A View about India Written by Pakistani Journalist Dr. Farrukh Saleem

banvanaxl

We Indians are famous for beating our own drums or blowing our own horns ;) but seriously, it warms the cockles of my heart when the praise comes from the other side.

Damn, inspite of the corruption, hypocrisy and bigotry so very prevalent in our system.... we must have done something right.

Here's the man (Dr. Farrukh Saleem) and this is what he has to say about us.

"Here’s what is happening in India:

The two Ambani brothers can buy 100 percent of every company listed on the Karachi Stock Exchange (KSE) and would still be left with $30 billion to spare. The four richest Indians can buy up all goods and services produced over a year by 169 million Pakistanis and still be left with $60 billion to spare. The four richest Indians are now richer than the forty richest Chinese.
In November, Bombay Stock Exchange’s benchmark Sensex flirted with 20,000 points. As a consequence, Mukesh Ambani’s Reliance Industries became a $100 billion company (the entire KSE is capitalized at $65 billion). Mukesh owns 48 percent of Reliance.

Mukesh is now staying in his new home, Residence Antillia (after a mythical, phantom island somewhere in the Atlantic Ocean ). At a cost of $1 billion this would be the most expensive home on the face of the planet. At 173 meters tall Mukesh’s new family residence, for a family of six, will be the equivalent of a 60-storeyed building. The first six floors are reserved for parking. The seventh floor is for car servicing and maintenance..

The eighth floor houses a mini-theatre. Then there’s a health club, a gym and a swimming pool. Two floors are reserved for Ambani family’s guests. Four floors above the guest floors are family floors all with a superb view of the Arabian Sea On top of everything are three helipads. A staff of 600 is expected to care for the family and their family home.

In 2004, India became the 3rd most attractive foreign direct investment destination. Pakistan wasn’t even in the top 25 countries.

In 2004, the United Nations, the representative body of 192 sovereign member states, had requested the Election Commission of India to assist the UN in the holding elections in Al Jumhuriyah al Iraqiyah and Dowlat-e Eslami-ye Afghanestan. Why the Election Commission of India and not the Election Commission of Pakistan? After all, Islamabad is closer to Kabul than is Delhi .

Imagine, 12 percent of all American scientists are of Indian origin; 38 percent of doctors in America are Indian; 36 percent of NASA scientists are Indians; 34 percent of Microsoft employees are Indians; and 28 percent of IBM employees are Indians.

For the record: Sabeer Bhatia created and founded Hotmail. Sun Microsystems was founded by Vinod Khosla. The Intel Pentium processor, that runs 90 percent of all computers, was fathered by Vinod Dham.
Rajiv Gupta co-invented Hewlett Packard’s E-speak project. Four out often Silicon Valley start-ups are run by Indians. Bollywood produces 800 movies per year and six Indian ladies have won Miss Universe/Miss World titles over the past 10 years.

For the record: Azim Premji–an Ismaili, the richest Muslim entrepreneur on the face of the planet (Ismailis are not considered as Muslims according to Pakistani Constitution), was born in Bombay and now lives in Bangalore. India now has more than three dozen billionaires; Pakistan has none (not a single dollar billionaire).

The other amazing aspect is the rapid pace at which India is creating wealth. In 2002, Dhirubhai Ambani, Mukesh and Anil’s father, left his two sons a fortune worth $2.8 billion. In 2007, their combined wealth stood at $94 billion. On 29 October 2007, as a result of the stock market rally and the appreciation of the Indian rupee, Mukesh became the richest person in the world, with net worth climbing to US$63.2 billion (Bill Gates, the richest American, stands at around $56 billion).

Indians and Pakistanis have the same Y-chromosome haplogroup. We have the same genetic sequence and the same genetic marker (namely: M124).

We have the same DNA molecule, the same DNA sequence. Our culture, our traditions and our cuisine are all the same. We watch the same movies and sing the same songs. What is it that Indians have and we don’t?

INDIANS ELECT THEIR LEADERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And also to mention: They think of Construction of own nation, unlike other nations who are just concerned with destruction of others…

Simple answer to why the Indians fare better than the Pakistanis:

They don’t focus on religion all the time and neither do they spend time and money in devising ways to kill their own and everyone else over religion."

