Pakistan delegation forced out of Gujarat summit?

thestringshredder

AHMEDABAD: A Pakistani delegation that had come to Ahmedabad for three-day Vibrant Gujarat summit left without attending it amid rising tension between Islamabad and New Delhi over recent killing of soldiers along the line of control.

Officials refused to specify whether the delegation was asked to stay away. But they said its presence at the event while chief minister Narendra Modi was also present there would have embarrassed the BJP's leadership that had taken a strong position against the Centre's response to the LoC ceasefire violation.

The 22-member delegation from the Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry, which was supposed to attend the inaugural session of the Vibrant Gujarat summit on Friday, was asked to stay indoors in a plush hotel in Ahmedabad. Some members of the delegation wanted to visit Surat and Bharuch. They were escorted to Surat from where they left for Mumbai. The delegation left Gujarat by Friday evening.

In effect, the delegation members were not even allowed some innocuous sight-seeing in Ahmedabad, let alone attend the summit at Gandhinagar.

"We were prepared to bring the delegation to the venue and had made all the arrangements. But, at the eleventh hour, we were told that there are some issues pertaining to their visa and a group cannot come to Gandhinagar. As advised, they were asked to remained indoors," said Gujarat DGP Chittaranjan Singh.

The group was expected to participate at business-to-business meetings in areas like textiles, chemicals and gems and jewellery.

Modi's tirades against Pakistan are well-known, whether it is the 'Miyan Musharraf' jibe or more recently accusing the central government of "giving away" the disputed Sir Creek to the neighbouring country.

The Karachi chamber, however, has been warming up to Gujarat as its representatives attended a chemical expo in Ahmedabad in 2011 and even called on Modi at his residence then. Some members had invited Modi to address corporate honchos in Pakistan via video-conferencing. Given the links between Gujarat and Sindh regions, members of the visiting delegation had urged Modi to help start a direct flight between Ahmedabad and Karachi.

In late September 2011, after his Sadbhavana fasts, Modi had demanded that the UPA government ease visa rules for Pakistani tourists wanting to visit Ajmer Sharif shrine while addressing the Indian Association of Tour Operators in Gandhinagar.

Link - Pakistan delegation forced out of Gujarat summit? - The Times of India

I hope that is was them themselves who were disgusted and opted out from this so-called "summit"

what was this summit about anyways? never even heard of it before; so couldn't have been important anyways

Well they were forcibly confined.

I saw a debate on an indian english channel where all the indian participants suggested to strangulate Pakistan and its economy.

This is thier midnset which has always been there.

Well, what has Pakistan done in response. Our people are busy playing senseless indian movies in cinemas and dancing to their annoying songs. Well thats Pakistan for you.

Why the misreporting (even with the question mark at the end)?

There was a problem with their visas. They did not have visas for Gandhinagar where the summit was held. It is not yet known who messed up but no point commenting and playing vicim unless we know the facts.

Pak delegation fails to attend Vibrant Gujarat Summit, had visa only for Ahmedabad - The Economic Times

@Silverblaze - your comment reminds me of the pakistan squash association claim that the indian head of international squash association was responsible for pakistani players not getting visas for a tournament. Investigations revealed that the pak officials had sent the applications to the wrong country :) The pak head was banned.

http://dawn.com/2011/10/07/world-squash-federation-bans-psf-secretary-irfan-asghar/

I saw a debate on an indian english channel where all the indian participants suggested to strangulate Pakistan and its economy.

strangulate Pakistan's economy? yaar they've been talking about different dreams at different times -- even akand or akhund bharat or however the hell you spell it.

our exposure to them and their exposure to us in a financial sense is negligible. Bileteral trade is barely in the billions; so what strangulations yaara. They couldnt do a lick about our economy. Theyre kidding themselves only.
Besides we dont need indian to be enemy of Pakistan economy when the Minister of Ports and Shipping and in fact a lot of other ministers and MNAs are siphoning off crores of rupees on a daily basis.

Well, what has Pakistan done in response. Our people are busy playing senseless indian movies in cinemas and dancing to their annoying songs. Well thats Pakistan for you.

it's a circular problem which i could explain later

I have openly written letters to PEMRA demanding a ban on bollywood on our TVs but you think they'll listen to one guy from the internet? There has to be activism to bring change, unified front.

Besides - younger generations want to see skin, tits and ***. Not boring dialogues about love among aunties and uncles. Different issue though.

Why the misreporting (even with the question mark at the end)?

There was a problem with their visas. They did not have visas for Gandhinagar where the summit was held. It is not yet known who messed up but no point commenting and playing vicim unless we know the facts.

