolute poverty! Millions of children go sleep everyday without a grain of food in their stomach!

India has long been hostage to wrong policies and has been unable to implement the policies fast enough or implement them at all because of political class. Where vote bank politics have dominated the Indian politics.

All these Congress fanboys need to relax. Japan (a wartorn) country almost took over the entire US within 20 years after the war.

Yess, I'm optimistic about the future and future does look bright but one shouldn't get carried away.

@Bhai Zakir @Abingdonboy

Abi, I'm disappointed. If you think that after 66 years of independence, what India has achieved is commendable, then you're dead off the mark.

We are the second highest population in the world as well as second highest in terms of fertile land. By simple virtue of that fact, India is at/near the top of many agricultural metrics.

In 66 years, Japan, China, SoKo, Brazil, Indonesia, Singapore, Taiwan, etc have rushed headforward into developed status.

While India is still languishing amongst the ranks of poverty stricken African countries and Pakistan.

The day we start over emphasizing our few successes we start to glorify incompetence. The achievments of the last decade or so in India has been for one reason and one reason only, reforms brought in by the NDA government.

Name me the important set of reforms that have been done under UPA 1 or UPA 2. Absolutely none. Congress's game plan is to muddle along until there's a national crises like in 1992 and 2013 (India almost needed bailing out in both years) and then bring in a few reforms and keep muddling along until the next crisis.

Why are Indians happy with being the 5th or 6th in international metrics. WE SHOULD BE AT THE TOP. We have been at the top for so much of history and yet today, we see that we're 4th in the cement production list (at 10% of China) and feel like we've achieved something.

WE HAVEN'T.

The next NDA government will have a short window of a few months to bring in important but unpopular reforms. Otherwise India will be downgraded in it's credit rating to BBB. Making credit even more expensive.

The sole reason why China has been able to industrialise and develop it's infrastructure is the availability of cheap credit.

Also Modi has never said that India has not achieved anything in 66 years.
Yes India has not as well as others but then it as done better than others also. It's unfair to compare nations like this thats like comparing apples and oranges. India , more than most nations, is unique so there's little utility in looking at the likes of China or Brazil. But if you want to I'll pick these two just for arguments sake- China's speedy progress owes a lot to the fact it is a single party state. Brazil's population is barely 1/5th of India's and whilst it has recorded remarkable growth these days it can't even register 1% GDP growth.

Like I said India is unique, it is a messy democracy filled with scores of different ethnic groups, hundreds of languages, cultures etc- it is more diverse than the EU! You know how things work in India or traditionally did anyway- things do and are changing. It has it's own history also.

Up until the 90s India was running as a socialist state pretty much and poverty/literacy levels had remained pretty much static for decades. The real progress has only come in the last 20 years, the first 47 years are pretty much a write-off.

Can India do better? HELL YES IT CAN.

Should we make out India is an utter failure? That's an entirely unfair assessment.

Is it right to give praise where praise is due? You tell me.....

PLZ SHOW THIS TO BJP MODI SUPPORTER THIS WHAT CONGRESS HAS DONE IN SIXTY YEARS OF RULE
1609693_10152151868832500_1208252203_n.jpg
ye saale kongresi lafange ne hamare andhra ko thod di hei...isko ek bhi seat nahi milega...
tera problem kya he re???
sabhi thread ko barbad kar rahe ho....kongresi ka pyaar apne pas rak!!

Yes India has not as well as others but then it as done better than others also. It's unfair to compare nations like this thats like comparing apples and oranges. India , more than most nations, is unique so there's little utility in looking at the likes of China or Brazil. But if you want to I'll pick these two just for arguments sake- China's speedy progress owes a lot to the fact it is a single party state. Brazil's population is barely 1/5th of India's and whilst it has recorded remarkable growth these days it can't even register 1% GDP growth.

Like I said India is unique, it is a messy democracy filled with scores of different ethnic groups, hundreds of languages, cultures etc- it is more diverse than the EU! You know how things work in India or traditionally did anyway- things do and are changing. It has it's own history also.

