Smriti Irani Stops 70,000 Students of KV From Learning German, Makes them Switch to Sanskrit

Think about it this way, if you want to come to Europe to work or to study today, would you prefer to go to Germany with some of the best universities and the biggest economy and industry in Europe, or would you go to Spain or Portugal, 2 countries that were hit badly by the Financial and Eurocrisis, with high unemployment rates and very limited job potential?
If you know the answer, you might understand what the aim was, to give German some preference and why it's so funny that a party that is so business and economy oriented like the BJP is now cutting back exactly here, in favour for regional (not national) languages that doesn't get you anything wrt jobs even in India, let alone abroad.
Countries' economy grow and fail based on time. If today it is Germany, then it is China as well today so don't you think that they should add Mandarin as well or French for Quebec, Canada or France. Do you think the language learning should be based on this? And anyways, there are better universities in UK, France and other part of world so it can be anything but only German is wrong here.

You know what people are understanding any education from commercial POV. This is wrong practice. This can come after class 10th but not before that. Before class 10th, Languages should be included only Indian official languages. Don't you think this is strange that even after 60 years of Independence, we are fighting over foreign language while we don't have any "National" Language.

Countries' economy grow and fail based on time. If today it is Germany, then it is China as well today so don't you think that they should add Mandarin as well or French for Quebec, Canada or France. Do you think the language learning should be based on this? And anyways, there are better universities in UK, France and other part of world so it can be anything but only German is wrong here.

You know what people are understanding any education from commercial POV. This is wrong practice. This can come after class 10th but not before that. Before class 10th, Languages should be included only Indian official languages. Don't you think this is strange that even after 60 years of Independence, we are fighting over foreign language while we don't have any "National" Language.

Exactly my points.

I translate Saataj's song in Russian, Record them and make Russians to listen to them. :whistle::p:

Jatton say jayeda Bawla, Tedha aur Ajeeb koi na say.8-)
Tariff kar rahi hai ke bezatti?? :what:
Sidak is a female? Oye kudi inni pyar se bol rahi hai ki Punjabi ban jao and you Jats refuse. Oye sidak ji, don't worry. Ab se sanu bhi Punjabi si.
Yeh dekho Indian Patriot mujhe keh raha aur khud ladki dekhte hi lattu :rofl: :tsk:[/QUOTE]

Merkel Raises German Language Issue With Modi at Brisbane

India's move to drop German as an alternative to Sanskrit as a third language in Kendriya Vidyalayas prompted German Chancellor Angela Merkel to raise the issue today with Prime Minister Narendra Modi who assured her of looking at it within the confines of the Indian system.

During a meeting on the sidelines of the G20 summit here, Merkel raised the issue with Modi besides inviting him to visit Germany.

"Merkel did raise the issue of teaching German language in Indian schools. She raised in a manner requesting the Prime Minister to have a look in it and see what would be the best way forward.

"Prime Minister assured her (Merkel) that he himself is the votary of young Indian children learning other languages. He said how it is best done within the confines of Indian system, we will work it out," External Affairs Ministry spokesperson Syed Akbaruddin said.

German Ambassador to India Michael Steiner has already raised the issue with the Indian government, hoping a "pragmatic" solution.

As the Human Resource Development Ministry has decided to drop the German language, over 70,000 students across 500 Kendriya Vidyalayas from classes VI to VIII are supposed to be asked to switch from German to Sanskrit.

The 2011 Memorandum of Understanding that made German a third language was signed between the Kendriya Vidyalayas and Goethe Institute-Max Mueller Bhawan.

Union HRD Minister Smriti Irani has defended the move, saying the existing arrangement was in violation of the three-language formula. She, however, said German would continue to be taught as an "additional subject of hobby class".

In the three-language formula, schools teach Hindi, English and a modern Indian language.

Sanskrit teachers had moved the Delhi High Court alleging that the central schools had introduced German as a third language in place of Sanskrit against the education policy.

mandarin is indeed getting popular in schools in UK... although I am not saying we should learn a foreign language for its utilitarian value alone.
Let people decide among themselves what they want to choose... some might want to grow becoming an arab language scholar... some might want to study about mongols.
Instead of creating a country of engineers and call center executives we should broaden the base.