PPP, PML-N join hands to give Imran tough time

5b5e462143534.jpg

ISLAMABAD: The country’s two major parties — Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Pakistan Peoples Party — are set to play an ARD-like opposition role in parliament as they have agreed on formulation of a “coordinated joint strategy”, if the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf manages to form its government at the Centre.

The broad-based understanding on cooperation was reached during the first direct meeting between the leaders of the PML-N and PPP after the July 25 general elections here on Sunday.

“It was an ice-breaker,” said PML-N’s Mushahid Hussain Sayed, when asked about the outcome of the meeting held at the residence of former National Assembly speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

“It was a very good meeting and you can call it a meeting of the minds,” the PML-N leader said, adding that there was complete unanimity of views between the two parties that the “July 25 elections have been stolen”.

Fazl wants joint opposition to prevent PTI from forming govt

He said both sides were of the view that they should “completely reject” the election results and should adopt “a coordinated joint opposition strategy” to give a tough time to the Imran Khan-led PTI government while staying inside parliament.

He said the two parties would meet again on Monday as the PML-N had told the PPP representatives that it would inform them about its decision on a proposal of the Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA) to boycott parliament. He said the PPP delegation had informed the PML-N that they were not in favour of boycotting parliament.

The PPP delegation comprised Yousuf Raza Gilani, Sherry Rehman, Qamar Zaman Kaira and Farhatullah Babar while the PML-N side was represented by Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Ayaz Sadiq, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Sardar Mahtab Ahmed Khan.

Later, the PPP delegation also held talks with Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman and tried to persuade him to reverse his decision of boycotting parliament.

Talking to Dawn, Sherry Rehman said they had urged the Maulana not to boycott parliament because by “vacating the space we will be providing a walkover” to the PTI.

She said the parties had had a bad experience of boycotting the elections or parliament in the past, adding that the PPP had even questioned the credibility of the 2013 elections and the party leadership had dubbed them “RO elections”, yet they had participated fully in the parliamentary proceedings to strengthen democracy.

“We are very clear that democratic forces while condemning the polls have all the rights to sit on the seats for which they had fought very hard,” she said.

In reply to a question, Ms Rehman said consultations among the parties would continue and they were expected to have more sessions.

Both the PPP and PML-N leaders said that so far they had not discussed any strategy for the upcoming elections for key parliamentary offices of the speaker and deputy speaker, adding that such minute modalities would be discussed at a later stage.

Although the PTI has emerged as the single largest party in the National Assembly after the polls, the final results issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), however, shows that the party is still short of numbers to form its government independently. According to the results, the PTI has bagged 115 general seats — 22 short of simple majority — whereas the PML-N and PPP have won 64 and 43 seats, respectively.

Sources in the PPP and PML-N told Dawn that Maulana Fazlur Rehman, who also heads the MMA, had shown flexibility and might reverse the decision taken at a multi-party conference to boycott the oath-taking session of parliament. They said the Maulana had suggested that they should jointly field candidates for the parliamentary offices and make every effort to prevent the PTI from forming its government at the Centre.

Since the MMA has 12 seats, the combined seats of the PPP, PML-N and MMA become 117 — two more than the PTI’s number of seats.

The sources said that a joint meeting of the leaders of the three parties was also expected to be held on Monday (today).

Last time it was after the 2002 elections when the PPP and PML-N had forged an anti-government alliance — Alliance for the Restoration of Democracy (ARD) — under Nawabzada Nasrullah Khan. The MMA was another opposition alliance in parliament at that time.

The members of the ARD and MMA had given a tough time to the military government of Gen Pervez Musharraf who had picked Zafarullah Jamali as the prime minister. Over 100 members of the two alliances kept parliament non-functional for a record almost one year through noisy protest against the Legal Framework Order of the military regime, forcing the government to hold talks with the opposition.

The issue was resolved when the MMA entered into an agreement with the military-led civilian regime and parliament approved the controversial 17th Constitution Amendment giving indemnity to the acts of Gen Musharraf, including the amendments he had made to the Constitution.

Political analysts and experts believe that the new parliament will be a reflection of the 2002 assembly when the government had to face a tough opposition in the form of the ARD and MMA.

Published in Dawn, July 30th, 2018
https://www.dawn.com/news/1423776/ppp-pml-n-join-hands-to-give-imran-tough-time

Wouldn't it be marvellous if the ENTIRE Sharif and Bhutto clan were ALL hunted down and brutally murdered. If that happened, Pakistan would become a major world power within 30 years. Someone needs to take the initiative.

Just look at his life, decisions and past performance in KPK. period
lol life and decisons his own we all do mistakes in our lives. Kpk performance man he sweep from there so kpk people who doesnt vote second time to same govt in history gave vote to him.

You have to comeup some.solid reason. Anyways still no vote makes u less educated then androni sndh guy who tried.to bring chang to his country and know value of his vote unless you have some serious medical problem you should have voted.

