Aamir Khan's Dangal earns Rs 75 crore in China during opening weekend

After becoming Bollywood’s highest-grossing film at the domestic market, Aamir Khan’s Dangal has achieved one more milestone at the Chinese box office.

Dangal has crossed the 500 crore mark in China. This is the latest record set by Aamir in terms of making it to the 500 crore club. Also, it is the first time a Bollywood film has scored 500 crores in China, it is certainly a huge achievement.

aamirs-dangal-crosses-500-mark-chinese-box-office-1.jpg

Aamir’s Dangal Crosses 500 Mark At The Chinese Box Office
The film raked in 3.73 Million (24.20 crores) yesterday and now stands with the grand total of 507.34 crores.

With the humongous contribution from China, Dangal now stands with the grand total of 1251.68 crores.

The biographical sports drama is now heading towards 1300 crore mark.

Trending :

Aamir is among the most popular Indian actors for the Chinese who also are fans of South Koreans artistes.

Nitesh Tiwari, who helmed the blockbuster “Dangal“, is working on a screen adaptation of Varun Agarwal’s 2012 bestseller “How I Braved Anu Aunty & Co-Founded a Million Dollar Company”.

The film will be jointly produced by Ronnie Screwvala and Siddharth Roy Kapur under their banners RSVP and Roy Kapur Films respectively.

Spokesperson of Roy Kapur Films said in a statement: “We are excited to be collaborating with Nitesh on adapting Varun’s incredibly relevant and hilarious book to the screen.”

On the work front, Aamir Khan will be next seen in Secret Superstar, where he’ll portray the character of a music composer. The film will be directed by Advait Chandan and produced by Aamir Khan and Kiran Rao. Secret Superstar stars Zaira Wasim and Meher Vij in key roles, Aamir will just be playing a cameo. The movie will hit the screen during the Diwali weekend. The film is all set to clash with Ajay Devgn starrer Golmaal Again .

Post this, Aamir Khan will share the screen with Amitabh Bachchan for the first time in Thugs Of Hindostan. The film will go on floors from 1st June and will be directed by Vijay Krishna Acharya, who previously helmed Tashan and Dhoom 3. It will be produced under the reputed banner of Yash Raj Films and will release in Diwali, 2018.

http://www.koimoi.com/box-office/aamir-sets-a-new-record-500-crores-for-dangal-in-china/

For China 75-80 million USD is respectable. But it's no blockbuster.

Bro It was just introduction of Indian movies to the Chinese. The full fledged capturing of chinese market will start from here.
https://m.indiatoday.in/lite/story/...-office-kabir-khan-china-dangal/1/957163.html
images
tubelight-china-story_647_051817062248.jpg

Hollywood discovered that before you guys. :) Actually, to my own surprise, in China, movie streaming websites have more and more Indian movies lately. I think Chinese also discovered that Indian movies can be very entertaining, too.

Media restriction is mostly political and designed for curtailing western influence, not so much towards other countries like India.

Dangal has beaten 'Guardians of the galaxy vol 2' in China. Says a lot about the potential of Indian movies in China.

http://money.cnn.com/2017/05/19/media/guardians-galaxy-china-bollywood-wrestling-blockbuster/

This is what one of the Chinese critic has said in the above article-
"This movie is a gem, I'm glad that Chinese audiences have keen eyes to spot it," said Guan Yadi, a Chinese film producer and critic. "I'm not surprised at its huge success."

Chinese do have a good taste, Dangal is a great movie :)

Hollywood discovered that before you guys. :) Actually, to my own surprise, in China, movie streaming websites have more and more Indian movies lately. I think Chinese also discovered that Indian movies can be very entertaining, too.

Media restriction is mostly political and designed for curtailing western influence, not so much towards other countries like India.
I wish more and more cultural exchange between our countries. We have been watching dubbed Chinese movies in our TV for long, its time, Indian movies start playing in China as well, we have got some great content :)

Dangal has beaten 'Guardians of the galaxy vol 2' in China. Says a lot about the potential of Indian movies in China.

http://money.cnn.com/2017/05/19/media/guardians-galaxy-china-bollywood-wrestling-blockbuster/

This is what one of the Chinese critic has said in the above article-
"This movie is a gem, I'm glad that Chinese audiences have keen eyes to spot it," said Guan Yadi, a Chinese film producer and critic. "I'm not surprised at its huge success."

Chinese do have a good taste, Dangal is a great movie :)
Different genres of movies. Personally I am not thrilled by Marvel movies anyway. I think Dangal can touch people in completely different and deeper ways.

Dangal wont even be in our top 100 movies.
India made good movies in the 60s and 70s.
Watch sholay for a 70s masala movie.
A few good ones like dil chahta hai in 2000s.

What is the collection from China

Dangal in China crossing 753 crore

Dangal can cross 1000 crore in chinese market

Bahubali can do wonders if it exhibits in china
Wont as its mostly mythology and sp effects which china has enough of.
They like the brutal honesty of 3 idiots and dangal since its uncommon in china.

Wont as its mostly mythology and sp effects which china has enough of.
They like the brutal honesty of 3 idiots and dangal since its uncommon in china.

I dont think the bahubali movie success only comes in special effects but story,suspense and all together a different experience

Bahubali and dangal in race to become a 2000 crore club

@LeGenD @The SC @Areesh

I dont think the bahubali movie success only comes in special effects but story,suspense and all together a different experience

Bahubali and dangal in race to become a 2000 crore club

@LeGenD @The SC @Areesh
Indian movies have always been a different Cinema experience.. some were great, some were less..

Dangal becomes China’s biggest non-Hollywood foreign film, earns Rs 753.23 crore($116.21 million)

BOLLYWOOD Updated: May 23, 2017 14:25 IST

Associated Press

aamir-khan-office-dangal-chinese-riding-high_b3f03c76-3f94-11e7-b7e5-3de2b6485255.jpg

Aamir Khan;s Dangal is riding high at the Chinese box office.

• _5aa40c5c-39f8-11e7-b517-0cbfa8e97d3f.jpg
The Aamir Khan film Dangal, about an Indian man training his daughters to become wrestlers, has become China’s biggest-grossing non-Hollywood foreign movie.

_4dd4c830-3f94-11e7-b7e5-3de2b6485255.png

Dangal is the story of former wrestler Mahavir Singh Phogat and his daughters Geeta and Babita.

The Indian film, whose name translates as “Let’s Wrestle, Dad,” was released in China on May 5. By Tuesday, it had pulled in Rs 753.23 crore($116.21 million) in mainland China, according to data from EntGroup, a leading entertainment consultancy.

The previous top-performing non-Hollywood foreign film was the 2016 “Your Name,” a Japanese fantasy drama. It made 577 million yuan ($84 million) at the Chinese box office.

Media and online commentary has said Dangal, which is based on a true story, impressed audiences with its message of giving girls opportunities in a male-centric society, and has prompted discussions over how strict parents should or should not be when raising their children.

Actor and producer Khan had already built up a following in China following the success of his previous films 3 Idiots and PK. The Bollywood star has garnered 640,000 followers on the Twitter-like Sina Weibo since opening an account in early April.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/bolly...53-23-crore/story-jreMf89YEWlaMWuQvsuBRL.html