23 New Dams across Teesta in India will Ruin Bangladesh

India is not in the habit of giving. Once it has obtained an advantage it never keeps its end of the bargain. If India gets transit Bangladesh will never get an agreement on Teesta.

Unfortunately, this is so true! I believe even Indian forumers (the sane ones) will agree.

what did we do wrong..:cry:

A case study from recent history.. Once GoB agreed to grant transit to your gov, their demand changed overnight. Now they want free transit with a token yearly fee of some 4 crore Taka. Now that's not right at all, considering the fact that we don't get anything out of the transit deal. Regardless of the transit deal's status, water is not coming our way anytime soon, courtesy of Banorjee. :)

Are these dams purely run of the river projects, sans any diversion? If so then the GOB can be taken into confidence and measures need to be taken to ensure that BD is not adversely hit by such infra. That we will be building dams on the Teesta and in the region is a reality and needs to be accepted..it is essential for us if we are to provide energy to our people..BUT we need to be considerate to the needs of our neighbor and frame such projects with that in mind. Lets see what further information emerges.

Dams are 95% complete, they are here to stay. We are not going to demolish our dams to keep Bangladesh happy.

Once the dams start functioning then we can talk water sharing.

I thought we were starting to build the said dams, how can they be 95% complete already?

Indian interest comes first whether its mighty USA, powerful China, paltry Pakistan or weak Bangladesh. This is something GOI is good at and deserves to be applauded :tup:

Are these dams purely run of the river projects, sans any diversion? If so then the GOB can be taken into confidence and measures need to be taken to ensure that BD is not adversely hit by such infra. That we will be building dams on the Teesta and in the region is a reality and needs to be accepted..it is essential for us if we are to provide energy to our people..BUT we need to be considerate to the needs of our neighbor and frame such projects with that in mind. Lets see what further information emerges.

They are not run of river projects, they have diversions, big ones.

dams-map.jpg

Indian interest comes first whether its mighty USA, powerful China, paltry Pakistan or weak Bangladesh. This is something GOI is good at and deserves to be applauded :tup:

Agami:- Yaara true indeed- but weak or strong, BD is our neighbor. We should try to ensure that their interests don't take a hard hit.

Roy:- Big diversions? Oh man this is going to cause trouble. But what can one do, we need these dams.

Agami:- Yaara true indeed- but weak or strong, BD is our neighbor. We should try to ensure that their interests don't take a hard hit.

Roy:- Big diversions? Oh man this is going to cause trouble. But what can one do, we need these dams.

seems like your country want to open another battle frontier alone with Pakistan and China, ok lets see what happens

:lol: Oooo we are scared.

Basically Bangladesh was being greedy. You guys yourself are building dams on the Teesta and reaping benefits, so why the heck shouldn't we? Just cause we are upper riparian country we are not allowed to make any dams?

dams-map.jpg

Assuming that these dams will be completed within this year, how much time will we have taken overall to complete these 23 dams?

:lol: Oooo we are scared.

Basically Bangladesh was being greedy. You guys yourself are building dams on the Teesta and reaping benefits, so why the heck shouldn't we? Just cause we are upper riparian country we are not allowed to make any dams?
apart from scare matter, how Bangladeshis are greedy ? where are we building dam on teesta ? btw is not your wife bangladeshi ?

Yaara, the India wide river linking project is the next priority now. If this is casus belli for BD then one wonders what the reaction to that project will be like. Already a pilot demonstrator of it is coming up in two southern states within the next 2 years...lets see.

we support you brother lol

benglis are going to be better then your one day inshallah, they are mor ehard working then you. i hope our government supports them anyway possible.

Oh bhai india has also a large population of Bengalis
Why no love for us