All I.K. needs to do is help develop and improve the situation in Pakistan. If he can do that then PPP & PMLN will die a natural death. The key and future of Pakistan lie with Imran Khan, PTI, the Military and China. As a people, Pakistanis need to become visionaries. Inshallah, the future is bright.
I.K is not capable man, if you want to waste 5 more years to derail current CPEC projects then go ahead since any Govt under 2018 election will fall with 1 or 1.5 years (mark my words)..stock market will crash because of protest by these 3 parties, more loss in international investment, more terrorism etc etc....we on verge to collapse...Army should intervene either form National Govt based on all partied participation or just install Govt based on selected pro Pakistan technocrats, beurocrates and army officers and gave right to people of Pakistan if they don't like their performance replace them with another set ... do this for at least good 20 years and during that period build all mega dams and complete CPEC...during this period ban all parties and after 20 years when all corrupt elite vanish form one party just like China and handover power to these new young politicians gradually.

On topic: what if imran khan make govt and start operation in sindh arrest zardari and arrest shahbaz sharif ( because his case already running) then make deals with the remaining.

Kpk performance man he sweep from there so kpk people who doesnt vote second time to same govt in history gave vote to him.
Sorry to say KPK people voted this time just because he is Pathan and fighting against Punjabi. period

You have to comeup some.solid reason. Anyways still no vote makes u less educated then androni sndh guy who tried.to bring chang to his country and know value of his vote unless you have some serious medical problem you should have voted.
Sialkot there are two candidates Khawja Asif PMLN and Usman dar PTI...one is corrupt and the second one is joker.....

You know how Khawja Asif manages to won every time....? He played his Kashmiri card every time and all Kashmiri vote for him (50 to 55% people are migrated from Jammu and Kashmir).

I.K is not capable man, if you want to waste 5 more years to derail current CPEC projects then go ahead since any Govt under 2018 election will fall with 1 or 1.5 years (mark my words)..stock market will crash because of protest by these 3 parties, more loss in international investment, more terrorism etc etc....we on verge to collapse...Army should intervene either form National Govt based on all partied participation or just install Govt based on selected pro Pakistan technocrats, beurocrates and army officers and gave right to people of Pakistan if they don't like their performance replace them with another set ... do this for at least good 20 years and during that period build all mega dams and complete CPEC...during this period ban all parties and after 20 years when all corrupt elite vanish form one party just like China and handover power to these new young politicians gradually.

So the biggest fraudsters and most corrupt people on planet earth, the Sharifs and Bhuttos ARE capable?

Sorry to say KPK people voted this time just because he is Pathan and fighting against Punjabi. period

Sialkot there are two candidates Khawja Asif PMLN and Usman dar PTI...one is corrupt and the second one is joker.....

You know how Khawja Asif manages to won every time....? He played his Kashmiri card every time and all Kashmiri vote for him (50 to 55% people are migrated from Jammu and Kashmir).
every thing u said just on aasumption and your thinking. Is like corrupt person trying to say other are corrupt. You cant justify ur reason for not casting vote so u go here and there. Good thing is you can still create threads and increase post and lecture other who actually voted for someone.

Bhai mere aik tarf choor ho aor dosri taraf lafander type aadmi tu banda vote kisko dey...I have no other option.

With establishment backing, PTI will run Govt for atleast next 10 years. KP already conquered, Punjab now and PPP's Sindh will be the next frontier. Remember Karachi has already been taken away by PTI emphatically.
@BHarwana @SecularNationalist @Maarkhoor @Path-Finder
its irritating for me that everyone is pointing fingers towards the establishment, sir you are a senior member but can you please provide a single evidence where we can see the establishment is behind Imran Khan?
That's what everyone is saying establishment establishment from News analysts to cart owner, and unfortunately international media especially indian media picks what our people saying (baseless arguments and so-called insider news views etc)
again can you please (with due respect) share any documented proof to prove your point???

Bhai mere aik tarf choor ho aor dosri taraf lafander type aadmi tu banda vote kisko dey...I have no other option.
bro election mai 100% correct or wrong ko nahi choose karna hota. Policy dekh kar who is better than other to chose this is what election is about.

Lols I simply don't like policies of both parties....I.K shakes hand with Pasheen for elections..for me PTI is no more different than PMLN or PPP.

its irritating for me that everyone is pointing fingers towards the establishment, sir you are a senior member but can you please provide a single evidence where we can see the establishment is behind Imran Khan?
That's what everyone is saying establishment establishment from News analysts to cart owner, and unfortunately international media especially indian media picks what our people saying (baseless arguments and so-called insider news views etc)
again can you please (with due respect) share any documented proof to prove your point???

They are not infact frankly speaking their role is exaggerated in today's time. But if you try to tame them, than they do have ability to pull the strings as well. It is imperative for Pakistan's sake that all the institutions of the country are on the same page. that is the only way to move the country forward. Current judiciary, PTI govt and so called establishment combination is good for the country IMO.

Same thing I said if establishment wanted I.K would win with 90% seats....Don't put blame on our institutes.

bhai aap elections she phele yuheen khee khee khee kiya kertey thay about PTI chances.......ab hukumut ghirney ka inteezaar karo by the end of next decade :D

hahahah Nailed!