Is Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan better than Lata Mangeshkar?

You mean to say that Qawali can be done without singing ?:rofl:

Don't shy, read the first post again - it says "he wasn't barely a Qawal"

Now anything other than humorless jokes please.

Don't shy, read the first post again - it says "he wasn't barely a Qawal"

Now anything other than humorless jokes please.
Yes ...I want you to think that was he known for his Songs or Qawalis originally ?

NFAK was multi talented,he was known for qawwalis,songs,gazals.Lata ji is one dimensional only.

No I do not. I have never heard people play Nusrat's song on festivals either. You know, come Ganesha or some other big celebration days when the local boys put up pandals and have their loudspeakers in full blast blaring Bollywood beats, for the last couple of years they just do not play any new movie songs. No one wants to listen to those. It is always songs from early 2000 to before that. Even when I was in Bombay, I never heard them playing Nusrat's songs.

Dear Indirani its NOT your fault.

for listening to Nusrat fateh one has to have a big chunk of brain :).

NVM if you or your locality's boys do not know NFAK.

Cheers

he had been singing qawwalis since decades but these dint bring him to fame. It was only after he started fusion now people even younger ones today started searching his old qawwalis and also his ghazals/geet.

try "Phir palat kar nahi ayee nigah, tujh pe qurban ho gai ho gee"

Cheers

he had been singing qawwalis since decades but these dint bring him to fame. It was only after he started fusion now people even younger ones today started searching his old qawwalis and also his ghazals/geet.

Not surprised to hear what Indrani ji said.The general public in India is quite unaware of NFAK's exploits.

I know :) i will repeat again Listening to NFAK is not a piece of cake. Not everyone can understand that

yes, coming from the Patiala Gharana, he was a master of classical music
You mean NFAK was a master of classical? You are very wrong my friend. He was master of his own class of music but not of the classical as we know of.

I know :) i will repeat again Listening to NFAK is not a piece of cake. Not everyone can understand that
True enough. I have yet to listen to a singer with such unique (to the extent of abnormal) vocal cords.

Is Sushi better than Pau Bhaji?
Saying that this is trying to compare apples and oranges is an understatement.

I fully agree with you,Both of them (Lataji & Nusratji) were equally great,no comparrison. I will have a collection of both,
For Lataji, I would recomment Ae Dil Nadan from the film Razia Sultan, there r many
About Nusrat,it is the EVER GREEN video song of Afreen,Afreen,there is another SONG OF THARE BIN NAHI

Afreen Afreen is that kind of a song which Nusrat Saab would have sung at 3AM in the morning.

Cummon..he has sung so many toughies..Afreen Afreen was a piece of cake for him.

In the beginning I discarded this thread as idiotic.

But after 19 pages, I think this thread has great utility to prove that we shared same culture. Indians are fighting for Nusratji and Pakistanis are fighting for Lataji/Jagjitji :). Really nice to see that--really enjoying.

Art and culture is a great equaliser. We should be more into cultural exchage than exchange of ammunation.

One is coffee the other being the tea, why compare a male singer with female singer of India?
How about comparing NFAK with Rafi?
Or Kishore?
What say you?

In the beginning I discarded this thread as idiotic.

But after 19 pages, I think this thread has great utility to prove that we shared same culture. Indians are fighting for Nusratji and Pakistanis are fighting for Nusratji :). Really nice to see that--really enjoying.

Art and culture is a great equaliser. We should be more into cultural exchage than exchange of ammunation.

err..Jagjit you mean.. :-) Besides..music knows no boundries...

Cheers

Here is the difference. You use your brain to appreciate music . Many like me use their heart to appreciate music. In some mood Nusratji/ Pandit Bhimsen touches my heart , sometimes Lata/Rafi/Hemant Kumar.

I should not personally attack you as "Heartless" and you should not attack Indrani or me as "brainless" :)

Here is the difference. You use your brain to appreciate music . Many like me use their heart to appreciate music. In some mood Nusratji/ Pandit Bhimsen touches my heart , sometimes Lata/Rafi/Hemant Kumar.

I should not personally attack you as "Heartless" and you should not attack Indrani or me as "brainless" :)

:) when a person call call of Azan as shouting and shows his or her hatred towards Pakistan and Islam even in a peaceful thread like this then indeed something called brain is missing

no personal attacks..We have NFAK and Lata to talk about yaar..What else can be as interesting?