Pak delegation fails to attend Vibrant Gujarat Summit, had visa only for Ahmedabad - The Economic Times

@Silverblaze - your comment reminds me of the pakistan squash association claim that the indian head of international squash association was responsible for pakistani players not getting visas for a tournament. Investigations revealed that the pak officials had sent the applications to the wrong country :) The pak head was banned.

http://dawn.com/2011/10/07/world-squash-federation-bans-psf-secretary-irfan-asghar/

time to bring them home; they should cancel the trip. Waste of time.

and waste of tax-payer money to even fly them over there in the first place

what are they doing in Gujrat anyways? They should be boycotting anything to do with it for very obvious reasons. Sell-outs.

strangulate Pakistan's economy? yaar they've been talking about different dreams at different times -- even akand or akhund bharat or however the hell you spell it.

our exposure to them and their exposure to us in a financial sense is negligible. Bileteral trade is barely in the billions; so what strangulations yaara. They couldnt do a lick about our economy. Theyre kidding themselves only.
Besides we dont need indian to be enemy of Pakistan economy when the Minister of Ports and Shipping and in fact a lot of other ministers and MNAs are siphoning off crores of rupees on a daily basis.

it's a circular problem which i could explain later

I have openly written letters to PEMRA demanding a ban on bollywood on our TVs but you think they'll listen to one guy from the internet? There has to be activism to bring change, unified front.

Besides - younger generations want to see skin, tits and ***. Not boring dialogues about love among aunties and uncles. Different issue though.

time to bring them home; they should cancel the trip. Waste of time.

and waste of tax-payer money to even fly them over there in the first place

what are they doing in Gujrat anyways? They should be boycotting anything to do with it for very obvious reasons. Sell-outs.

Listen I am a liberal and very liberal indeed, but the manner Indian media has spear headed the hate campaign against Pakistan has just made me so sad.
Anchors were quoting basless figures and even contradicting themselves.Terms like, Pakistan's Barbarism, One indian head for 40 Pakistani heads, strangulate them and what not.

They didn't even mention Pakistani claims even for the sake of information.
As far as indian movies are concerned, our own movies and dramas have been wiped out by ourselves. Please, dont blame the younger gen for all this.

Pakistanis are not sincere with themselves and every sane mind will reach the same conlcusion.

WTF man?:hitwall: We are talking here about business & you all are bringing different issues which has no relations with it at all. They had applied for Ahmadabad only, then how could they go to Gandhinagar. Yaar at-least talk something which has some relevance with thread. If you know the problem, still you ignore the problem & put the blame on something else. From where did this came?

It was because of Visa Issue, No need to play victim here.

-------------------------------------------------------

By the way, those who are asking what this summit is about should check out:-

Vibrant Gujarat 2013

The Vibrant Gujarat Summit has become an example of visionary approach of the State Government to investment promotion and advancement of economic and social development for many states. The event provides enormous prospects to the State to display its strengths, progressive stand, initiatives taken to improve governance, investor friendly climate and art and culture of Gujarat.

Over the next 15 months we plan to embark upon a journey with inclusive development being our prime focus. The key areas of development identified include Youth and Women Empowerment, Sustainability, and Innovation. These major areas will permeate through various activities and events to be organized under the aegis of Vibrant Gujarat 2013 Summit.

In the run up to the Vibrant Gujarat 2013 Summit, we have planned a number of events in the form of seminars, conventions, panel discussions, lecture series, exhibitions, regional meets and other innovative forums for discussions, brainstorming sessions and interactions.

The events are being planned to reach out to a larger audience and provide a common platform to think-tanks, academia, industrialists and government officials to analyse and suggest avenues for Gujarat to take leadership roles especially in the field of innovation and sustainability.

The state of Gujarat, known as the Growth Engine of India, is now moving towards leadership in knowledge advancements based on the pillars of innovation and sustainability.

The Vibrant Gujarat 2013 Summit is going to be transformational and revolutionary – both in its coverage and scale. It will provide a platform for various states of India and other countries to cooperate and explore attractive business opportunities.

Keep visiting this space for new updates on the events being organised in the near future under the Vibrant Gujarat banner. We welcome you to join us in the glorious growth story of Gujarat.

Vibrant Gujarat Summit 2013

www.indiatoday.intoday.in/story/narendra-modi-pakistan-delegation-vibrant-gujarat-summit-line-of-control/1/242081.html

Quote from indiatoday, "Modi did what centre failed to do."
Whatever the reason for their leave maybe but this one goes in modi's favour.

165005_10151267578433071_1677662669_n.jpg

@Abu Zolfiqar You have to realize that you can't ban Bollywood and Indian products. Reason is demand of the people. The TV channels, video parlors don't do it because they want to, they do it because of the common man's demand.

Pakistan's population want these things. If you want to change, change the common man and good luck with that.

Movie are addictive, you can't take away Bollywood and Indian product from Pakistan.

What Modi has done is sending the message that you don't come and do business with us while your army cut heads off our soldiers. Hope Indian govt. had some sense.

As for affecting Pakistan's economy, your entertainment industry and many other industries are already suffering due to Indian products. Also the black market deals through UAE bring Indian products to your market.

Another way of affecting your economy is that our economy can handle these weapons purchases but it forces you to spend more on your own weapons too. Whereas most of our weapons are China oriented.

Also keep borders tense will create financial strain on PA too. This is the last thing they need while they are dealing with insurgents and fighting within their own country nd western borders.

India has also blocked loans from ADB to Pakistan in past .

That's cheap and good lesson for "Aman Ka Tamasha" supporters.

This I agree with.

If we wanted to punish Pakistan the first thing we would do is stop all the water from passing to your country , but we don't .Tells you something.