A View about India Written by Pakistani Journalist Dr. Farrukh Saleem | Faithfreedom.org

This thread was posted in good faith. I sincerely request all and sundry not to turn it into a hate or troll fest.

Cheers

there are already two threads running on this topic, opening another one with troll commentary hints question the seriousness in the mind of poster.

yes sir, OP must learn from u and should only open threads about conspiracy theories. like how RAW and BJP is controlling PML(N) and PPP to prosecute Musharraf through back channels :sarcastic:

yes sir, OP must learn from u and should only open threads about conspiracy theories. like how RAW and BJP is controlling PML(N) and PPP to prosecute Musharraf through back channels

Rehnye dijiye sirji. There'll will always be haters. Par bandey ney sahi main research kiya hai. Mukesh ka stock exchange wala news and Vinod Dham key barey main mujhey bhi pata nahi.

Yaar hum log bekar main hi middle class life jikey khush hotey hain aur blogs likhtey hain. These chaps are serious inspirational material for all of us as Indians. Kuch sikhna chahiye humey .. How do we get better than what we are today instead of sitting on our arses.:P

India should not compare itself with Pakistan. India is already pretty late and has a lot of catching up to do. It is my personal opinion that the Chinese have more humility in rise than Indians (talking about the average citizen, NOT the govts).

There are more things that India has done right than Pakistan. But there are much more things that India needs to do right.

Wealth of individuals.

hahahahah

So we should start talking about a South Korean or Chinese industrial mogal buying up the whole of Indian $hit.

or some Emirati or Qatari buying the whole BDeshi $hit.

What a $tupid thread.

nations are not about individuals or stock exchanges.

it is rather complicated thing

We should prefer comparing and asking questions such as:

Are we as humble as Indians?

Are we as nice to W. European guests as Indians?

Are we as nice to our minorities such as Christians, Shias, Ahmadies etc. as Indians. (exceptions like Modi should be discussed in a separate thread. We are talking about OVERALL attitude of Indian masses and not just Babri fiasco)

These are the things to be compared.

Compare human values.

focus on truth, work on tolerance, work on being nice

Money will follow.

Peace

India should not compare itself with Pakistan. India is already pretty late and has a lot of catching up to do. It is my personal opinion that the Chinese have more humility in rise than Indians (talking about the average citizen, NOT the govts).

There are more things that India has done right than Pakistan. But there are much more things that India needs to do right.

I'm going to agree with the last bit of it entirely. Yes there are tons of stuff yet not done. We're still dealing with poverty, malnutrition, lack of proper primary education and healthcare in pockets of India.
We haven't yet dealt with the rebels/insurrectionists within our national borders. The polity is still not mature and effective. The list is exhaustive.

However I'll categorically refute your 1st two statements and I'll give you my reasons why.

(May I add just for the record that the piece was penned by a Pakistani journalist of some repute. Its not us that is blowing our horns this time around.) Though I'll agree, we are quite loudmouthed, bragging is a national pastime, enjoyed in private and derided in public :P

For our brothers in Pakistan : All jingoism aside. We were born at the same time from a tumultuous independence struggle where we fought hand in hand against our British overlords. Faith and religion separated us as two different nations and we were both on the brink of a precipice.
Granted we were instrumental in causing our neighboring country to disintegrate into two.
But how does that explain the perilous situation they are in now with some of most unenviable statistics across all human development indexes ?

As for China: Two words.. Tiananmen Square.

A similar autocratic government (had it existed and survived the public anger and international outbursts) in any other nation, could have achieved quite a lot.

We had a similar incident during Indira Gandhi's regime. Look where it landed her. We as a country have never tolerated autocrats. We've never tolerated any impediment to our fundamental rights which include the freedom of speech and expression. The people are the best judge of themselves. The flip side of the argument is you have a situation in America where you cannot repeal the 2nd Amendment and retract the fundamental right to carry weapons as the process would be termed undemocratic under the present constitution.

Speaking of us Indians ..we as a nation are quite happy to play second fiddle to China's truly enviable rise if that rise entails us loosing our individual independence and voice.

Wealth of individuals.
hahahahah
So we should start talking about a South Korean or Chinese industrial mogal buying up the whole of Indian $hit.
or some Emirati or Qatari buying the whole BDeshi $hit.

