ABP India Summit 2023: Javed Akhtar Saw "No Visible Poverty" in Lahore, Pakistan

A South African friend of mine who has visited both the countries (India in 2015, Pakistan, recently) says that visible poverty in Pakistan is much lower and essential things are cheaper. He visited many cities in Pakistan (except Baluchistan).

A lot has already changed in India since 2015. But in Pakistan, we have only worsened our situation.

in Pakistan, we have only worsened our situation.
THIS!!!
with Fauji ADHD/ constant political instability- we'll go nowhere but down
there's no semblance of political stability or decent governance

There is a possibility that Afghanistan's lower rate of cousin marriages may have something to do with this (infant mortality).
In U.K.:
  • For most ethnic groups, immaturity-related conditions are the main cause of infant mortality, however, for Bangladeshi and Pakistani ethnic groups the main cause is congenital anomalies.
Ohhh bhai hisab kon rakhta hai afghanistan main ?

THIS!!!
with Fauji ADHD/ constant political instability- we'll go nowhere but down
there's no semblance of political stability or decent governance
The constant interference is due to a need of corrupt leadership that is compromised enough to allow corruption across the board. Such a government can also be controlled effectively.

An honest political leadership is very very hard to control. We have seen what happened to the first generation of leaders in Pakistan (including Fatima Jinnah) and who introduced Bhutto, IJI and MQM into Pakistani political arena.

yeah and you want us to take these figure with pinch of salt right ?

paksitan with having hundreds of children hospitals and modern children health facilitates have infant mortality more then stone age Afghanistan where there is not a single operational hospital today . a whole Afghanistan come to Pakistan for treatment of even cold and flu .
Healthcare infrastructure alone doesn’t improve average life expectancy or infant and maternal mortality rate , Nutrition is the most important , followed by Healthcare Infrastructure and overall infrastructure , it’s the overall quality of life which improves healthcare indicators like average life expectancy and infant and maternal mortality rate
And i have seen kabul city it looks better than most of the cities in Pakistan it looks beautiful , well managed and clean

A South African friend of mine who has visited both the countries (India in 2015, Pakistan, recently) says that visible poverty in Pakistan is much lower and essential things are cheaper. He visited many cities in Pakistan (except Baluchistan).

A lot has already changed in India since 2015. But in Pakistan, we have only worsened our situation.
Visible poverty is much less in Afghanistan anyone who visited Kabul city can tell you

Why we are giving importance to this guy? He can believe whatever he wants and we shouldn't be concerned.

Healthcare infrastructure alone doesn’t improve average life expectancy or infant and maternal mortality rate , Nutrition is the most important , followed by Healthcare Infrastructure and overall infrastructure , it’s the overall quality of life which improves healthcare indicators like average life expectancy and infant and maternal mortality rate
And i have seen kabul city it looks better than most of the cities in Pakistan it looks beautiful , well managed and clean

Visible poverty is much less in Afghanistan anyone who visited Kabul city can tell you
Yes and qualitu of life is better in afghanistan then pakistan right ? Thats why 1 crore afhans living in camps in pakistan

Or haan charas peeny se admi zianda jeeta hai gupta ji?

Only Kabul. I was talking about many places in Pakistan.

Pakistanis more concerned about depleting savings for now in my opinion. That's why our establishment and corrupt politicians think that a revolution is still far away. A politician has recently said that he would prefer increasing the price of petrol to PKR 600. I am sure we won't see any reduction in the traffic on the roads.

He didnt go to one. Kot lakhpat / qainchi is a huge slum just opposite Packages mall / DHA.
I know, I have seen this slum. I grew up in Delhi and have been to Lahore. Lets just say, India's definition of slum is considerably different. Slums in India are literally a township - say over 100,000 people living in barely 1 sq km land with no running water, no garbage facilities and open defacation. Delhi has these slums just about everywhere. No amount of slum demolitions can hide them (as where else will the labor come from?). No economic growth can reduce them. This is somewhat counter intuitive to many - as after all, what is all that high economic growth, enviable world's attention and Bollywood for?

It is a filthy city - there apparently is more fecal matter on new york sidewalks than in your average public toilet
Unfortunately Seattle downtown is turning into same as well :(

Yup. Lived 12 years in Naperville, IL. Never once went to the south side.

WTF, they have Pharaohs standing guard at the cantonments LOL
Lol, the area with the Ancient Egyptian theme and Eiffel Tower is Bahria Town not DHA. DHA doesn't do this kind of decoration.

NYC is the greatest city on planet earth if it wasn't so filthy, smelled like crap and expensive ah

Other than that it's awesome, vibes are just insane
I have always wanted to visit Wall Street to admire it and just stand there for 10 mins doing nothing but observing how long those 10 minutes will feel.
@VCheng

I have always wanted to visit Wall Street to admire it and just stand there for 10 mins doing nothing but observing how long those 10 minutes will feel.
@VCheng

You can feel the money all around, just standing there. If you are interested in history, look up why it was named Wall Street. And if you want to do the touristy thing, take a photo with the Charging Bull, even rub its ballsack for good financial luck if you believe in that sort of thing.

Lol, the area with the Ancient Egyptian theme and Eiffel Tower is Bahria Town not DHA. DHA doesn't do this kind of decoration.
Either way, kind of wierd to have King Tut and Ramses as gate guardian in Lahore :)

TLP / TTP walon nein aaker aag naheen lagayee... haram haram