Up until the 90s India was running as a socialist state pretty much and poverty/literacy levels had remained pretty much static for decades. The real progress has only come in the last 20 years, the first 47 years are pretty much a write-off.

Can India do better? HELL YES IT CAN.

Should we make out India is an utter failure? That's an entirely unfair assessment.

Is it right to give praise where praise is due? You tell me.....

Highlighted parts; excuses my friend, excuses. Why can't India SET the precedent, like China's been doing/has done. Why don't people in schools worldwide do case studies on how India managed to unite it's diverse population into a nationwide stride towards developed status despite the challenges?

Why do we always make excuses for our failures? Oh democracy this, diversity that, need to maintain patents this and that. India truly has some of the most brilliant people and most amazing resources on the planet Earth, there's no reason for our failures other than the incompetence of the people we vote into office. They lack strategic vision and political willpower to push reforms.

The blame for that lies solely on the Indian voters.

I'll give credit where credit is due to three Indian institutions; the ISRO for promoting the meritocracy in the space sector, the democratic institution/s (Election Council) for maintaining a stable democracy and the high level tertiary education (IITs, IISc NIT, BITS, etc).

All other Indian institutions are an utter dissapointment, I'll certainly applaud individual achievements, but as a whole India has failed it's people, the sooner we accept that, the sooner it can be changed.

We had a decade or so of 8%+ growth. Is that enough, heck no.

Maybe I'm just frustrated, but you should read my post a couple of days ago about a meeting my dad was having as a rep of BHP Billiton in India. The geo-survey his company wanted to do would likely have transformed the lives of the people in thev village nearby to the target area, through its CSR program. A simple $2M program. In China, it takes a few days to approve such projects.

But guess what, the govt reps depicted utter apathy and turned up 2 hours late. My dad is Indian, he has more interest in helping India than most, yet he too gave up.

ye saale kongresi lafange ne hamare andhra ko thod di hei...isko ek bhi seat nahi milega...
006.jpg

1004958_10152152535982500_1576337270_n.jpg

With RG

Surprisingly BJP started claiming slogan of one of ad with slogan "Mai Nahi, Hum" and said it used it in 2011. Here is the poster of Nov'2010 by a Congress councilor organising a Musayara in Indore celebrating his victory.

Needless to say who copied whom

Jai Ho ...

Agrawal–Kayal–Saxena primality test

The AKS primality test (also known as Agrawal–Kayal–Saxena primality test and cyclotomic AKS test) is a deterministic primality-proving algorithm created and published by Manindra Agrawal, Neeraj Kayal, and Nitin Saxena, computer scientists at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, on August 6, 2002, in a paper titled "PRIMES is in P".The algorithm determines whether a number is prime or composite within polynomial time. The authors received the 2006 Gödel Prize and the 2006 Fulkerson Prize for this work.

Bhabha scattering

In 1935, Indian nuclear physicist Homi J. Bhabha published a paper in the Proceedings of the Royal Society, Series A, in which he performed the first calculation to determine the cross section of electron-positron scattering.Electron-positron scattering was later named Bhabha scattering, in honor of his contributions in the field.

Agrawal–Kayal–Saxena primality test

The AKS primality test (also known as Agrawal–Kayal–Saxena primality test and cyclotomic AKS test) is a deterministic primality-proving algorithm created and published by Manindra Agrawal, Neeraj Kayal, and Nitin Saxena, computer scientists at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, on August 6, 2002, in a paper titled "PRIMES is in P".The algorithm determines whether a number is prime or composite within polynomial time. The authors received the 2006 Gödel Prize and the 2006 Fulkerson Prize for this work.

Bhabha scattering

In 1935, Indian nuclear physicist Homi J. Bhabha published a paper in the Proceedings of the Royal Society, Series A, in which he performed the first calculation to determine the cross section of electron-positron scattering.Electron-positron scattering was later named Bhabha scattering, in honor of his contributions in the field.

The contributions of Indians to academia are manifold. Let's not bring up achievements of individual Indians but of India as a whole.