Aye Aye sir... the author kind of laid it quite thick with the Antillas and Ambanis personal wealth and what not. One cannot be held guilty if one suspects this to be an article paid for by Mr Mukesh Ambani himself.:D

nations are not about individuals or stock exchanges.
it is rather complicated thing
We should prefer comparing and asking questions such as:
Are we as humble as Indians?
Are we as nice to W. European guests as Indians?
Are we as nice to our minorities such as Christians, Shias, Ahmadies etc. as Indians. (exceptions like Modi should be discussed in a separate thread. We are talking about OVERALL attitude of Indian masses and not just Babri fiasco)
These are the things to be compared.
Compare human values.
work on truth, work on tolerance, work on being nice
Money will follow.
Peace

Kaash .. Kaash. We are dreamers .. All we can do is dream and hope for a better tomorrow.

And at times quote lil irritating articles that are sure to raise the hackles of our pesky neighbors.:jester:

Crap . so many lies propagating in this article that its stupid .

Naye lagtey ho .

You will learnt o verify information before posting soon enough .

What is it that Indians have and we don’t?

The ability to interfere in every other country in South Asia and destroy them internally through propaganda and purchased politicians, cultural and media personalities and intellectuals who have no hesitation to betray the country and the national interest ....

Aye Aye sir... the author kind of laid it quite thick with the Antillas and Ambanis personal wealth and what not. One cannot be held guilty if one suspects this to be an article paid for by Mr Mukesh Ambani himself.:D
should we start comparing warren buffett and bill gates to Indian economy?

Don't you think it will be $tupid comparison.

Just saying.

May Allah give Ambanis 1000 times more.

Kaash .. Kaash. We are dreamers .. All we can do is dream and hope for a better tomorrow.

Good dreams a must before action.

off course you know me.

I am not just sitting around dreaming either.

peace

Simple answer to why the Indians fare better than the Pakistanis:

They don’t focus on religion all the time and neither do they spend time and money in devising ways to kill their own and everyone else over religion."

IMO this is the gist of the fundamental difference between India and Pakistan.

Since Pakistan was created on a religious basis they try to justify every action/achievement (be it Nuclear/missile development or a cricket match) on the basis of Islam.

Indians and Pakistanis have the same Y-chromosome haplogroup. We have the same genetic sequence and the same genetic marker (namely: M124).

We have the same DNA molecule, the same DNA sequence. Our culture, our traditions and our cuisine are all the same. We watch the same movies and sing the same songs.

Cheers

This is soo right..... That is one reason why we love to fight/troll each other in PDF too.....

IMO this is the gist of the fundamental difference between India and Pakistan.

Since Pakistan was created on a religious basis they try to justify every action/achievement (be it Nuclear/missile development or a cricket match) on the basis of Islam.

Indian rich class is as focused on Hindutva as Pakistani rich class is focused on Islamism.

Please learn something before posting

the OP is an idiot
don't just get riled up in Indian nationalism and loose the logic

Thank you

I am not just sitting around dreaming either.

This is soo right..... That is one reason why we love to fight/troll each other in PDF too....

Its 3:40 am on a Friday night. Kal office nahi. Jaldi uthney ka koi tension nahi hai. Trolling neighbors across the border is as good an occupation as any for any patriotic Bharatiya nagrik.:partay:

Indian rich class is as focused on Hindutva as Pakistani rich class is focused on Islamism. Please learn something before posting the OP is an idiot don't just get riled up in Indian nationalism and loose the logic

OP is NOT an idiot. He might get spasms of sudden patriotic Pakistan bashing fervor under the influence of Messrs Jack and Daniels, but he is definitely not an idiot by any means. :(

Indian rich class is as focused on Hindutva as Pakistani rich class is focused on Islamism.

I wasn't making that point in my post. Besides rich people in either countries don't give rat's *** about the religion. It is always the middle class and poor who get roped into religious fanaticism. Rich are too busy making money.

Please learn something before posting

the OP is an idiot
don't just get riled up in Indian nationalism and loose the logic

Thank you

What in my post made you believe I'm getting riled up in Indian nationalism? Feel free to contradict what I said.

Thank you!